Mafube Mountain Retreat is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (16 reviews)

Mafube Mountain Retreat

Self Catering at 8km from Fouriesburg on the Clarens Road (R711), Fouriesburg District, Free State, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 16 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Mafube Mountain Retreat in Fouriesburg?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Thabo Mofutsanyana.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 16 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

March 2016

Excellent

Review by Katinka (Benoni)

Stunning place if you love nature. Beautiful hiking spot. Lots to see and to walk around. Owners are very generous and friendly. Kids enjoyed it as well. Truly beautiful place and we will return again.

April 2014

Very Good

Review by Vicki Austin (Edenvale)

Fantastic Hosts.
Interesting walks & hikes.
Wonderful family friendly accomodation, in beautiful surroundings.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Christien Potgieter (Ficksburg)

Wat 'n wonderlike paar dae! Hillary en Chris het uit hulle pad gegaan om ons welkom en tuis te laat voel. Die akkomodasie was silwerskoon en alles wat jy nodig het was daar. Baie dankie vir al die luukses soos skottelgoed wat gewas word,hout wat reg is vir die vuur en vele meer. Die staproetes was ongelooflik en die natuurskoon fantasties. Ons het heerlik ontspan .Daar is oorgenoeg pret vir die kinders - hulle het gaan stap , boek gelees , gaan roei ,perd gery en was nooit verveeld nie.Ons was almal heerlik uitgerus en ons kom beslis weer ! Thanks again for a wonderful mountain retreat .

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Rian & Nell Van Graan (Klerksdorp)

Wonderlik! Wat 'n ondervinding om 'n naweek in die "berg" deur te bring. Dit was 'n heerlike ondervinding en ons is een van die dae terug om die berg verder te tem. Dankie vir julle gasvryheid, Chris en Hillary, ons sien uit na ons volgende besoek. Vandat ons by julle weg is tot gister, was ons van lyn af, daarom hoor julle nou eers van ons. Telkom het ons geduld tot die uiterste beproef met 'n stukkende kabel!

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Clemens & Erica Weber (Kempton Park)

For people weary of the rat-race, wanting peace and quiet in beautiful natural surroundings, this is a perferct choice.

The lovely sandstone cliffs, abundant fauna and flora, as well as an interesting pre-history makes it a stimulating hiking destination.

Coupled with friendly hospitable hosts and comfortable accommodation, makes this an escape few can equal.

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Friedel Wichmann (Pretoria)

Thank you for a fantastic few days we stayed at Mafube. Coming from the City we could not believe what we found at Hillary and Chris paradise. Unfortuanaly i could not undertake walks , but as a bird watcher me and my wife enjoyed the birdlife at Mafube. The senery of the mountains, the grass fields and the dam was excellent.
Thanks again, we will be back

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Meliny Holmes (Brakpan)

Wow is all we can say! We had the most amazing time at Mafube and would just like to thank you for your kind hospitality and friendliness. I fell in love with your place and feel very depressed today with having to be back in reality. You guys truly are the best and thank you very, very much for EVERYTHING!! God permitted – we will be back very soon!

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Mike (Pretoria)

Mafube is an absolute treasure in the Eastern Free State. Friendly hosts, a superb setting and enough to keep you occupied for the duration of your visit. We stayed three nights, which was about four nights too few. Hiking up the mountains is a must and we hope to come explore some more soon.

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Wendy And Spencer Watt-Pringle (Gaborone Botswana)

One night at Mafube just whets your appetite for more!. We stayed in the Rondavel on our last night in the area and were upset that we had to leave. Nestled in am amphitheater of sandstone cliffs, Mafube draws you in and lulls you into peace. We climbed up to viewpoint above the chalets and the the vistas are endless. The dinosaur tracks are amazing and the sight of nesting Black eagles soaring overhead was thrilling. Hosts Chris and Hillary are good company and really helpful. WE will definitely be back for longer.

March 2012

Excellent

Review by Suzette (Fochville)

We stayed at Mafube for 2 nights. We [that is me, my husband and Kyla, my Golden Retriever] enjoyed every minute of the stay and will definitely would love to go back.

March 2012

Excellent

Review by Matt (Norfolk, VA, USA)

We stayed here for two nights on the last leg of our trip through South Africa. The four of us all agreed that this was by far our favorite place to stay during the trip. The grounds arei incredible- it's like having a national park to yourself. Despite the remoteness, the chalet had a wonderful contemporary ambiance and excellent facilities. Best of all though are the owners, Chris and Hillary, they make you feel incredibly welcome and are all around great people. We would love to come back to Mafube!

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Abigail And Duncan Le Roux (JHB)

We celebrated our first anniversary at Mafube in Jan. It was such a great experience. It was so peaceful and relaxing - the perfect getaway. We relaxed, went on some short hikes and went on a lazy tube ride down the Caledon River - stunning! Chalet was perfect - everything we needed was there. Ill be booking again very soon!

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Paul And Ingrid Henry (Johannesburg)

When you travel in the Fouriesburg / Clarens area you think ' is a place where I can stay that will allow me to get close to those cliffs' .
We loved Mafube and enjoyed them when we relaxed on our comfortable verandah and also climbed up,around and over them to look far into Lesotho.
Thanks for our very comfortable accomodation, your efforts and must let you know that loved our weekend there in your very beautiful spot.

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Clifford And Leonie Gibbs (Pretoria)

The Eatern Freestate is one of the most beautiful areas in South Africa. Mafube Mountain retreat is in an ideal spot, close enough to Fouriesburg for a quick visit to a shop and far enough that you can hardly see any lights, other than stars at night. Chris and Hillary are friendly and very helpfull hosts. We had a quiet but very pleasant New Years Eve in the lapa. The boys enjoyed the cayak and the hikes. Thank you for a most wonderful stay. We are looking forward to our next visit.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Linda Antel (Pietermaritzburg)

Every time I go back to Mafube Lodge I am once again stunned by the beauty and serenity of the place. Whether it is identifying the many wild flowers in spring, taking in the breathtaking waterfalls from the mountainous ampitheatre around the lodge in summer or marvelling at the stark contrast between the mountains and surrounding country side in winter - there is no place that beats Mafube. Great walks, diverse bird life, very comfortable accomodation and friendly, hospitable hosts. Thank you Hillary and Chris. I am counting down the days until my next visit.

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Ross And Taryn Norton (Baynesfield)

Thank you for an amazing holiday! Mafube is officially or family’s favourite holiday destination. A week of non-stop fun, with enough to do to make it relaxing for the parents! Family hikes, river swims, boating in the dam, fishing, rock collecting, slippery slide, dinosaur tracks, bushmen paintings, mud fights...What an adventure for the children – and when the children are happy, everyone is happy! Hillary and Chris, your knowledge and helpfulness were much appreciated and you definitely went the extra mile! Very gracious hosts indeed! Thanks again, we will be back!

Tonight From
ZAR700.00
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -28.644388888555557
Longitude: 28.278305554888888

Closest airport(s)
Bethlehem Airport - 50km
Bloemfontein Airport - 250km
OR Tambo International - 320km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
February 2012 - 16 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap