Bishops Cove Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (34 reviews)

Bishops Cove Lodge

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at Klipdrif Area, Tsitsikamma, 6308, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 34 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Bishops Cove Lodge in Eersterivier?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Tsitsikamma.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 34 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Gordon Marchal (Penryn, California)

Wish we had more time to spend at this location just to experience all there is to do, or not do and just relax. Perfect location for a group or extended family. Main house has big kitchen/dining/family room area with table set for more than a dozen. Two rooms in main house, and two rooms in each of the other two houses. Love to sleep with the sound of the waves. Ed and Sally serve up a great meal, and coffee on Ed's deck is not to be missed.

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Ian Fleming Photographic Company (Knysna)

An amazing time in an epic location.

April 2013

Very Good

Review by Piet And Marie V D Spuy (Bloemfontein)

This must be God’s window over the sea.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Terschan Family (Austria)

Stunning location, beautiful house. Truly home away from home. We will definitely come again and spread the word about this magical place.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Kruger Family (Marble Hall)

Wonderlike plek. Skoon en netjies, vars water en skoon lug. “Kyk na die see, So groots en klaar. Staan God’s temple daar. Wyd in sy majesteit”

February 2013

Excellent

Review by Kathy And Dick Poultney (Sandton)

Magical place, words cannot describe the serene beauty of the views. Thanks to Ed and Sally for advice and hospitality – will certainly be back.

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Ine Bruijns (Amsterdam Nederlands)

Two days in paradise! The best lodge we stayed in so far in SA and certainly with the best view and the best hiking guide, Joe, the dog.

November 2012

Excellent

Review by Max Berg & Renda Gerber (GAUTENG)

When we arrived, we were in awe of the beauty of Bishops Cove. On 27th we went for a short hike and Max proposed! Ed and Sally spoiled us with a bottle of champagne and a home cooked dinner to celebrate. Sally also bought and arranged proteas on Max's request and it was beautiful and very special. Thanks to Ed and Sally for truly being the best hostss, all the chats, help and the very special gift we received! Joe was alwasy on "duty" and so much fun to be around. Thank you for an unforgettable holiday! Love M & R.

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Francois And Liezl Hugo (Pretoria)

Baie dankie vir die wonderlike gasvryheid. 1ste keer hier, maar julle gaan ons weer sien! Baie lekker gerus en gekuier! Gaan Joe die hond baie mis.

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Dave And Lauraine Lardner (Colesberg)

If Heaven is as good as this, I had better start behaving better.

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Joy And Kent Short (U.S.A.)

A beautiful place. Feel privileged to have stayed here. Views amazing. Rocks incredible. Hosts warm and kind. Thank you.

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Dave Emslie And Extended Family (Port Elizabeth)

We all had a swinging weekend - your hospitality is high class. Your spot exquisite - great fun had by all.

June 2010

Very Good

Review by Alec And Janet Celliers (Langebaan, C P)

What a wonderful stretch of coast. Wild, unspoiled and beautiful. The house is well situated and well equipped. The paths and surrounds beautifully kept / maintained, and what wonderful hosts / guides Ed and Sally are! We enjoyed watching the dolphins frolic in the waves as well as a pod of whales making their way along the coast. There are some birds just waiting to still be seen and identified!

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Gustav & Emma Oosthuysen (Gauteng)

"The hills look over to the South, and Southward dreams the sea, and with the sea breeze, hand in hand came innocence and she. We shall find no life but in the sea." Accommodation, the coastline, friendly dog and people. Fantastic time, many thanx.

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Phil & Margaret Harvey (Knysna)

Far too short a stay in such a great location. Great guided walk and hospitality from Ed and Sally, for the guided walk Ed and for the company of Joe (cocker spaniel) and Ditto (cat).

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Nick And Kath York (Cape Town)

This place is absolutely wonderful. It has everything we could have dreamed of for our holiday and more:
- breathtaking views - wonderful walks / rides / runs - lovely house - a new best friend in Joe, the dog - fantastic hosts.
Ed and Sally, you are such kind and friendly people and made our stay that much more special. Will definitely be back (in numbers).

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Alan Parker (Pretoria)

Definitely one of the best spots we will remember amongst all the others - thanks for sharing it with us!

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Reinoud Cartuyvels, Guy And Hans (Belgium)

Heaven on earth! What a spot! We arrived by bike and if our plane wasn't booked on the next day, we would have stayed here much longer. We had here the best South African meal ever! The work "far" doesn't exist if you go to heaven.

November 2009

Excellent

Review by Malene Berends (Veldhoven, Netherlands)

Stayed 2 nights at Bishop's cove and a really nice and relaxing time. Although it's quite remote (so don't forget to bring enough food ;)) we were never bored. The (ocean) views are stunning and the hiking was awsome. Also thanks to Joe (the dog) who was a great hiking buddy!
Ed and Sally are really nice and helped us with some food, which we forgot to bring. The house was nice and the bed slept very well! This location is really something you must experience.

June 2009

Excellent

Review by Doreen Holmes (England)

Stunningly beautiful, peaceful and very confortable.

June 2009

Excellent

Review by Frikkie & Jeanette Van As (Swellendam)

Wonderlike wegkom plek. Die stilte en natuur is asemrowend en dankie dat Ed an Sally ons so tuis laat voel het. Sal beslis weer kom.

June 2009

Excellent

Review by Torrance Family (Bloemfontein)

Pragtige omgewins, gasvry ontvang in die beste toegeruste vakansie huis wat ek ooit tegekom het!

June 2009

Excellent

Review by Karlson Family (Port Elizabeth)

Southern Right whales jumping clear of the water right under our noses! Two days of fantastic walks. Will be back.

May 2009

Excellent

Review by Linda & Roy Reynolds (Port Alfred)

A beautiful piece of paradise, with great hospitality! We will be back and will spread the word.

May 2009

Excellent

Review by Karen & Stephen Smit (Despatch)

Uitstekende plek - net wat mense nodig het met stilte en asemrowende mooi uitsigte. Hou dit so!

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Lourens &Cynthia Streicher (Port Elizabeth)

A real stunning place! A perfect place to come and relax. We will recommend it to everyone we know.

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Myburgh Family (Kathu (N Cape))

Pragtige plek! Lekker vir alleenwees en weer jou siel vind.

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Daniel & Marieska Neethling (Pretoria)

We can't put into words what an absolute blessing our honeymoon stay at Bishops was! Far beyond our greatest expectations. Manager Ed and Sally were great hosts.

February 2009

Excellent

Review by Havenga Family (Port Elizabeth)

Dit was vir ons 'n voorreg on hier te kon wees! Dis hoe mense die Oos-Kaap moet ervaar.

January 2009

Excellent

Review by Annemiek Steenbakkers (Holland)

A view like this is only seen in the movies. A paradise on Earth!

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Sandra Anderson (Port Elizabeth)

A piece of heaven on our doorstep. Sally and Ed are great hosts.

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Frank And Jean De Villiers (Napier)

Dolphins, whales, birds, genet, monkeys - we had them all! What a place!! Great hospitality from Ed and Sally.

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Edelweiss (Pretoria)

What a wonderful time we had..... we sat on the veranda and could not believe it - three whales playing in the bay. Lovely walks and the most spectacular scenes of waves crashing on the rocks below. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece of paradise with us. We will most definitely be back with family and friends.

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Portia (Cape Town)

I have no words to explain how I enjoyed myself there. Actually we regretted the fact that we didn't stay two nights. We will definitely be back. The view is wonderful and the place is peaceful. One needs much more time to explore the place. It is well situated, well decorated and very welcoming. You feel like you are at home away from home.

Tonight From
ZAR918.00
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.969532
Longitude: 23.885703

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 13h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in / out times by arrangement, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
March 2006 - 34 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap