Kwantu Private Game Reserve is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (37 reviews)

Kwantu Private Game Reserve

Game Lodge at 1 Daniel Street, Sidbury, 6131, Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 37 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Kwantu Private Game Reserve in Sidbury?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Frontier Country.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 37 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

November 2014

Very Good

Review by Ellis (Pretoria)

A friend of mine suggested coming here to look at places where I could take my girlfriend because I want to propose. I got there and felt this was it... The atmosphere, the people, the food, it all fit in together. I discussed my intent and they have promised to do something special for us. I am coming back soon to propose here. I know it will be a day to remember.

November 2014

Very Good

Review by Naty (Sterkspruit)

I came to Port Elizabeth on holiday wanting some alone time and Kwantu seemed the most ideal choice. The place is secluded, peaceful and allows you to just switch off your phone and rest. The area was nice and clean, the service was enjoyable, and I enjoyed just relaxing in my room over the weekend.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Jess (St Francis Bay)

We had a family outing last weekend with the nieces and nephews. Kwantu was just a wonderful place to spend the day as it allowed us to spend a bit of time with the kids and also to do something fun, exciting and challenging to them and also it allowed them to learn something new. They loved the animals and they got to play with the cubs there. Its an unforgettable moment when your niece asks you if you can take one of the cubs home so she can continue playing with it. It is a moment you can never forget.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by I Kruger (Port Elizabeth)

My husband and I went there for our 10th anniversary last week. I am not sure how he engineered the whole day without me knowing but I was breathless. I fell in love with the place. Thank you Steve for this amazing gift and for the 10 wonderful years you have given me.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Kenny (Queenstown)

I went there with my son this week and it really gave him the opportunity to run around and explore the place. He was scared of the reptiles but absolutely loved the big cats. We enjoyed an elephant ride at the Elephant sanctuary but the day ended with an evening safari drive. It was an unbelievable feeling seeing my son fall asleep with a smile on his face before the safari drive was over. It was a day well spent in my opinion. I will never forget his excitement.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Bruce (East London)

A splendid place to spend the day with family and friends. Friendly people all around and refreshing outdoor location. Lots of animals to see and places to see at Kwantu.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Sam Adams (Francistown, Botswana)

After hearing about the volunteer program at Kwantu, I wanted to see the place and get a feel of the place. It was a worth while trip, the place is lovely and I got to speak to some of the people volunteering there. I have since sent in an application and am hoping to be there as well very soon.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Monique Williams (Harare, Zimbabwe)

Had forgot what it means to be pampered, with everything being taken care of, no stress and no one looking for you, your phone off. I set out to have fun and relax at Kwantu and I really got to do that. I had a full body massage and I walked out of there a new person.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Wayne Kemp (Harare, Zimbabwe)

I think the only thing that was wrong with the place was that I couldn't enjoy a glass of whiskey at the end of the day. The food there was wonderful, the Pollards Inn has exceptional staff, they are friendly and are always ready to help and make your stay more comfortable. It is a very relaxing place

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Nadine (Perth, Australia)

I came to visit my parents for a weekend and to spoil them. A friend suggested Kwantu and I couldn't thank her enough. The Pollards inn was just lovely and the food was fantastic. As my parents went through the place, they came to the touch farm where they recalled life at the farm where they grew up, it was a nostalgic moment, they yearned to be there again. I knew right there that I had given them the best gift I could have given them. We then continued and got to ride the elephants which was something that we all enjoyed

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Rene (Dubai (UAE))

Kwantu was a wonderful place, I loved the food there which catered for my religious beliefs and also that they have somewhere were you can pray even when you are on holiday. I enjoyed my stay there and I got to relax my body and also grow spiritually. I particularly enjoyed being around the animals and the touch farm really got me closer to nature. It is a life changing place.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Darlington Ellis (Pretoria)

As an ex-safari guide I have stayed in many camps over the years and Kwantu is one of the very best I have ever visited. Its location in Port Elizabeth overlooking the Sidbury Plains is fantastic and the service and welcome are second to none. If you are after a truly wild experience then this is the place to go - remote, beautifully decorated and perfect for a genuine get away from it all experience

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Stephanie Saunders (Port Elizabeth)

A splendid place within a spectacular setting! Marvelous meals and beverages (non alcoholic), along with beautiful large rooms. The service staff is excellent and the guides are top-notch veterans. All is good with this team who provided my husband and I (along with our friends) an outstanding experience of close encounters with elephants!

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Jess Collins (Queenstown)

I'm not sure I can say anything that will truly capture the beauty and serenity that this private game reserve provides. From the animals that are found in the reserve that include the zebra, giraffe, cape buffalo, elephant and other wonderful animals to the comfortable beds and linens and to the wonderfully prepared food and drink!!! All the staff here are truly there to ensure your stay is perfect. Our guide, was great at finding animals while we were on safari and his talk was truly informative. Thank you everyone!!!!! You really made this a trip of a lifetime for us!!! :)

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Natalie Dube (Sterkspruit)

We stayed for 3 nights and could hardly bear to leave. This is a superb game reserve in a perfect location. The staff has a lot of enthusiasm, warmth and generosity and are a wonderful family for whom nothing was too much trouble. All the guides were highly skilled, knowledgeable. We're so glad we went to Kwantu. It was a truly awesome experience. We can't thank you enough and still miss you.

October 2014

Very Good

Review by Benjamin Sithole (Grahamstown)

If you love the out doors, animals, friendly people then Kwantu Game Reserve is the place to be. I had a wonderful time at the Elephant Sanctuary then went to the Rehabilitation center. I got to play with some lion cubs. Great place

October 2014

Very Good

Review by Anton (Durban)

In a few words, majestic, breath taking, beautiful. I have never seen anything like this place.

October 2014

Very Good

Review by Prince (Dodoma, Tanzania)

Had a stop over at this place, it was a good place to spend the night, the rooms were great, the food at the Pollards Inn was wonderful. The staff were very hospitable as well. I had trouble with cell reception though.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Monica (Port Elizabeth)

A great escape from the city life where I found tranquility and peace of mind, the outstanding warm hospitality made me forget that I was visiting and not staying.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Nicole (Kimberly)

Well, its always a humbling experience when you see the power of God, when you see the creatures that God has placed on this earth up close. Kwantu gave me the opportunity to really see the creatures up close and be able to really experience something I have never felt before. I enjoyed going around the rehabilitation center and also the reptile center where I got to learn a lot about reptiles. Thank you for this experience

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Zanele Ndlovu (Gaberone, Botswana)

Having moved from home(South Africa) a while back, the family wanted to come and experience where I grew up and how life is there. Kwantu was a stop on our journey as I grew up on the farms that used to occupy that land. I couldn't believe what they had done with the place. I was happy to see that they kept the old church buildings in place. It was a nice surprise. We eventually spent a few days at Kwantu enjoying the animals. The kids loved the touch farm while I went to the spa in order to rejuvinate myself.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Kathleen Adela (Capetown)

This was our first safari experience so it's possible that there are better camps out there that we don't know about but I doubt it. The staff are very friendly and the guides are very professional and very knowledgeable. There is great food and the rooms are exceptionally big and luxuriously decorated. The best part was getting really close to the animals without being in any danger - maybe a little too close in the case of one elephant in particular when we went to the elephant sanctuary.

September 2014

Very Good

Review by Vanessa (Windhoek, Namibia)

I came to Port Elizabeth looking for a place to settle, I was invited to go to Kwantu for a weekend with the girls. It was absolutely fantastic. We enjoyed every minute of the trip. I am convinced this is the place I want to be. Thank you Kwantu for a wonderful time.

September 2014

Excellent

Review by Buhle (George)

Yho, this is a good place. My husband and I spent a weekend here away from the family and we relaxed, we were treated like royalty. The rooms were clean, the food was nice. I even got to enjoy the spa while my husband went to see the animals. It was the best weekend ever.

September 2014

Excellent

Review by Zwane (Bloemfontein)

Stumbled on this place after driving from JHB, had to be in Port Elizabeth the next morning, I couldn't drive much further as I was tired. I got a very good meal at the Pollards Inn while they were sorting out my room. I really had a refreshing night's sleep there.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Ann Muller (Sudan)

I was here for a conference and this place is lovely, we had good service, the venue was wonderful and the food exquisite. I enjoyed the game ride at night after the conference, that was the highlight of my day.

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Moloi Lissa (Port Elizabeth)

Our company conference was a great success because of the service we got during the course of the workshop. We enjoyed great food and everything was on time and was handled professionally.

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Carl Peter (Nairobi, Kenya)

I came for a business conference and I must say I was impressed by the place and the staff there. The location made the conference more memorable as it was just a lovely place. I even got to go on a game drive one evening after our session. It was just beautiful.

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Marius (King William's Town)

This was a life changing experience for me, I get to ride an elephant. I even got to see a lion and a tiger up close which is something

April 2014

Very Good

Review by Hendrik (Windhoek, Namibia)

Spent the Easter weekend there, its a good getaway.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Themba Mthembu (Bulawayo, Zimbabwe)

Am visiting friends and family in Port Elizabeth and this was a family outing where we got to do things together. The game reserve is a wonderful place, the kids particularly loved the touch farm where they were able to play and interact closely with the animals. The whole family can enjoy will enjoy coming out here.

March 2014

Very Good

Review by Noku (Queenstown)

For our birthday, my twin and I decided to spoil ourselves, we picked a place on the map (Sidbury) and went on a road trip. Kwantu was devine, the integration into nature of the place and the good food and friendly people made the place just magical. We got a pleasant surprise at dinner when the staff found out that it was our birthday. I felt like a queen and my day was special. Thank you Faith for making us feel at home while we were there.

February 2014

Very Good

Review by Zenzo (Cape Town)

We went for a day trip here with the boys and it was a great place, we would have enjoyed more if we had our braai and drinks. But we enjoyed the place

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Tanya (London)

Just needed to go somewhere and relax, got the recommendation of Kwantu from my friend's niece who had been volunteering there. It is a lovely place. The lodge was just beautiful. The staff were very friendly and the service was delightful. I didn't expect much but got a delightful surprise. I even tried some of the local cuisine they served there and enjoyed it.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Zoe Pieters (JHB)

A very relaxing place, went for my annual holiday on recommendation from a friend and the place was just lovely

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Francois (Midrand, South Africa)

Lovely place, I wish I could take it home with me

February 2013

Excellent

Review by Yaseen (Durban)

I personally enjoyed the food there, as a practicing Muslim, I was glad they catered for my religious beliefs.

Tonight From
ZAR4500.00
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.416667
Longitude: 26.166656

Closest airport(s)
Port Elizabeth Airport - 85km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
December 2009 - 37 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap