Buckingham Guest House is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (29 reviews)

Buckingham Guest House

Guest House / Self Catering at 97 Buckingham Avenue, Craighall Park, 2196, Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 29 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Buckingham Guest House in Craighall Park?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Johannesburg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 29 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2016


Review by Sifso And Adel (Accra)

Adel and myself we enjoyed every bit of our stay here. Your service, the food, the warmth, the chats and the car rides are all well appreciated! I particularly can't wait to come back here four you to take me to more places on tours. Thank you so much once again.

June 2016


Review by McGyver (Polokwane)

Thanks to you Sally! Everything was perfect. Greatly enjoyed and will definitely come back again.

May 2016


Review by The Da Gamas (Maputo)

Thank you so much for letting us stay at your guesthouse. We really loved staying in one of your rooms, it was home away from home ... so clean, comfortable and peaceful. From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by your friendly staff member who made sure we had all we needed. We will definitely be coming back to stay there!!!!

April 2016


Review by Moraig Henning (Louis Trichardt)

Sally Roper is a charming hostess. The accommodation suited us well as did the situation of the guest house in Johannesburg. We enjoyed our stay and will visit there again.

March 2016

Very Good

Review by Dr Mashuga (Soweto )

Thank you for the warm welcome and for waiting up late for us. My boyfriend really enjoyed the fast wi fi which kept him happy the whole weekend, LOL!

November 2015


Review by Madge/House & Leisure (Cape Town )

Thank you for your amazing hospitality. Not a lover of Joburg, but our friendliness made my stay!

October 2015

Very Good

Review by Marcelle And Selma (Durban )

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend. We couldn't have felt more at home. Loved having someone to chat to and make sure we were okay. Great sense of safety in this big scary Joburg!

August 2015


Review by Magmut Gun (Istanbul )

Thanks a lot for your best efforts to make us feel comfortable. It was nice staying here. Please keep that way. Best regards - Magmut

August 2015


Review by Clive And Portia (Johannesburg)

Thank you for a great stay. here. we were able to regroup and get our lives back on track after our house burnt down. You have been very supportive throughout. Thanks so much!

July 2015

Very Good

Review by Blyth And Wendy Thompson (George)

Many thanks Sally - so comfortable and convenient. Give us a shout when you come to George!

June 2015


Review by Maria Gwanzura (Polokwane)

Thank you again for your great hospitality. Everything was excellent. You definitely gained bragging rights with me. I will be referring anybody I know to your place and will definitely be staying there again when we head that side.

May 2015

Very Good

Review by Hajirah (Cape Town )

Thank you so much for the great hospitality - it felt like home away from home. I enjoyed my stay here and will definitely come back to Buckingham Guest House. Wishing you all the best - from Hajirah

March 2015


Review by Marika De Kock (Johannesburg)

Dear Sally - Thank you so much for the lovely stay and welcoming atmosphere! I really enjoyed [my 5 months of] staying here. I always felt so safe and looked after. You are a lovely person with a very warm heart! Thank you for everything! PS Your staff is also so amazing and helpful. Love - Marika

February 2015


Review by Karabo Rajuili (Cape Town )

Dearest Sally -This place is wonderful! Thanks for being so warm and welcoming and gracious. Wishing you every blessing and look forward to reading your writing and books.

January 2015


Review by Mariana Martins (Johannesburg)

I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful break. I will definitely come for a massage and to stay again. Many thanks!

December 2014


Review by Joanne (Cape Town )

Dear Sally - Thanks for a wonderful stay. In busy and stressful time, after long periods away from home in impersonal hotels, it was a breath of fresh air to stay at such a peaceful and welcoming place!

November 2014

Very Good

Review by Sally Roper (Durban )

Although we were here so briefly - it was such a lovely welcoming and comfortable stay. Many thanks! Paula and Barry - Hillcrest

September 2014


Review by Myriam (Maputo)

Very nice, safe and central place in Johannesburg and pleasant neighbourhood and very good value for money. 10 mn by car from Sandton City and Rosebank. Sally (the owner) is a very nice, warm and welcoming person and very interesting to talk to. We felt very well taken care of. If we are back in Joburg, we will definitely go back there!

August 2014

Very Good

Review by Richard (Cape Town )

Thanks very much for a very peaceful stay away from home for the month. Wishing you everything of the best!

July 2014


Review by Beth McCullough-Sanden (Irvine, CA)

Sally is one of the most knowledgeable, giving, and hospitable women I know! Her guest house is beautiful and in a great part of town. She became a wonderful friend, and an amazing tour guide. She knows so much about the history of Johannesburg and apartheid. She was able to arrange amazing tours for my friend and me, and had fantastic and reputable connections around the city. Her breakfasts were lovely and we were able to start the day with a wonderful conversation and friendly face. I highly recommend her guest house. Her services go far beyond providing a bed and breakfast, she ensures your stay in Johannesburg is memorable, safe and exciting.

June 2014


Review by Jock (Swaziland And Cape Town )

I must commend you and your staff for making our stay [of several months] a truly incredible one. Thank you for all the effort and kindness we were privileged enough to receive.

May 2014


Review by Robert Bowdery (UK/Johannesburg)

Thank you very much for such an enjoyable stay at your fantastic guesthouse. I had a wonderful time and all the facilities were top-notch. Thank you especially for being so understanding when my plans changed and for being so welcoming and fun.

May 2014


Review by Rafiq And Rubini Hajat (Blantyre, Malawi)

You provided a home away from home in our time of need. Then you went on to spice it up with fascinating stories and gracious hospitality. This has been an idyllic sojourn indeed and we will not forget this. Expect to see us again in the future.

April 2014


Review by Linda And Derek (Durban, RSA )

Thank you for a safe, peaceful stay. Most comfortable and a home away from home. Westone was wonderful too! I am gonna miss kitty Tiger Lily (Linda)..!

January 2013


Review by JK (Seoul, South Korea)

I've enjoyed a stay at your home thanks to you, heartfelt kindness. I've been satisfied with a spacious room and a dinin room as well. Most of all, I'd like to say 'thank you' to you and your helper Westone. Just feel free to contact me when you visit Korea. Thank you indeed!

September 2012


Review by Marlene Bowker (Standerton, SA)

I've had a wonderful stay at your guesthouse! Westone received me and made me feel very welcome. Tiger Lily also paid a visit to make sure everything was perfect! Everything was marvellous. The wine, the food and most of all your company!!

July 2012


Review by Lamiwe (Lusaka, Zambia )

Who has two bathrooms in a one bed apartment? Well my sister and I did, and we enjoyed it! Thank you for your constant concern. It has been a home away from home. We've enjoyed our stay and we sure hope to come again.

June 2012


Review by Fanne And Mathilde (Norway )

We will miss your lovely breakfast, but even more your kindness, help and smiling you. Even though we haven't been here for a long time, we've felt very welcome. It's been easier to deal with our meetings and packed programme when your place felt like home. Thank you for your interest in our film club project. Best - Fanne and Mathilde

May 2012


Review by Carl And Anne Kirk (USA)

We had a rough research trip finding a place to stay in Joburg. Finally Buckingham came to the surface and we are glad. It's been a grand six days. Such wonderful hospitality and very helpful. A wealth of information! We wish you much success and see you next trip.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -26.129483332666666
Longitude: 28.023836110444446

Closest airport(s)
Lanseria Airport - 27.7km
OR Tambo International - 31.1km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
May 2014 - 29 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap