Reviews & Comments

Showing 45 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Just wanted to send a quick note of thanks for your hospitality. We had a great time at Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast and the convenience of your cabin was the icing on the cake. Thanks again for all of your help,

April 2018

JABULILE TSHABALALA (Soweto)

Verified reviewexcellent

WOW! Ikhamanzi is so peaceful, the African inspired décor is beautiful from the bedroom to the bathrooms, the breakfast was yummy. Almut is such a sweet hostess really made us feel welcomed. I had the perfect birthday weekend getaway thank you so much! I will be back soon that's for sure!

August 2017

Hlengiwe (Johannesbrg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a delightful stay at Ikhamanzi! The rooms are beautiful- African design with a lot of attention to detail. Delicious breakfast with farm fresh eggs and plunger coffee- what a treat. Almut, thank you so much , your hospitality is superb. We will see you again.

July 2016

Carin (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for a lovely weekend we could spend at Ikhamanzi. It is such a quiet , beautiful place with great hospitality. We will definitely be back for another weekend and we will let our friends know about this fantastic B&B.

December 2015

Mpho (Soweto)

Verified reviewexcellent

Best B&B I've been. Clean, neat, great hostess, delicious breakfasts and amazing atmosphere! Will definitely stay there again anytime!!!

October 2015

Kira (Standerton )

Verified reviewexcellent

We had such a wonderful time. The accommodation was well designed and beautiful and the food was deliciously prepared and served

August 2015

Mantombi (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dit was 'n pragtige ervaring om by Ikhamanzi te kon bly. Baie dankie vir die vriendelike diens, Almut. Ons sal beslis weer kom. Ons gaan die lekker ontbyt mis :)

March 2015

Annalize (Rustenburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ikhamanzi is very nice!!! We had a good time and enjoyed our stay. Almut is very friendly and professional , she knows how to take care of her guests , and she always make sure that each and every guest is happy , she goes an extra mile. I will be visiting Ikhamanzi again very soon. I loved the place.

December 2014

Nokubonga and Phumi (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful and relaxing time,. The serves was excellent and the home made, fresh, just cooked meals was absolutely something from another world!!! This is definitely somewhere I would go if I want to break away from my daily busy schedule!!

November 2014

Chane (Vanderbijlpark )

Verified reviewexcellent

Very nice place and atmosphere! Lovely rooms and deco! Thank you so much for your excellent hospitality, Almut. Definitely you will see us again, when we visit the Vaal.

September 2014

Trevor & Liz (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wir verbrachten die letzte Nacht unseres SA Urlaubs bei Almut in Ikhamanzi. Es ist wunderschön dort, mit sehr geschmackvoll eingerichteten Häuschen, viel Stil und Charme. Das Frühstück ist hervorragend und wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Almut ist überaus zuvorkommend und kümmert sich liebevoll um ihre Gäste. Wir können es nur weiterempfehlen und werden bei unserem nächsten SA Urlaub sicher wieder bei Almut gastieren. Vielen Dank für die schöne Zeit.

April 2014

Gudrun Ascherl (Munich)

Verified reviewexcellent

My family and I needed a break from the hustle and bustle of daily life and decided on a short break away from home. Every year it’s the same stressed-out-at-home or expensive and even more stressed out trip to the sea but this year we booked the weekend at ikhamanzi Bed and Breakfast. We did not expect much as it is so close to home (Alberton) but agreed that we will do it purely for relaxation sake and a change of scenery. Wow, were we surprised. We found out very pleasantly that we did not have to spend a fortune hundreds of kilometers away to have fun and relax. We were given a very warm welcome by Almut, out hostess who paid attention to every guest every moment of the day. The accomodation was homely and the atmosphere scenic and serene. We developed a bond with Kira (the golden retriever) and the children and felt so at home that our departure was emotional. We will definitely book ikhamanzi again when we need a short break.

April 2014

Gert (Alberton)

Verified reviewexcellent

Vor unserem Abflug verbrachten wir unsere letzte nacht bei Almut. die Zimmer sind sehr liebevoll eingerichtet. Es gibt dort alles was das herz begehrt an Getränken und Süßigkeiten. Almut gibt gute Tipps für die Umgebung betreffend Essen oder einkaufen gehen. Das Frühstück war sehr schmackhaft, mit Wurst und Käse vom holländischen metzger, dieeier von freilaufenden Hühnern und Obst. Eine Unterkunft, die zum Verweilen einläd. Danke liebe Almut

January 2014

Christine Dumser (Venningen)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ikhamanzi was amazing! We enjoyed an incredible romantic weekend with only the best hospitality anybody can ask for. The host Almut was so lovely and warm; she made us feel so welcomed and it felt like home. We were very impressed by the room and the various amenities; unbelievably comfortable! We definitely intend on setting a date to take some time-out to visit the place again this year; especially for the delicious and filling breakfast that is served. In addition, we also got to enjoy an outdoor braai on the last evening of our stay which was a great way to wrap up such a wonderful weekend away. Thank you so much Almut! Makgotso and TK

December 2013

Makgotso Mahasha and Tafadzwa Komani (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

I stayed Ikhamanzi for 6 nights during the Radio Control World Championships. This is a beautiful B&B and hospitality second to none. The room was spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Every morning I was spoilt with a delicious breakfast. Thanks Almut, it is a gem of a B&B.

August 2013

Andre' (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the excellent and personal touch. The place is lovely and comfortable, the food is great and we will definitely recommend it to our friends and we will come back soon for another lovely quiet time at Ikhamanzi.

July 2013

Mpho (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow.what a great weekend away we had @ ikhamananzi. The accomodation was top of the range,lovely food and as for the hosress(Almut) she is the best.we definately coming bk

May 2013

mandla (randburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

WOW the place is nice and quite. Almut is a great hostess and the food was divine, we must come back real soon esp in summer wanna stay in 1 of the tents.

May 2013

Shiba and Sibusiso (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an amazing stay! Thank you so much Almut for everything! Your "dream" is beautiful and we enjoyed every minute. The room was gorgeous and the food delicious. We will definately be back. Roadhogs Greetings :D

February 2013

Yolanda Kock (Louis Trichardt)

Verified reviewexcellent

One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in in South Africa. Farm atmosphere; great decor; very comfortable and great breakfast, not to mention wonderful people who own and run it. Out of the way heaven. Rev Terry

February 2013

Terry and Ronnie (Pennington KZN)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow wow wow what a place, one cand help but say thank yor for such comfort, personal attention Almut gives and overall hospitality,,,,great place indeed. Ikhamanzi is a place to be all year round, Thanky yuuu

February 2013

Puseletso and Bongi (Vanderbilpark)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stayed here for two weeks in Nov 2012. The place itself was great with a pool and attractive rooms and scenery. Great hosts very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was unbelievable with plenty of choice. Good location. Will 100% be back and would highly recommend to anyone.

November 2012

Eldon (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night, but we will definitely be back again. Peaceful and beautiful setting, stunning accommodation, great breakfast, wonderful host. Couldn't have asked for more!

October 2012

Hettie Machill (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful, peaceful and elegant place. Home from home, your place passed all my expectations and I really enjoyed my stay. The food was excellent. God bless your work , guesthouse and family. Thanks so much.

August 2012

Frank (Joburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ikhamanzi is an awesome place! We recommend it to anyone who would like to be treated like royalty, but at the same time have a very peaceful and relaxing break. The decor is expertly done, attractive and appropriate. The food is excellent and the way it is presented is exquisite. The electric blankets on the beds were most welcome! Thank you, Almut, for the professional and friendly way in which you run your establishment. No request was too much trouble for you. Well done! We'll be back!

August 2012

Claude and Marilyn Bourreau (Kempton Park)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is without a shadow of a doubt, the benchmark when it comes to a B&B. Owner run, immaculate, peacefull, friendly, and willing to accomodate you no matter what. Thank you very much Almut.

May 2012

Muzi Mthembu (Johanesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an awesome time, even though it was short but absolutely fantastic. Thank you so much for everything. We will definitely be visiting this wonderful place, IKHAMANZI, again.

March 2012

Kayla (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is a perfect romantic weekend getaway for simply relaxing and enjoying nature! We were pleasantly surprised as this was a very last minute booking, Almut was helpful and friendly and very accommodating. We stayed in the new tented rooms with a luxury bathroom, loved the victorian bath!! We highly recommend the tented rooms for your stay. Breakfast was fresh and there was a variety of things to choose from. We will be back to enjoy another weekend. Thank you Almut!

January 2012

Jacqui (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Après 4 semaines de voyage, avant le retour à l'aéroport de Johannesburg, cette adresse paisible, reposante, un accueil souriant, chaleureux d' Almut, l'impression d'étre chez soi, un grand raffinement dans la décoration, le choix des objets, des couleurs, des petites attentions,un délicieux petit déjeuner, tout cela et le reste fait que j'ai vraiment envie de retourner à l'Ikhamanzi B&B lors d'un prochain voyage en Afrique du Sud

November 2011

Martine Mérour (Montataire France)

Verified reviewexcellent

I travel extensively and use many B&B's in SA and this one REALLY was AWESOME. Almut was a great host and knew when to just chat and when to let us relax. The sounds of nature waking us up in the morning was refreshing and spa bath was a treat. We have decided to stay at Ikhamanzi from now on. This really is worth anyone's while. A fantastic place where you feel like royalty. Thank you and well done!

October 2011

Tiimothy and Jhanne (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a WONDERFUL stay at Ikhamanzi! Almut was extremely helpful and friendly and ready to assist us in everything we required! My complements to Ikhamanzi! Your establishment is well worth the visit! From the gorgeous bathrooms, wonderful views from our upstairs bedroom to the lovely, peaceful little pond where you can just soak in the peacefulness of the countryside... Thank you Almut - we definetly will be back for more visits...

September 2011

Christel Myburgh (Boksburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Its agreat place to regain your peace of mind and just relax. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of my stay. I would love to go back for longer this time. The facilities are top-class and the service unforgettable.

August 2011

Harriet (Sebokeng)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanx Almut - great service and EXCELLENT food, love the accommodation. I will definately refer your g/h to anyone willing to listen!;-). AND definately stop over just for dinner!! Thanks for an unforgettable two weeks!

July 2011

Wanda (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

The best getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. Peaceful and beautiful enviroment. The owners are the most welcoming and hospitable, rooms immaculate, food excellent. Reminds you how beautiful South Africa really is. Defnitely 5 stars

July 2011

Judy (Benoni)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful stay , everything was perfect.We will definitely be joining you very soon!

June 2011

Norman & Suzette (Boksburg )

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent!! Immaculate accomodation, well priced, and excellent service. The rooms are very neat and well equiped. The highlight is breakfast, thanks for the great food Almut! 5 stars!

March 2011

Morne (Rustenburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A perfect african experience! Lovely rooms, excellent service, fantastic breakfast! Exotic birds just opposite your room and a charming hostess. Not to forget the great breakfast! Best place in 3 weeks travelling! Thank you Almut!

February 2011

Eric and Heather Pagnoux (Osnabrück Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great place. Rooms are comfortable. Breakfast and dinner very good. Value for money.

February 2011

Annatjie Henning (Vereeniging)

Verified reviewexcellent

Five stars, no question. Go out to Ikhamanzi and find true Africa: vast landscapes, exotic birds' calls and pitch black nights. Enjoy a friendly, warm and unconventional accommodation. Whatever it is, Almut will help you to make it come true, at a more than fair rate.

November 2010

Jan (Bonn)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wir waren zu Beginn unserer Südafrika-Reise für eine Nacht im Ikhamanzi. Es war der ideale Auftakt für einen erlebnisreichen Urlaub. Ein herzliches Dankeschön an Almut und ihre Familie für den tollen Aufenthalt und die sehr gute Gastfreundschaft. Wir können Ikhamanzi bestens weiterempfehlen und kommen sehr gerne wieder. Liebe Grüße nach Südafrika.

November 2010

Oliver und Hardy (Horb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Auch wenn wir nur für eine Nacht im Ikhamanzi waren haben wir uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Wir hatten ein tolles Zimmer im afrikanischen Stil (sogar mit beheiztem Bett, wichtig für die kalten Winternächte in Johannesburg). Wir fühlten uns durch die Freundlichkeit und Unkompliziertheit wie bei Freunden aufgenommen. Leider hatten wir keine Zeit mehr einen typisch afrikanischen Grillabend zu verbringen, das holen wir aber nach! :-) Vielen Dank für alles! Almut und ihre Familie wünschen wir alles Gute in Südafrika!

July 2010

Heiko u. Simone Riek (Bad Sobernheim)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed 9 nights during the World Cup and wished we could take Ikhamanzi with us through out our tour of the country. We suggest the braai. Rooms were great. The family is awesome (hello Timmy, Tia and Derick)! We were spoiled by the huge breakfasts and found ourselves skipping lunch each day. Almut was an outstanding host adhering to all of our needs. We plan to return in 2 years time with the rest of our family.

June 2010

Scott Hatch (Cincinnati USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is without a shadow of a doubt, the benchmark when it comes to a B&B. Owner run, immaculate, peacefull, friendly, and willing to accomodate you no matter what. Rooms are of a spec usually enjoyed by establishments costing three times the amount of Ikhamanzi. A true home away from home. Thanks Almut, Derick, the kids...as well Makulu and Zazo!

May 2010

Sebastian Wallace (Honeydew)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very, very nice host and an excellent accomodation - my recommendation for everybody! I will certainly come back. Unglaublich nette Gastgeberin und eine ganz ausgezeichnete Unterkunft. Sehr empfehlenswert, ich werde auf jeden Fall wiederkommen!

February 2010

Frank (Witten)

Verified reviewvery good

Wir fuehlen uns hier so wohl, dass das Abschiednehmen schwerfaellt. Nach 3 1/2 Wochen Reise durch Suedafrika unsere letzte und bestimmt schoenste Uebernachtung! Wir bedanken uns fuer die herzliche Gastfreundscahft in dieser liebevoll gestalteten Umgebung und wuenschen alles Gute fuer die Zukunft, vor allem auch viele nette Gaeste.

December 2009

Astrid Voss (Muenchen)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 630
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.