Blue Roan Country Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (39 reviews)

Blue Roan Country Lodge

Self Catering at 7.8kms outside Magaliesburg on the Koster Road (R509), Magaliesberg, Gauteng, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 39 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 39 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

June 2015

Excellent

Review by Gavin & Olivia (Pretoria)

This was a perfect get away. Thank you for everything and for contributing to an amazing weekend we had. It is a definite must for our next holiday.

May 2015

Excellent

Review by Colin & Mayuri (Cape Town)

We truly enjoyed ourselves at the beautiful farm and the beautiful Honeymoon suite. Thank you so much for an amazing weekend,, we will definitely be back

April 2015

Excellent

Review by Jose & Marina (Johannesburg)

This was our 3rd time here. Each unit we have stayed in is so beautiful. Thank you for the lovely and quiet ambiance at the Blue Roan. The neat, homely, attractive and well equipped units make each stay a memorable one. Were here in February this year for our 10 yr anniversary and now in April for my husband's 40th birthday. It is just what we needed to recharge our flat JHB batteries. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much for your hospitality. Thank you for our flowers and Easter wishes and chocs! Yummy!

April 2015

Excellent

Review by Melanie & Paul (Johannesburg)

What a lovely farm you have. A perfect getaway from busy city life. Thank you for making my 30th birthday so memorable. all the little touches (rose petals, champagne etc.) make a difference. Thank you for the great hospitality. Paul and I thank you for everything. God bless!!

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Jaco & Delmei (Centurion, PTA)

Thank you for the lovely weekend! We really relaxed! Keep up the beautiful place, you will definitely have more relaxed couples!

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Avriane & Carol (Pretoria)

What stood out for us: The attention that clearly went into the design and layout of the chalet – one sees it in small detail and how the space was used. It is clean and very neat, well equipped with everything one would need, and more. Very good quality products – linen, kitchen, bathroom, lounge. You did not go for the cheapest/most affordable, you went for quality. It shows. There is good taste reflected, whether inside or outside. The place is well kept and maintained. Our 3 dogs thoroughly enjoyed being here, just like we did. The tranquility of Acacia is brought into the layout and property. Thank you – we will be back and we will certainly recommend the Blue Roan.

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Mooeen & Sadia (Johannesburg)

A very welcoming and comfortable place with breathtaking views and blissful atmosphere. Enjoyed every moment, it was just what we needed. Wish we could have stayed longer! Will most definitely be back soon!! Thank you Judy and Yossi for your very kind hospitality.

February 2014

Excellent

Review by Erica & John Whiting - U.K. (United Kingdom)

Great to be back after 4 years! Hopefully a return visit before another 4 years! Thank you both for everything - we enjoyed our stay!

February 2014

Excellent

Review by Li-Ann & Burger (JHB)

Thank you for everything! We had a lovely stay! Everything was perfect! You have a beautiful farm! It was the most relaxing getaway we have had in a long time!

February 2014

Excellent

Review by Chris & Melanie Waldeck (PTA)

Judy & Yossi. Thank you for everything. We loved every moment. We had a wonderful honeymoon. We love your dogs and horses and most of all you!

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Thomas & Yulia (JHB)

We could not have chosen a better place to have our first year anniversary! Everything was perfect! Thank you very much Judy and Yossi!! Look forward to coming back!

December 2013

Excellent

Review by De Wet And Sue (PTA)

Yaaaay, we got engaged!! Blue Roan is an absolute gem! We fell in love with this place from the minute we got here. The views and experience of nature immediately put us in a calm relaxed mood. Acacia is a lovely cottage! We had such an awesome romantic weekend!! Thank you Judy and Yossi - we cannot wait to book our next getaway!

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Esther & Andre & Jesse The Dog (JHB)

Dear Judy & Yossi. Thank you for our lovely stay. Your hospitality towards us is really appreciated. We loved the view from our cottage and enjoyed the rest and peace of the place. Thanks for popping in and the pleasant chats. Jesse enjoyed Gucci's company!

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Tasha & Rufus (JHB)

Dearest Judy and Yossi. Thanks for a wonderful & luxurious stay. Your gracious and warm hospitality was much appreciated. It was truly a memorable & serene escape from the city and was even better than we anticipated. We will definitely be back. Many thanks and best wishes.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Stemmis & Heleen Schulze (PTA)

Dear Judy and Yossi. Thank you for a wonderful time. Everything was perfect and your hospitality heart-warming.

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Shaun & Belinda (JHB)

Peaceful bliss!! Tranquillity and harmony - just what we needed for our 1st anniversary. Thank you!!

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Stacey And Wayne (JHB)

Wow! We had an amazing time. Thank you. A home away from home.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Lizelle Denkema (JHB)

Thank you so much for the warm hospitality and care! It was an amazing peaceful and joyful stay and Francois and myself will definitely treasure our memories here forever! We will visit soon!!!

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Myrtle And Allick (JHB)

Thank you for a well equipped suite. It made our stay pleasant, comfortable and a memorable experience. The warm welcome and display arranged by you for my husband was excellent and appreciated. Our 23rd anniversary will be truly engraved for years to come.

July 2013

Excellent

Review by John, Christelle & Rex & Puppy (JHB)

This was our 2nd visit and we are already planning the 3rd. We loved it, our dogs loved it. Puppy thought the horses were big dogs and was very intrigued - so cute! The long walks cleared the mind and the cosy fires soothed the soul.

May 2013

Excellent

Review by Suzette (JHB)

Thanks Judy
We thoughly enjoyed our stay at your home and the dogs were in there element….they looked quite bored when they got home. We will most definitely be back…..you should get a frequent visitor card. See you soon.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Blanche (JHB)

Hi Judy. Just wanted to thank you again for an amazing weekend! We loved every minute! Told everyone I know about your stunning place! Hope to see you soon. Love Blanche and Ferdie

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Susan (PTA)

Just to say thank you so much for the wonderful time we spend at Blue Roan!
Me and my mum loved every moment (she was just like a child, could not get enough).
We will for sure be coming back for more heaven on earth, you have got a real piece of heaven and it so safe!

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Riette (JHB)

We had a splendid weekend. I just love you place. It’s the finer detail that make the stay pleasant.
Thanks again, we will be back when we are in the vicinity.



January 2013

Excellent

Review by Michelle (JHB)

Thank you for a wonderful stay!
We wrote you a message in the guest book to say how MUCH we enjoyed our little "family" vacation and we left the key in the chalet by the guest book.

Thanks again!
We hope to visit again soon!

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Natani & Stefan (Pretoria)

This breakaway was wonderful. You have a lovely place allowing guests to relax and reload. We enjoyed the beautifully decorated unit, the calmness, the hiking trails, the swimming pool and all the well –behaved lovely animals. We will see you soon and keep up the wonderful hospitality and homeliness. Thanks!

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Gavin & Helen (Benoni)

Wow! Thank you for another brilliant weekend. We loved the unit and the horses visiting. We had a very relaxing and quiet weekend away. We will definitely be coming back for a 3rd year.

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Dean & Marile (PTA)

It was such a relaxing weekend and we had a great time. Thank you for all of the effort (and little touches) in the room! This is the perfect getaway! Coco is a treat and it was great being so close to the horses! You will be seeing us again!

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Eugene & Carli (JHB)

Wow!! What an amazing guest farm and unit. We loved everything here. Absolutely love the scenery. Love the horses and all your dogs especially adorable Coco. So well behaved and cute. Thank you for being great hosts. Really loved this Mexican Loft unit – every small little detail and awesome detail. Very romantic, cosy, peacefull and the best place to have spent our 2 year anniversary. Hope and pray to be able to come back soon. God bless.

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Mike & Marlene (JHB)

What a wonderful relaxing weekend. You have a great place. Love the horses and dogs. Thankyou

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Leboni (JHB)

What warm people you are .. you made us feel at home, right from the moment we arrived here!
This was our home away from home, except a lot more peaceful, with the most amazing view and scenery! Not forgetting all the cute animals. Back to PTA and the journey back will be a bitter sweet one .. leaving you all behind!!! But we will definitely be back again sooner than you can blink.

May 2009

Excellent

Review by Subashin (Sandton)

We thought a retreat from the city life was needed for Naufal,Diezel,Chloe and Myself.... We didnt set ourselves with high expectations, but boy were we proven wrong. The place was absolutely stunning and the cottages were tastefully designed. Waking up in the morning to amazing sun rises and watching the sun go down were breath taking. Visits Fron Coco,Sasha,Playa and Chess were some of the highlights of the place aside from the amazing hospitality from Judy and Yossi. The walking trails and the scenary itself was stunning and we even ventured out to activites close by. It was actually sad having to leave all of that behind, but 730 pictures later, we will surely be returning to BLUE ROAN again. thanks guys for an awesome time, that we will never forget, and thanks for making this birthday one i will never forget :)

December 2008

Excellent

Review by Marie Mower (Solheim)

It was wonderful we enjoyed every moment of our stay. We loved the bath, to sit outside and hear the birds singing in the trees and all the visits from Coco, it is a little peace of heaven on earth. Thank you !

August 2008

Excellent

Review by Andrew And Debbie (Benoni)

Thank you for sharing your piece of heaven with us. We loved the jacuzzi, the dogs and the peace and quiet. We will be back!

March 2008

Very Good

Review by Mrs Friebe (JHB)

If you looking for a home away from home, this is the place to go. From the time you arrive to the time you leave you receive the warmest welcome, and that’s not just from the owners, but from the resident animals as well. I highly recommend Blue Roan Farm to anyone who is looking for quick break away from the hustle of Gauteng living.

January 2008

Excellent

Review by Mrs Ndzondo (JHB)

When we arrived at Blue Roan Farm we received a good welcome from the host. Our room was well prepared and warm. We had an excellent stay. I must say that the furniture and utensils were clean and all in order. To our surprise we got the soaps and the lotions ready even spices for our food. We honestly going to come back to the place and recommended it to our friends. Keep up the hospitality you serve with unconditional love. Thank you.

May 2007

Excellent

Review by Ms Ndlovu (JHB)

My Fiancé & I have been to a few places (bed & breakfast / guest farms) in Magaliesburg. & out of all of them, we felt more welcome at the Blue Roan Farm. Judy & Joe made our stay very enjoyable. My worry was not having enough privacy & once we got there I started asking... "Where is everybody?" The rooms are perfect, we had everything we needed. We didn’t have to worry about entertainment coz there was more than enough, still sad we didn't get to play other games. We found ourselves planning our wedding there...

April 2007

Excellent

Review by Ms Van Der Merwe (JHB)

This was the most peaceful and relaxing weekend I ever had. The rooms where very clean and done up tastefully, felt like home. The owners where very friendly and helpful. The pool area was so nice, clean and quite. You could see the horses a couple of feet away from you, with the dogs, ducks. Would recommend Blue Roan Farm to any person that want to relax and just calm down. I WISH I COULD STAY THERE FOREVER!

February 2007

Excellent

Review by Trevor (Johannesburg)

We came to your lovely farm for our Valentine’s Day treat, and what a treat it turned out to be. Everything we needed for an enjoyable and relaxing weekend. Undoubtedly the best equipped self-catering accommodation we have had the pleasure of staying in, and you guys rank amongst the best of hosts.

Many thanks, see you again.
Ters and Trev.

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 1190
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -26.00402777777778
Longitude: 27.468736110444443

Closest airport(s)
Lanseria Airport - 60km
OR Tambo International - 110km

Children policy
Babies and children 15 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
September 2008 - 39 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap