Aloes Country Inn is rated 4/5 by visitors (12 reviews)

Aloes Country Inn

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at Waterval Boven, 1195, Mpumalanga, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is

Very Good

from 12 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Aloes Country Inn in Waterval Boven?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Highlands Meander.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

August 2016

Very Good

Review by Monika (Cologne, Germany)

Very good value for the money, large rooms, kitchen, heater (important in winter, very cold!9, very nice owner, very helpful, great food. cute dogs

June 2015

Very Good

Review by Leana (Pretoria)

Our stay was very cosy and the kids loved the scenery and outdoors. The food was delicious and the service great. Can't wait to visit again! Thank you Lorna & Dave.

April 2011


Review by Padi & Jon (Johannesburg)

We're so glad we found this little gem, Lorna & Dave were exceptionally warm & welcoming. We could not believe how beautiful somewhere on the side of the N4 could be! And the breakfast is amazing! Thank you for a memorable evening, and for recommending we visit Kaapschehoop - what a fairytale town! Thanks Lorna & Dave!

October 2010


Review by Jennifer Moller (Nelspruit)

Lorna and Dave hosted our wedding at Aloes Country Inn, and we couldn't have asked for a better-organised, more perfect day in a more beautiful location! Everything was so stunning, and all our friends and family said throughout the day how lovely the venue was. Lorna, expecially, did everything in her power to ensure that arrangements were perfect. Her artistic flair and creativity, coupled with Dave's genious in the kitchen, make this wonderful couple a formidable team. Aloes is a beautiful place, and has become very special to Frans and I over the last year. I urge anyone who finds themselves in that beautiful part of the world to stop in for at least a night, and if you're planning a wedding look no further than Aloes - it really is a little piece of paradise, tucked away on the N4.

September 2010


Review by Marieta Brechenmacher (Nelspruit)

To those of you that have not yet "discovered" The Aloes, you are really missing out! Dave and Lorna are excellent hosts. The rooms are large and neat. Food served with extra care. The big plus is the verandah, facing the river, the trains passing by, the bird life, and the people you get to meet there. Whether you want a quiet break-away, or a private party organised, The Aloes is highly recommended. Had a friend's 40th birthday party there, Dave and Lorna went out of their way to accommodate us. Thank you. Wish you well.

April 2010


Review by Chantel (Springs)

Hi, Lorna & Dave
Thanx again for the stay on Saturday and making us feel at home. We all enjoy it a lot.
Manny, Pypies, Tracey & Chantel

December 2009


Review by Laura Needham (Berlin, Germany)

This is a lovely place. It is in a beautiful location, just outside Waterval Boven. The rooms are large and very clean and each has their own veranda looking down onto the river. The pub attached to the rooms is very sociable and serves an excellent breakfast. Another plus is that the owners seem unlikely to rip off tourists next year during the world cup by increasing their prices, which is another reason why I would recommend this place to anyone.

December 2009


Review by Eva + Nils Roscher (Ahrensburg)

Dankyou Lornaand Dave, you made a very homely welcome for us. The breakfirst was more than big. And the dinner was fantastic. We ahappy to stay in your house, but it was a shorttime, next time a longer stay...

be blessed into the next year...

August 2009

Very Good

Review by Marlene Sharman (Johannesburg)

The hospitality which Lorna and Dave afforded us was exceptional. They made us feeling very welcome. The dinner served was very good. I would definate recommend Aloes Country Inn as a stay over for a day or two. The price we paid was good value for money. The accomodation was very clean and nicely decorated. The surroundings are very peaceful and serene.
Thanks again and keep up the good work. May you go from strength to strength

March 2009


Review by Kira Williams (Johannesburg)

This was the best place we have ever stayed. It was fantastic and the atmosphere was happy, calm and relaxed. It really was fantastic and the owners took care of us fantastically. Thank you so much for a making it such a great holiday. We will definatley be back.

January 2009


Review by Deborah Jackson (Oxford)

This establishment has recently changed hands and the standard of room we stayed in was not what I expected, shower tap missing, door didn't lock.

April 2007



Stayed at this establishment in 2007 with my wife
enjoyed it and will go again

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -25.644998833
Longitude: 30.3586

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 12h20
Check-out by 11h12

Listed on
May 2001 - 12 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap