Mai's Guest Lodge B&B is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (7 reviews)

Mai's Guest Lodge B&B

Bed & Breakfast at 81 Church Street, Prince Albert, 6930, Klein Karoo, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 7 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 7 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

March 2017

Very Good

Review by Norman And Cheryl (Adelaide)

Arriving in Prince Albert with no booking we were directed to Mai's B&B, what a delightful Irish lady. Mai goes the extra mile to make sure you are welcome. Booking a table at a Restaurant for us, offering us a choice of two different bedrooms We loved her quirky style, the bedroom was very spacious and most important of all, very clean, comfortable bed, aircon and misquito netting at the windows. Breakfast was wonderful, we sat with other guests and chatted. Breakfast was served on beautiful crockery and a beautifully set table. Thank you Mai!

January 2017

Excellent

Review by Philip Schoultz (Cape Town)

Spent 3 nights at Mai's. Novell idea to seat guests together at a long table for breakfast thereby allowing great conversations with persons who would otherwise have remained strangers. The rooms are large and well equipped but should you need to be out and about there is the quaint guest lounge or the front veranda where you can relax and watch the Main road activities from or alternatively you can relax by the pool. So what's special from other B&B's? It is Mai, the proprietor and Prince Albert's larger than life Irish lass, who makes the experience authentic.

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Ian Rademeyer (Centurion)

Mai is a great host and offers a really tremedous service. Great spacious rooms with lots of attention to detail. Fantastic breakfast! Pity it takes an Irish lady to live out the SA hospitality we claim to have.

November 2009

Very Good

Review by Sonja And Steen Stensgaard (Silkeborg, Denmark)

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely, cosy, charming and very friendly place. Mai is such a sweet person and indeed very helpful. She gave us the full choice of her rooms, and we chose a lovely, countrystylied room. We have looked at the pictures and think that they do not give you the right impression of the place. The rooms are much lovelier and cosy in the real world than on the pictures.

We enjoyed our wonderful breakfast under the vines. Mai presented her very best china and the cleanest, prettiest napkins. The last day she had even decorated the table with rose leaves spread all over the table, so that we (an elderly couple) felt like being on a romantic honeymoon. Mai recommended 2 very different restaurants, which was just perfect. The town is completely safe, so we could walk home in the dark.

We would certainly stay there again if coming back to South Africa.

Sonja and Steen Stensgaard

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Neville And Liz Louw (Knysna )

Delightful charming accommodation with a warm welcome is to be found at this B and B. Cheerful, eclectic and very enchanting decor . We so enjoyed our time here. Loved the cats and breakfast under the vines. Would stay here again and can advise anyone who enjoys life to stay here. So clean and charming. Mai's is superb ! Thank you and we will be back. Love, Neville and LIz

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Sarah (Paderborn Germany)

We had wanted to stay overnight at P Albert so we could enjoy the amazing Swartberg pass having also visited Oudtshoorn and all the Ostrich farm paraphernalia that goes with the town. The Pass is to be enjoyed at a leisurely pace given the stunning views and road surface!

Mai's B & B is easily found and we were met with a lovely cheery reception by Mai herself and numerous of her Cats. Off road parking is available too but this is a sleepy town and felt very safe. Mai gave us the full choice of all her rooms as we had arrived just before her other bookings for the night. This mini tour revealed a much larger house than it first looked. All rooms are very large with high ceilings and charming country house style. One room to the rear gives access to a garden area and there is a Pool for Guests use too! Electric Blankets; T & C making facilities; thick towels; all the things to aid a restful stay. Mai offered to book Dinner for us at anyone of her recommended places in town and we took up this offer with which we were very pleased.

Breakfast was made freshly in front of us and we ate with the other guests at the Kitchen table which was lovely as we chatted to everyone and were soon comparing routes and being given excellent tips on more places to take in along our route to Cape Town. We don't think Mai would take Credit Cards but you should check with her.

We relaxed fully at this lovely B & B and wished we had booked at least another night to enjoy her excellent Celtic charm a little longer.

March 2007

Excellent

Review by Henrike (Wuerzburg, Germany)

AN OASIS IN THE DESERT: Mai herself was just amazing! she gave us the chance to have a sundowner picknick in the Karoo with her and other guest which made the evening with her and the night in her house an unforgetable piece of our beautiful trip through beloved south africa. The room were simple but very charming and clean. Mai gave her guests a feeling of coming home. It was nice to meet such interesting people there. Breakfest was good and fresh and the cats weren't disturbing at all (even if you don't like cats you'll get the feeling that they just belong to this whole picture).

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.222449999333335
Longitude: 22.02927499933333

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 400km
George Airport - 200km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00 to 19h00
Check-out by 10h30

Later check in times by prior arrangement only.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
April 2008 - 7 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap