Blackwood Log Cabin is rated 5/5 by visitors (11 reviews)

Blackwood Log Cabin

Self Catering at 3 Blackwood Close, Hout Bay, 7808, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 11 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Blackwood Log Cabin in Hout Bay?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Atlantic Seaboard.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

May 2016


Review by Angela (Cape Town)

What an amazing weekend, the view, the tranquility, we had our own space and privacy. Can't wait to head back! It was for sure just what we expected and more.. loved the fireplace look forward to our next visit. Thanks guys :-)

January 2013


Review by Liz And Alex (UK)

Our second stay and hopefully not our last. Words cannot describe how much we love staying here. Colette and Warren are perfect hosts, always on hand if you need them but they completely respect your privacy and space. For me the greatest joy is opening the bifold doors every morning and sitting on the deck, drinking a coffee whilst reading, watching the light change and listening to the nature. My boyfriend would say jumping in the pool and kicking back with a cold Windhoek!! It's as close to perfection as we have ever found and we are both well travelled. Now we are home all we talk about is when can we return?! A perfect location to anyone wanting to explore Cape Town and all it's beauty without being slap in the middle of the city bowl. It's only 20 minutes away and yet feels like a different place. Thank you for an amazing time and all the happy memories you have given us.

Liz & Alex

January 2013


Review by Greg Brash (Australia)

This place is a gem on the mountainside - perfect for trips to Hout Bay, or using it as a base to explore the Cape. The pool is perfect after a hike up Table Mountain, followed by a snooze in the hammock, THEN followed by a relaxing barbeque on the deck. Will absolutely stay there again - it has everything you want in a self-catering cottage, including a great roll top bath where you can look out over the mountains. Will definitely be back.

November 2012


Review by Amanda Major (UK)

Just back from our third wonderful stay at Blackwood Log Cabin. The only reason I would hesitate to write a glowing review is that it may get so booked up that we cant return! This is the most fantastic location, with friendly helpful owners discretely on hand when needed. Hi Collete and Warren we enjoyed our stay immensely even though the weather was a little cooler than we hoped and we lost wi fi connection but hope you have that sorted now. We need somewhere bigger for our next trip with all the family but unfortunately I think that other houses will seem mundane after Blackwood Log Cabin.

July 2009


Review by Carin Johnson (Paris)

We just loved your log Cabin! My husband's favourite was admiring the stunning view from the hammock. I paricularly enjoyed a foam bath while watching the birds in the trees and the beautiful mountains. Our son, aged 5, found feeding the chickens and getting rid of his energy on the trampline to be his favouite. Everything was perect and Richman most helpful. We'll be back.

February 2009


Review by Mandy Peterson (London)

Dear Colette,

Thanks you for a wonderful and tranquil stay at your beautiful log cabin. The views are magnificent and we spent many a day resting and watching the mountain and valley. The cabin is well positioned for vitiing Cape Town and the peninsula. There is so much to see and do. We just loved it. We will be back very soon I hope.

Mandy Peterson

December 2008


Review by Marc Andron (Holland)

This is our third stay and we keep coming back. We love the views, the mountains, the swimming pool, the deck, the forest..... Our son, who is 13, just loves it too - he seems to be endlessly occupied with the trampoline, the lizards, the eagles, the pool, the hammock and whatever else he can find in this environment that surrounds us with nature. The house is beautifully decorated. It is clean and very well presented. Thank you for another wonderful stay.

February 2007


Review by Sharon, Doug And Sam (UK)

Our time spent at Blackwood Log Cabin has been heaven - peace and quiet. Its been a fantastic introduction to South Africa for the 3 of us - especially Sam our 15 mth terror. Hours of fun have been spent in the pool, on the trampoline and just discovering the wonderful wildlife here. Thank you.

December 2006


Review by Johnny And Letitia Gwynne (Northern Ireland)

At the end of the long line of hills known as the Twelve Apostles, Tailing south from Table Mountain and falling back into a deep green valley that cradles Hout Bay, High among the Eucalyptus trees, is Blackwood. Our log cabin is Africa in a sentinal, A summer place of high verandahs, Floating like suspended terraces; In the thermal valley air Hawks and Sacred Ibis soar; Here our swimming place and living space is patrolled by yellow butterflies, singing crickets and shining, dark dragonflies. And time has only day and night as its dimensions and that time and those days and nights are what we would return to for this is one of our special places.

October 2006


Review by Lindy, Mike, Kelvin & Emily (Cape Town)

It was just perfect! So many special memories The flowers in the rooms The furnishings the mist on the mountain Watching the sacred ibis and Hadeda fly Listening to the trees rustling Watching the arching bamboo gently sway The screams of delight from my chidlren on the swing Bouncing on the tramploline sitting on the deck and watching the rain Feeling warm and cosy with the fire burning Just Perfect! Thanks Colette

January 2006


Review by Rachel And Barney (UK)

It was just perfect! So many special memories; The flowers in the rooms, The furnishings, The mist on the mountain, Watching the sacred ibis and Hadeda fly, Listening to the trees rustling, Watching the arching bamboo gently sway, The screams of delight from my children on the swing, Bouncing on the tramploline, Sitting on the deck and watching the rain, Feeling warm and cosy with the fire burning. Just Perfect! Thanks Colette.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.01626944444445
Longitude: 18.390699999666666

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 35km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h30

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
September 2002 - 11 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap