Reviews & Comments

Showing 69 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent place for get away. Good environment and friendly staff. The treat was so refreshing. I can do it again and again.

November 2014

ZINZI (Vaal Triangle)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent once again. See you in a few months’ time.

October 2011

Bruce Watts (Edenvale)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks you so much. We had a pleasurable & meaningful time. The staff looked after us really well. We feel very blessed to have been here. P.S The food & massages were excellent too. Thank you.

October 2011

Mandy Ravenscraft (Centurion )

Verified reviewexcellent

This is what we needed. It was birthday surprise for my boyfriend and the best present I could have gotten for him. A special Thank You to Karen who made our stay very special. We would love to come back soon for longer.

October 2011

Lee-Ann Vertellotti (Boksburg )

Verified reviewvery good

We had such a beautiful experience together. Simply loved the massages and spa. Very relaxing indeed.

October 2011

Nita Jamnadas (Newtown)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for an awesome night. Made my birthday very memorable. Beautiful room (nice bath), wonderful breakfast and relaxing treatments. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Just the relaxing weekend we needed. Would love to come back and will recommend to our family and friends in cape town. Thank you Karin and Natasha.

October 2011

Sharon Jacobs (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

We were so lucky to have found this wonderful place. The best place to relax before a long flight back home. Thank you so much.

September 2011

Stijn Van Cauwenberge (Belgium )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a very lovely weekend. We enjoyed every moment here and will certainly return. Our compliments to the staff’s kindness, generosity and friendly nature. God bless. See you soon.

September 2011

Getrude Kitongo (JHB)

Verified reviewvery good

What an absolute gem of a place. Thank you so much to Karin and team for the hospitality. Will recommend to friends and certaintly be back.

September 2011

Nomfundo Engler (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

The weekend was excellent. Lovely service, food and accommodation. Overall I would rate it an eleven out of ten. Would definitely come back and recommend to friends. Thanks to all.

September 2011

Elize Abrahams (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the excellent service!!!

September 2011

Jacques Soine (Table View)

Verified reviewexcellent

It is a very warm, quiet and beautiful place in Johannesburg which I enjoyed the most. The service is great. Thank you! I will definitely be back.

September 2011

Kelvin Zheng (usa)

Verified reviewexcellent

The experience was unexpected, this really is a retreat. We never expected to find ourselves in a place like this in JHB. We had a lovely time here the staff is friendly and welcoming, we’ll definitely be back. Ps: the room is to die for, the décor is welcoming. You feel at home, away from home.

September 2011

Siphokazi Gwamanda (Crosby)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is by far the most nicest place ever. Thank you so so much for your kindness, we have really appreciated it all. Double thumbs up Karin the manager, she really out done herself. Karin you have welcomed us with warmth and kindness when we came and left. You are truly a wonderful person and thank you for making our stay awesome. We will defiantly be returning again, and who wouldn’t.

September 2011

Allen Bobby (ELDORADOR PARK )

Verified reviewvery good

Baie, baie dankie vir julle gasvryheid. Julle het ons behoorlik bederf. Dit is net wat ons nodig gehad het!!! Sal definitief weer kom.

September 2011

Hennie Becker (Pretoria )

Verified reviewexcellent

My fiancé and I arrived on 23rd , Karin welcomed us with such warmth and hospitality. We thoroughly enjoyed our stayand the massages. Thank you Karin,Natasha,Nomsa and Meikie for a stunning stay. We definitely will be back.

September 2011

Upasna Dayanand (Fourways )

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you for the great service. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our night.

September 2011

Thabisile Mabuza (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

What an enjoyable experience we had! Thank you to all the staff and especially Karin who made our evening on the 23rd September.

September 2011

Laetitia Bosch (Centurion)

Verified reviewvery good

We had a great time. Very Friendly and warm. Perfectly served breakfast.

September 2011

Gloria Ogunkye (Bronhof)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks you for a very enjoyable stay, Beautiful venue and excellent service. Pleasant Memories created. The Hand Soap, very cute touch. Great Shower & Jacuzzi.

September 2011

Ebrahim Mohamed (Kimberley)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you very much, we had a great time, very relaxing. Thanks.

September 2011

Heidi Spence (Linehill )

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you very much, we had a great time, very relaxing. Thanks.

September 2011

Heidi Spence (Linehill )

Verified reviewexcellent

I was completely blown away by the great experience i had at Hands on Retreat. I bought a spa package for myself and my sister, something we like to do often. This was our first visit to Hand on...and we absolutely had the best morning. Their service was friendly, punctual, organized and the quality of the spa was impeccable. I highly recommend Hand on...especially when you compare the service with the nearby location of Johannesburg. Thank you Hand on for making our day unforgettable.

September 2011

Karin (Alberton)

Verified reviewvery good

Awesome break, very relaxing, totally unexpected. The room was unexpected, total privacy. Would definitely return and recommend your establishment. Thank you very much.

September 2011

Yassien Sallie (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you guys very much it was wonderful and will defiantly be back again and refer you to other people. Thanks a lot.

September 2011

Lena Enslin (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

I had such a lovely stay, thank you so much! You have such a lovely place, looking forward to coming back soon! It’s a home away from home, makes going away so much easier. The service was absolutely divine!

June 2011

Jeanni Henry (Cape Town )

Verified reviewexcellent

This has been the greatest experience we had for a weekend getaway and spa treatments. What a cold winter it has been and added with the service level that brought the satisfactory we were really anticipating. Thanks for being so worth for our rands, we will indeed spread the word about it. It brought the stress level to zero and I can’t explain it further. Thank you!!!

June 2011

Mapudi Rakoma (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you to all the staff at Hands On, especially Karin really made our stay restful and relaxing. The experience was worth it and a must to do again. The rooms are well stocked and a real delight to stay in. Thank you all.

June 2011

Chantelle van der Walt (JHB)

Verified reviewvery good

Baie vriendelike verwelkoming. Geskenkies an my vrou vir haar verjaarsdag was baie oulik en ons het dit baie waardeer. Geriewe is tops, dekor heel kreatief en my vrou is a groot “fan” daarvan. Baie rustig en die spa help om jou daai ekstra rustigheid te bring. Die kos was heel lekker en daar is n groot verskeildenheid wat dit dieheeltyd interesant hou. Sal verseker weer hier kom ontspan en my vriende gaan vertel van die oulike wegbreek op hulle voorstoep.

June 2011

Louis Fourie (WELTEVREDEN PARK )

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you to the staff at Hands On. It was a treat indeed. All the staff members are great with great hospitality.

June 2011

LERATO MODISE (ALBERTON)

Verified reviewexcellent

'A great and peaceful place to stay while attending our friend's wedding. The room is clean. Service - friendly and genuine. Our short stay in SA and overall experience so far, makes us want to come back and we shall remember your place!' Isabelle & Thierry (Frogs in Oz)

March 2011

Thierry Candito (Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

'When we arrived I saw two people with slippers at the breakfast table and thought it was hysterical, but by the next morning I did the same! Your atmosphere is so tranquil and your rooms so beautiful and relaxing – you can't help but feel right at home'

March 2011

Lia & Johan Smit-Schoeman (South Africa)

Verified reviewvery good

Thanks’ for a great stay. So tranquil and everyone was so friendly and helpful.

March 2011

BRONWEN ZANDE (Holand Port,Australia )

Verified reviewexcellent

'We really enjoyed the stay. It is peaceful and tranquil. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Rooms are well equipped. The massages are really good. The water features scattered around the premises give a nice, calming effect. Thanks'

February 2011

Tanya & Michael Joubert (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

'This is a lovely place. I liked the tranquil environment. Will definitely call again. Bless you'

February 2011

Tinashe Chimbidzikai (Harare (Zimbabwe))

Verified reviewexcellent

'Excellent service, relaxing atmosphere and exceptional hospitality. Highly recommended. Will advise everybody to visit your hands on treatments'

December 2010

Carel & Lazya Greeff (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Baie dankie vir 'n onvergeetlike ondervinding. Die eters is heerlik, die spa behandelings is ongelooflik en die diens onverbeterlik. Vanaf ons eerste ontmoeting het personeel soos Natsha ons spesiaal laat voel. Ons sal beslis weer an weer terug kom na hierdie stukkie hemel in die stad'

December 2010

Heinrich & Lisinda Duvenhage (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Many thanks for the hospitality shown to me over the last 27 days. The garden is a sea of tranquility in a busy, busy city. It really is an oasis of calm. Go well until we meet again. May all light surround you'

October 2010

Paddy Hunter (Alberta (Canada))

Verified reviewexcellent

'Lovely time, beautiful room, great breakfast and friendly service. Isaac loved hiding under the 'sheds' and exploring the garden' Adrian, Patricia & Isaac (England)

August 2010

Patricia Marquis (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

'We had a very relaxing time. Good accomodation, good food and great treatments! We'll be back in summer to appreciate your garden. Thanks for a good time and friendly service' Ludwig & Anel

August 2010

Ludwig & Anel Ehrke (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Many thanks again for the lovely hospitality. It was a great pleasure to stay at your guesthouse. I am more than happy to meet you and look forward to the second stay. It was my first time in Johannesburg, I was so impressed and just want to thank you. I hope to come again' With all the best, Őmer Ūlke

July 2010

Őmer Ūlke (Turkey)

Verified reviewvery good

'Thank you for the lovely service and accomodation. Definitely a place to be revisited and also recommended to family and friends' Many thanks! Liezel & Kenneth

July 2010

Liezel & Kenneth Maloney (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Thank you very much for an awesome time. We enjoyed it so much. Will most definitely come again! The room was so nice and breakfast was out of this world! All the best for you guys for the years to come!'

July 2010

J.A Steenkamp (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Margaret and I have enjoyed our two days in this little paradise in a big city. The garden, with it's winter hues, reminded us both of Canberra Australia – but without the winter cold (we never have breakfast on our patio at home at this time of the year). We will recommend Hands On Retreat to all our friends'

June 2010

Margaret & Peter Meibusch (Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

'We are very happy to stay here, we feel like it's our house. Your service is special, congratulations. I want to write too much but my English is so bad. In one word !!! Espectaculor !!! If I will come back, return here, to South Africa, I hope you will receive me with the open arms like this time. Thank you so much for all of you ; you are the best of our holiday' Sincerely, Giovanny, Daniele, Felipe & Josmar

June 2010

Felipe Randolfi (Venezuela)

Verified reviewexcellent

'I'm so glad to been here. It's a pleasure place to stay and relax. Looks like to be at home.Thanks for everybody' Milton Costa (Brasil)

June 2010

Milton Costa (Brazil)

Verified reviewexcellent

'I like the furniture & the ambiance of a cottage. Very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for a wonderful stay'

June 2010

Eric Tan (Singapore)

Verified reviewexcellent

'From Argentina! Thanks for the warm service and made us feel like home'

June 2010

Andreas Bonelli (Argentina)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Thank you for a relaxing stay. Hands On Retreat is very beautiful. Staff is friendly' Yamato and friends

June 2010

Yamato Yanai (Japan)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Thanks a lot, we've had a wonderful stay! Love from Norway and Scotland

June 2010

Raymond Collins (Norway)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Very friendly and helpful staff. I had an enjoyable stay'

June 2010

Candice van den Berg (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Relaxing, wonderful friendly staff. Would come back again' - David & Penny

June 2010

David Parratt (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Thank you for a very relaxing stay. I wished I had made more use of the place and such excellent staff. Would love to come back again' Paul

May 2010

Paul Gilpin (London, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

'A very nice oasis in the middle of Jo'burg. Will spread the word in the USA' Jamie & Susanna

May 2010

Jamie McTavish (USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

'The ladies are amazing and we had a very relaxing time. A very romantic getaway for myself and Natasha' Many thanks, Albert & Natasha

May 2010

Albert & Natasha (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

' A lovely stay! A great concept and lovely atmosphere' Many thanks, St John

May 2010

St. John Bangey (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Wat 'n bederf?! Ongelooflik lekker en baie nice personeel! Ons kan dit aanbeveel!' Baie dankie, Johan & Chrisna Nel

May 2010

Johan & Chrisna Nel (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Thank you so much for your service, it was wonderful and I will recommend your place to others. Your assistants were so friendly and loving in their patience with me. I wish I could come back soon. I have never been to a nice place like this before' Bongiwe

March 2010

Bongiwe Nkosi (S.A.)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you for a wonderful stay – was really a great experience. Will be coming again for the massage and the relaxation of all the surroundings. The place is stunning, worth every penny' Sam & Marco

March 2010

Marco De Sousa (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Baie dankie Louis and Martina! Ons het alles verskriklik geniet en 'n wonderlike tyd gehad! Julle het 'n lieflike gastehuis met dierbare mense wat hier werk! Dit was 'n groot bederf! Mag die Here julle en julle besigheid oneindig seën!' Groete van Wolfgang & Angelika

March 2010

Wolfgang & Angelika Ehrich (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

' Dankie vir die lekker kuier, gasvryheid – dis pragtig hier!' - Sanett

March 2010

Sanett Uys (S.A.)

Verified reviewexcellent

'We had a lovely stay with Louis and Martina. They are brilliant hosts and the accomodation was great!! Loved the Wi-fi option, great help. Thanks for that Louis. We will definitely be back' Errol & Karen

March 2010

Errol Mann (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

'To Louis, Martina and Staff - Was absolutely wonderful. Service and experience was great. May you grow from strength to strength' Leonie

February 2010

Leonie & Andre (JHB)

Verified reviewvery good

'It was a wow! Hands On Retreat has a very nice, relaxing and calming environment. It is the best place to go and run away from the busy city life. Who thought Jo'burg (the busy city) could have such an environment. I must give compliments to the founder of the place, this is a wow! Everyone deserves to be pampered every now and again. Compliments to the chef and the waitresses. The therapists Tebogo and Meiki, their hands worked like magic. We feel revived, calm and healed (the body & soul). This was the best weekend ever, me and my hubby enjoyed it and will definitely recommend it to any couple' Love Nwabiso & Lutanolo Pulumo

January 2010

Luthando Pulumo (East London)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Louis, Martina and staff: Your collective determination to make a difference in S.A. is evident in everything you do. You succeed spectacularly in 'giving' - a rare commodity in our rushed world. You've discovered the self-fulfillment of giving and it shows' Love, Nico & Ronel

January 2010

Nico & Ronel (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

'Dankie vir 'n awesome tyd by Hands-On-Retreat. Wonderlike atmosfeer, heerlike kos, vriendelike mense en die beste pedikuur! Baie dankie... Ek voel recharged' Lizette Parker

December 2009

Lizette Parker (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Delightful place and people.

November 2009

Patrick Sinz (Paris, France)

Verified reviewvery good

'Thank you Louis and Martina for inviting us to spend the weekend at Hands On Retreat. We have really been blessed and Jerome and I have enjoyed the alone time together. The love-better 'homework' was a great idea. The spa treatments were an added touch of luxury - Thank you. We have enjoyed the meals, it is so good not to worry about catering for ourselves' Fond regards, Jerome and Carol

November 2009

Jerome & Carol West (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

'So in die middel van die stad - fantasties! Ek was heel meegevoer, veral in die aand, met die grootsheid van die bome.. Viva Jo'burg!' Francois Le Roux

October 2009

Francois le Roux (South Africa)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,265
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Hands on Retreat

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.