Willy's Chateau is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (49 reviews)

Willy's Chateau

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 46 Leicester Road, Kensington, 2094, Johannesburg, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 49 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 49 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2015

Excellent

Review by WAYNE N. (Jhb-FOR GUEST FROM HOLLAND)

Dear Willy, thank you for your hospitality; you have been amazing and I am glad I met you. The Cultural Development Trust has found a new home for our artists and guests. - Regards, Wayne Nhlangothi, July 2015

June 2015

Excellent

Review by EDDY F. (NEUSS, GERMANY)

Hallo Willy, Ich schreibe dir um dir mitzuteilen, dass ich heil in Deutschland angekommen bin. Des weiteren wollte ich dir schrieben um mich ganz herzlich bei dir für die 2 Wochen in Willy‘s Chateau bedanken. Ich habe mich super wohl gefühlt und kann sagen, dass es ein absolutes Vergnügen war. Ich habe ein zweites zu Hause bei euch entdecken können und hoffe ich kann bei meinem nächsten Besuch erneut eure Gastfreundschaft in Anspruch nehmen. Viele Liebe Grüße auch an Jessica aus dem (noch) kalten Deutschland. - Eddy Neuss, NRW, Germany, June 2015 "P.S.: Ich musste mir heute morgen mein Frühstück selbst machen. Der Urlaub ist vorbei!"

May 2015

Very Good

Review by Jean-Francoise (Belgium)

Hallo Jessica and Willy. We finally arrived home yesterday and already miss the sun of SA. Anyway, everybody is happy here and want to thank you all for everything you’ve done for us. Hope to see you all back one day in South Africa." - Jean-Francoise, Belgium, May 2015

May 2015

Excellent

Review by Norman E (NELSSPRUIT, SA)

"What a great place to stay!! You don't want to leave. The food is excellent!!! Willy and Jessica make you feel like family and they take such great care of you. I would recommend Willy`s Chateau to everybody but please keep a room open for me!! Also try the Land Bier. Thank you for a pleasant stay guys!!! Keep well!!!" - Norman E., May 2015

April 2015

Very Good

Review by Jo D (EAST LONDON SA)

Willy and Jessica made us feel welcome and the breakfasts were something to look forward to each day!. Spacious and private accommodation was just what we needed at the end of each busy day. Value for money and no detail spared. Thank you!" - Jo D., Easter 2015

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Mario F (Bielefeld, Germany)

Hello, Willy!!! Leider haben wir uns nicht mehr persoenlich verabschieden koennen!!! Ich wollte mich noch eonmal;fuer alles bedankenwas Du fuer uns gemacht hast!!Es war eine wunderschoene Woche und du hast sie mit Jessica unvergaesslich gemacht Ich hoffe wir sehen uns noch einmal wiedewr!!! Alles, alles gute. - Mario F., Bielefeld, Germany, February 2015

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Mateusz, Leszek Und Roman, Poland, (OPOLE- Poland)

"Herzlichen dank Willy und Jessica, Fuer die Familiaere atmosphaere, fuer den lieben emfahg, lustiege abende mit Euch Und die Perfecten Freuhstuecke." - Mateusz, Leszek und Roman, Poland,

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Ernia Du Plessis (Western Cape)

I must say to Uncle Willy and Jessica, a big thank you for the awesome week. The food is amazing and your hospitality WAS AWESOME. Thank you very much - it felt like home away from home. I will go back with a smile." - Ernia

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Gerhard.R, Simone Sch., Joachim Sch (Grimmen, Germany)

Eine schoene Unterkunft, sehr gute Gastgeber - DANKE. Wir moechten uns nochmals fuer die herliche aufnahme und Betreuung bedanken. Es hat uns viel freude bereitet eure Gaeste sein zu duerfen." -

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Karin, Amadou, Inessia And Aime ( St Gilles,Reunion)

We enjoyed a lot the three days with this amazing family! Thank you - we are waiting for you in Reunion." -

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Cornelia A., (UNTERDORF, Switzerland)

Happy New Year! Thank you, dear Jessica and Willy, for hosting the Swiss Flag - it was great speaking German again. Thanks that you cooked gem squash and all the other fine food - the roast was excellent as well. Also thanking you for picking me up and being on time. Will definitely recommend your lovely place. Much luck to beautiful Claudia!" - 2015

November 2014

Excellent

Review by MARCO & KATJA H. (HANOVER,Germany,)

Bei Willy, Jessica und Claudia, giebts nicht nut herzliche Gastlichkeit, toles Essen und eine sehr gemuedliche Unterkunft, sondern ein perfectes ueberlebungstraining um fit zu werden fuer die Suedafrikanischen Herrausforderungen. Habt dank fuer alles!!! Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefuehlt bei euch und Empfehlen euch gern weiter. Und wer mal wissen moechte wie man geflegt Fruehstueck einnimmt, einfach nur Willy fragen. Wenn ihr mal tips fuer Deutschland, ausserhalb Celle,braucht, meldet euch gern! Natuerlich auch alles fuer die verspielte 'Emma.'" - Marco und Katja, Germany, December, 2014

November 2014

Excellent

Review by HARTMUT M. (Hamburg, Germany)

This was the best that I saw in my life!" - Hartmut M.

October 2014

Very Good

Review by PETER & NAGDENE B. (King Williamstown, SA)

"Thank you for your hospitality." -Peter and Nagdene B.,

September 2014

Very Good

Review by Raju P. (Cape Town, SA)

Hi Willy and family, thank you for being good hosts during my stay at the Chateau. Regards to all." - Raju, Cape Town, September 2014

September 2014

Excellent

Review by ANDREAS & HEIKE STt. (NEUSS-GERMANY)

"Vielen herzlichen dank fuer die schoenen bei Euch und die vielen informationen, die fuer uns sehr wertvoll waren. Danke Jessica fuer die angefertiegten Schmucksachen, welche schon verschenkt und gut angekommen sind. Es war schoen bei Euch." - Andrreas und Heike St, September 2014

August 2014

Very Good

Review by Thomas G. (Germany)

"Liebevoll aussgestattete Zimmer, sehr persoehnliche Betreuung, seh gutes Fruehstueck. Kommen gerne wieder." - Thomas G, Familie mit aelteren Kindern +8 Germany, August 2014

August 2014

Very Good

Review by Ruediger K. (Germany)

Atmosphaere, Gastfreundschaft und Hilfsbereitschaft von Willy & Jessica sind einfach klasse. Geschaefsreisender." - Ruediger K., Deutschland, August 2014

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Lynette P. (Rustenburg, SA)

"A Wonderful B& B! Highly recommended to anyone visiting the area. Hosts were friendly and so accommodating! Food delicious! Rates well worth it! Thank you Willy and Jessica." - Lynette P., Elain and Karin, Rustenburg, SA, August 2014

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Morgan Family (LA, USA)

"Such a treat to stay here, such warmth. Hospitality was much appreciated!! Fantastic! Thanks." - The Morgan Family, Los Angeles, USA, August 2014

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Marlien B. (Welkom, SA)

"Die eienaars, faciliteite en atmosfeer het ons verwachtinge heeltemal oortreff! Van die eerste oomblik wat die eienaars van Willy’s Chateau ons welkom geheet het, het hul ons byna laat voel soos familie wat tuiskom. Die fasiliteite was baie meer luuks as wat ek verwag het vir daardie prys, en die ontbyt, gasvryheid, vriendelikheid en hele atmosfeer is regtig besonders. Dit was verseker my beste gastehuis-ervaring in 'n lang tyd. Ek sal ongetwyfeld weer daar tuisgaan as ek in die omgewings is." - Marlien B, met jong kinders, SA, July 2014

May 2014

Very Good

Review by Tracey P. (Johannesburg, SA)

Dear Willy and Jessica, I just wanted to say how welcomed I was made to feel after struggling with a last minute booking so late in the afternoon. Willy, Jessica and daughter and the family dog were very attentive. The room was stunning, (I think it was the Lalakahle Unit), fully equipped with whatever I needed. The pool looked beautiful at night from my cozy room (it was chilly outside!). Unfortunately, I didn't have time to try the wonderful menu but I will most certainly go back there to sample the delightful Chateau again. Well recommended. Thank you :-)" - Kind regards, Tracey Patricia Burton, May 2014

March 2014

Very Good

Review by I,H &M (Antverp, Belgium)

"We thank you for your hospitality and the very good breakfast." - Ingrid, Helena and Mauve, Antwerp, Belgium, March 2014

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Elma O. (Welkom, SA)

"Die vriendelikheid en gasvryheid was vyfster gehalte. Dit was 'n wonderlike ervaring om by Willy's Chateau te bly. Willy en Jessica was absoluut vriendelik, hulpvaardig en het ons baie tuis laat voel. Ons beplan om beslis weer daar te bly in die toekoms. Die area is sentraal en ons het baie veilig daar gevoel." -Elma O (travelling with family), March 2014

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Elfreide & Ernst (Austria)

"Vielen dank fuer die herzliche Aufnahme und das herliche Fruehstueck. Wir haben uns sehr Wilkommen und Wohl gefiuehlt." - Elfriede und Ernst, Austria, March 2014

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Viola K. (Atlanta-USA)

Willy und Jessica sind hervorragende Gastgeber! Sie bemühen sich sehr um die Gäste, sind für alle Fragen offen und sehr hilfsbereit. Sie haben eine kleine gemütliche Bar, wo man bei Bier oder allen anderen erdenklichen Getränken einen netten Plausch abhalten kann. Wenn man Probleme mit dem Internet hat, darf man auch den Desktop benutzen und auch etwas ausdrucken. Alles in allem, war der Aufenthalt klasse und ich würde Willy's Château immer weiterempfehlen. Es gibt nichts zu bemängeln, außer daß der Aufenthalt zu kurz war." - Viola K (Privatreisender), January 2014

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Elke & Nora (Koeln, Germany)

"Betten super, Fruehstueck richtieg lecker, Gastfreundschaft ganz grosse Klasse. Thank you so much for the warm welcome and your hospitality- it was lovely staying with you." - Elke und Nora Weyer Koeln, Germany, December 2013

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Stefan, Claudia & Evi (Meppen-Germany)

"Es war eine schoene zeit. Danke fuer die Gastfreundschaft!" - Stefan Claudia und Evi Meppen, Germany, October 2013

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Stefan,Claudia&Evi (Meppen, Germany)

"Es war eine schoene zeit. Danke fuer die Gastfreundschaft!" - Stefan Claudia und Evi Meppen, Germany, October 2013

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Veronique And Christophe (France)

"Thanks a lot for your welcome. Willy and Jessica are so friendly and so cute. The cook and the cooking so good, the place quiet and beautiful. A place to know, we hope to come back soon. Please don’t change anything, its perfect! Lots of love." - Veronique and Christophe, France, 13 October 2013

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Sascha & Mirko (Wattenscheit)

Hallo Willy, sind gesund und munter angekommen. Wollten uns nochmals fuer die freundliche und nette atmosphaere bei euch bedanken. Wir werden uns sicherlich nochmal wiedersehen und wuenchen euck vieren bis dahin gute Gesundheit." - Sascha und Mirko, Wattenscheit, Germany, 27 September 2013

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Karl & Annemie H. (Windeck, G)

"Wir hatten bereits das dritte mal das vergnuegen dir Gastfreundschaft von Willy, Jessiuca und Claudia zu geniessen, sie sind uns ans Herz gewachsen. Herforragendes Fruehstueck und Abendessen. Ein besonderes Erlebnis sind die Touren mit Willy und sehr zu empfehlen. Loewen garantiert. (Anmerkung vom Gastgeber!!, dies ist natuerlich ein scherz! haben keine gefunden.) Weiterhin alles gute und viel erfolg." - Karl und Annemie, Windeck ,Germany, 05 September 2013

August 2013

Very Good

Review by Erica (Finland)

"Absolutely great!!! Great place and great people. The stay made up for the failed expedition of the previous day." - Erica, Finland, June 2013

August 2013

Excellent

Review by Phillip J-P (Reunion)

"We, the Jean Pierre’s Team, enjoyed the welcome by Willy and Jessica very much. The B & B Willy’s Chateau was a 5-star Castle, where we had the pleasure of knowing South Africa." - Phillip, Reunion, August 2013

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Sigurd H. (Brussels/Norway)

Safely back in Belgium, I just want to thank you for some great Days in Johannesburg. Thank you for your hospitality, food and all your stories. I guess there are plenty more of all, so I am looking forward seeing you again. My best wishes also to Jessica, Claudia and jumping Emma." - Sigurd Herlofdson, Norway/Belgium, March 2013

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Lohn W. (Sydney-Australia)

"After being in Nigeria for some days, we were blessed 'coming home' to Willy's Chateau. When you travel a lot and live in hotels and one comes to a place like Willy's and Jessica's, we feel like it is home, family and a refuge. Well done team, your work will be rewarded with good word of mouth, the best form of advertising. We will tell your story - Willy's Chateau, 5 Stars and two thumbs up!" - John W., Australia, March 2013

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Stephanie & Daniel F. (Schmidt-Germany)

Hallo Willy, Jessica, Claudia, Klaus und Liesbeth,

Wir wollen uns einfach nochmal fuer die tolle zeit bei euch bedanken. Es war eine traumhafte Zeit, welche wir niehmals vergessen werden. Ihr seit eine tolle nette Familie, die staendieg um das Wohl seiner Gaeste bemueht ist. Uns hat es bislang noch nirgendwo so gut gefallen, wie bei euch. Ihr habt unseren Traum verwirktlich, auf den wir jahrelang gewartet haben. Natuerlich hatten wir vor der reise gewisse vorstellungen aber was wir dann bei euch erlebt haben, hat alles uebertroffen. Ob das, dass taeglich super Fruehstueck war, die Unterhaltung mit euch, die schoenen fahrten durch Johannesburg und nach Rustenburg oder nur so kleiniegkeiten wie dass anmachen der Heizdecke sowohl dass gemeinsame Fussball gucken, es hat einfach alles perfekt gepasst und wird uns ehwieg in errinnerung bleiben. Vielen Dank fuer alles!!!! Die 15 Tagen waren leider zu kurz und wir moechten, auch zu dritt, gerne wieder kommen.

Viele Gruesse Daniel & Stepfanie, Eifel-Germany

May 2009

Excellent

Review by Marcus Held (Koelln-Germany)

Liebe Jessica & Willy, Habt recht herzlichen dank fuer die aussergewoehnliche Gastfreundschaft, die ich so noch nie auf meinen vielen Geschaeftsreisen erlebt habe. Ich kann jedem beruflichen Reisenden und Touristen nur Empfehlen in Willy's Chateau station zu machen, um die atmosphaere, die sauberkeit und die liebvoll Eingerichteten Zimmer zu erleben. Ich freue mich auf dass naecjhste mal.

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Dianna White (Canada-Ontario)

Thank you very,very much for your kindness, warmth and hopitality. Being able to call Willy's Chateau "home" during my stay in SA has made all the difference.

February 2009

Excellent

Review by Antoinette & Tom Purcell (Dublin)

Truly amazing stay, food, company and privat Tour of Jo'burg
many thanks till next time
Tom & Antoinette

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Hanelore H. (Honkong)

This has beeng such lovely retreat-so comfortable-so homely-so quite.
After the hassle and bustle of Honkong, this has being great.

Willy & Jessica you are the perfect hosts. I feel totally at home, thank you
Much love, Hanelore H. Honkong-Danemark

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Haether&Jackson Garner (Kingston, GB)

This is just a note for making our stay in SA so wonderfull.Being at the chateau is like being at home away from home and that's the reason we keep on komming back! looking forward seing you next year
for the third time!!
Haether & Mike(Jackson)

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Dagmar Haupt (Goerlitz-Germany)

Ein herzliches dankeschoen fuer die 4 wundervollen Tage in willy's chateau.
Besonders klasse hat unsere Tochter Lisa der Familienanschluss gefallen.
Unsere Empfehlung ist Euch sicher

February 2008

Excellent

Review by Middelmann Family (Cape Town)

A little taste of Germany in Johannesburg
Great Stay, thankk\'s

February 2008

Excellent

Review by Howard & Ann Howard (Chandlers Ford, England)

Great Accommodation, lovely People
will always stay here when in J'burg

January 2008

Excellent

Review by Jim Monaghan (Scotland)

Dear Willy, Jessica & Claudia,
I have being to many Contries & met many people, but my first time Visit to Soth Africa will stay in my memory forever. From the first Day i met Willy and his Family i felt wright at home & made part of the family
The Food and Cleanliness was outstanding
All the best for the future, you are a great Family
Jim

November 2007

Excellent

Review by Paul,Dorethy&the Durban Clan (Durban)

Willy & Jessica, there are many "B&B"s, but these will have to go a long way to match "Willy's Chateau". This is home from home! Your hospitality is just amazing.

We'll be back to this experience
Paul & Dorethy

November 2007

Excellent

Review by Andrea & Alejandro (Mexico)

"Son person's incredible"
You are amazing people!!

They make you feel as member family from the very first time. Willy cooks delicious. The Rooms have everything to make you feel at home.

We will really miss you guys!
Thank you for everything and your help. Andrea & Alejandro-Mexico

September 2007

Excellent

Review by Chris And Roland Morgan (Scotland)

Expert Direction and wonderfull breakfast!
Thanks for looking after us so well.

  • 15% off
    ZAR 980ZAR 833
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -26.194664999666667
Longitude: 28.1105

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 16h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
April 2005 - 49 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap