De Oude Opstal is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (13 reviews)

De Oude Opstal

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 1 Warren Street, Robertson, 6705, Breede River Valley, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 13 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to De Oude Opstal in Robertson?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Breede River Valley.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 13 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2016

Excellent

Review by Vusi Mhlanga (Cape Town)

the place is excellent and the henk botha and his wife go out their way to make your stay an excellent one

February 2013

Excellent

Review by Ullrich (Pocking/Germany)

Eine in jeder Hinsicht vorbildliche Unterkunft. Jedes noch so kleine Detail im kapholländischen Haus und im großen Garten mit fantastischem Pool und Naturstrand ist wirklich bestens durchdacht. Ausgesprochen nette, hilfsbereite und freundliche Gastgeber. Ein Gefühl wie bei guten Freunden. Eine traumhafte Oase in die sich auch der Haushund Willi perfekt einpasst. Eigentlich ein Geheimtipp, den man für sich behalten sollte. Bei einem nochmaligen Besuch in Südafrika werden wir auf jeden Fall versuchen dort wieder Unterkunft zu bekommen. Das Highlight unserer dreiwöchigen Südafrikareise.

Hier gab es wirklich nichts zu bemängeln

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Carla (Hatfiled/UK)

A wonderful and professional couple, with very hospitable ways always accommodating you in every way possible. The service, room’s property and environment are 5 *. The massive pool is secluded and perfect for the late evening dip. We will definitely be back. Carla, Gerhard and Chantel

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Chloe Osburn (Cape Town)

Hi Hilde and Dieter
We're back into our normal routine in Cape Town again, but keep remembering our days in Robertson fondly.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. The room was great, the breakfasts tasty and the gardens beautiful. Jesse loved your dog and the tall, tall palm tree sticking out from behind the rooms. Lance loved the shower and all the different fruit trees in the garden. I loved the bag of swimming towels outside the room and being woken by church bells on Good Friday.

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Kees And Evelien (Netherlands)

Dieter en Hilde,
We will thank you for the great stay at De Oude Opstal. You are very friendly and helpful and we felt right at home. The garden is wonderful, very big and very quiet with a lovely large swimming pool. The room is beautifully decorated everything fits together. We had a wonderfull time with you, many thanks.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Olav (Amsterdam)

Just 2 weeks ago we were still on holiday in South Africa. We (2 adults and a 2 year old child) were travelling around the country, but had a lot of things to do around Robertson/McGregor. Luckily we found De Oude Opstal quickly. We had the Out of Africa room which was really spacious. The bedroom, bathroom and self catering kitchen were all clean and ready to be used. The bathroom was spacious and plenty of room to move and hooks to hang face cloths, towels, clothes and robes. And the bath was really nice too. Although the house is in town, the environment is tranquil and peaceful with large trees and a settled garden with beautiful flowers (spring was in the air so we saw a lot of beautiful, colourful flowers). There is also a large pool where one can relax, either to just enjoy the sun or swim a couple of lengths – unfortunately it was still too cold for us to use. There is also a braai in the garden which you can use. Hilde and Dieter were really friendly and were so kind and helpful for us, also in respect of our daughter (providing us with extra towels so she could splash around in the bathtub, potatoes for our braai etc). Their knowledge about Robertson and surroundings is also tremendous; they helped us with addresses in and around Robertson and also they told us a lot about their lovely Cape Dutch house. Willy their watch dog was also so lovely and kind and off course there was Cassiopeia their tortoise. You can imagine that we spent 6 days in the Out of Africa room; every time we needed to be around we stayed in the Out of Africa room. It felt like home to us; when staying over in Robertson again – we will definitely go back to De Oude Opstal.

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Marisa Hesseling (Cape Town)

Dear Dieter
We just wanted to thank you for the warm welcome and comfortable stay at De Oude Opstal on 29 July 2011. Your house is beautiful, your garden is peaceful, your accomodation is loveley, your dog is adorable and your breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be back and will tell all our friends about your farm in the heart of Robertson.

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Melinda Jacobs (Johannesburg)

What a joy. Very comfortable, well equipped and central accommodation. Lovely views, peace and quiet and very welcoming hosts. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend it to all our friends and family. Hopefully we'll get another opportunity to make use of this great venue.

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Judy Vd Merwe (South Africa)

As if at home in Robertson
Judy vd Merwe (South Africa), March 22 2011
I arrived at De Oude Opstal on a hot day for one night only and was delighted that the room was spacious and cool, even though it was on the top floor. The bedroom, bathroom and self catering kitchen were all clean and ready to be used. The linen was still new (and fresh). The bathroom was spacious and plenty of room to move and hooks to hang face cloths, towels, clothes and robes.

Although the house is in town, the environment is tranquil and peaceful with large trees and a settled garden with beautiful flowers.
There is also a large pool where one can relax, either to just enjoy the sun or swim a couple of lengths - be sure to bring your swimsuit as I did not pack mine.

The staff was friendly and helpful and Willy (the watch dog) is beautiful and has good manners. Breakfast was tasty and more than enough to last (it included home made jam!).

When staying over in Robertson again - will definitely go back to De Oude Opstal.

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Manfred Thieroff (Strand Cape Town)

Vielen dank Hilde und Dieter! What a day......really would have loved to spend more time enjoying your wonderfull hospitality and a room to dream of. Good luck and many thanks........Manfred und Lizbe Kapstadt

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Roy And Colette (Durban)

Dear Hilde and Dieter,
Many thanks for the most beautiful time spent at your magnificent home, you made our holiday perfect. We will remember you always.
Roy and Colette

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Ina Laubscher (Cape Town)

This guesthouse is in Robertson and is stunning. If you drive the R62 you MUST visit.

August 2009

Excellent

Review by Holger (Holzgerlingen)

Es war ein traumhafter Urlaub bei Hilde und Dieter. Díeses B&B ist sehr zu empfehlen.
Das Essen und die liebevoll eingerichteten Zimmer sind perfekt und den Pool hatten wir während unseres Aufenthalts komplett für uns alleine. Unsere Ausflüge wurden von Dieter super durchgeplant und organisiert. Seine Tipps sind einfach Gold wert. WIR KOMMEN WIEDER!!! 7 VON 5 STERNEN für dieses B&B.
Liebe Grüße von Holger und Chantal

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.804078
Longitude: 19.888876999666667

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 150km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged in advance, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
December 2010 - 13 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap