Seashelles is rated 5/5 by visitors (33 reviews)


Self Catering at Forest Drive, Umhlanga, Umhlanga Coast, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 33 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Seashelles in Umhlanga?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Durban.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 33 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2016


Review by Augé André Et Marie (AGDE France)

Nous souhaitons dire combien nous avons apprécié notre séjour à Seashelles, le lieu est magnifique, les installations très agréables, les hôtes très charmants et nous ne souhaitons qu'une choses, y retourner !!!
quel beau pays et quels charmes !

December 2015


Review by (Pretoria)

Perfect for 2 friends

This apartment has a queen bed and a very comfortable sleeper couch, even for a adult. Great ocean views and very quaint and cozy. Full dstv - what a bonus for rainy days, and a dvd player. It might get noisy in peak season as the pool and jacuzzi are right in front of the apartment. Luckily we went at a quiet time and it was perfect with everything so close by - pity the jacuzzi did not work. Priscilla was very friendly and helpful even though we arrived very late at night! Walking distance from beach, and shopping centre close by. No problems with wi-fi. As with the rest of the country we were also affected by the electricity problems and was without power for half a day.

August 2015


Review by Dot Mann From Edinburgh (United Kingdom)

Reviewed by: Dot M from Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Reviewed on: 05/08/2015 for their stay in 04/2015
Seashelles Self-Catering (Pool Level) Apartment

Just back from a wonderful 3 week stay at Seashelles. Priscilla and Phil were the most welcoming hosts who went above and beyond to make our holiday complete. We were looking for a comfortable and modern base whilst visiting our son who lives in Umhlanga and we found it with a lot more besides. To wake each morning with those stunning views of the Indian Ocean was awesome and the location was perfect for both coastal walks and the local village where you'll find a multitude of good restaurants. The added bonus was the huge patio and pool when relaxing...and my husband was a happy bunny with his full DSTV AND FREE WIFI. A special mention also to our maid who kept our apartment pristine. Thank you Priscilla and Phil for everything, it was a pleasure to meet you and we shall certainly be back next time we visit South Africa

April 2015


Review by Marc (Westville)

Beautiful Place with Amazing Hosts

I booked for 2 nights for our honeymoon and wanted the accommodation to be perfect...I had never been there before and wasn't sure what to expect but when we got there...WOW!! We wished we could have stayed there longer! The place was modern, clean, safe and quiet with awesome views and had all the facilities we needed. Looking out over the pool with the palm trees felt like we were in Mauritius. It was so relaxing and our hosts Filip and Pricilla couldn't have been nicer people and went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. They are warm and friendly people and we left feeling like we had made 2 new friends. I would definitely recommend Seashelles and would return in a heartbeat. Two thumbs up!!

February 2015


Review by John & Geraldine Aherne (Dublin, Ireland )


For the past 8 years, we have taken this apt for up to 6 weeks, late january to mid march, we love every aspect of both the area and the climate. tho many would prefer to visit in cooler months.
Our hosts manage to combine friendliness with professionalism.

October 2014


Review by Doro (London)

“Bliss by the seaside”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago for a stay in October 2014 NEW

If you are looking for more than just accommodation, Seashelles is the perfect place for you. My partner and I spent a week there in late October, and it was absolute bliss. We had hoped to get the bigger flat upstairs, which was unfortunately booked already, but rather than even looking somewhere else we settled for the smaller flat on the ground floor. It was just beautiful: fully furnished, equipped with all a self-catering traveller could possibly wish for, and tastefully decorated and set-up (well, when you meet hosts Priscilla and Philippe you know why the flat looks so lovely). The view from the patio over the Jacuzzi and pool into the sea is absolutely stunning, even on a grey day - but especially at night when illuminated in a stunning sea of lights. Besides TV and Wi-Fi internet, the presence of a charming maid was a winner - cleaning is not really cool during holidays.
Staying in one big anonymous skyscraper complex in Umhlanga was never an option for us - we wanted a home away from home and Priscilla, Philippe and little dog Sparky certainly made sure we got exactly that as Seashelles is very private, quiet and exquisite (oh, and by the way, only a short walk from the beach). A special thanks to Priscilla for going out of her way after I had forgotten something rather important upon departure – much appreciated, my Dear! We wish we could have stayed longer – and we will definitely be back!

August 2014


Review by Lori Chibnik (USA, Boston)


5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday for a stay in August 2014 NEW

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The view was spectacular and Filip and Priscilla were great hosts (and their little Yorkie, Sparky, has got to be one of the happiest dogs I ever met) .
The room was lovely, just as pictured, the bed was comfortable and everything was exceptionally well maintained and clean.
We chose the Seashelles because we wanted a place to get away and not be surrounded by a bunch of other travelers and we were not disappointed. It is in a great location, close to the beach, far from city noise but close enough to an area with great restaurants. We only wished we could have spent more time there.
Next time we travel to Umhlanga, Seashelles will be top of our list. Thank you Filip and Priscilla

July 2014


Review by Larize J (South Africa)


Filip and Priscilla - awesome friendly hosts!! Stylish spacious & comfortable room, convenient and beautiful location. Amazing view!
Highly recommended.

Filip en Pricilla

Baie baie dankie, ons het vreeslik lekker gebly!! Dankie vir julle gasvryheid en uitstekende diens.

Johan, Jorine en Larize

June 2014


Review by Thelma & Alan Bridges (United Kingdom)

Dear Pricilla,
Back in the UK after a wonderful holiday, lots of photos to remind us of your country and memories to share with friends. We completed our stay with a spell at Champagne Castle where we were able to attend a performance by the Drakensberg boys choir (an unexpected bonus) Alan joins me in sending our thanks for your contribution in making this such a memorable occasion with your willingness to help organise our tours. Many thanks also to Filip for the airport pickup. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Seashelles and thought Umhlanga was a good choice being ideally positioned for safety and tranquility. I have given feedback to the booking company so I hope you have a sucessful season once the winter months are over.

Best regards to you both
Thelma & Alan Bridges UK 7 June 2014

March 2014


Review by Geraldine Aherne (Dublin)

Magic - yet home from home

Have stayed here seven times in the last eight years. The apartment is elegant spacious and comfortable and the view is amazing. Priscilla and Filip are wonderful hosts, unobtrusively making sure everything is perfect and no request for assistance or something extra is ever too much bother. Sitting in the garden, day or night, listening to the ocean is wonderful. Friends who have come to visit me during my stay have been totally wowed!! Highly recommend.

March 2014


Review by Geraldine (Dublin)

A piece of heaven

For the past number of years, my husband and l have being spending the month of February in South africa in general, and most importantly, at Seashelles in particular. From the moment we met Filip and Priscilla Engelen, our charming and welcoming hosts. we knew we had struck gold.
Our upstairs, one bedroomed apartment, becomes an annual home from home.
We have the perfect balance of being there for each other but neither intruding on each others privacy.
All the little things that make for a perfect holiday are ever present, our hosts. their 3 charming children, Brandon, Ryan and Tayla and indeed not forgetting their courteous and gentle maid Nomussa, who comes to clean our apt 6 days a week, rendering my role obsolete, here in Umhlanga, anyway!!!
To any prospective clients wishing to stay at Seashelles, don't hesitate but l beg you not in February! !!!

March 2014


Review by Eithne (Dublin)

Magic - yet home from home

Have stayed here seven times in the last eight years. The apartment is elegant spacious and comfortable and the view is amazing. Priscilla and Filip are wonderful hosts, unobtrusively making sure everything is perfect and no request for assistance or something extra is ever too much bother. Sitting in the garden, day or night, listening to the ocean is wonderful. Friends who have come to visit me during my stay have been totally wowed!! Highly recommend.

January 2014


Review by Celia Duarte (Johannsburg)

Dear Priscilla,
I am back at work after a wonderful holiday at your place. I loved every minute of our stay there, it honestly felt like I was staying in some paradise island especially at night with the palm trees and the lights around the pool. The sea view is stunning and was just the cherry on top. Both yourself and your family were wonderful hosts and really provided us with total privacy but yet making yourselves available for whatever we needed. I told you before I left that it is by far the best place I have stayed so far and that it really felt like a home away from home.
Your cleaner ladies also deserve a hands up as the flat was always clean and fresh towels available and they were very professional and kind.
I really wish I was still there !!!!!
Thank you once again for a fabulous holiday!!!!

April 2013


Review by Glen (Amamzimtoti)

Firstly the very warm welcome we received from the owners. Then when we entered the apartment my girlfriend was presented with a lovely bouquet of flowers and chocolates for her birthday, really nice touch. The apartment was tastefully decorated with all the necessary equipment. The private veranda overlooking a beautiful pool with jacuzzi. The apartment has beautiful uninterupted seaviews. The area is very quiet & relaxing, just right for a romantic getaway. Would definitely go back.

March 2013

Very Good

Review by Thoko Mnyango (Johannesburg)

The last minute accommodation for me was such a beautiful gesture, I had a peaceful and wonderful stay. The hospitality surpasses most Guest houses in the region. Keep the friendliness. Brik Summit.

January 2013


Review by Reme Foster (Johannesburg)

Thank you for a wonderful Stay. Great Sea Views and excellent hosts. I hope to return some day & will tell my colleagues about "THE SEASHELLES" Thanks Priscilla.

December 2012


Review by Christhoper (Germany)

Hi Priscilla ans Philippe.thenk you for this very Beautiful accommodation. We enjoyed our holidays at Seashelles. Great view of the ocean Hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again. Sehr schöne Unterkunft. Wir haben unseren Urlaub im Seashelles. Tolle Aussicht auf den Ozean Wir hoffen, Sie wieder zu sehen in der Zukunft. Vielen Dank noch einmal.

December 2012


Review by Doug (Johannesburg)

Comfortable & a true home-away-from-home holiday. Such a spectacular view to wake-up to each day. We could not ask for better We enjoyed each and every moment & wish to be back here again, its definitely something to look forward to. Thanking you, Filip and your family for fond memories & Welcoming us so warmly

November 2012


Review by Christoper (Germany)

Very Beautiful accommodation. We enjoyed our holidays at Seashelles. Great view of the ocean Hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again. Sehr schöne Unterkunft. Wir haben unseren Urlaub im Seashelles. Tolle Aussicht auf den Ozean Wir hoffen, Sie wieder zu sehen in der Zukunft. Vielen Dank noch einmal.

May 2012


Review by Deena (Johannesburg)

Hi Priscilla

I hope that you are well. Just wanted to thank you for the wonderful stay and the warm hospitality that you and your husband showed us over our stay. We will surely utilise your facility for more of our visits to KZN and I will highly recommend same to all my colleagues and family members.

Warm regards

July 2011

Very Good

Review by Rita & Andries (Joannesburg)

Baie dankie vir die lekker tyd veral die seaview!!! wonderlyke tyd Kyk daarna uit om weer te kom

July 2011


Review by Richard Ismail (The Netherlands)

Hi Flip,
As promised, this is to express my gratification for a wonderful time we had at Seashelles.
Greetings from The Netherlands!
The holiday accommodation was very comfortable, practical and well-situated. The stunning crystal clear sea-views from the balcony are a real holiday bonanza ! My children loved the safe and friendly environment, a true home-away-from-home setting :-) The nearness of the fine sandy beach, restaurants and easily accessible Gateway shopping/dining/games mall makes the location of your place a complete holiday destination. We will be back.
Thanks and greetings from Richard, Tyra and Ryan, Netherlands

May 2011


Review by Geoge & Sharon Long (USA)

We love this place ! ! ! It has been done so well! we will definatly be back.

March 2011


Review by John & Geraldine Ahern (Ireland)

Every year it gets better and better Chez seashelles our 5th year now in a row ! ! ! Splendid. See you in 2012.

December 2010

Very Good

Review by Willem & Elmarie (Johannesburg)

Die Mooiste uitsig !! Die mooiste lieflyke Plek...... ! Lekker gerus Sal definitief weerkom, dankie vir alles

October 2010


Review by Stella Maidland (Johannesburg)

Thank you again for a truly wonderful stay at Seashelles. It was perfect, hard to imagine beating our experience at Seashelles. One of the best places we ever stayed in- beautifully set & perfectly maintained. High level of comfort. Highly recommended. I think your personal touch clinches the deal!
I have mentioned my suggestion to my sister in Scotland regarding staying at Seashelles next year and I am now waiting for her reply, but it is almost a given and as soon as I can, I will write to you with the dates. I estimate it will be early October and we will take both units. Can’t wait to get back ……..

Best regards to you and hope that all is well with you.

June 2010


Review by Shlomie (Israel)

Thank you for an amazing accommodation ! What a place ! We couldn't ask for more. The place itself is very beautiful, wonderful views, very relaxing, sweet family, cute little dog, very good tips. Thanks again ! Hope to see you in Israel one day.

March 2010


Review by Ron & Nadia (Australia)

What a wonderful place you have here. The universe blessed us with the opportunity to stay.

February 2010


Review by Ashraf & Zia (Johannesburg)

What a lovely amazing time we had. Lovely seaviews. First for us to swim in the Ocean.
We will definitly be back. Thank you again.

October 2009


Review by Harry And Theano (Johannesburg)

Thank you for a lovely stay. Peaceful, quiet and a lovely view of the sea, enjoyed every minute of it

March 2009


Review by Geraldine (Ireland)

Our third year here, and each time it gets better and better - without doubt our hosts, Filip & Priscilla, have the winning formula for making our time here so enjoyable here each year. Thank you for everything of a home away from home Hope to see you in 2010. John, Geraldine Aherne Dublin Ireland. March '09

January 2009


Review by Micheline Moerman (Belgium)

Hartelijk dank voor het warm onthaal. We zijn onder de indruk van het mooie appartement met prachtich uitzicht. Durban is een prachtige stad met vele verschillende mogelijkheden. We hebben ervan genoten en kijken uit naar ons volgend verblijf. De start van onze huwelijksreis kon niet beter zijn. Nogmaals bedankt voor Uw gastvrijheid.

October 2008


Review by Danellie And Emanuella (Italy)

We are very happy to say THANK YOU to Seashelles family to such a great and friendly accommodation that we had. Thanks again.We will never forget you. We hope to see you in Italy soon. Noi siamo molto felici E vi ringraziamo molto per la vostra amichevole ospitalita' che abbiamo avuto.Cratie ancora, noi non vi dimenticheremo mai. Arrivederci a presto in Italia.Ciao, Grazia

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.740749999666665
Longitude: 31.077944443777778

Closest airport(s)
Durban International - 30km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00 to 20h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
September 2009 - 33 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap