Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (39 reviews)

Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 79 Lancaster Avenue, Craighall Park, 2196, Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 39 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse in Craighall Park?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Johannesburg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 39 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

December 2016

Excellent

Review by Inga Klugkist (London)

The garden cottage proved ideal for my 'retreat' following plastic surgery. Part of the healing process certainly was waking up each morning to the sound of birds singing, the smell of jasmine flowers, and the sun shining. All of this was even more appreciated when arriving back to a wintery cold and grey London. Thanks again to Liz and her 'back-up team' for their wonderful care and consideration. Inga

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Barry And Fran Gordon (Siena )

Our recent four night stay at Liz at Lancaster's guest house was simply marvelous. Liz is the perfect host, providing for your every need. Nothing is overlooked. Her guest house is an ideal get away sanctuary in a safe and quiet neighborhood. Her staff is superb. Catherine and Zach are two very caring people who do their jobs with pride and competency. Like, Liz herself, they go out of their way to provide you the best stay you can imagine. Forget about the 5 star hotels in Johannesburg. Stay at Liz at Lancasters and you won't be sorry.

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Krystle Kelly (Auckland )

Beautiful Set-up her, great place for overseas travellers to feel comfortable and safe. Definitely recommend and will be back.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Naoya Asakura (Tokyo)

This is a great B&B. I'd like to stay again. It felt secure and peaceful and the rooms have a lot of space. The garden is beautiful.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Shihaam Abrahams (Cape Town)

Lovely B&B. Cosy and very friendly with helpful efficient staff. The breakfasts were excellent and loved the breakfast patio. The rooms have everything you could want. Thank you for a great stay.

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Antonio Matos (Maputo)

As always we have loved our stay. We love the peace and quiet as well as the convenience of the neighbourhood and appreciate all the attention to detail from Liz and her staff. We look forward to our next visit.

August 2013

Excellent

Review by Willem & Machteld De Bont (Amsterdam)

What a lovely place to start our holidays. We were so happy that we made the choice of coming to stay with you. Thank you for an excellent stay. You have thought of everything.

August 2013

Excellent

Review by Anthony Rau (Cape Town )

Rating should be 5 star!! Lovely!! Had an excellent stay. Thank you.

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Bernadatte Hockham (London)

Liz and her team were our first point of contact in Joburg. Awesome ambassadors for this great country. Loved our stay. Thank you.

June 2013

Excellent

Review by Bernie Cullinan (Dublin)

This is an outstanding place to stay. I just love it. The rooms are so comfortable and love the freshly prepared breakfasts. Thank you Liz, Zac, Catherine and Thandie.

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Kathleen (Pietermaritzburg)

Staff are excellent. Gardens enhance the atmopshere. Very charming and to be highly recommended

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Adel (Durban)

I visit JHB for business quite often and I opt to stay at Liz's every time because I know that the room is going to be beautiful, clean and well-equipped. I also know that the staff, Zac and Catherine, are going to have their big beautiful smiles on their faces willing to help at every point. And I also know that Liz herself would be as friendly and accomodating as always.
I just love staying at Liz's because the rooms are really nice, comfy beds, great linen, beautiful gardens, great staff, wireless, great TV channels and if that's not enough, there's always the small things that add so much.
The breakfasts are heavenly. Nothing like fresh fruit to get the appetite going, and then having whatever you choose thereafter. Marlie, the resident doggy, is also a sheer gem.

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Diane Frankel (Boston, US )

This was my third trip to South Africa, and to stay with you at Liz at Lancaster and as always it was excellent. Standards continue to be high and your attention to detail is meticulous. Having Zac to drive us around makes such a difference. Thank you and the staff for everything.

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Debbie Bartlett (Kusane, Botswana)

Complete feeling of comfort and security - friendly safe environment completes a fabulous stay

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Marie Jeffsell (Toronto )

Thank you Liz for a wonderful experience! Great privacy, professional service, eco friendly and safe. The location is quiet and there is a lovely garden with a pool. Fantastic breakfast, Wifi and desktop available. We cannot say enough good things about this accommodation. We love your Guest House and we will be back!
Marie and Antoine

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Julius Kateera (Kampala, Uganda)

I would like to pay my debt of gratitude to you and your staff for hosting me last week. I loved the place, it reminded me so much of home. I would like to pay special tribute to Zac for helping me get around, to Catherine for her dedicated service, the other staff whose names I did not get. In case you are wondering what 'webare munonga' means, it means thank you, in my language.

November 2011

Excellent

Review by Jacqui Sugden (Arusha)

A real gem. I am a tour operator and really appreciate the hard work that goes into making an establishment run this way. Jacqui Nordic Travel.

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Roderick Brown (Glasgow)

We just love the peace and privacy - you don't even know there are other guests at the B&B.

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Bryan Mchale (Vancouver)

Liz at Lancaster is an excellent B&B. We foudn the staff knowledgeable and they went out of their way to assist us. Thanks for a great stay.

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Jeff Scher (Harare )

Sorry to leave after 2 very comfortable weeks. Liz and her staff go the whole nine yards for their guests. The room was exceedingly comfortable and delightfully QUIET. Thank you.

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Jo Kollar (Cape Town )

Liz at Lancaster has thought of EVERYTHING. We had electric blankets when it was cold and umbrellas when it rained. Everything was perfect and GREEN too! Well done.

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Jeff Scher (Harare )

Sorry to leave after 2 very comfortable weeks. Liz and her staff go the whoel nine yards for their guests. The room was exceedingly comfortable adn delightfully QUIET. Thank you.

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Adel (Durban)

I just love coming to stay at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse. Beautiful rooms and great staff. A person is made to feel very welcome.

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Georgie Brander (Victoria Canada)

Veryfriendly and accommodating staff. Beautiful abd comfortable room, excellent breakfasts,. Very good information bools in teh rooms -lots of info on the establsihment and things to do. Lovely peaceful environment. Great place to stay in Joburg.

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Verity Leach (Halifax)

We absolutely loved your Guest House....the best in the country. I just want to tell you, that your attention to detail is unsurpassed. The art that you display inspired us to purchase art. The tendancy is to overlook beautiful items as they are not well displayed in the stalls and markets. However, seeing items in your home made them shine. Liz, you offer really high quality in several ways. Exceptionally delicious meals in such a gorgeous setting. A website that is clear and detailed. Having our suitcases moved without request. Thank you. Your efforts do not go unnoticed!

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Rod Myburgh (George Cape )

So comfortbale with wonderful attention to detail. Thank you Liz

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Verity Leach (Halifax, Canada)

Liz is a superb host. The house and facilities are beautifully decorated. Every comfort was met. Meals are delicious and all attentivness and kindness shown much appreciated.

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Aby Ruskey (Olympia,WA, US )

Best guesthouse I have ever been to. To be treated like royatty and made to feel at home at the same time. A rare gift.

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Brett Gallie (Relocated To Joburg)

Our expectations were high and these were surpassed. Plus this is the most eco-friendly place we have stayed.

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Patrick Strauss (Minneapolis, US)

Quite an amazing place, the best I have stayed at in my 4 trips to South Africa

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Anthony Bluford (Michagan US)

I absolutely loved my stay. Liz, Zac Catherine and Thandi were so helpful and hospitable.

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Nesha Haniff (Michigan US)

Your B&B us beautifully run, has a great ambience and Liz you are a wonderful host with great staff. Thank you.

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Greg Kerr (Port Elzabeth)

I am not surprised to read of the first-rate assessments of other guests. Liz's guest house exceeds all expectations of comfort, cleanliness, environmental care, peace and quiet, privacy and splendid food. Liz and her staff make you feel that you belong there and are more than just an itinerant lodger. I think I will have to marry this worman.

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Mike Aspinall (Cape Town South Africa)

I travel weekly and stay in many places. Honestly this has to be my favourite! I love it - home from home. Thanks Liz you have thought of every last detail.

November 2009

Excellent

Review by Brian Ruskin (Viña Del Mar, Chile)

The Very Best Accommodation in Johannesburg South Africa. I have stayed at many Bed & Breakfasts over the past 9 years in Johannesburg. I have never encountered accommodation that even vaguelly compares with Liz at Lancaster for cleanliness, wonderful ambiance, friendly & outstanding service, value for money and conveniently situated.

I have no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending LIZ AT LANCASTER to anyone requiring outstanding accommodation in Johannesburg.

August 2009

Excellent

Review by Sally Fraser (Cape Town)

This guesthouse provides luxury beyond expectation for guesthouses. The rooms have all the facilities of a 5-star hotel. And yet Liz and her staff give such a personal service you feel you are a guest in her home. Added to this the gardens are superb and peaceful. A real treat as I had tried often to get a booking. It's well worth while.

July 2009

Excellent

Review by Andrew Alexander (London)

Liz at Lancaster is superb!! Such attention to detail. It caters for your every whim. It is so comfortable, spacious and chic. It really is a home away from home. This is the best guesthouse I have ever stayed in in South Africa. They even picked me up from the airport! Looking forward to my next return to Johannesburg, I wont stay anywhere else.

November 2007

Excellent

Review by Keith Goode (Sydney)

On a scale of one to five stars, Liz at Lancaster should be rated as six stars, because as far as I am concerned, it has everything: great location near Rosebank and Sandton, free wireless internet broadband in your own room, own courtyard in which to have an excellent breakfast at any time, secluded flowered garden, tastefully decorated rooms, individual secure parking places, self-contained cooking facilities, efficient low cost laundry, friendly helpful staff, and shops and restaurants only a 3-minute walk away along a quiet road - I certainly intend to stay there again.

March 2007

Excellent

Review by Vicki Joyce (Channel Islands)

My experiences and time here have gone way beyond what I could have anticipated. I have had company and laughter when needed and time to reflect. This will always be a special place for me and I truly hope to come back one day.

The Pilanesberg safari is amazing - a must do
Rosebank Mall is great for shopping and spending the day - particularly the Rooftop market on a Sunday
Art Africa is fantastic for gifts
If you need anything - ask Liz -she appears to be the font of all knowledge, is a great advisor and cares
Do some of the `burbs - they have unusual knick-knack shops and a brilliant café culture for people watching.

Our
Price Range
Available on request

Contact: Liz Delmont

Tel: +27 (0)11 442-8083
Fax: +27 (0)11 880-5969
Mobile: +27 (0)83 229-4223

Physical Address:
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, 79 Lancaster Avenue, Craighall Park, 2196, Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -26.127594
Longitude: 28.024539

Closest airport(s)
OR Tambo International - 34km

Children policy
Children of all ages welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in / out times are available with prior arrangement, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
August 2005 - 39 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap