Kuhestan Farm Cottages is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (11 reviews)

Kuhestan Farm Cottages

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at J22, Houtbosdorp Road, Magoebaskloof, 0731, Limpopo, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 11 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Kuhestan Farm Cottages in Magoebaskloof?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Capricorn.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2016


Review by Chris (Pretoria)

Lovely comfortable stay! Lovely owners! Enjoyed the weekend and can recommend Kuhestan Farm Cottages.

October 2013


Review by Charmaine Dawson (Johannesburg)

Shahrzad, a big thank you to you and Brett again from BirdLife Sandton for an absolutely wonderful stay. Kuhestan is always an absolutely pleasure to visit and there is no doubt that we will use your venue again in the future. One is always made to feel so welcome there. Speaking for myself, it is certainly one of my favourites so you will be seeing more of me

September 2013


Review by Yvonne Blomerus (Johannesburg)

The people, the garden, the accommodation. All were in perfect harmony.

What a wonderful place to stay! An experience not be to missed! We stayed in one of the farm cottages surrounded by the most beautiful gardens bordering onto a natural forest. The finishes in the cottage as well as the equipment are of the highest standard. The rooms are spacious and modern, but still have a cozy feeling, enhanced in winter, by the fireplace. Brett and shahrzad, our hosts, went out of their way to make us feel at home and were also very helpful with advice regarding places of interest to be visited in the area.

September 2013


Review by Linda Thompson (JHB)

It was a wonderful, memorable experience staying at the Kuhestan cottages. The location is perfect, with trails leading right off from the cottages, it is the best place in Magoebeskloof at which to stay when exploring this area. The fire place is great with a perfect layout in the cottage and lovely attention to detail touches along with the complimentary yoghurts, fresh farm milk and home made bread that is provided on arrival.

July 2013

Very Good

Review by Elize D (Pretoria)

Kuhestan is a very special place in a breathtaking setting! Brett and Shahrzad are gracious hosts and Shahrzad's garden is something to see and experience. It is also a wonderful area for birders with a few very rare forest species occurring there. The cottages all have breathtaking views, you'll never want to leave this peaceful haven!

May 2013


Review by Sharon Myer (JHB)

It was a fantastic/wonderful/beautiful/lovely, etc 3 days we had at Kuhestan, and your staff were wonderful and friendly. We enjoyed Lucky very much as well very cute!!! I cannot express the feelings and the mist and the sunshine and the sunsets and the trees and the air...

Thank you so much for everything. (It was heavenly!!!!!!!!!!)

April 2013


Review by Hilda D (JHB)

We spent a wonderful Christmas in the beautiful self catering cottages. Lovely walks in the forest, cool relaxing gardens and plenty of interesting things to do and see in the Haenertsburg area. Best of all was the lovely freshly baked bread, fruit bowl, muesli, jams and preserves, eggs and other goodies given to us throughout our stay. We do a lot of self catering and never before have we been given more than a complimentary tea bag.

February 2013

Very Good

Review by Pat Fourie (JHB)

A Lovely Experience
My husband and I enjoyed our time at Kuhestan immensely. The view from our bed of the indigenous forest and Azaelea's was a precious gift. The gardens were magnificent, and we enjoyed the fresh farm produce delivered each day. Lighting the fire on the wet and cold Sunday evening was a treat and added to the wonderful atmosphere. Our hosts were very kind and friendly - we will go back!

February 2013


Review by Joanna M (Cape Town)

Kuhestan Farm Cottages nestled atop the beautiful Magoebaskloof mountains are what I deem to be, 'South Africa's best kept secret'. I do feel however that they should certainly not be kept a secret but rather be shouted from the mountains for all to know about and enjoy. While the geographical setting is lush, refreshing and rejuvenating, the couple who own and run Kuhestan Farm Cottages are warm, personable and caring.
Every minor detail of comfort has been thought out, from heated towel rails to toasty fireplaces in each cottage as well as the fresh, home-baked bread and farm eggs for breakfast. You cannot help but feel as though you have stepped off the madly spinning world and into a time and place where things are exactly how they should be.
We love Kuhestan Farm Cottages and hope that others have the chance to discover and enjoy this hidden jewel.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family

October 2012


Review by Puya R (JHB)

Beautiful place, gardens and forests.
Well appointed chalets with tranquil and private gardens.
The host and hostess are most charming and welcoming.
Their cottage industry organic cordials and preserves factory is most interesting. Better yet is the cooking classes of persian food! We definitely recommend the classes.

October 2012


Review by Salome V (JHB)

Heaven on Earth
I have been fortunate to stay at Kuhestan twice, once in the winter for the wonderful Persian cooking course and then again in spring during the berry festival. Brett and Shahrzad are wonderful and very interesting people; excellent hosts and magnificent cooks and entertainers.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -23.858694444444446
Longitude: 29.985833333

Closest airport(s)
Polokwane Airport - 70km
Tzaneen Airport - 30km

Children policy
Children 16 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
September 2006 - 11 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap