Amathunzi Private Nature Reserve is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (24 reviews)

Amathunzi Private Nature Reserve

Game Lodge at Agterkliphoogte Road, Robertson, 6705, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 24 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Amathunzi Private Nature Reserve in Robertson?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Breede River Valley.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 24 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Langleys (Cape Town)

Hi Louise

Just wanted to say a HUGE thank you for hosting us at Amathunzi for Kevin’s 60th and for going the extra mile in terms of booking us in an additional night and being flexible about guests.

We all had the most fantastic time game viewing, mountain biking, hikes, feeding and drinking at our watering holes!

It was amazing adventure and a memory that we will cherish forever.

Thanks to the staff who were always pleased to see us despite our late night parties. They carried out their work so diligently.

Wishing you, your family and all the Amathunzi team a very happy Christmas and prosperous 2012.

The Langleys

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Angelique (Cape Town)

Hi Louise,

We had such a fantastic time. The manor house worked so well with all our kids and they just had a ball while we relaxed and braaied. It was really great and we already want to book again !!!

Kind regards,
Angelique Ellis

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Sian (Cape Town)

Hi Louise

Just to let you know we loved Amathunzi. Wow. What a wonderful place. It felt like we were in the middle of nowhere but it was only an hour and 45 mins from Cape Town door to door. The views and tranquillity were incredibly relaxing and the house was so well equipped and serviced that it felt relaxing even for a short weekend away.

The kids loved it (especially the night time visits from the Zebras) and feeding the pigs and goats.

We will definitely be back!

Kind Regards

Sian Evans

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Dale (Cape Town)

Good Morning Louise,

We had an absolutely fantastic time this past weekend. Everything was perfect from the cabins, to the industrial kitchen, to the views, to the staff. Everything was perfect I will definitely be back next year.

Kind Regards,

Dale

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Natalie (Cape Town)

Hi Louise and co,

Thank you very much for a wonderful stay at Amathunzi the last couple of days.

Everyone had a wonderful time and hopefully will be back to visit again soon.

Thanks
Natalie

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Julie (Cape Town)

WE LOVED IT!! Awesome awesome, and now I want to know when I can book again! We definitely want to come for a long weekend next time, I need to look at calendar and will get back to you. We could book for the 24th Sept 2012 weekend now again if free, but would rather come sooner like March, April or early May.
Grik and Charles were SO helpful and so pleasant and willing. We all loved it so much

Julie

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Chantelle (Cape Town)

Good day

Thank you so much for a memorable weekend at Amathunzi! We really had an fantastic time.
Please could you thank Rudi for us! We really enjoyed the game drive.

Regards
Charl & Chantelle

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Richard (Cape Town)

Dear Louise

Thank you very much, we had a most enjoyable weekend at Amathunzi.

Amathunzi offers it all! It is awesome waking up with Zebras on your stoep, and while cycling, passing Gemsbok, Rooihartebees, Blesbok and Ribboks. The veld is really beautiful, lots of flowers and beautiful bossies this time of year. The accommodation is really comfortable and clean, and the fully equipped kitchen is great. The kids really enjoyed their stay, the bikes provided was all working, and the pool clean, and extremely refreshing!

Regards

Richard

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Rene Van Eck (Cape Town)

I have just celebrated my 50th birthday at Amathunzi by hiring out the entire farm - it was just wonderful! Their staff Charles, Griet and Francesca can't do enough, and all the venues are extremely well-equipped for a weekend like this. The setting is glorious and I need to go back to enjoy the peace and quiet after the celebrations of this weekend. Looking forward to it! Regards Rene

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Gavin (Cape Town)

Hi Louise and Staff

We would just like to thank you for a Fantastic Weekend at Amathunzi Lodge. It was truly soul soothing & stunningly beautiful. Charles & Griet was fantastic with great people skills and very friendly – couldn’t help but spoiling them.

We will definitely see you in the very near future.

Gavin Rogers

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Caroline (Cape Town)

Hi Lex and Louise

We had a great time at Amathunzi. The Manor House is well appointed and we felt very comfortable and relaxed.

Our children loved the game drive and can't wait to return.

How are your bookings over the weekend up to 19th July?

Regards

Caroline

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Magdaleen (Cape Town)

Hi Louise

Amathunzi was once again a very special experience.

The previous time when we were there, we didn’t see much animals, but this time around the animals came to surprise us every morning drinking at the dam. That was really fantastic.

The two people offering their services are quit cool! We named them Charles and Garies, they are very sweet.

We will definitely be back!
Thank you once again.

Kind regards
Magdaleen

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Jacques (Cape Town)

HI Lex and Louise


Apologies for taking so long to reply, we both work very hard and can only take short breaks, so we

have a lot of appreciation for the obvious lenghts you at Amathunzi have gone to to make our brief

visit as enjoyable as it was, everything was just right and just what we needed! We will definitely

be back, it is our kind of place

Kind regards and sincere thanks


Jacques and Miranda

July 2011

Excellent

Review by James (Cape Town)

Hi Lex and Louise,

I meant to drop Amathunzi a note to say that we all loved every minute of our weekend in the Manor House on your game reserve!

The setting was incredible, the house was beautiful, and the whole experience was above our expectations – we’d love to come back again for a long weekend in the summer to enjoy Amathunzi with more members of our family!

Thanks for the note, and for a brilliant weekend!

Best regards

James

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Zyda (Mountain Ridge)

Hi Lex and Louise

Thank you for following up on our stay at Amathunzi. We booked your Manor House for a Strategic Planning Session / Meeting for our board of directors, so there was unfortunately not much leisure time. However, everything was perfect and the guys enjoyed their stay very much. There meeting was successful and we will definitely use your facilities in future again.

Regards

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Shane (Cape Town)

June was our 4th visit to Amathunzi and we again left feeling refreshed. It is a wonderful place and we will continue to return.

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Neil Brown (Cape Town)

This was our second time at Amathunzi staying in the Manor House. It really is an awesome setting - you don't need to leave the estate. Having only been there in Winter, we enjoyed our time relaxing at the house around a roaring fire. It's a great venue for large groups and the house is well equipped. We're definitely going back!

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Merrilee (Cape Town)

Dear Louise

A very big thank you to you and your team for giving our family a superb break at Amathunzi. I could not have had a better venue for my birthday celebration. Everyone had a really good time, several of the children said they wanted to stay on. Your meals were very well conceived and beautifully executed; we had tasty dishes with good variety and plenty of fresh fruit and salads. The sequence of brunch, high tea and dinner worked brilliantly. Thank you for being patient with late starts for dinner; we did appreciate being able to be completely relaxed and to enjoy the sunset on the deck to the last. As I said, the mums were so impressed by your meals for their children.

The game drives were full of interest which was reflected in the whole party turning out for the last one. Thank you to Martin and Rudy for being our guides. They realised that for our littles, the goats were just as exciting as the wildebeest and zebras.

The pool area is simple and just right. One way and another it felt as though Amathunzi was our home for the weekend, a home with excellent staff to see to our every need.

So. thank you, Louise and Lex for a most memorable celebration.

Warmest regards

Merrilee

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Annie (Cape Town)

The Manor House at Amathunzi is just our best ever place to retreat with family or friends – summer or winter. For those of us whose hearts lie in the Karoo this is a Karoo experience close to home. Warm fires in winter, sparkling pool in summer, beautifully furnished and equipped house for 6 couples – fine linen and magnificent views …. and silence. Lex’s well- informed nature drives across the veld and foothills are such a bonus – our beautiful country totally showing off!
Annie and Peter Templeton – Riebeek Valley. W.Cape.

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Michelle (Cape Town)

We had a wonderful stay at Amathunzi – all of the guests were happy with the rooms and main lodge.
The staff were also very good and often waited for us to finish breakfast to do the last few dishes !

We will definitely make another booking for 2012 and will look into the catered option.

Many thanks 
Kind Regards
Michelle

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Emma (Cape Town)

Hi Louise,

Just to say we had the most fantastic time at Amathunzi. The accommodation and facilities were superb and we loved the area. We will most definitely be back.

thanks

Emma Rynn

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Elsa (Cape Town)

Dear Kate

I just want to thank you and everyone involve at Amathunzi for a memorable weekend.The Manor House lived up to all our expectations (and more). We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and cannot wait to visit again!

Regards
Elsa

July 2008

Excellent

Review by Riana Mouton (Cape Town)

Ons besoek aan Amathunzi was absoluut "fabulous", so dat ons hul weer besoek het. Hul het regtig moeite gedoen om ons welkom te laat voel. Hier kan jy ontspan en net die natuur inneem. Die akkomodasie was hemels, alles wat jou hart begeer. Veral die kaggel in die kamer. Dit is regtig 'n besoek werd.

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Adriana (Cape Town)

I had the pleasure of visiting this wonderful lodge this past weekend. The hosts, Martin and Patricia, are just the warmest nicest people and offer their guests amazing service and kind attention.

It is a beautiful spot - very realxing and tranquil. You really can hear the birds and see the stars as the websitete says. The chalets are equipped with a hammock on your private stoep for relaxation and the rooms are very well appointed with every comfort imaginable.

The food, freshly prepared for each meal by Patricia and her staff , is delicious well presented and plentiful
Do visit them .....you will want to visit again!!!
You can relax on your stope on a hammock enusteh.

Tonight From
ZAR800.00
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.875587
Longitude: 19.630776

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 160km

Children policy
Children of all ages welcome

Listed on SA-Venues.com
September 2007 - 24 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap