Nyaru Game Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (7 reviews)

Nyaru Game Lodge

3 Star Game Lodge at Brandwag, Mossel Bay, Garden Route, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 7 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Nyaru Game Lodge in Mossel Bay?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Garden Route.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 7 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

April 2013


Review by Deni (Cape Town)

We stayed for just 2 nights at this lovely place. The Chalets are cute,comfy and clean. The dining area and the main building warm and relaxing.
The staff very friendly and helpful, could not do enough for you.
We took an afternoon game drive and were rewarded with sights of plenty of animals.
The best by far though, was seeing 'Fabian' the rhino. (please keep him safe), we want to come back to see him again.
Would recomend this place to anyone.
Thank you Ruan and staff.

March 2013


Review by Freddie (Cape Town)

We were looking for a game lodge relatively close to Cape Town, which is small enough to be intimate and quiet. That is what we got at Nyaru, plus some. We were really happy with the condition of the accommodation and cannot fault Elmarie and Ruan on their hospitality. The lodge is beautifully situation and kept and really comfortable. We opted to braain on our "stoep" three out of the four nights and loved the stillness of nature. There is nothing like a fire, stars, night sounds and braaivleis to make one just relax completely. Everything we wanted and needed was supplied and we are extremely grateful to have had the experience. We shall go again and recommend Nyaru to our friends and family. The quad bikes is a must.

March 2013


Review by Chris B (Norway)

Nyaru was a fantastic experience, a clean & well run family lodge, offering good accommodation in the spacious chalets with a warm heart beat at its centre, where breakfast and dinners were served, a bar and much much more. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, gently relaxing everyone over a cold beer or three.
We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed it so much that we changed our plans to have a final night at the lodge (and to return the keys I had walked off with:-). )
We enjoyed the mini safari, the quad bike tour, the helicopter flight all very well planned and executed added to which was a commentary that was educational and humours.
Thank you very much it has become my partners spiritual home in South Africa, we will go back.

March 2013


Review by Brian (Denmark)

Stayed in Nyaru Game Lodge for 2 nights in feb 2013, and had a great time there. We arrived in the afternoon and were given the self catering house since the chalets were all booked. A nice and spotless chalet with lots of room and a small kitchen. We went on a Quad bike game drive with Ruan who did his best to find all the animals and especially the rhino, which ended up chasing us all the way back to the lodge. That was exciting and amazing, and we really needed a cold beer to calm down afterwards. We also did the 1 hour helicopter flight around the costline at Mossel bay, and can highly recommed it. The main building is really nice and the breakfast and dinner delicious and served on a lovely deck overlooking the bush. All in all a comfortable and exciting stay which we highly recommend.

February 2013


Review by Aggie (Winchester, United Kingdom)

We arrived at Nyaru for an overnight stay after a long journey and immediately wished we could have stayed longer. It is just such a beautiful,relaxing and authentic place to stay. We had already been on a Game Drive, so opted for the Sundowner Picnic. This did not disappoint us! The picnic spot, high above Nyaru Lodge had amazing views, and the picnic itself was beautifully laid out with an excellent array of food & ice cold drinks.

Owners Ruan & Elmarie were very friendly, helpful and trusting. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

I would highly recommend Nyaru for a peaceful, secure stopover, just off the Garden Route, however one night is not enough!!

February 2013


Review by Gill Janzen (United Kingdom)

Well exceeded our expectations. Lovely African style accommodation. Delightful lounge/dining/bar areas, and the best bit - the outdoor dining area with flickering boma. Food really good - 3 course menu with reasonable choice. (Needs to be booked in advance) Ruan is an excellent host. So nice, I wanted to take him back as a souvenir along with Madam Gigi the hilarious pug puppy with very fashionable dresses!

February 2013


Review by Susan Brown (United Kingdom)

Wish we could have stayed longer than the 2 nights. Lovely African style chalet but with advatage of fridge, kettle etc.and plenty of crockery etc. if you wish to self cater, but we opted for the 3 course dinner at 165 Rand. You have to order before 5 p.m. to get a choice. We arrived later on the first night so did not get a choice but it was an excellent meal. The second night we ordered in advance and had an excellent Bobotie. Very nice wine at 20 Rands a glass. Coffee just 12 Rands. Perfect watching the game from the lovely deck with the flickering Boma. Ruan was such a lovely host, and we loved playing with Zizi the little pug always dressed in a different outfit, much to our amusement. Breakfast was substantial and very well cooked and presented. We will be back. SOON.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.053405
Longitude: 22.028156

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 392km
George Airport - 47km
Port Elizabeth Airport - 384km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
May 2013 - 7 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap