Reviews & Comments

Showing 45 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent place to relax. Although the weekend was cold outside it was still great. Cosy place with a warm feeling inside. Will go back anytime again.

October 2017

Hardus Sadler (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved your place and our stay in the Tuscan Suite. Will most definitely come again!!

June 2017

Michelle Koekemoer (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Judy was such a wonderful, relaxed & accommodating host. There is much attention to the detail in each cabin, making the ambiance very romantic & comfortable. Each cabin has a different theme, we stayed in the 'Greek Villa' & it definitely felt like Greece in Africa! The surroundings are very tranquil & wonderful for dogs. I would definitely go back. Great value for money.

November 2016

Paul Jooste (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is just a wonderful thanks to you. Our stay was amazing and wow o wow o wow. This was a total need. We and the dogs loved it. You are an amazing person and so happy we found you. Your Country Lodge is a spectacular setting. We have never experience something like this. We enjoyed every single minute of our stay.

November 2016

Nancy Meyer (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Please except my sincere appreciation for the excellent service we receive from you every time we visit your facility. It is such a pleasure to walk into your place and find everything to be in immaculate condition. Your attention to detail is noticeable, even drink water for my pet on the patio, maybe I should bring my Yorkie along next time!! Everything and anything you need is there, neat, tidy and in good working order. Blue Roan really feels like home away from home and be sure we will make use of your facility in future. Keep up the excellent work. You are setting standards to be proud of in the industry!!

October 2016

Wouter Nel (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a great weekend. It really was the break we were looking for. Your facilities were outstanding and the best equipped that we can remember staying in.

April 2016

Riaan Sonntag (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was a perfect get away. Thank you for everything and for contributing to an amazing weekend we had. It is a definite must for our next holiday.

June 2015

Gavin & Olivia (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

We truly enjoyed ourselves at the beautiful farm and the beautiful Honeymoon suite. Thank you so much for an amazing weekend,, we will definitely be back

May 2015

Colin & Mayuri (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our 3rd time here. Each unit we have stayed in is so beautiful. Thank you for the lovely and quiet ambiance at the Blue Roan. The neat, homely, attractive and well equipped units make each stay a memorable one. Were here in February this year for our 10 yr anniversary and now in April for my husband's 40th birthday. It is just what we needed to recharge our flat JHB batteries. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much for your hospitality. Thank you for our flowers and Easter wishes and chocs! Yummy!

April 2015

Jose & Marina (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely farm you have. A perfect getaway from busy city life. Thank you for making my 30th birthday so memorable. all the little touches (rose petals, champagne etc.) make a difference. Thank you for the great hospitality. Paul and I thank you for everything. God bless!!

April 2015

Melanie & Paul (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the lovely weekend! We really relaxed! Keep up the beautiful place, you will definitely have more relaxed couples!

February 2015

Jaco & Delmei (Centurion, PTA)

Verified reviewexcellent

What stood out for us: The attention that clearly went into the design and layout of the chalet – one sees it in small detail and how the space was used. It is clean and very neat, well equipped with everything one would need, and more. Very good quality products – linen, kitchen, bathroom, lounge. You did not go for the cheapest/most affordable, you went for quality. It shows. There is good taste reflected, whether inside or outside. The place is well kept and maintained. Our 3 dogs thoroughly enjoyed being here, just like we did. The tranquility of Acacia is brought into the layout and property. Thank you – we will be back and we will certainly recommend the Blue Roan.

February 2015

Avriane & Carol (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

A very welcoming and comfortable place with breathtaking views and blissful atmosphere. Enjoyed every moment, it was just what we needed. Wish we could have stayed longer! Will most definitely be back soon!! Thank you Judy and Yossi for your very kind hospitality.

January 2015

Mooeen & Sadia (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great to be back after 4 years! Hopefully a return visit before another 4 years! Thank you both for everything - we enjoyed our stay!

February 2014

Erica & John Whiting - U.K. (United Kingdom)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for everything! We had a lovely stay! Everything was perfect! You have a beautiful farm! It was the most relaxing getaway we have had in a long time!

February 2014

Li-Ann & Burger (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Judy & Yossi. Thank you for everything. We loved every moment. We had a wonderful honeymoon. We love your dogs and horses and most of all you!

February 2014

Chris & Melanie Waldeck (PTA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We could not have chosen a better place to have our first year anniversary! Everything was perfect! Thank you very much Judy and Yossi!! Look forward to coming back!

January 2014

Thomas & Yulia (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Yaaaay, we got engaged!! Blue Roan is an absolute gem! We fell in love with this place from the minute we got here. The views and experience of nature immediately put us in a calm relaxed mood. Acacia is a lovely cottage! We had such an awesome romantic weekend!! Thank you Judy and Yossi - we cannot wait to book our next getaway!

December 2013

De Wet and Sue (PTA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Judy & Yossi. Thank you for our lovely stay. Your hospitality towards us is really appreciated. We loved the view from our cottage and enjoyed the rest and peace of the place. Thanks for popping in and the pleasant chats. Jesse enjoyed Gucci's company!

December 2013

Esther & Andre & Jesse the dog (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dearest Judy and Yossi. Thanks for a wonderful & luxurious stay. Your gracious and warm hospitality was much appreciated. It was truly a memorable & serene escape from the city and was even better than we anticipated. We will definitely be back. Many thanks and best wishes.

December 2013

Tasha & Rufus (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Judy and Yossi. Thank you for a wonderful time. Everything was perfect and your hospitality heart-warming.

December 2013

Stemmis & Heleen Schulze (PTA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Peaceful bliss!! Tranquillity and harmony - just what we needed for our 1st anniversary. Thank you!!

November 2013

Shaun & Belinda (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow! We had an amazing time. Thank you. A home away from home.

November 2013

Stacey and Wayne (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for the warm hospitality and care! It was an amazing peaceful and joyful stay and Francois and myself will definitely treasure our memories here forever! We will visit soon!!!

October 2013

Lizelle Denkema (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a well equipped suite. It made our stay pleasant, comfortable and a memorable experience. The warm welcome and display arranged by you for my husband was excellent and appreciated. Our 23rd anniversary will be truly engraved for years to come.

October 2013

Myrtle and Allick (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our 2nd visit and we are already planning the 3rd. We loved it, our dogs loved it. Puppy thought the horses were big dogs and was very intrigued - so cute! The long walks cleared the mind and the cosy fires soothed the soul.

July 2013

John, Christelle & Rex & puppy (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks Judy We thoughly enjoyed our stay at your home and the dogs were in there element….they looked quite bored when they got home. We will most definitely be back…..you should get a frequent visitor card. See you soon.

May 2013

Suzette (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Judy. Just wanted to thank you again for an amazing weekend! We loved every minute! Told everyone I know about your stunning place! Hope to see you soon. Love Blanche and Ferdie

April 2013

Blanche (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just to say thank you so much for the wonderful time we spend at Blue Roan! Me and my mum loved every moment (she was just like a child, could not get enough). We will for sure be coming back for more heaven on earth, you have got a real piece of heaven and it so safe!

April 2013

Susan (PTA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a splendid weekend. I just love you place. It’s the finer detail that make the stay pleasant. Thanks again, we will be back when we are in the vicinity.

March 2013

Riette (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We wrote you a message in the guest book to say how MUCH we enjoyed our little "family" vacation and we left the key in the chalet by the guest book. Thanks again! We hope to visit again soon!

January 2013

Michelle (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

This breakaway was wonderful. You have a lovely place allowing guests to relax and reload. We enjoyed the beautifully decorated unit, the calmness, the hiking trails, the swimming pool and all the well –behaved lovely animals. We will see you soon and keep up the wonderful hospitality and homeliness. Thanks!

February 2012

Natani & Stefan (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow! Thank you for another brilliant weekend. We loved the unit and the horses visiting. We had a very relaxing and quiet weekend away. We will definitely be coming back for a 3rd year.

January 2012

Gavin & Helen (Benoni)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was such a relaxing weekend and we had a great time. Thank you for all of the effort (and little touches) in the room! This is the perfect getaway! Coco is a treat and it was great being so close to the horses! You will be seeing us again!

July 2011

Dean & Marile (PTA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow!! What an amazing guest farm and unit. We loved everything here. Absolutely love the scenery. Love the horses and all your dogs especially adorable Coco. So well behaved and cute. Thank you for being great hosts. Really loved this Mexican Loft unit – every small little detail and awesome detail. Very romantic, cosy, peacefull and the best place to have spent our 2 year anniversary. Hope and pray to be able to come back soon. God bless.

June 2011

Eugene & Carli (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful relaxing weekend. You have a great place. Love the horses and dogs. Thankyou

June 2011

Mike & Marlene (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

What warm people you are .. you made us feel at home, right from the moment we arrived here! This was our home away from home, except a lot more peaceful, with the most amazing view and scenery! Not forgetting all the cute animals. Back to PTA and the journey back will be a bitter sweet one .. leaving you all behind!!! But we will definitely be back again sooner than you can blink.

April 2011

Leboni (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

We thought a retreat from the city life was needed for Naufal,Diezel,Chloe and Myself.... We didnt set ourselves with high expectations, but boy were we proven wrong. The place was absolutely stunning and the cottages were tastefully designed. Waking up in the morning to amazing sun rises and watching the sun go down were breath taking. Visits Fron Coco,Sasha,Playa and Chess were some of the highlights of the place aside from the amazing hospitality from Judy and Yossi. The walking trails and the scenary itself was stunning and we even ventured out to activites close by. It was actually sad having to leave all of that behind, but 730 pictures later, we will surely be returning to BLUE ROAN again. thanks guys for an awesome time, that we will never forget, and thanks for making this birthday one i will never forget :)

May 2009

Subashin (Sandton)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was wonderful we enjoyed every moment of our stay. We loved the bath, to sit outside and hear the birds singing in the trees and all the visits from Coco, it is a little peace of heaven on earth. Thank you !

December 2008

Marie Mower (Solheim)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for sharing your piece of heaven with us. We loved the jacuzzi, the dogs and the peace and quiet. We will be back!

August 2008

Andrew and Debbie (Benoni)

Verified reviewvery good

If you looking for a home away from home, this is the place to go. From the time you arrive to the time you leave you receive the warmest welcome, and that’s not just from the owners, but from the resident animals as well. I highly recommend Blue Roan Farm to anyone who is looking for quick break away from the hustle of Gauteng living.

March 2008

Mrs Friebe (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

When we arrived at Blue Roan Farm we received a good welcome from the host. Our room was well prepared and warm. We had an excellent stay. I must say that the furniture and utensils were clean and all in order. To our surprise we got the soaps and the lotions ready even spices for our food. We honestly going to come back to the place and recommended it to our friends. Keep up the hospitality you serve with unconditional love. Thank you.

January 2008

Mrs Ndzondo (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

My Fiancé & I have been to a few places (bed & breakfast / guest farms) in Magaliesburg. & out of all of them, we felt more welcome at the Blue Roan Farm. Judy & Joe made our stay very enjoyable. My worry was not having enough privacy & once we got there I started asking... "Where is everybody?" The rooms are perfect, we had everything we needed. We didn’t have to worry about entertainment coz there was more than enough, still sad we didn't get to play other games. We found ourselves planning our wedding there...

May 2007

Ms Ndlovu (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was the most peaceful and relaxing weekend I ever had. The rooms where very clean and done up tastefully, felt like home. The owners where very friendly and helpful. The pool area was so nice, clean and quite. You could see the horses a couple of feet away from you, with the dogs, ducks. Would recommend Blue Roan Farm to any person that want to relax and just calm down. I WISH I COULD STAY THERE FOREVER!

April 2007

Ms van der Merwe (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

We came to your lovely farm for our Valentine’s Day treat, and what a treat it turned out to be. Everything we needed for an enjoyable and relaxing weekend. Undoubtedly the best equipped self-catering accommodation we have had the pleasure of staying in, and you guys rank amongst the best of hosts. Many thanks, see you again. Ters and Trev.

February 2007

Trevor (Johannesburg)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,250
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Blue Roan Country Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.