Reviews & Comments

Showing 13 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

This place is a real Jewel! Pia is a very nice and friendly person who has a real feeling for her guests. The rooms are new restored and beautifully decorated. The view to the sea is gorgeous - the breakfast is every day variable and delicious. We felt home away from home and would recommend it highly. We will come again for sure!

March 2018

Tuija Hug-Wiederkehr (Gümligen Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

As promissed we have been back in 2015/2016 and as well this year. It became our" 2nd home" during the trips at the garden route. We are planing the next booking. Hopefully we get room!!!! Pia is spending much money to create bigger rooms, this reduces the no. of rooms. But as a frequent customer we hope to have a bonus!!!! Volker&Karin Voelz

February 2017

Volker Voelz (Leonberg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A stunning/gorgeous location open to the sea. You can watch the dolphins from your balcony. Beautiful natural garden to relaxe icl. a clean pool as well with view to the sea. Modern furniture, lounge open to the garden, safe parking ect. I highly recommend to stay longer than 1 night in this GH. You will not find many equivalent GH around. 10 min. drive to GC Pinnical Point and GC Mosselbay ! We are going back in Jan. 2015 Volker&Karin

January 2014

Volker Voelz (Leonberg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We've never had a better host! On the lookout for a quarter around Garden Route, I've stumbled upon the ClassicalView. And I have to say; I wish I'd always be that lucky ;-) Our stay with Andrea, Gottfried & Barolo felt like visiting friends. A beautiful area and a very classy and delightfull furnishing made the stay even more pleasant. The view, even from the lovely bathroom, is a sheer dream. Also the terrace with the pool is very inviting and you really have to force yourself out to explore the town. Don't worry if you haven't made your homework ;-) to inform yourself about what can be seen in the surrounding area, Andrea and Gottfriend always love to help and know every inch very well. You can already start looking forward to the breakfast!! Every day your affectations will be pleased in a bit different way! For example; fresh fruits, delightfull jam, cereals, ham, cheese, a very special omlette and even a traditional austrian bakery. As a born austrian, I love my crepé (Palatschinken) and, of course, have tried them countless times at countless restaurants but this surely was by far the best. Sorry but you won't get rid of us :-), we will definitely return! Again we want to thank you very very much and as already said: we've never experienced a better host! Regards and a big kiss, Andrea & Wolfgang *********************************************************************************** Wir haben noch keine besseren Gastgeber kennengelernt!!! Auf der Suche nach einem hübschen Quartier an der Garden Route bin ich durch Zufall über das ClassicalView gestolpert. Wünsche mir, dass ich immer so glücklich stolper ;-) Unser Aufenthalt bei Andrea, Gottfried & Barolo war wie ein Besuch bei lieben Freunden. Das Haus liegt traumhaft und ist mit besonders viel Liebe und Geschmack eingerichtet. Der Blick aus den Zimmern (ebenso aus dem wunderschönen Badezimmer) ist ein Traum! Die Terrasse mit dem Pool ist so einladend, dass man sich überwinden muss das Haus zu verlassen um die Gegend zu erkunden. Sollte man sich noch nicht informiert haben was es alles in der Umgebung zu sehen und tun gibt, keine Angst, Ihr werdet von Andrea und Gottfried bestens beraten! Auf das Frühstück kann man sich schon im vorhinein freuen!!! Jeden Tag werden verschiedene Vorlieben ein bisschen anders befriedigt. Wie frische Früchte, hervorragende Marmelade, Müsli, Wurst, Schinken, Käse, besonders gute Eierspeise... und zum Abschluß noch als absolute Krönung eine Österreichische Mehlspeise, auf höchstem Niveau zubereitet!!! Als echte Österreicherin liebe ich Palatschinken und habe in meinem Leben schon unzählige gegessen, aber diese waren die mit Abstand besten, welche ich je gegessen habe, einfach göttlich!!!! Sorry, aber uns werdet Ihr nicht mehr los, wir kommen auf jeden Fall wieder :-) Auf diesem Weg möchten wir uns nochmals bei Euch bedanken, wir haben noch keine besseren Gastgeber kennengelernt!!! Bitte macht weiter so!!! Viele liebe Grüße und ein dickes Bussi aus Wien von Andrea & Wolfgang an Euch 3!!!

January 2012

Andrea (Vienna)

Verified reviewexcellent

das beste was die gardenroute an guest house bieten kann. wir waren schon 2 mal da und werden sicher wieder kommen besten dank an andrea und den küchengott gottfried. the best guesthouse we have ever seen in sa.... many thanks to andrea and gottfried

December 2010

karlheinz Pfeiffer (stuttgart)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great view and a very nice house- the hosts were nice, and the breakfast was excellent. It is a little outside of Mossel Bay but there are several restaurants which offer free shuttles which was very convenient. Enjoyed our stay.

September 2010

Paul Kramarz (Los Angeles)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed here for one night in Jan 2010 and it wasn't enough. The place is beautiful and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was a work of art and delicious. The views from the rooms and pool were stunning. Andrea and Gottfried were very helpful. We have no hesitation in recommending Classical View to anyone.

January 2010

Tracey and Stephen Patrick (York)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed here for 2 nights in October with friends and found the accommodation fantastic.Andrea and Gottried made us very welcome and Andrea has furnished the place so tastefully. We wish we could have stayed longer and wouldn't hesitate to return another year. Thank you both for making us so welcome in your lovely home.

October 2009

Roger and Mary Giles (london)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Gottfried and Andrea, Thanks so very much for the kindness, the hospitality but most of all your heartwarming reception. I loved your guesthouse and the outstanding views. And of course in the evening the lovely food and the wine. With the lovely breakfast I had the drive to Cape Town was not that bad although very boring. Thanks again and all the best. Perhaps au revoir?

June 2009

Paula (and Tequila) (Meppel)

Verified reviewexcellent

Die Gastgeber Andrea und Gottfried sind äußerst bemüht, den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich mitzugestalten; sie geben Tips für Ausflüge in die Umgebung, wissen Bescheid über Öffnungszeiten von Museen und Restaurants, sind bemüht, bei Problemen mit dem Mietauto behilflich zu sein (Telefonate mit dem Vermieter) und stehen immer mit Rat und Tat zur Verfügung. Sie organisieren für den Gast einfach alles, egal mit welchen Wünschen er an sie herantritt. Das Guesthouse selbst ist einfach umwerfend schön. Es ist mit sehr viel Geschmack und Liebe zum Detail eingerichtet und berücksichtigt auch den Umstand, daß es in Südafrika errichtet wurde, d.h. es wurden sehr viele natürliche Materialien aus diesem Land verarbeitet, es wurde mit schönen modernen Holzmöbeln ausgestattet, die Bäder wurden mit modernsten Accessoires versehen, überall befinden sich kleine Vasen mit frischen Blumen und in einem schön angelegten Garten mit direktem Blick auf den Indischen Ozean kann man herrlich entspannen. Der Ausblick auf den Indisichen Ozean ist atemberaubend, es gibt kein vis-a-vis und man hat freien Blick auf die Delphinschwärme, die man schon beim Frühstück bewundern kann. Ja, auch das Frühstück läßt keine Wünsche offen; es wird von den Gastgebern dafür gesorgt, daß jeder voll zufriedengestellt wird. Man muß sich einfach wohlfühlen! Besonders angenehm habe ich den Pool und die Relaxzone empfunden, wenn ich nach einem anstrengenden Sightseeing-Tag "nach Hause" gekommen bin. Was ich allerdings nicht nachvollziehen kann, ist, wieso das "classical view" nur vier Sterne von der zuständigen Vergabestelle erhalten hat. Ich habe bei meiner Reise entlang der Gardenroute bis nach Kapstadt noch Quartiere kennengelernt, die ebenfalls vier Sterne hatten, aber in überhaupt keiner Weise mit dem classical view konkurrieren können. Über das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis war ich mehr als hocherfreut und eines weiß ich ganz genau: Bestimmt werde ich wieder nach Dana Bay fahren und im "classical view" buchen. " Ilse Uttinger

February 2009

Ilse Uttinger (Vienna)

Verified reviewexcellent

Andrea and Gottfried were outstanding hosts, anticipating our needs and making certain we were comfortable and at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was more than we expected it to be. The views were amazing and the tranquility of the surrounds made for a perfect time of rest. Our breakfasts were a memorable feast as was the evening we joined Andrea and Gottfried for dinner. A delicious picnic basket prepared by our hosts, was enjoyed on the beach at Boggoms Bay one Sunday. They have successfully captured the essence of what we envisage the perfect guest house should offer.

October 2008

Pete & Linda Ferreira (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Andrea and Gottfried were outstanding hosts, anticipating our needs and making certain we were comfortable and at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was more than we expected it to be. The views were amazing and the tranquility of the surrounds made for a perfect time of rest. Our breakfasts were a memorable feast as was the evening we joined Andrea and Gottfried for dinner. A delicious picnic basket prepared by our hosts, was enjoyed on the beach at Boggoms Bay one Sunday. They have successfully captured the essence of what we envisage the perfect guest house should offer.

October 2008

Pete Hendrik (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our stay at classicalview was fantastic. The house and the hosts kept everything they promised on their website and went out of their way to make our time on the Garden Route as enjoyable as possible. The view from the rooms, the lounge, the deck and even the tables you have your breakfast at is magnificent. The hosts, Andrea and Gottfried, offered us a very warm welcome and helped us plan our day trips in the area. The breakfast is excellent, especially Andrea's home-made muesli, and we were also lucky to enjoy one of Gottfried's home cooked three-course meals. Just delicious. We can definitely recommend classicalview to everyone who likes to stay in a warm and welcoming guesthouse with excellend view and delicious food.

July 2008

Petra Mikulcik (Vienna)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,600
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • ClassicalView Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.