Reviews & Comments

Showing 50 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Very nice guesthouse with friendly staff, good breakfast and a nice tour through the neighborhood accompanied by local people. I would absolutely recommend this place!

October 2017

Katrien van Bommel (Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

We are a familly of 5 with 3 children (15, 13 and10 years old). We had a really interesting experience in the guesthouse with a warm welcome of Andrew, Mendelé and Donald. We thank them very very much. The cooking was also very good and the rooms very confortable. We were very sensitive to the Stories of Donald, Mendelé and Andrew. If you go in South africa and you don't share this kind of moment with people who live in townshipo you really miss something of the story of this country. It learned us so much of what can happend when there is racism at the head of a country. Thank you very much for all !

August 2017

genevieve elisabeth assier (GRESY SUR AIX)

Verified reviewexcellent

An absolute must if you want a true South African experience. The town tour was sensational, Andrews passion and knowledge combined with Donald's life story was inspirational. Had four children from 15 -22 and they all agreed it was a highlight of the holiday. After a long flight late night pickup was great, rooms are clean , very comfortable and tidy . Looking forward to coming back in years to come to see the finished additions, Thankyou Donald and Andrew for a truly memorable experience

June 2017

Stuart Hunter (Sydney)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and i chose to stay at Liziwe´s Guesthouse because we wanted to get a glimpse at as many realities of peoples´lives in Cape Town as possible. To spend the night in a hotel that belongs to a family/community in a township was one of the most unforgettable experiences during our journey through South Africa. We were very thankful to meet the most charming hotel owners Liziwe and Donald, who built up the house with great and uncompareable compassion and endurance - and still do! At the moment they are working hard to make the hotel bigger & to offer more rooms. Part of the house is a construction site, but everybody did their best to make our stay very comfortable. Furthermore we had a very, very interesting walk through the township with Andrew, who lives in Guguelthu and works at the hotel as well as on community projects in the neigbourhood. Andrew guided us through the hood in a very wise and sensitive way. To talk to him is a real gift and a pleasure. Last but not least: we felt very secure and safe in that special place.

March 2017

Augusta Dachs & Christian Rohrauer (Vienna/Austria)

Verified reviewexcellent

I was visiting cape town with 4 of my friends for a boys weekend. when we booked my friend who was tasked with accommodation duty suggested Liziwes bnb ..I was very sceptical...but I must say I was wowed. from the warmth you get from them staff..to clean rooms and just a homely place to be in.it was an awesome weekend. Thank you. Siyasanga Baduza -Pretoria

December 2015

siyasanga baduza (Pretoria)

Verified reviewpoor

Hi I'm looking for a room to rent for One night service at your apartment" my partner and I hope for positive respond from you.

September 2014

Shaliya (Polokwane)

Verified reviewpoor

Hi I'm looking for a room to rent for One night service at your apartment" my partner and I hope for positive respond from you.

September 2014

Shaliya (Polokwane)

Verified reviewexcellent

We could not have received a warmer reception. I stayed at Liziwe's guest house with my husband for two nights and we were both so sad to leave, even though our next trip was to our dream safari in the Kruger park. Despite initial and last minute worries for our safety in the unknown of a South African township, we realised pretty quickly that there was nothing to fear and that we we were in for an enriching and unforgettable experience. Your stay will be booked and managed through Andrew, who is also going to be your tour guide. Andrew is very efficient and sensitive, and will tailor the experience to your needs and interests. Liziwe will cook you a hearty meal and will host you in her home as a friend rather than a guest. The atmosphere is very relaxed and in the evening you will feel equally free to go to your room and enjoy the view of Table Mountain and of Gugulethu, or to socialise with Liziwe, her husband Donald and the rest of the family like we did. They have a very interesting stories to tell indeed. Liziwe and Donald started off living in a shack, and have slowly built what is now a large and comfortable guest house. Definitely a must see and a must visit if you're in Cape Town. Worth organising the stay in connection to your inbound or outbound trip to the airport as it is only about 10 minutes away from the guesthouse. Andrew will be able to organise pick up and transport, but we safely parked our rented car within the gated property. If you have an questions, please feel free to contact me on Margherita.orlandini@gmail.com and I'll be very happy to answer any of your questions or provide more details PER ITALIANI: Un'esperienza assolutamente indimenticabile. Molto di piu' che semplicemente una guest house, ma un trampolino per esplorare la realta' delle townships in Sud Africa. Lasciate a casa ogni pre concetto sull'indigenza, la violenza ed il pericolo delle townships (ce l'avevamo anche noi prima di questa visita!) e lasciatevi guidare da Andrew nell'esplorazione di una comunita' piena di risorse, sorrisi e tanta speranza. Liziwe e la sua famiglia si prenderanno cura di voi e Andrew adattera' la visita alle vostre esigenze. Contattatemi pure se avete altre domande: margherita.orlandini@gmail.com

August 2014

Margherita Orlandini (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was very impressive. The building was beautifull and so are all the people, not only the ones that work there, but also the people in the township. It was an expierence to never forget! A must is to go to the Gospel church next door and ofcourse to take the walk with Andrew and Donald. This really is Africa. I really want to go again when my friends from Holland are here. Thank you for this oppurtunity!

June 2013

Marieke Veen (Netherlands)

Verified reviewvery good

Myself n my fiance decided to take a road trip so we started in P.E stayed for couple of days, left for Knysna and stayed for another 4 days. We then went to cape town and we coudnt find booking anywere as it was a busy time. our frend whos stays not far from Liziwes refered us to the place, he took us there and we feld so welcomed. Initially we booked for 2 nites but we ended up adding 4 more days. the experience was so amazing the owners, the kids and the staff they are so humble. We enjoyed our stay n next time we visit cape town , we wont look anywere else besides Liziwes and i will recommend it to our frends and family. We had such an awesome stay. Thank you for making our holiday such a bliss. Thanks again till we meet again. Special regards to princess Ayanda stay sweet and make sure u make those muffins and start charging, on my side i will remember that u adore the Naartjie outfits.

December 2012

Bongi and Linda (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We chose to finish our stay at Liziwes guesthouse in Guguleto to get "the other side" of SA after travelling on the garden route, visiting nationals park. We had the guesthouse recommend by other danish travellers. We combined the stay with at walking tour of Guguleto. We could not have had at better round up og our holiday. The place was warm and made you feel welcome, The guided tour was fantastic. We had two guides for two people (Donald and Andrew) so we could both on our tour have very interesting conversations. That was very informative and nice conversations. The money pay for the tour would be returned to the community in different projects. After the tour we sat on the balcony reading and watching the "backside" of Table Mountain and people in Guguleto returning from work, school etc.. There was a lot of life on the streets and a lot of waving. We had our very nice dinner at the guesthouse too. The guesthouse also arrangeded transfer to and from the airport. the guesthouse is close to the airport, so it is very convinient to stay there before going home. We can only recommend a stay at Lisiwes Guesthouse as a part of your stay i SA. Its a very warm and giving place. And a few words in Danish: Gør et ophold hos Lisiwes guesthouse til en del af din SA rejseoplevelse, hvis du er i Cape Town området. Jeg tror ikke du vil fortryd det. Lars Borch

October 2012

Lars Borch (Ry, Denmark)

Verified reviewexcellent

for me it was like from home to home situation. the friendliness of the staff, you almost feel thta youre home. andrew what a funny and hospitable person the next time i am in cape Town, there will be no other guest house than Liziwes. I have alreday recommended the place to my friends in Johannesburg. I coming back during the December holidays with my two dauthers and my wife for one week stay. I would recommend thta they open up a cooking school for the guest. just go down there and taste their food absolutely delicious thank you all at Liziwe's for making such a memorable stay at your house thabo kubu SOS Childrens villages south Africa National Coordinator

July 2012

thabo kubu (pretoria South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

I had a wonderful weekend stay with my wife and kids at the Guest House. The hosts made us feel at home as everything was well organised. I would recommend Liziwe's Guest House to anyone who visits Cape Town.The sons of the hostess even helped me wash my car and on a trip to the shopping mall. Ukwanda kwaliwa ngumthakathi.

July 2012

Vuyo (Mthatha)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I stayed at Liziwe's this weekend and it was a great experience. Liziwe has created a comfortable & characterful home which is the perfect base to experience true township life. Andrew took us around the streets, introduced us to a few of his friends and we ate a stack of tasty meat and pap at Mzoli's - what an infectious vibe on a Saturday night! I highly recommend Liziwe's to anyone interested in learning more about township life and especially fellow South Africans.

April 2012

Kim (Cape Town, South Africa)

Verified reviewvery good

We are a church group of 13 people that stayed for 2nights coming from eastern cape in aliwal north. We had a great time, some of us didnt want to leave, they wanted to stay for good because of the hopitality that we received. We enjoyed being entertained by Malusi, Andrew and others. Thank you sis Lizzy, keep up the good work

March 2012

Sihle (eastern cape)

Verified reviewexcellent

Das absolute Highlight eines Südafrikabesuchs! Liziwe ist sehr herzlich, bereitete uns auch ein afrikanisches Frühstück zu (ist Geschmacksache, sollte aber mal ausgetestet werden!). Mit Donald, Andrew und Liziwes Bruder Duke hatten wir sehr gute Gespräche über die Geschichte und aktuelle Situation der Schwarzen in Südafrika. Allein die Fahrten zum Guesthouse an den Wellblechhütten des Townships (das ja ganz verschiedene Viertel hat) vorbei, waren ein Erlebnis. Wir waren mit 2 kleinen Kindern unterwegs und hatte schon Sorge, ob das alles sicher genug ist. Bei Liziwe lebt man aber unter einem "Zauber". Die Nachbarn sind neugierig und wohlgesonnen. Wenn sie kommen und einen direkt berühren wollen, ist das kein Alarmzeichen, sondern wirklich nur nett und interessiert. Unser Sohn (6 Jahre) spielte abends mit den Kindern der Nachbarschaft im kleinen Vorhof Fußball und dank Keksen kamen immer mehr... Das war superschön, die Kinder sind sehr offen! Donald führte uns dann auch noch durch das Wellblechhüttenviertel. Man ist erschüttert und beschämt, darf das aber nicht verpassen!!! Wer mehr von Südafrika sehen will, als schöne Landschaft und Tiere, sollte diese Tour mitmachen. Donald schafft es, dass alle ihre Würde bewahren, auch die Frauen, deren Hütte wir besichtigen durften. Übrigens kann man diese Touren oder auch sonstige Touren in und um Kapstadt (z.B. zum Kap der guten Hoffnung oder zu den Weingütern) auch über den Freund der Famiile Andrew Sauders buchen. Der weiß alles und ist absolut engagiert. Kontakt über Liziwes Guesthouse, sehr zu empfehlen! Wir sind sehr froh, dass wir diese 4 Tage bei Liziwe waren! Übrigens war unser Zimmer einfach, aber sehr dekorativ eingerichtet. Einige Zimmer haben einen Balkon (allerdings wohl immer noch ohne Geländer, Donald baut ja noch) mit Blick auf die Tafelberge. Ich wünsche jedem Südafrikareisenden, der nur ansatzweise verstehen will, wie die Menschen dort leben und denken, eine solche Erfahrung. Thanks a lot to Liziwe, Donald and Andrew!

February 2012

Inge (Saarbrücken, Germany)

Verified reviewvery good

Liziwe's Guesthouse is such a wonderplace to spend a night. the serive is excelent and the breakfast is good. its realy a place you can call a home away from home. Big up Madam LIZZY

December 2011

Khanyisa Ngamlana (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Me and my fiance really enjoyed our stay at Liziwe's, Lizzi is sweet, caring and respectful she really knows how to make her guest feel special. Donald is a special person he kept us entertained throughout our stay and Andrew is so caring I loved his gentle smile. Next time I'm in Cape Town I will definitely book with them. Thanks Liziwe for great hospitality

December 2011

Brenda and Menzi (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Liziwes ist Klasse! Wir haben 5 Tage mit unserem 5-jährigem Sohn bei Liziwe's gewohnt. Unser Sohn fand das "Urlaubszuhause" das Beste des 4-wöchigen Urlaubes in Südafrika. Alle waren unglaublich freundlich und hilfsbereit. z.B. beim Buchen von Aktivitäten. Als unser Sohn Fieber bekam, fuhr Lizi's Bruder Andile mit mir zu einem ihm bekannten Apotheker, wir konnten ohne Probleme den Aufenthalt dort verlängern und wurden liebevoll versorgt. Bestimmt wurde er deshalb so schnell wieder gesund! Auch die Gespräche waren sehr interessant. Besonders empfehlenswert ist auch die Township-Tour. Special greetings from David to little Ayanda! David told his friends here very proud, that he now has a new friend in south africa.

December 2011

Kai, Chris &David (Wuppertal, Germany)

Verified reviewvery good

i spent 1 night on liziwe's guest house because i had a visiter from east london and i google the affordable that we can spent time to so i was so lucky to find this place n i'm planning to spend another night there with thobile who is now myfiance u provide a good service i do recommend it.

November 2011

busisiwe (cape town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Tres bon accueil de la part de la responsable et d Andrew qui ont tout fait pour que notre nuitée soit parfaite Jolie chambre très bien décorée spacieuse et propre Petit dîner à l improviste gracieusement servi (nous avons apprécié ) Proximité de l aéroport 11€de taxi Nous reviendrons certainement pour visiter avec Andrew qui est une mine d anecdotes le townships Allez y pour encourager le tourisme dans ces endroits

November 2011

Perifan (France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our stay at Liziwe's Guest House was truely outstanding. Liziwe and her husband Donald, who built their house brick by brick with every spare hour over many years, have extended the warmth of their family to their guests. One is welcomed warmly upon arrival and made to feel at home throughout one's stay. The rooms are clean and well appointed with fridge, t.v. and tea pot. Our bed was very comfortable. Our room had a shared balcony over looking the street. We stayed two nights which is perfect for getting a feel for township life. On our last morning we sat out on the balcony prior to breakfast and greeted many passerby's with a wave, a smile and good morning and received the same in kind. We drove to Liziwe's in our rental car, got lost in the township and stopped to ask for directions twice. Both gentlemen we spoke with were very friendly and helpful in setting us on the right path. Upon arrival we were escorted to our room by Liziwe's son Lunga. We enjoyed two breakfasts and one dinner. All the food was outstanding, well prepared and well portioned. No one will go hungry at Liziwe's. One could use Liziwe's as a base to explore Cape Town from but more rewarding would be to arrive at Liziwe's with the interest and desire to experience the township and to enjoy the company and conversation of Donald and Liziwe and their family. Andrew organizes tours of the township catered to your interests. One is guided through township life on a walking tour where one can meet and greet people of the neighborhood. We visited a primary school, a shebeen, Mzoli's for lunch (an excellent braai place); moreover, we had umqomboti a traditional Xhosa beer and visited with a sangoma, a traditional healer. We walked with Donald through the informal settlement of shacks. He explained how the people live and what the government is doing to help alleviate the extreme poverty and provide better housing opportunities for the community. While progress is slow the people are extremely patient. Overall our stay at Liziwe's and tour of the township was an extremely enriching and rewarding experience. Liziwe's Guest House is wonderful. We recommend it highly to anyone interested in understanding how the majority of South Africans live, and to anyone interested in history and life in the townships. In addition to Donald and Liziwe and their children we had the pleasure of conversing with Liziwe's brother Andile, who speaks, in addition to many other languages, fluent German. Everyone was fantastic. Andrew is very organized and a great tour guide. If you are planning a visit to Cape Town, make a point of staying a night or two at Liziwe's. It will warm your heart.

November 2011

Tom (Moscow, Idaho, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wer Kapstadt ohne die Perspektive der Townships besucht, hat einen wesentlchen Teil dieser schönen Stadt verpasst. Der ideale Ort um Gugulethu kennenzulernen ist Liziwe's Guest House. Wir fühlten uns in den zwei Tagen im Haus von Liziwe und Donald unglaublich wohl und wir wurden aufgenommen wie Familienmitglieder. An die lange Gespräche bis spät in die Nacht, an die sehr emotionalen Schilderungen aus dem Leben von Donald und an den wärmenden Kamin, das gute Essen und die schönen Zimmer werden wir uns immer gerne erinnern. Auch der interessante Spaziergang durch Gugulethu mit Andrew und Duke hat uns sehr beeindruckt und sollte nicht verpasst werden. Viele unserer Vorstellungen von südafrikanischn Townships haben wir hier geändert. Wir waren oft positiv überrascht. Die vielen Eindrücke hier und die Begegnung mit den liebenswerten Menschen in Liziwe's Guesthouse haben unsere Reise sehr bereichert und wir sind nachträglich froh über unseren Schritt, auch im Township übernachtet zu haben.Thank you Liziwe, Donald, Andrew and Duke.

September 2011

Stephan Krebs (Schwäbisch Gmünd, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wondeful Gugulethu experience as a family of 5. Liziwe was a wonderful host with chef qualities, Donald the tireless entertainer and Andrew the dedicated super-assistant. Our children (17-23) have never been that much impressed than during the township walk. If you really want to experience SA as it is today, don't miss the opportunity of staying at Liziwe's guest house. A big thank you for Liziwe, Donald and Andrew! Jan Ekke & family Wigboldus

August 2011

Family Wigboldus (Houten, the Netherlands)

Verified reviewvery good

We loved our 1 night stay at Liziwe's, especially our township tour with Andrew and Donald. If you're really curious about how the people here live day-to-day, then this tour is a must-see.

June 2011

J.J. (Oakland, CA, U.S.A.)

Verified reviewvery good

My boyfriend and I have been going to CT for the third time (business trip) when we no longer wanted to sleep at a hotel we used to sleep at.I googled n found sisLizie , over the phone she was so nice.Everyone at her place is friendly, their hospitality is SUPER .Her place is home away frm home keep it up sisi.

June 2011

Ntombie Ndlebe (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent our last night in SA at Liziwe's guesthouse and would highly recommend it. Liziwe, Donald, and Andrew were so welcoming and had a lot of interesting perspective on life in the townships. We thoroughly enjoyed our conversation with Donald and Liziwe the afternoon we arrived. We continued our conversation over a lovely dinner prepared by their daughter. We also did a township tour with Andrew that was very eye-opening and informative. This was a great way to end our trip, one of the clear highlights of our whole trip, and an experience that we will always remember.

May 2011

Sharene and Lori (Boise, ID, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved everything about our visit to Lizawe's. Hospitality Superb!!!! Nice and close to the airport. They arranged airport pickup and Township tour including a great lunch at a local butchery. Andrew was GREAT Meals were delicious and we really enjoyed sharing with Liziwe and her husbanc Donald over a glass of wine.

October 2010

Terry and Suzanne (Seattle USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent the first two days of our stay in and around Cape Town and the Garden route at Liziwes. The guest house and all the staff were fantastic; Andrew the manager arranged some wonderful tours of the Township and Cape Town using local Taxies. It was so good that we decided to stay there on our return from the Garden route before flying home to the uk. While staying at Liziwes before our flight home, the Ash Cloud struck!! Liziwe, Andrew and Donald said that we could stay there with them till our flight was rescheduled (not knowing how long that could be) the very best part of the holiday then started we felt so at home in the guest house and the surrounding township. Everyone was exceptionally kind to us arranging local taxis to take us around for the first day or two then rehiring a car (Kenning Car Hire) we drove around the township for the next week without the slightest problem, also seeing sights in and around the Cape Town peninsula. We meet three people while visiting Kirstenbosh Botanical gardens who were also stuck because of the Ash Cloud. They were losing there accommodation so we fully recommended Liziwes to them. They booked and spent the last part of their holiday with us at Liziwes, going on a tour of the township during their stay. Anyone looking for accommodation for the World Cup should first try Liziwes you will have a great time.

April 2010

ken & Mags Jones (LINCOLN uk)

Verified reviewexcellent

How fortunate for me, my sister and brother in law to meet Mags and Ken in Kirstenbosch Gardens where we exchanged our experiences of being standed in Cape Town. On the day before we were eventually flying home we arrived at Liziwe's Guest House on their recommendation. What a memorable and warm 30 hours. Liziwe is a joy to be with, her goodness and strength shine out of her. Her dream of opening her home to everyone is being fulfilled. Donald is a man who is loving building and creating the Guest House, what a character,full of stories. Andrew worked his socks off straightening out all the problems a volcanic ash erruption can reek on travellers and ensuring our stay was a positive time. The people of Gugulethu that we met and chatted with were friendly. Thank you all for a memorable end to our South African holiday.

April 2010

Su Jones (Penzance, Cornwall)

Verified reviewvery good

To all fellow Travellers and especially Capetonians, As you can read below there are only good things to say about staying at Liziwe's Guesthouse with Donald (her husband) and Andrew (neighbour). One is treated to the warmest obliging hospitality and immediately you are welcomed into a home and neighbourhood away from home. For example my Spanish friend and I went with Cleo- Liziwe's daughter- and friend to Mzoli's, a legendary eatery down the road only to come back to an unexpected and scrumptious fully cooked meal prepared by Liziwe despite the fact that we had insisted that we would not require a meal. The best part of the experience was seeing the delight from the community and also Liziwe, Donald and Andrew's delight about recieving a local guest. Gugulethu is so closely situated to many parts of town and if you are having any doubts about safety, rest assured that I did not have one ounce of concern throughout the whole stay. Guys this is a way to bridge the separation gap and get to know township life, which can teach one so much. I strongly urge you to check it out. Indeed I am keen to hang out in Gugulethu more now after this experience. And now that you've seen a fellow Capetonian has gone too, so can you! And when you do, enjoy it. It's so lekker. Thank you Liziwe, Donald and Andrew, will be sure to meet you again soon.

January 2010

Tasmin Mulder (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi everybody! I'm the Spaniard mentioned below. I would like to recommend this experience to everybody. Because Liziwe's guest house at Gugulethu is not just a play to stay, is a unique experience that should take 2 or 3 days of every free traveler to Cape Town. And of course, that every Capetonian should have done. It's about the flavour of the township, the human quality of everybody there, the magical hospitality in and out the house, the delicious meals in the house and around,... and for me the best were the long chats with Donald, Liziwe, and her daughter (I learnt so much) and walking around the neighbourhood and all the kids coming to play or just to give you a hug. I insist. Magical experience. Now I'm in Spain, 2 months after my trip, and I still feel that wonderfull taste of Gugulethu. That's why I wanted Liziwe, Donald, and Andrew, if you are reading this, to say you all: THANK YOU.

January 2010

Alejandro Sebastian (Madrid)

Verified reviewvery good

It is a wonderful experience to stay in Liziw's. We just like staying in my own family that so easy and comfortable. The townshiop life let me feel how African lives are. It is cannot replace by ordinary guesthouse. Thanks to Liziwe, Donald and Andrew give me an unordinary holiday.

October 2009

chau ngan ching (Hong KOng)

Verified reviewvery good

I had my first visit in South Africa and Cape Town and stayed together with some of my companions at Liziwe's guest house in Guguletu. And due to their hospitality and friendlyness I had a wonderful time at the place. They learned me a lot about life in a township, about pride, sharing and taking care. I'll remember our joyful evenings with laughter and storytelling. These memories will be a great treasure in my life. Thank you Liziwe, Andrew and Donald.

October 2009

Anne Kathrine Løge (Norway)

Verified reviewexcellent

I really had a wonderful time in october 2009 in Liziwe's guesthouse in Guguletho with Donald, Andrew and Liziwe. What a good athmosphere these trustful, hospital warm hearted people created. And they are service minded. Being in a township like this is something very special and I felt safe together with them. It is recomanded to everyone. Thank you so much and I am looking forward to next time. Vidar Andersen/Norway

October 2009

Vidar Andersen (Kristiansand)

Verified reviewexcellent

I recently helped to run a major training program that Liziwe's Guest House hosted for us with Grassroot Soccer. I have been working as a training consultant around the world for over 10 years and I found their service to rival any hotel or conference center I have ever worked in. The facilities were well cared for, the food was ample and ideal for our group, and the security was excellent. The most distinguishing aspect of our stay was the level of customer service. The staff were attentive, responsive and willing to go the extra mile to make sure that everything we needed was available to us. I would say, without hesitation, that the service provided by the entire staff at Liziwe's was comparable to service I have received any major conference or retreat center I have worked at in the last 10 years! it is my pleasure to recommend Liziwe's Guest House without reservation.

February 2009

Lou Bergholz (Boston, MA)

Verified reviewexcellent

6 long days of workshops with 40 people during the middle of a Cape Town summer. What were we thinking! We would have never survived the week if Andrew, Liziwe, and their entire staff hadn't bent over backwards to meet every need we had. The combination of a grassroots feel & professionalism make Liziwe's an amazing place to hold workshops & rest your head. Hey, you guys full for the World Cup yet??

February 2009

Chris Barkley (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We only have excellent memories from our stay at Liziwe's.It started with the arrival at the airport where Andrew was such a great help with the rented automatic car ( which was new to us) . Then when we met Donald and Liziwe their welcome was so warm that even our 3 children (12-12-6) felt immediately at home and relaxed despite the language barrier. We all did the township tour with Donald and it was for all of us adults and children an experience never to be forgotten since Donald's first-hand stories were ever so moving and came straight to our hearts. At home we were pampered and treated to Liziwe's incredible authentic African cuisine and wish we had stayed longer to enjoy some more... We loved the house, the bedrooms tastefully decorated, the evenings in the garden talking to our hosts over a drink. The neighbourhood was lively and children came visiting from time to time,there were songs and music but we slept really well and we felt safe at all times; We will never forget these moments and for our children and us they remain one of the highlights of our holiday in South Africa.

January 2009

ANNE AND BERTRAND'S FAMILY (Reunion Island)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear All, One day about a year ago I was travelling on a train abroad and came across a small article written about a couple who had built a B & B in the heart of a township/shanty town in Cape Town called Guguletu. Since my wife has become accustomed to staying in five star hotels and I want to keep her on her toes, I decided as a surprise to book into the B & B for a night while we visited Cape Town in March of this year! The stay turned out to be not just the highlight of our holiday but one of the most awe-inspiring experiences of my life. Liziwe used to work as a tea lady and her husband Donald worked in the Sappi paper factory in Cape Town. One day he noticed that they were knocking down some of the surrounding walls to expand the factory and approached the owner of the business to see if he could use the bricks. The owner said he could have them if he could take them away. Donald found an old plot of land in Guguletu they were using as a rubbish dump. They bought the land and paid it off each month. They lived in a tin shack in the corner of the plot while he dreamed of building a house. Donald spent months carting the bricks back to the plot. Every night he would clean the bricks, brick by brick. There were 50,000 bricks and it took him two years to finish cleaning the bricks. By that time his hands were raw. He taught himself how to build and began to build the house. After three years it was finally ready and Liziwe and Donald opened their small guesthouse. Liziwe taught herself how to use the internet and sought help on how to produce brochures. Soon they added on extra rooms and are now running a very successful business. I have stayed in fancy hotels and B & B’s all over the world, but I can’t recall ever having experienced the warmth and hospitality anywhere that we experienced in our short stay at Liziwe’s. We were welcomed with big African hugs and lots of smiles as if we were long lost friends. We were treated to tasty African home-cooked food cooked by Liziwe herself in their restaurant (which has recently been reviewed by BBC Food, who came to film there). And we were moved and fascinated by their inspiring story. I have met many inspiring people on my travels. Liziwe and Donald are right up there with any of them. They had a dream and kept working towards it. They did not let anything get in the way of that dream. They were dedicated and determined to make it work. They are a wonderful symbol of the African spirit and what is possible if you put your mind to it. More importantly, they inspire others in the community. Other people have now opened B & B’s in the townships and Liziwe has started an association for B and B operators in the area. She involves the surrounding community by employing local entertainers to perform at the restaurant. She ensures that everyone who opens their home on the walking ‘township’ tours they offer benefits financially. She has the support of all the surrounding community to ensure that guests have a safe and happy stay, as it is in their best interests. What was meant to be an unusual excursion turned into an unforgettable life experience. What was tragic is that in the three years the B & B has been open I was only the 2nd South African who had stayed there! This blew me away. I would encourage all of you who are considering a trip to Cape Town, or even those living within Cape Town, to visit Liziwe’s guest house. It is fantastic value for money and great fun. Plus you may benefit from a powerful and inspiring message of hope, courage and ingenuity. David Becker Head of Legal International Cricket Council

November 2008

David Becker (Dubai, UAE)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear All, Thank you for such a warm hospitality, great food and the memorable beer!!we all enjoyed our trip thouroghly and i would like to send you a few photos of our visit. All the best in the future and may your business continue to prosper and may the community also benift from the increased tourism. Fondest Regards Gareth, Michele, Mark and Tracey.

October 2008

Gareth (Northants, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

When you visit Cape Town, besides a visit to the table mountain, a trip to Robben island, many travel agencies will offer you a tour through the townships, the black suburbs of Cape Town with their real african atmosphere. If you are interested in this lively way of living, a tour in a bus is not enough, you should stay there at least a couple of days to get the vibes. I would certainly recommend the weekend! Liziwes guesthouse was for us a perfect opportunity. The comfort meets western standards, and Liziwe and Donald do everything to make your feel at home. It is situated in Guguletu, close to the airport where you can be picked up by their van, and in spite of some that are afraid to enter the black townships, we soon find out that there is nothing to worry about in Guguletu. I would fear pickpockets more in the luxurious Waterfront, than in the township. Liziwes is a good location from which you can plan different visits in and around Cape Town. We started using the guesthouse van, that is always at your disposal, soon to discover the minibuses that provide the fastest form of public transport in Cape Town. Later we rented a car that is more economical for outings further away. Drawback: small garden and besides a beautiful view on table mountain, no beaches or seaside. But the experience to live together with an african family and to make easy contacts in the neighbourhood makes it more than worthwile.

August 2008

Karel Duran (Ter Aar, The Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband, 2 year old son and parents-in-law all had a wonderful time at Liziwe's. The warm hospitality, excellent food and community visits made the stay both comfortable and memorable and we would have liked to have stayed longer. For us adults, the walking and half day tours were humbling and unforgettable - for our son the highlight was playing football with the local kids and eating Liziwe's delicious fried bread balls! We highly recommend a stay at Liziwe's to anyone - it is a lovely place to stay and an important insight to south africa. Best of all, it supports an excellent township business. . Thank you Liziwe, Donald and Andrew.... we hope to come back to see you again.

April 2008

Jill Rose (London, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Was a great one !

January 2008

noluvuyo luvalo (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our family of 5 Peter and I and our 3 'young adult' children recently enjoyed the warm hospitality and comfort of Liziwe's guesthouse. Our charming hostess, together with husband Donald, and Andrew, made sure we had the best possible time in Guguletu. We gained great insight into life in the township through the half day tour, and were made to feel part of their family as we dined in their home. Nothing was too much trouble. They provided me with an unforgettable 55th birthday, and we dearly hope to return one day. Highly recommended!

January 2008

Robyn Worland (Sydney Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved staying at Liziwe's. From the moment we got picked up from the airport we felt very welcome. The place looks very good and organised. The food Liziwe cooks is delicious and our room is fantastic. It is very special to stay in the middle of the township Guguletu; it's an experience we'll never forget! We did the township tour and the people are very open and friendly. We felt very safe. We had two great days at Liziwe's! We would strongly recommend this place to other people! Liziwe, Donald and Andrew, we want to thank you for this great start of our holiday. In two days we had an experience other people will never have. Thanks a lot and we will never forget you guys! Lots of love, Pieter and Fokalin

December 2007

Pieter and Fokalin (Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

My stay at Liziwe's was short, but unparalleled. We went for the Thanksgiving holiday and were greeted with the utmost of hospitality. The guest hose is set up with multiple communal areas to meet the others who are staying there, but there is also an element of privacy in each of the rooms. All of the staff there, including Liziwe and Donald's family, were wonderful and more than hospitable. It was a safe and very comfortale experience, but also an enlightening one, where Liziwe and Donald wanted to share their experiences with us, if we wanted to ask questions. To hear their story of developing this wonderful place from their own voices was an amazing experience. Also, to hear the beautiful voices of New Hope, a musical group made up of young people that live in Gugulethu, was terrific. I look forward to the next chance I get to travel to Cape Town and visit this amazing family and the beautiful country of South Africa.

November 2007

Tarrah Beebe (Los Angeles, CA)

Verified reviewvery good

We all thought Liziwe's was a fantastic introduction to South Africa. Andrew and Liziwe gave us a lift from airport to car rental depot and Andrew helped negotiate our way through a technical difficulty - even going back the next day to pick up a document for us while we carried on with sight-seeing! The food was great, comfortable quiet rooms, fascinating township walk and Donald's moving explanation of the struggle for freedom in Gugulethu. Before going we had anxieties about crime etc. but we felt 100% safe and wouldn't have missed it for the world. A really warm welcome to South Africa - thanks for the hospitality and care! Harry, Jill & Rosie

November 2007

Harry Perry (Leicester UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Since I have met Liziwe, Donald and Andrew everytime I go to South Africa I will visit them and stay for a few nights. I have been to Liziwe's Guesthouse severval times now and for me it is a home away from home. Especially the warm hospitality and family atmosphere is great. You really feel part of the family. Every person that wants to visit Cape Town should experience township life and visit Liziwe's. It will be an unforgettable experience! I have never felt unsafe at all. Monique

November 2007

Monique (Leeuwarden, The Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

I stayed at Liziwe's twice: in Febraury and November/December 2007. I strongly recommend Liziwe's: it offers a wonderful mix of a home away from home and a high level of comfort and safety (which one maybe wouldn't expect in a township) with a real township/African experience. The best of both worlds! Liziwe, Andrew, Donald and all others really make you feel welcome - after a few days you will feel part of the family. They truly make an effort to make your stay an unforgettable experience. You are not only staying in their fine home, enjoying the excellent food and live entertainment; they also share their lives with you. If you really want to know township life: take a township tour or walk with them! I will never forget this experience. Liziwe, Donald and Andrew: thanks a million! No doubt: I will be back!! Love, Ernst

November 2007

Ernst Jonker (Leeuwarden, The Netherlands)

Verified reviewvery good

Staying for 3 weeks in the township at Liziwe's Guesthouse was an experience for lifetime. From the first moment I arrived I felt a very warm welcome by Liziwe and her family. With a lot of passion and drive this family fulfilled their dreams by starting a guesthouse in a township, where life is often very hard. Their friendlyness is endless and I never felt unsafe. Liziwe's guesthouse offers an unique hospitaliy and an African Township Experience. Liziwe, Andrew and Donald are driving forces for their community as well. As Liziwe told me: "This business is not only about education, it is about passion and sharing". I had a wonderful time in Guglethu, meeting a lot of neighbours from the community, went for a township walking tour and felt part of the family from the first day. Thank you very much for everything you did for me. Warmest regards, Jeannette

May 2007

Jeannette (Leeuwarden, The Netherlands)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 750
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Liziwe's Guest House has been voted 'Best Homestay Experience Accommodation in Gugulethu, Cape Town

'
  • Best Homestay Experience Accommodation in Gugulethu, Cape Town

    As voted for by
    SA-Venues.com guests

  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Liziwe's Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.