La Loggia Bed & Breakfast is rated 3/5 by visitors (8 reviews)

La Loggia Bed & Breakfast

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 57 Herrwood Drive, Umhlanga Rocks, 4320, Umhlanga Coastline, Durban, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 8 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to La Loggia Bed & Breakfast in Umhlanga Rocks?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Umhlanga Coastline.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2015


Review by Alan Lighton (Cape Town)

Positives - good location; good pool and outside area; decent breakfast
Negatives - downstairs room(sea facing) was not ready on arrival (16h30) and had musty smell, bathroom door could not close, bathroom fan not working;
Upstairs rooms were fine

July 2014



1 Been staying at this place from 2008 to now,
2.The service is average, rooms v small, with staff that are far more friendly than the Owner Ingrid, who is Swedish?
3.Betwn sms and em confirmation and I would be ask several times thereaft for the very same info to be confirmed repeatedly?!
3. Ingrid once charged twd me and shoved an address in my hand, when I arrived there for a stay with a friend, saying "sorry Dr Pillay, but I make mistake,I get big lot of people now, 2 van load, no time to talk now, but u go here". Red in face, I drove around looking for this address. Needless to say , No courtesy call; frm her thereafter.
2. I booked a friend in for an Anniversary treat this last weekend, and my friend called her to say that they cud not make it bec of a tiff. She was so "stroppy" was angry and shouted, telling her that no matter what, she must pay for this ! Just did transfer now for stay untaken.
4. Expect Owner to be unfriendly, cold, tactless, rude, uncaring ... in fact all attributes that would never be expected in an HOSPITALITY industry :(
5. After all that abuse, Im no doubt taking my good business elsewhere now aft several YEARS of loyalty.
6. Venture in if you dare ... definitely NOT RECOMMENDED for guests looking for Homeliness, attention and caring and Pampering !

January 2013

Very Good

Review by Don Bayley (Melbourne .. Australia)

A lovely place to stay. Nice pool to cool off in. Good cooked breakfast was included along with cereals, juices, toast etc. We did have trouble with one of the two Air conditioners which didn't work, but it was handy to friends which we wanted to visit and far enough away from dirty Durban

February 2012


Review by Tom Young (Whiting Bay Isle Of Arran)

A great disappointment to me and my wife as we arrived after a 36 hour journey from UK to be shown to a small dingy not too clean room with an inadequate shower room whcih was nothing like those shown on the website. The furniture was tacky with little space for clothing and when we aired our disappointment we were told by the management that this was all that was available despite the fact that we had booked the accomodation way back in August 2011. We were very tired so stayed one night and in the morning we elected to leave. We indicated this fact to the lady in charge and her attitude was one of couldn't care less. She did however refund our money for the remainder of the week. My advice to anyone thinking of going there would be to make very sure of the room you are booking, that it is indeed one shown on the website and not one of the grotty little rooms round the back. The one we had had two windows one of which was blanked off with some sticky coating so that you could not see through it and the other faced a brick wall totaally unsuitable for a weeks holiday

December 2010


Review by Carole Greyvenstein (Johannesburg)

We have stayed here already on three occassions December 2004,2009 and 2010. It's a great place to stay we love it !!

May 2010


Review by Daya (Centurion)

The 1 Bedroom Self Catering Apartment: Bedroom very small with very little space to walk and en suite bathroom was a shower, basin and toilet all lined up with no space to move or turn.

February 2010


Review by Amanda Naidoo (KZN)

My hubby & I have stayed here on several occasion, its a holiday close to home!!
Warm frieindly service, its prefect and I have recommended this BB to everyone I know.

We've give away their honeymmon suites as wedding gifts on 3 occasoins.
You wont go wrong by staying here!!

May 2008


Review by Rhett De Beer (Gauteng)

I will definitely recommend La Loggia B & B. It was a lovely serene location with excellent service. Would definitely come back.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.7116
Longitude: 31.083488888555557

Closest airport(s)
Durban International - 35km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
May 2001 - 8 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap