Reviews & Comments

Showing 15 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent accommodation. Arrived early in the morning (8am) on an overnight bus and went straight on a tour of Addo with Mosaic Tours, but left our bags with the owner (Roy) of Belvedere as the previous guests were still in the room. On our early evening return we checked in for our one night stay. Entrance was through your own remote control door garage, in which a secure door led to the lounge/kitchen room. This leads to the very nice bedroom with access to a nice bathroom via what appears to be one pair of the doors of a fitted wardrobe. There was also a private terrace, that unfortunately we didn't get to use as there was quite a storm on the night we were there. Overall this was more like a very spacious one bedroom apartment. Although there was no breakfast included, there was a small kitchen available with a microwave and toaster and there is a shop two minutes walk down the road. Wine could also be ordered to be waiting for you on your arrival. This accommodation was in nice residential type area, five minute walk to a few nice restaurants. We didn't get to see much of the owner as we were only in Port Elizabeth for one night, he was very friendly and even drove us to the nearby restaurants and gave us a run down each of them. free wifi, we struggled to get much joy with this, but I think this may have been due to the heavy storms on the evening we were there.

August 2013

Richard Murray (Stoke-on-Trent,UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent 2 nights at Belvedere Mews. Roy met us outside the cottage and settled us in - he could not have been more friendly and helpful. He was very knowledgeable about the area, he recommended a restaurant for dinner which was among the top food and wine we had on our 2 week South Africa trip, and he recommended a Game reserve where we had a fantastic day. He also spent time with us helping us to plan the rest of our trip after we left PE and gave us some brilliant tips! The cottage itself was well located for PE and was quiet and peaceful, clean and spacious. I would definitely recommend staying here.

March 2013

Sarah Archibald (London,UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a WINNER!! Belvedere Cottages is a lovely place, it surpassed expectations. We had a very relaxed stay and Roy so helpful in making extra arrangements for our trip. The decor is fab with lots of quirky touches and the location excellent, just a short walk from excellent restaurants. Breakfast at nearby Vovo Telo was perfect and all the staff really helpful. Well tended garden. Want to go back already!

February 2013

Kyle & Nicky (Kensington Gardens, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Traveling with kids and finding suitable accommodation is always a daunting task. We were fortunate enough to find Roy's Belvedere establishment and it was what dreams are made of. The place is as child proof as they come! With a cold front that hit over the weekend, we were kept warm with heaters in both rooms and electric blankets on every bed. It was impeccably clean, inviting, has ability to host small business meetings undisturbed with the entire family in the house, wonderful garden and entertainment area-the works! We'll definitely be back.

June 2011

Lerato (East London)

Verified reviewexcellent

My partner and I selected Belvedere Cottagel as the perfect place to make our entry into So. Africa for a holiday. It was the perfect setting for us to unwind after a long journey, take in all of the great sourroundings as we were rejuvinated, and then begin to explore the Eastern Cape and then Garden Route onto Cape Town and eventually the winelands and then safari.

April 2011

Gary & Amanda Searle (Kensington, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie lekker gebly, dankie!

March 2011

Karien Labuschagne (Onderstepoort Veterinere Instituut, Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent service, home feeling, should be 5 star!

March 2011

Vuyani & Kwanele Njongwe (Umlazi, Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you Roy for sharing with us your little piece of paradise. The Belvedere Cottages totally surpassed any and all expectations. From the beautifully decorated cottage to the amazing garden in the back (with Koi pond), it felt like we were in a different place and time! The cottage boasted all the most luxurious finishes and we felt spoilt our entire stay. The rates were extremely affordable for what we received and by the end of our stay we were very upset to have to leave. Thank you for making our stay so incredible and we hope we will have the pleasure of enjoying your accommodation and hospitality again soon.

September 2010

Benjamin Dadon (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We certainly hit the jackpot finding Belvedere Cottages. Many thanks

September 2010

Colleen & Clive Noble (Redford House, The Grags, Plettenberg Bay )

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful home. Thank you for your hospitality during the World Cup

June 2010

Nick Orenstein, Andy Goldstein, Andy Bette (Texas)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Roy, Allesandro and myself would like to thank you for your warm hospitality during out stay. We will definately see you on our next trip to SA. Warm Regards, Richard

May 2009

Richard Geogardi (Berlin)

Verified reviewexcellent

Roy & Staff, A big thank you for your consistant hospitality and proffessional service. Jean du Rand & Associates will continue to support your establishment as we find it very centrally situated for our business activities. Keep up the good work. Kind Regards, Jean

April 2009

Jean du Rand (Knysna)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Roy, Thank you for your hospitality. What a clean and fresh and secure cottage. Great service and assistance with booking of restaurants and our trip to the Addo Elephant Park. Our thanks to Evelyn for looking after us so well. See you again soon. Kind Regards, Rob and Lindi Van Tonder

April 2009

Lindi Van Tonder (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Roy, Belvedere Cottage is the best kept secret in Port Elizabeth. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. We highly recommend Belvedere Cottage. William & Antoinette

April 2008

William Millar (Capetown)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Roy, What a surprise to find such a beautifully decorated and tranquil cottage in a city. Well mainted and thoroughly clean cottage gave us a wonderfully relaxing stay. Thankyou for the very warm welcome and being on hand to advise us on what to see, restaurants etc. Warm Regards, Mary-Lew

April 2008

Mary-Lew Lexington (Washington)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 950
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Belvedere Cottage

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.