Chartwell Guest House is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (47 reviews)

Chartwell Guest House

Guest House at 88 Chartwell Drive, Umhlanga Rocks, Umhlanga, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 47 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Chartwell Guest House in Umhlanga Rocks?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Umhlanga Coastline.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 47 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

December 2015

Excellent

Review by Grant Hanson (Pretoria)

We had a fantastic stay at Chartwell Guest House! We have found our happy place and will definitely return. Great location, great staff, wonderful vibe!

December 2014

Excellent

Review by The Morris-Smiths (Ermelo)

Fabulous place! Great location, perfect setting, stunning sea view and garden. We won't forget our delicious breakfast on the patio on Christmas morning anytime soon. Thank you to the staff for "our home from home". We will definitely be back, with our 4 legged family member soon!!!

December 2014

Excellent

Review by Terri Pakter (JHB)

Just wanted to let you know about the treatment received from Chartwell Guest house Umhlanga Rocks. On the website the guest house looks lovely and had very positive reviews. However when making a booking there was a problem as the days I wanted were not in the cheaper room which I preferred. Janine the owner went out of her way to organise that after getting her other bookings and making a plan I could get the room I wanted. Unexpectedly at the last minute I took ill and was unable to travel to Umhlanga. I had already paid for my few days stay. Janine once again was very understanding and paid me back in full. Next time I go to Umhlanga I will definitely stay there after the treatment I received by the owner as I'm sure she looks after all her guests very well.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Nix & Josh (Newcastle)

We had a fantastic stay - the staff were lovely, the breakfasts were magnificent, the sea views were divine and we just loved the relaxed vibe and home from home feeling. Of course our free upgrade to the Royal Suite was an amazing surprise and very appreciated. We will definitely return. Thank you!!!!

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Biaggo Pelliccia (Napoli)

Absolutely phenomenal guest house. I am in love with suite 5! Molto bene!

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Curt Muhlenberg (JHB)

Still the best breakfast in Umhlanga Rocks! Thanks for a wonderful stay (again)!

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Phillipe Morneau (Marseilles)

Tres bon! Un hotel charmant! Delicieux croissants! Belle vue sur la mer!

December 2013

Excellent

Review by The Barnard Family (Cape Town)

We had a truly amazing stay! Chartwell Guest House is spectacular, perfect location, world class service!

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Paul & Susan Fraser (JHB)

WOW! Thank you for a wonderful stay! Beautiful room, lovely sea views, best breakfast ever! See you in March 2014!

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Bertold (Munchen)

Danke fur diesen wunderschonen Urlaub. Genau der Platz um einen erholsamen Kurzurlaub zu geniessen. Das Zimmer (5) mit seiner Aussicht und die Betten sind hervorragend. Das Fruhstuck oppulent und ausgezeichnet. Weltklasse Freundlichkeit, Hilfsbereitschaft und Zuvorkommenheit der Angestellten und des Managers Bruce. Das kleine aber sehr luxuriose Hotel ist sehr gunstig gelegen und nicht weit von Strand und allen Annehmlichkeiten in Umhlanga und Umgebung. Wir kommen bestimmt wieder.
Bertold & Eva

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Tatiana & Boris (Ukraine)

Thank you for an awesome stay in your beautiful Royal Suite. It was better than 5 star! What wonderful memories - we will never forget our romantic African Honeymoon! We wish you everything of the best in the future & hope to see you all again!

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Klaus Jennert (Nederland)

THANK YOU FOR A VERY WONDERFUL HOLIDAY. YOU EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS. EXTREMELY DELIGHTFUL!

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Luis & Lara (Fourways, Gauteng)

Awesome stay! Hosts are phenomenal! Thanks for all! Will definitely be back!!!!

August 2012

Excellent

Review by S & F Sircilli (San Paulo, Brazil)

The Manager & staff were very friendly. The guesthouse is very amazing. Thanks for all.

August 2012

Excellent

Review by K Gujiaded (Sandton, JHB)

HOSPITALITY AND SERVICE IS WORLD CLASS!

July 2012

Excellent

Review by L&J Hanekom (JHB)

Fantastic! We will be back!

May 2012

Excellent

Review by Thembokuhle (Witbank)

Awesome service, Wonderful room, Great food & Warmest hospitality.
Thanks Bruce and Team

April 2012

Excellent

Review by K Van Graan (JHB)

After staying at your guest house, for the 1st time, the experiance was so wonderfull, that I recommended you for our entire company as accomodation of choice, the rest of our team that stayed there after me feels the same way. The service received from you and Bruce is really wonderfull!! Keep up the good work, and I will definately see you in future.

March 2012

Excellent

Review by Ntokozo (JHB)

Hi Janine,
Just wanted to write you a note letting you know what a wonderful time we had staying at your Guest house. The room was beautiful and spacious and your staff hospitality was great, they really know how to treat their guests. We really had the best time of our lives, We hope to be back again soon!
Thank you. Regards,
Ntokozo

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Lindiwe Thenga (Gauteng)

Hi All
Thanks for the great week-end even though it was a last minute booking, my kids were so happy and they cannot wait to go back.
Your staff was amazing and not to mention breakfast, thanks so much, hope to see you soon!
Kind Regards
Lindiwe Thenga


December 2011

Excellent

Review by Nicholas Njeru (Nairobi, Kenya)

Thank you for your hospitality! Chartwell Guest House is the place to be when in Durban. God bless U!

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Catherine Monte (France)

A wonderful stay with wonderful people!

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Rod & Marion Moss (Perth, Australia)

Such a lovely, elegant "home" and impeccable service! We loved it!!

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Joy & Julie Barrett (Southdale)

What a fabulous & perfect holiday! Feel well rested & refreshed. Felt like part of the family. Thank you!

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Sindile (Holland)

Hi Janine,
This email takes me back to the period I spent with you from early July up to the beginning of August . This was a wonderful and unforgettable time I spent at your guest house, I felt like at home. Your caring and having interest in guest is incredible. Tell Tracy that she is wonderful. Her warm hearted social contact made us to feel free and feel part of the guest house family members. Without forgetting to mention your staff members, wonderful people. Iíll miss them a lot, please tell them that we will never forget their caring and kindness.
Please pass my greetings to everyone and I/we hope to see you next time, probably as a bigger group than last time.
Thanks a lot again,
Sindile

June 2011

Excellent

Review by M Mulinder (JHB)

Wonderful room, spectacular sea views, warmest hospitality! Thank you!

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Mike & Elaine (Johannesburg)

Hi Janine
We are safely back home and in the swing of things. We just would like to thank you and your staff for your hospitality, friendliness and excellent service. We certainly enjoyed our stay with you very much. Should you ever be in Joburg and need somewhere to stay, you would be most welcome in our home.
All the best
Michael & Elaine

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Andrew & Lorraine (Johannesburg)

Absolutely fantastic! God bless you always!

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Heinz Widmer (Switzerland)

Excellent, wonderful,perfect, peaceful, coming back!

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Gareth & Charmaine (Randburg)

Heartwarming, Welcoming. Thank you for a beautiful holiday. Martin, Thoko, Zandi - very friendly and helpful. Janine, Penny - we will definitely see you soon (and nexttime we will bring our "child". God bless!)

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Nick & Justine (JHB)

A wondeful stay. Great food, friendly staff & a beautiful pool.

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Christine Norby (Norway)

Dear Janine and Penny (with staff),
Thank you for a wonderful stay at your Guest house. We enjoyed the stay very much. Yesterday we were bathing in the Indian Ocean and today we arrived at home in Oslo with 1 meter of snow. We already long for the warmth of your weather and your hospitality. We learned alot about your changing country through several interesting conversations. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and reflections with us. The view from the porch was stunning and I will often look back on the lovely evenings I experienced with the great sea view. I hope to come back to the area within a year or two and would love to stay with you again.
Again thank you for a wonderful last week of our vacation in S. Africa.
Greetings,
Christine Nordby, Inger and Elisabeth

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Bidoli Family (Cape Town)

Thank you for making us feel so welcome

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Mario (MAPUTO)

Hi Janine and Family
We would once again like to thank you for making our stay a such a wonderful experience. It is almost unheard of in the hospitality industry, to find people like yourselves and your super staff.
You made us feel at home and part of the furniture from the minute we arrived. Your attention to detail, be it hygiene, comfort and quality of service, food and willingness to help is truly is something I/we have never experienced in some top international hotels. Your establishment was the highlight of our holliday.For this my family and I are truly grateful.
Should you ever find yourselves in Mozambique our doors are always open.
Regards
Mario, Katia and family.

November 2010

Excellent

Review by Pearl Munonde (Johannesburg)

Great place, great people. Everthing just great!!!

November 2010

Excellent

Review by Arion & Rico Schaap (New Zealand)

Enjoyed our stay and your kindness very much!

November 2010

Excellent

Review by Nico & Karen Coetzee (Pretoria)

Ongelooflik huislik, vriendelik, gasvryheid. Ons sien julle weer met ons kinders. Thanks xx

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Lezel Peters (Cape Town)

Stunning, very homey. I'll be back!! Thanks alot!

July 2010

Excellent

Review by D De Wet (Cape Town)

Best breakfast ever!
Danie De Wet

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Yvonne & Pieter (Haarlem, Holland)

Very, very nice room! Thanks for having us.

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Jason & Alex (Palm Beach, Australia)

Warm and Wonderful place! Thank you for having us!

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Kevin & Lucille McCaffrey (California, USA)

Beautiful spot, room & weather! Wonderful hospitality too. Thanks!

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Anneline & George Schweitzer (Tokai, CT)

Thanks a million!!! It was FANTASTIC! Generous, warm, spotlessly clean and value for money!

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Chantal Naidoo (Durban)

Thank you for making our Honeymoon so memorable! Champagne on ice and rose-petals in the tub! Your Honeymoon Suite is unique and exquisite and your service was excellent. We plan to return on all our anniversaries! Thank you!

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Chapman Family (UK)

Excellent, your warm hospitality will be highly recommended. Thank you for a fantastic holiday

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Curt Muhlenberg (Primrose, Johannesburg)

Thanks for an awesome gettaway. The croissants were amazing!

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Sheila & Des Morkel (Bedfordview, JHB)

We have stayed in some of the best Hotels in the world and Chartwell Guest House is top of our list! The staff and management were exceptionally kind and hospitable. The room was huge and luxurious and we felt very safe and at home. Congratulations on an excellent establishment! We had a 5 star experience at a very reasonable rate. See you soon...

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.737733333
Longitude: 31.077299999333334

Closest airport(s)
King Shaka International - 15km
Virginia Airport - 4km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.
A campcot and high chair are available on request.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h30

Listed on SA-Venues.com
January 2011 - 47 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap