Whispering Whale Guest House is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (21 reviews)

Whispering Whale Guest House

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 25 Japie Traut Street, Jacobsbaai, Cape West Coast, Western Cape. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 21 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 21 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

February 2009

Excellent

Review by Chrys & Colin (United Kingdom)

Just arrived back from your wonderful country to the freezing cold and the snow. May I say that we had the most wonderful time at Whispering Whale and will certainly be back. You deserve far more than the 4 Stars as the service and quality of accommodation is wonderful. Here's hoping the Village doesn't expand too much and you have a good season. We will certainly be reccomending you to anyone who wants peace and tranquility.

Many thanks once again.

January 2009

Excellent

Review by Leo Smit (Pretoria)

I just wanted to send you a quick note to say thank you for the great time we had while staying at Whispering Whale in December/January.

We really got a 1000 times more than what we expected and Lienkie’s hospitality, friendly neighbours/guests and a permanent sea-view made this one of the most memorable holidays I’ve had in a long time.

It was great to get out of Joburg and head out to a place where there weren’t any holiday madness and any crowds.

We’ll definitely be back!

Please extend my thanks to Lienkie again.

All the best for the year ahead, and we’ll be in touch to go back there – I promise.

Leo Smit - Clearwater

November 2008

Excellent

Review by Tamlin Wightman - Getaway Magazine (Pretoria)

I've just returned back to Cape Town and can definitely say that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Whispering Whale! You can have faith that Leentjie is a lovely hostess. The food was divine and well-prepared. Regards accommodation, everything I look for in a place was there. No faults... Jacobsbaai is also a lovely off-the-map town. I will certainly be featuring you in Getaway and will let you know in which edition it will appear as soon as I know.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Philip Young (Pretoria)

Our recent stay in your Southern Right unit was excellent! Leentjie’s catering and the relaxing, well decorated accommodation and brilliant location are an amazing combination. On a trip to the West Coast national park we were fortunate to see almost all the large wildlife there, oryx, eland, bontebok, wildebeest etc & two very large puff adders.

We have recommended the location to all who are looking for a relaxing break up the west coast.

Kind regards, Philip Young

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Mhairi Kelly (Cape Town)

Just to let you know that Justin and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Jacobsbaai and our stay at Whispering Whale.

We loved the beautiful décor and the simple touches like the fruit and the welcome letter, as well as the fully equipped kitchen and choice of luxury linen and towels.

Thanks very much and we will definitely be back, and we will be recommending it to friends.

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Lee-Ann Swart (Cape Town)

Oh my!!!!!! it was great!!!!!!!!!! Good morning to you all.

I told Leentjie that we will definitely be coming back and recommending Whispering Whale to our family and friends!

Thank you! thank you! thank you!

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Martcus Maschwitz (Johannesburg)

Thank you so incredibly much for another wonderful time at Whispering Whale. We forgot completely how special it is in Jacobsbaai and how amazing your “home” is and again our hearts have been captured. There have been a lot of changes since our last visit but the area is still so peaceful and out of this world. We loved taking walks on the beach and playing in the rock pools and just relaxing indoors with a good dvd and some coffee. After dreaming for ages of honeymooning abroad and then deciding to keep it in South Africa, we really are so happy with the way that it all worked out for us and there really is no better place to have started off our trip. We have a million memories that will stay with us forever and a million more photographs to help us try and explain what we experienced.

Thank you again SO much for everything. We will be back again … and again … and again.

Regards Marcus and Anja (Maschwitz)

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Kate Bailey (Cape Town)

Good morning Lynne

Just wanted to let you know we had a wonderful break at the Bryde's Whale apartment - such a wonderful setting and the apartment itself was so comfortable and well equipped - even down to the sachet of filter coffee - its amazing how these small touches just make it so special. We were worried we were going to be cold and had hoped for a log fire, but as it happens we were plenty warm enough and were able to sit outside on the veranda with a roaring fire in the braai watching a most fantastic African sunset. I hope Jacobsbaai remains the unspoilt village it is, as I see there is quite a lot of development taking place. We took a drive to Paternoster, not having been there for about 4 years, and could not believe the change, and Langebaan is like a little metropolis now.

We would definitely recommend the accommodation and hope to go back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Kate

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Natalie Le Kay (Pretoria)

We extremely enjoyed our stay at your place. It was nice to get away from the city rush and have some tranquility for a change. We were especially happy with Leentjie's service. PS Her meals were very very delicious! We would surely recommend you to our friends and colleagues. Thank You!

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Kate (Pretoria)

Just wanted to let you know we had a wonderful break at the Bryde's Whale Cottage - such a wonderful setting and the cottage itself was so comfortable and well equipped - even down to the sachet of filter coffee - its amazing how these small touches just make it so special. We were worried we were going to be cold and had hoped for a log fire, but as it happens we were plenty warm enough and were able to sit outside on the stoep with a roaring fire in the braai watching a most fantastic african sunset. I hope Jacobsbaai remains the unspoilt village it is, as I see there is quite a lot of development taking place. We took a drive to Paternoster, not having been there for about 4 years, and could not believe the change, and Langebaan is like a little metropolis now.

We would definitely recommend the accommodation and hope to go back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards, Kate

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Lee-Anne Swart (Pretoria)

Oh my!!!!!! it was great!!!!!!!!!! Good morning to you all.

I told Leentjie that we definitely coming back

Thank you! thank you! thank you!

Kind Regards, Lee-Ann Swart

July 2008

Excellent

Review by Arlene Ramora (DUBAI)

Hi Lynne

I'd like to thank you and Leentjie for an amazing time spent at both the Southern Right and Humpback Whale. I cannot begin to describe the tranquility the place brings. I so wished I could stay there longer. The interior decoration of the place is stunning and brings this feeling of calm and warmness. Leentjie's cooking is amazing and beats any restaurant in the vicinity. I haven't had such melt in the mouth prawns in a while.

Everything at Whispering Whale has been breathtaking, the warm welcome, the view, the personalized service, the accommodation (oh my....I was taken aback).

When you walk in the first time, you get the sense of calm and know that alot of time, effort and love was invested there. 7 stars from me. I have been around the world, stayed in nice hotels but this was the cherry on the top. I would definitely be back and already raving about your place to friends and colleagues about it.

Thank you so much for the excellent customer service in re-arranging my booking, for exceeding the customer expectation by going that extra mile for me. I truly appreciate it.

I will definitely be in touch with you for my next break-away from the craziness when on holiday.

Take care and keep well.
From a new fan!
Arlene Ramora

July 2008

Excellent

Review by Arlene Ramora (Pretoria)

I'd like to thank you and Leentjie for an amazing time spent at both the Southern Right and Humpback Whale. I cannot begin to describe the tranquility the place brings. I so wished I could stay there longer. The interior decoration of the place is stunning and brings this feeling of calm and warmness. Leentjie's cooking is amazing and beats any restaurant in the vicinity. I haven't had such melt in the mouth prawns in a while.

Everything at Whispering Whale has been breathtaking, the warm welcome, the view, the personalised service, the accomodation (oh my....I was taken aback).

When you walk in the first time, you get the sense of calm and know that alot of time, effort and love was invested there. 7 stars from me. I have been around the world, stayed in nice hotels but this was the cherry on the top. I would definitely be back and already raving about your place to friends and colleagues about it.

Thank you so much for the excellent customer service in re-arranging my booking, for exceeding the customer expectation by going that extra mile for me. I truly appreciate it.

I will definitely be in touch with you for my next break-away from the craziness when on holiday.

Take care and keep well.

June 2008

Excellent

Review by Roslyn Ferreira (Durban)

Dear Lynne
Just got back from our brief trip to Cape Town – just to let you know that your guest house was absolutely perfect.
It happened to be the first B & B we stayed at on our trip and WOW what a place – everything is there and it is so nice & relaxing.
I will definitely recommend it to my friends.
Regards
Roslyn Ferreira

May 2008

Excellent

Review by Cathy Clayton (Franschhoek)

Hi Lynne, I just wanted to let you know we had a great time at the Whispering Whale – the weather was absolutely perfect, and apart from the occasional walk, we lounged around in front of the TV most of the time! I just wanted to compliment you on the incredible attention to detail and the lovely décor. It was really a treat, and we’d love to visit again one day.

Thanks again for upgrading us!
Kind regards,
Cathy Clayton

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Jonathan Wild (Cape Town)

Hi Lynne

It is our pleasure to let you have our comments on staying as your guests at the Whispering Whale.

Val & I as you know have spent a number of week-ends in all three of your self catering apartments, and we can truthfully say that we have enjoyed every minute in each. We are drawn to keep on returning to Jacob’s Bay and in particular the “Whispering Whale” because of it’s exclusivity, peaceful environment to relax, superb quality of the furnished, self catering apartments, and of course the opportunity to enjoy the availability of Leentjie’s superb home cooking when required. For us your Whispering Whale guest apartments are simply our “home away from home”.

P.S. Our looking forward to once again enjoying a break in your guest house is evidence enough of your success in providing a relaxing & well run quality guest house. Well done, a credit to you all.

Kindest regards
Val & Jonathan Wild

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Shirley Dyer (Cape Town)

Many thanks; we had a wonderful time at Whispering Whale. The apartment is stunning; perfectly equipped and the location is beautiful. We went for long walks, bought fresh crayfish and just totally relaxed and unwound.

Our stay was absolutely perfect and we will definitely return!! But of course only when we can send the kids away J (we have 2, aged 13 and 9).

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Rosemary Rabie (Cape Town)

Thanks for the absolutely wonderful weekend. We will definitely be going back. Really enjoyed the serenity of the place, specially if you want to get away from the city. Thank you for the nice wine you left us.....

Thanks once again and we'll see you soon.
Regards
Rosemary Rabie

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Sylvia Kannemeyer (Cape Town)

HI Lynne,

Apologies for only getting back to you now. I hope you are well.
We stayed at the Southern Right Whale end April for a few days. I would like to thank you for a wonderful relaxing weekend. We enjoyed it a lot and will definitely go back there to re-charge. It is wonderful to see that you still get places where there is no traffic and quietness that people in cities can only dream of.

Thank you once again for the wonderful stay. Your apartment is absolutely fabulous- from the outside right through. You deserve five stars *****.

Many thanks and regards,
Sylvia Kannemeyer

March 2008

Excellent

Review by Chris Baggs (Wales UK)

Dear Lynne,

Just to say that we arrived home safely on the Welsh coast on Thursday (27th March) after an uneventful flight and long drive home. We thoroughly enjoyed all our SA adventure and are already thinking about a 3rd trip as we failed to see any of the cats this time, i.e. lions, leopards and cheetahs. Almost being charged by a white rhino perhaps made up for that!

We really enjoyed our few days in your splendid apartment in Jacobsbaai, which is certainly a beautiful part of SA and so totally different from the other environments we were in - the Kruger, Swaziland, Kwa-Zulu Natal and the Winelands. The only place where we actually felt cool, when the wind blew. Reminded us a little of parts of the UK, especially the Scottish Islands. Weather here is cold (10 to 13C), or at any rate it feels cold to us after the warmth, sun and brightness of SA, and wet (in fact it has just hailed!). We had a splendid seafood platter cooked by Leentjie, especially the calamari, whilst the crayfish was delicious.

Hope all goes well with you and SA in the future,
Chris and Linda Baggs

February 2007

Excellent

Review by Rikjan And Claire Scott (London, UK)

It is a year now that Claire and I got engaged at your Whispering Whale Guest House in Jacobsbaai and since you were involved at the very beginning of the planning, I thought you would appreciate some good news from the other side of the world! WE were married on the 24th of November last year in a small English village - will e-mail some images to you.

Thank you for making our engagement so special. Jacobsbaai is beautiful and Whispering Whale was everything that we had hoped it would be and more. Really luxurious and welcoming. We had a wonderful time.

Warmest regards
Rikjan and Claire

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 1200
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -32.97380199933333
Longitude: 17.887433999666666

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 150km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
July 2005 - 21 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap