Quayside 906 is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (42 reviews)

Quayside 906

Self Catering at 40 Signal Road, Point Waterfront, Durban, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 42 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Quayside 906 in Point Waterfront?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Durban.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 42 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2016

Excellent

Review by Sibongile Mofokeng (Pretoria)

The place was great and my kids also loved it. The ocean view is amazing and the place is close to most of the kids activities.

August 2016

Very Good

Review by Noni (Johannesburg )

The place was great.
The only issue was the couches, the one was not clean and the other was peeling.

I would recommend that people go there as the ocean views are beautiful and the area is quiet and close to activities.

The accommodation is safe and secure.

We would definitely come back with the kids. Thank you

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Asma Ismail (Laudium)

Reservations was done professionally, information given on website is exactly what was given.
Welcome by security and Anne was very warm and they were very helpful.
Exterior of building very neat well maintained and security is excellent.
Interior of the apartment was stunning and comfortable, furniture was beautiful and of good quality.

We had a very comfortable stay as my kids had their own room and bathroom, view was amazing I could sit for hours on end and just admire the view. It was very quiet and peaceful at quayside which we enjoyed.
I would recommend it to people anytime.

Sorry I forgot to mention that the linen was of superb quality,so were the dishes and all utensils in the apartment.Beach towels were so good to have and it made my luggage lighter.Defnitely it was value for money.
My daughters were so happy you provided a hairdryer as other self catering appartments do not.
A house keeper was sent to clean after the 3rd day which was good because the apartment required it .
You have put in your best.
Keep up the good service.

November 2012

Excellent

Review by Fetsi Mbele (Sandton)

1. Reservations/Website
The reservations and website were seamless and everything dealt with professionally
2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby
Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.....
3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils
The place was great and the decor very homely. More than what was expected
4. Comfort/Value for money; Beyond value for money, comfort was beyond expected
5. Suggestions; The 2nd bedroom should be a double bed

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Jacques Pitout (Benoni)

1. Reservations/Website
Very good service and response time on queries, you won’t believe this but I am still waiting for a response on another unit.
2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby
Beautiful building with quiet surroundings, very safe basement parking with security patrolling. Your Lobby staff was very helpful and friendly.
3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils
Beautiful unit made us feel right at home, everything we needed was at hand, truly enjoyed our stay.
4. Comfort/Value for money
Not badly priced, will definitely use your unit again and recommend it to friends and family.

September 2012

Very Good

Review by Leon Potgieter (Cape Town)

Apartment is furnished adequately and to a high standard. All modern appliances are available, but we could not use the washing machine and the door handle was broken. Central air conditioner was a little noisy at times, but functions well and we found the pillows on the beds to be a little soft, but manageable.

Above average value for money – central location, good security, quality finishes and spectacular views. We really enjoyed the stay and will make use of the accommodation again, if the opportunity presents itself.

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Tracy King (JHB)

Pretty easy to navigate and easy to reserve. Your email in reduction of rate was also a nice touch.
Finding it was a little complicating but we manage. Security on duty was very helpful and even arranged a parking disk for us.
We found the unit very clean and beautiful. It was comfortable and the bathrooms very nice, modern and clean.
We found the unit very comfortable and secure and we felt safe. The view was spectacular. Even the kids enjoyed the rooms and beds.
Only suggestion I can think of is to make a mop or broom available in the unit. With the beach sand and no broom or mop to mop up spills. Other than that, we had a very good stay and would do so again soon. The 3 appliances would also wonderful!

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Junaid Ebrahim (Richards Bay)

We really enjoyed our stay at Quayside. We obviously considered staying with you again because of our past experience. The reservation, checking in with security and Anne all went very smoothly. The building & apartment met with our expectations. The apartment was well stocked with everything to make our stay comfortable. Really appreciated the response to the problem we had with the DSTV. (some guys promise a 24hr help service but get irritated or are unavailable when contacted) - didn't mean to be a pain though,but the kids were nagging to watch.
It definitely was value for money. Also, the late checkout makes life much easier and less stressful when leaving.

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Nombasa Msebi (Mthatha)

The beauty and the views are breath taking. The location is appropriate as it is outside the CBD and is a stone throw to the UShaka Marine where the kids entertainment is there. We proudly invite guests to entertain and see how lovely the place is. I am sure my friends will definitely stay there for the coming summer holidays. Count on me coming back again

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Kgomotso Motau (Johannesburg)

Enjoyed our stay

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Nombasa Msebi (Gauteng)

Beautiful place
Amazing views
Fantastic

November 2011

Very Good

Review by Bonolo Madiba (Pretoria)

1. Reservations/Website:
• Making the reservations was fairly easy, took less than a day to get everything sorted

2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby:
Exterior is exquisite, the view and scenery is to die for.

3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils
The finishes are beautiful. Very intimate and very homely. It gives a home away from home feeling.
Everything is there from cutlery to crockery, washing machine and dryer and to top it all dishwasher….very impressive
I like the fact that all DSTV channels were available.

4. Comfort/Value for money
Definitely value for money. Everything that was promised on the advertisement exceeded my expectations.

5. Suggestions
Would have liked it if the other room also had a double bed, the next I would like to come with another couple, but the challenge will be who will be taking the single beds. Lol
Someone should be there to welcome the guests upon arrival to give the guests orientation.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Nadia Gaffoor (Johannesburg)

Reservations/Website: Was very helpful and easy, worked well for me in such a short notice period
Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby: Convenient no problems
Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils: Well equipped, lots of towels, beddings, very neat and spacious
Comfort/Value for money : The pictures are the same as what you get, comfort, elegance and spectacular view, its worth my value for money and would recommend everyone to book this flat, very satisfied.

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Titus Mawasha (Johannesburg)

Reservations/Website: User friendly
Arrival: Welcoming
Interior: The place was neat and presentable all was in order, looking forward to visit again.
Comfort: Value for money absolutely worth it. Comfortable 100% beach view, and Quiet place

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Carolyn Kamau (Johannesburg)

We had so much fun and you have a lovely apartment. Next time we are in Durban, we will definitely come back to your unit.

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Dr A Bulbulia (Johannesburg)

On behalf of my wife and myself we would like to extend our appreciation for the rental of your apartment.
Everything was great. I will definately recommend quayside to my colleagues and friends.

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Genevieve Strydom (Sunninghill)

Reservations easy to make.
Very clean, wonderful decor
Good value for money and very comfortable

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Shavir Singh (Pinetown)

My stay was fabulous. Will definitely be back.

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Aziz Moolla (Newcastle)

We had an enjoyable stay, everything was to our satisfaction. We will definitely book this apartment again.
Thank you.

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Keith Poultney (Johannesburg)

Fantastic apartment.

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Mokgadi (Johannesburg)

Thank you for a lovely stay at Quayside 906. My family and I really enjoyed it. We will definitely be staying with you next time we are in Durban.

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Egnah (Harare)

This was a home away from home. The views from the balcony are beautiful, the apartment is very comfortable and well furnished. We extended our stay by an extra day. I would definately choose Quayside 906 when i next visit Durban

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Lunga Mbuyisa (Swaziland)

Reservations on the website were quick, effective and very efficient. I choose to stick to this kind of communication device. Your mobile means of communication were excellent as well.
Arrival/Security/Exterior/Lobby – If I followed the directions as stated on the email you sent, we were not going to waste time searching for the place. We only got lost when we arrived at signal road (last but one before the turn about at the bottom corner of Gandhi road. Security personnel were welcoming and willing to help. Seeing that the letting is still new, I believe that the reception and security CCTV cameras’ location will greatly improve. The entrance to the parking bay should have some form of controls, like a boom gate.
The interior standard can not be compared with other same star rating lettings in the region. Your interior qualifies in the 5 star ratings. This was wonderful. The interior of the kitchen and the entire dining and lounge was very good. The quality of the leather, furniture, linen, bedding etc was a marvel. Keep up the great work you are doing. Your kitchen utensils, towels were clean, enough for all of us. Most hotels and lettings provide the old TV type of monitors, or at least the 32”, but you chose to provide a 42” LCD HD screen. Thank you, my daughters enjoyed all their lovely channels as if they were home.
Comfort/Value for money – I have not paid that amount of money in a hotel or self catering per night like I did with you. My wife is very particular about quality and standard, but I did not regret why I chose Quayside 906 for our weekend stay in Durban. I think it was worth the comfort and value for the money.

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Atibo Onen (Johannesburg)

1. Reservations/Website
It was easy to get inforamtion with the quick response time with regard to any questions. Documentation was sent immediately and feedback was always timely.

2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby
Please include your GPS coordinates with all correspondance. It makes it easy to find. The address was also not very clear, "40 Signal Road" need to be prominent.
I understand there are still many changes to the surrounding area, particularly the basement parking but for lower profile vehicles entering and exiting the basement is difficult. I would pay a premium to park on the locked-up ground floor parking.
The security are friendly and helpful and entering wasnt a problem on arrival.

3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils
Although a self catering unit, i found there was more than enough provision for bedding, utilities and crockery. It does meet with the 4-star quality standards expected.

4. Comfort/Value for money
Theres are the two things that made our stay pleasurable. We got more from the experience and your rates were not an issue.

I just want to extend a word of thanks for your part in a wonderful long week in Durban. The apartment and it's views made it that much more special. We hope to get all our friends and family to consider you on their trips but know that we will definately be coming back .

Regards
Atibo Onen

June 2010

Very Good

Review by Safiya Mangera (Lenasia)

Dear Jose

Thanks. We had a fabulous stay in the apartment and will definitely consider returning.

1. Reservations/Website
Excellent and we really appreciated being able to check in earlier.
2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby
Excelllent. The apartment was spotless and it was a pleasure to arrive.
3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils
The decor was lovely and the flat was really well stocked. The only aspect that we were not totally satisfied with were the beds in the 2nd room (single beds). The matresses were not comfortable at all and we felt that the bedding was inadequte - duvets would have been appreciated. Also, since we were 2 adults utilising the room, extra length beds - even if single - would have been better suited. Once again, this was the only aspect that we found wanting but it didn't deter too much from a lovely stay.
4. Comfort/Value for money
The comfort level was outstanding.
5. Suggestions
See 3.

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Tony Green (Sydney, Australia)

Thanks Jose for a thoroughly enjoyable visit to Durban and stay in the wonderful Quayside 906.

We particularly enjoyed the access to wireless internet that allowed us to keep touch with friends and family back home. Security was no problem and the facilities provided were of the highest standard.

Could I suggest the inclusion of a maintenance register of some type in order to report any items that need rectification prior to the next guests check-in. This occurred with one of the hinges in a kitchen cupboard coming loose and a picture in the main bedroom coming off it's adhesive backing. Maybe the cleaner could report these to yourself as the owner to negate the occupants having to contact the owner direct.

All in all a very enjoyable stay at the Quayside 906. I intend recommending the apartment to friends and family intending to visit Durban.

Regards,
Tony

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Haroon Hassan (Johannesburg)

Firstly, we have no regrets in choosing the apartment as our choice for accomodation. From the first step, the website provides sufficient information and the reservation process was professional. When we arrived, the exterior of the building was to our expectations, the security guards were friendly, polite and helpful (even though when we checked in it was almost 1:00am). We definitely agreed to the 4 star rating that the apartment carries when we stepped in, its well furnished, good quality appliances, adequate cutlery and crockery, comfortable, spacious and has a stunning view. Access to the parking basement is convenient. I will give our stay a 10 out of 10 for value for money. The kids really enjoyed their stay. As a suggestion,I recommend that you add an extra blanket (double size), i know Durban is generally hot but just in case if there is a cold spell. The kitchen was short of a broom and a mop. Other than that everything is fine, in and out, the apartment is well positioned, the walk along the canal to the beach is lovely and i have been boasting to friends about the apartment. In fact, a friend has asked me for your contact details. Will pass your details to family and friends, Quayside 906 will be our first choice of accomodation the next time we visit Durban. On behalf of my family and i, we thank for providing us with the apartment.

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Muhammed Ismail (Pinetown)

Website booking was quick adn efficient.
Security was friendly, very neat place.
Well managed apartment, everything was perfect.
Cosy and good value for money.Will definitely come back and recommedn to others.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Zama Mkhize (Johannesburg)

Accommodation was easily found on website.
We were given a very warm welcome bu the security guard at the building and he was very friendly and helpful throughout the stay.
The apartment was beautiful and extremely clean, we had everything we needed.
The apartment was very comfortable, absolute value for money.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Yasmin Khan (Lenasia)

Thanks we had a great stay. Place is fantastic! Excellent views.

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Lelanie Basson (Lydenburg)

Thank you so much for staying at your place. We will highly recommend your place to friends and family.

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Rookaya Mall (Port Shepstone)

Thank you for letting us enjoy such a wonderful place.....

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Coleen Packery (Johannesburg)

1.Website/Reservations
Very welcoming. I like that the website is so detailed and that everything that is mentioned on the website can be found in and around the quarters.

2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby
Well maintained, however more attention needs to be given by the cleaning service – even though she was punctual and cleaned – she was not thorough and over time this could lead to the quality deteriorating.
But she was friendly and assisted when asked.

3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils
Well maintained

4. Comfort/Value for money
Exceptional value for money – we wanted a place close to central DBN but away from the hustle - and this was worth it. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting to stay in DBN

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Claudine (ZImbabwe)

Hi Jose

I thank you for all your assistance. The Guests were very happy about the accommodation. I hope to do business with you again in the future.

Regards
Claudine

November 2009

Excellent

Review by Lana Roets (Cape Town)

Just a quick note before we depart tomorrow to say thank you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will more than likely be back in the near future. All in order in the apartment.

Just thought I should also let you know:
Also to let you know for future tenants, Ushaka Zulu Safari’s Gondola’s prepared to collect people from apartment for gondola ride to Ushaka which was nice.

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Akua Koranteng (Johannesburg)

The reservations website is easily accesible and user friendly.The Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby is perfect. The Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils was comfortably excellent.

Regarding Comfort/Value for money it is GOOD.

Only suggestions is maybe a BBQ stand, option to have daily house service.

July 2009

Very Good

Review by Grant Leonard (Secunda)

The reservation process could be simplified using online booking and credit card payment; still it was relatively easy to book.
Did not realise there will be construction next door and the surrounding area, but it did not affect our stay at all.
We really enjoyed the apartment. The quality of the furnishings is excellent and we had a really great view of the Durban beachfront.
The water pressure in the two toilets needs attention.
Graphical instructions for the alarm system and balcony doors in the apartment. (Maybe there was, but we could not find it)
The angle of the ramp at the entrance to basement parking scraped bottom of the car on entering. Maybe suggest to your body corp to have a look at it.

July 2009

Excellent

Review by Peace (Johannesburg)

I really enjoyed staying in your unit, keep it in that good standard, most appreciated, thanks.

May 2009

Excellent

Review by Fiema Khan (Johannesburg)

I would like to thank you for the wonder stay at Quayside,

The apartment really made us feel at home and the deco was comforting.

I would definetly recommend this apartment to my business associates, and will be contacting you again for reservation for when we visit Durban in the near future.

April 2009

Very Good

Review by Colin Whitehead (Cape Town)

Hi Jose

We had a great stay and enjoyed the convenient location of the apartment to the beach sailing club. The regatta we sailed was very successful with my son coming in fifth overall and myself getting silver medal.

The stay was great, you might want to attend to

The air-conditioning was working after the repair guys were there but did not get very cool, we still had to sleep with the doors open for cool air.

Thank you for the reduction in rate, much appreciated.

With regard to the card and tumbler, as far as I am aware the cards were handed to security on our departure, on arrival there were no access cards in the unit for our use so we got cards from the supervisor on duty. The Tumbler could have been broken but not sure, if there is a cost for that let me know.

Once again thank you for a pleasant stay.

Kind Regards

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Andrea (Bloemfontein)

Fantastic apartment, clean, neat and very homely.
Great location, we could see the kids on the beach and very nice not having to drive. Walked to Ushaka adn beach every day, only 5 mins. The sea here iis fantastic for young children.
Nice having the DSTV and the unlimited internet included in the price.
Good quality utensils.

March 2009

Very Good

Review by Annatjie Viljoen (Bloemfontein)

Thank you for such a nice apartment. We had a fantastic week, weather is great this time of the year, and we sat until late every evening on the balcony watching the awesome view of the city.

Very well priced compared to where we stayed previously, didn't even have DSTV. Everything very new in the flat.

Annatjie and Hannes

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.870472221555556
Longitude: 31.05022222222222

Closest airport(s)
King Shaka International - 35km
Virginia Airport - 8km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 15h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
June 2009 - 42 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap