Seacliffe Lodge is rated 5/5 by visitors (7 reviews)

Seacliffe Lodge

Guest House / Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 2 Seacliffe Road, Hout Bay, Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 7 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Seacliffe Lodge in Hout Bay?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Atlantic Seaboard.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 7 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

August 2010


Review by Kevin John Dudley (England)

Just what we were looking for and needed

August 2010


Review by Marja (Holland)

Thank you for the hospitality, the stay was great. Hope to see you again soon.

June 2010


Review by Venise Wagner (California)

I had a wonderful time at the Seacliffe Lodge. The rooms are well kept. Bathrooms and room are very clean and well maintained. The staff is also very helpful and friendly. A great spot in Hout Bay. Though Hout Bay is outside of the Cape Town proper, it's a great spot to visit. I would definitely go back. As a female traveling alone, I felt very comfortable and safe.

April 2010

Very Good

Review by Tom (Boston)

Great location -quiet, yet within very short walking distance to beautiful beach, waterfront, marina, restaurants, local grocery store, and public transportation. Tom the proprietor is friendly and very helpful. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. I would stay there again. It was an enjoyable vacation.

January 2010

Very Good

Review by Tim (England)

My Fiancee and I had a fantastic time staying at the Seacliffe for 5 days in early January - Tom is a great host, very knowledgeable and helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions to Newlands, the city centre and all the way down to Cape Point. Musa cooked up some fantastic food for breakfast - quite possibly the best omelettes in Cape Town, they really were sensational.

The room itself was very clean, spacious and comfortable - always felt secure and safe not only at the Seacliffe but also the surrounding area. Hout Bay is a superb place to stay when visiting Cape Town - great base to explore from: 5 mins from Llandudno beach, 20 mins from Camps Bay, 25 mins from the Cable Car to Table Mountain, 35 mins to the V&A Waterfront (although when you are driving the fabulous coastal road it certainly doesn't feel that long!), 15 mins to the Constantia wine route and 15 mins to Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens.
The Seacliffe Lodge is a superb place to stay, and i would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town. We loved it so much, we booked again for a further night at the end of our holiday before flying back to London.

September 2009


Review by Beverly J Stevenson (Canada)

We just returned from the trip of a life time with fantastic memories of Hout Bay, Cape Point, Stellenbosch Wine Country and the V & A Waterfront. Tom picked us up and dropped us off at the airport which makes for a safe and reliable transfer. He also took us touring on two different days. Tom's private tours were catered to us alone. The first tour was of the wine country and his Brother in law, Jacques, and friends ensured we had a great time. The second tour to Cape Point was unforgettable. I only wish I had aimed the camera correctly at the baboon encounter! He took us to restaurants with the best food that we would never have found on our own. The hop on hop off bus is right across the street for a tour and economical transport to V & A and all the local attractions. Also across the street is a beautiful beach and Mariner's Wharf. We tried three restaurants and enjoyed them all. Tom drove us up to Chapman's Peak for pictures and then dropped us off at the Chapman's Peak Hotel for the ultimate seafood meal. When we were done, the hotel phoned Tom and he was there immediately to pick us up! We walked to the mall and to the Spar from the lodge so there is a lot to do without a car. But, if you would like a car, Tom can arrange that at a good deal. We stayed in the self catering accomodation which had daily maid service. The maids are the best as they even did our dishes! They don't have to do that anywhere and we made sure to tip for it. We did have coffee in the lodge in the beautiful kitchen. We just can't say enough about how well we were treated and what a good time we had. By the time we left, Tom felt like family!

April 2009

Very Good

Review by Jeff KlanCke (USA)

The room we stayed in was excellent. It had a super plush bed, and nice linens. The bathroom had nice amenities, including towel warmers….nice touch. They had some excellent (not sure what kind) sipping liquor that was truly a treat in every room.

There is not much to the grounds. Parking, the two buildings, and a small (but nice) pool area. Everything was very well kept.

The English style breakfast was fantastic. The hot items are made to order and there is also a buffet for breads, cereals, and other breakfast items. The owners have a great bird that will join you for breakfast if you wish. S/he is very friendly and will eat along side you. It is very much a family business and the attention to detail shows.

Just across the street are some neat, and unique, restaurants. There is also a nice beach, fishing tours, Seal Island trips, glass bottom boat tours, and shops.

Just up the street is some world class dining opportunities in Cape Town and Camps Bay.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.047549277444446
Longitude: 18.346421999666667

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 25km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 12h00
Check-out by 10h30

If your check in time is after 22h00 then you will have to phone Seacliffe Lodge to inform them.

Listed on
September 2009 - 7 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap