Gecko Hill is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (51 reviews)

Gecko Hill

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 7 Neden Road, Montrose, Pietermaritzburg, Natal Midlands, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 51 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Gecko Hill in Pietermaritzburg?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Natal Midlands.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 51 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

December 2015

Very Good

Review by Vinita & Jeryn (Melbourne, Australia)

We had a wonderful few days here, will be back in future!

December 2015

Excellent

Review by David, Tanja & Keagan Hazell (Cape Town)

Perfect place to stay while our older son was playing an Indoor Hockey Tournament. Perfect home away from home!

October 2015

Excellent

Review by Big John & Julia Mkhwane (Gauteng)

We are so grateful and overwhelmed with your hospitality and the cosyness of the place!
Thank you and be blessed.

October 2015

Excellent

Review by Erva-Jean Stevens (Jamaica)

Sharon you are an amazing host. From the moment I exited the taxi to the time I departed Gecko Hill. Clean, inviting and spacious accommodation.
Thank you

July 2015

Excellent

Review by Pieter& Marthina Kleynhans (Cape Town)

Thanks for a great stay! Beautiful, cosy and well equipped cottage. Thank you!

April 2015

Excellent

Review by Sue-Rey & Louis De Beer (Frankfort, Free State)

Thank you Sharon for everything. After a long trip and very tired, we couldn't have asked for a more comfortable place. Very nice, quiet and peaceful. Thank you for your friendliness and hospitality!!

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Brad Mcgregor (Beijing,P.R.China)

This was our second stay at Gecko Hill.It is within walking distance to Cascades,very handy for us as we did not hire a car in SA.Our guesthouse was very comfortable and homely-also very clean and tidy! When we return to PMB my wife and i won't stay anywhere else!

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Johan, Esna & SJ (Pretoria)

Thank you for a lovely stay. Gecko Hill is very central to everything we needed to see. Nice & clean accommodation, we loved it.

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Devan & Malani & Esme (Joburg)

Thanks Sharon for a very relaxing & peaceful stay. Accommodation standards are excellent. Keep it up!!!

December 2013

Excellent

Review by The Youngman Family (Joburg & UK)

We had a lovely stay here. Used all 3 rooms between the 9 of us & enjoyed using the family room. Thank you ... from Joburg & the UK

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Lianne & Michael Clarke (Pretoria)

Thank you so much for going the extra mile and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Accommodation is very comfy. Thanks a ton, many blessings for 2014

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Brad & Vera (China)

Very comfortable room - provided with everything we needed. We will both miss Joe! Have a good Christmas Sharon, see you in 2015.

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Michelle & Dylan Whittle (Pretoria)

Great, friendly welcoming, home away from home! Thank you!!

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Delvan & Jenny (Joburg)

Baie dankie. Rustige nag gehad.

June 2013

Excellent

Review by Steve & Yvonne (Somerset West)

Thank you Sharon ( and Joe!!) for making us so welcome. The cottage was delightful & had all the comforts we needed - and more! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Helen Payne & Irene Burrows (Joburg)

Happy New Year!! Thank you for a wonderful stay(again!) We love the cottage & will be back - many thanks

November 2012

Excellent

Review by Craig & Jo Shrosbree & Family (UK)

Lovely, clean spacious accommodation.. We shall stay here on our next visit from England

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Gary & Jackie Ackerman (George)

Thank you Sharon. Once again we really enjoyed our stay. You really do offer "value" for money accommodation. Always comfortable, neat & clean.

May 2012

Excellent

Review by Scott & Trish Brown (Zimbabwe)

Home from home!... Thank you! A wonderful place to put up our feet in the evenings & think over the inspiring challenges from the Leaders Training Time.
Much love & blessings
Scott & Trish Brown, The Rock-Byo- Zimbabwe

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Tricia & Samie Ayres (United Kingdom)

What a lovely time we have had on our first trip to South Africa! Sharon has been so kind and the accommodation is clean & comfortable. Perfect! I would definately recommend.

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Wayne Pheiffer (Port Elizabeth)

A wonderful 5 days - thank you! A great "home" from home & super hosts. This will always be our 1st port of call in Pmb.
Wayne, Brent & Shane Pheiffer & Intellibus cycling team

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Vincent & Sanet Moore (South Africa)

Because of cricket, we visit a lot of guest houses. This is by far the best - thanks!

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Preslyn, Keshnee & Vishai (Secunda)

Your cottages provide a nice getaway, a lovely retreat from the hustle & bustle of city life.

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Jenny & Pierre (Cape Town)

A long way to come But worth it to stay at Gecko Hill! Comfortable & organised - even hooks in the right place! Thank you

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Santa Cruz Syndicate (Santa Cruz, California, USA)

Steve Peat, Greg Minnaar, Josh Bryceland, Doug Hatfield, Travis Lucas, Ricky Bobby & Kathy Sessler. Thanks so much for the wonderful accommodation & hospitality!! The house was perfect for our needs & helped make a great result for the weekend: Greg 2nd, Steve 5th, Josh 10th. Hope to be back next year!

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Simon & Mel Lovett (Kitwe, Zambia)

Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. Your hospitality & kindness made us feel so welcome.

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Stelios Agrotis (Cyprus,Greece)

For the first time in 14 years of business travelling, I feel like I'm at home - and this was a long 2 month stay. Thank you Gary, Sharon & Thembi

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Mish & Norman (Jhb)

Gecko Hill, we give you 10 out of 10. You rock guys. The best!

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Chris & Jennifer Strachan (New Zealand)

Thank you for such a lovely time. We have had an awesome stay. Couldn't have asked for better hosts.

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Andy & Nikki Paige (Cape Town)

By far the best place we've stayed on our trip. Best value. Sharon is amazing. We were really treated like family. Thank you!

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Ursula & Darryl (Jhb)

Thank you so much. It's been the nicest break in the nicest place. A home away from home.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Kerry (Brits)

Thank you Sharon for providing us with a wonderful place to stay, we really had an awesome time. We will definately be visiting again.

October 2009

Very Good

Review by Steven, Bren, Max, Rud, Che & Neelie (South Africa)

Beautiful - enjoyed the stay. We will definitely see you again

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Grant & Tracie Robertson (Gauteng)

Absolutely perfect...what more can one say!! Location, cleanliness, hospitality, price, perfect. Hosts-perfect. we'll be back.

June 2009

Very Good

Review by John & Dagmar Lawrence (Zimbabwe)

Thank you for your kindness. We were very comfortable and loved your indigenous garden for birds

June 2009

Excellent

Review by Nick Arkell (Lagos, Nigeria)

Home away from home. Keep up the high standards

May 2009

Very Good

Review by Jim & Anne (Wakkerstroom)

A delightful atmosphere. Charming and comfortable

April 2009

Very Good

Review by Schalk, Lyette & Rossouw De Waal (South Africa)

Thanks Sharon! A nice, cosy, comfortable, quiet and rustic atmosphere. Just what we wanted and expected

February 2009

Very Good

Review by Emma Rondhawe (New Zealand)

Very enjoyable stay. Nice and peaceful. Lovely place

January 2009

Excellent

Review by Van Sorgen Family (Netherlands)

What a lovely place to stay - such hospitality. Thank you

July 2008

Very Good

Review by Jessica & Jacky (Shanghai, China)

Thanks very much for everything you have prepared for us! All things are nice! Thank you again Ms Sharon. Hope you'll have nice days!

July 2008

Excellent

Review by Leonora Nyawata (USA)

Thank you Sharon for the warm welcome. We were very "warm" and comfortable. Your kindness and hospitality will always be remembered.

May 2008

Excellent

Review by Mieke & Ad Welschen (Amsterdam)

Prolonged their stay because they enjoyed it so much!

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Rob & Caroline Knight (Zimbabwe)

Perfect stay, wonderful stop over. We really enjoyed it especially the little extra touches. Thanks a million!

February 2008

Very Good

Review by Patrick & James (Gauteng)

Enjoyable stay. Very cosy and quiet and peaceful!

February 2008

Excellent

Review by Petro, David, Johan, Dirkie Labuschagne (Pretoria)

Baie dankie vie die gasvryheid en die lekker bly. Sien jul weer!

October 2007

Excellent

Review by Kurt, Sheleen, Brenda, Mac McKenzie (Dublin, Ireland & Botswana)

We have felt very comfortable here, like a home away from home. Thank you for your service and hospitality and for doing our washing!

September 2007

Very Good

Review by Donovan & Sandi Gillman (Cape Town)

Thanks for a wonderful stay, hospitality and kindness

August 2007

Very Good

Review by Don, Kath, Isaac & Michael Robinson (Minnesota, USA)

Home away from home. Lovely! Thanks so much for all the special little touches! We'll miss Bullet and Joe.

August 2007

Excellent

Review by Suleman Family (Gauteng)

Fabulous guest house and wonderful host and hostess. Hope to see you again soon.

June 2007

Excellent

Review by Henk & Jonel Mulder (Pretoria)

Baie dankie vir jul gasvryheid. Dit was so lekker om hier te bly - sien jul beslis weer!

Tonight From
ZAR700.00
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.576442999333334
Longitude: 30.355242

Closest airport(s)
Durban International - 65km
Pietermaritzburg Airport - 10km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times by arrangement, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
September 2008 - 51 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap