Liziwe's Guest House is rated 5/5 by visitors (46 reviews)

Liziwe's Guest House

Bed & Breakfast / Conference Venue at NY111, No 121, Gugulethu, 7750, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 46 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Liziwe's Guest House in Gugulethu?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Flats.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 46 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

December 2015


Review by Siyasanga Baduza (Pretoria)

I was visiting cape town with 4 of my friends for a boys weekend. when we booked my friend who was tasked with accommodation duty suggested Liziwes bnb ..I was very sceptical...but I must say I was wowed. from the warmth you get from them clean rooms and just a homely place to be was an awesome weekend. Thank you. Siyasanga Baduza -Pretoria

September 2014


Review by Shaliya (Polokwane)

I'm looking for a room to rent for One night service at your apartment"
my partner and I hope for positive respond from you.

September 2014


Review by Shaliya (Polokwane)

I'm looking for a room to rent for One night service at your apartment"
my partner and I hope for positive respond from you.

August 2014


Review by Margherita Orlandini (London)

We could not have received a warmer reception. I stayed at Liziwe's guest house with my husband for two nights and we were both so sad to leave, even though our next trip was to our dream safari in the Kruger park.

Despite initial and last minute worries for our safety in the unknown of a South African township, we realised pretty quickly that there was nothing to fear and that we we were in for an enriching and unforgettable experience. Your stay will be booked and managed through Andrew, who is also going to be your tour guide. Andrew is very efficient and sensitive, and will tailor the experience to your needs and interests. Liziwe will cook you a hearty meal and will host you in her home as a friend rather than a guest. The atmosphere is very relaxed and in the evening you will feel equally free to go to your room and enjoy the view of Table Mountain and of Gugulethu, or to socialise with Liziwe, her husband Donald and the rest of the family like we did. They have a very interesting stories to tell indeed. Liziwe and Donald started off living in a shack, and have slowly built what is now a large and comfortable guest house.

Definitely a must see and a must visit if you're in Cape Town. Worth organising the stay in connection to your inbound or outbound trip to the airport as it is only about 10 minutes away from the guesthouse. Andrew will be able to organise pick up and transport, but we safely parked our rented car within the gated property.

If you have an questions, please feel free to contact me on and I'll be very happy to answer any of your questions or provide more details


Un'esperienza assolutamente indimenticabile. Molto di piu' che semplicemente una guest house, ma un trampolino per esplorare la realta' delle townships in Sud Africa. Lasciate a casa ogni pre concetto sull'indigenza, la violenza ed il pericolo delle townships (ce l'avevamo anche noi prima di questa visita!) e lasciatevi guidare da Andrew nell'esplorazione di una comunita' piena di risorse, sorrisi e tanta speranza. Liziwe e la sua famiglia si prenderanno cura di voi e Andrew adattera' la visita alle vostre esigenze. Contattatemi pure se avete altre domande:

June 2013


Review by Marieke Veen (Netherlands)

It was very impressive. The building was beautifull and so are all the people, not only the ones that work there, but also the people in the township. It was an expierence to never forget! A must is to go to the Gospel church next door and ofcourse to take the walk with Andrew and Donald. This really is Africa. I really want to go again when my friends from Holland are here.
Thank you for this oppurtunity!

December 2012

Very Good

Review by Bongi And Linda (Johannesburg)

Myself n my fiance decided to take a road trip so we started in P.E stayed for couple of days, left for Knysna and stayed for another 4 days. We then went to cape town and we coudnt find booking anywere as it was a busy time. our frend whos stays not far from Liziwes refered us to the place, he took us there and we feld so welcomed. Initially we booked for 2 nites but we ended up adding 4 more days. the experience was so amazing the owners, the kids and the staff they are so humble. We enjoyed our stay n next time we visit cape town , we wont look anywere else besides Liziwes and i will recommend it to our frends and family. We had such an awesome stay. Thank you for making our holiday such a bliss. Thanks again till we meet again. Special regards to princess Ayanda stay sweet and make sure u make those muffins and start charging, on my side i will remember that u adore the Naartjie outfits.

October 2012


Review by Lars Borch (Ry, Denmark)

We chose to finish our stay at Liziwes guesthouse in Guguleto to get "the other side" of SA after travelling on the garden route, visiting nationals park. We had the guesthouse recommend by other danish travellers. We combined the stay with at walking tour of Guguleto. We could not have had at better round up og our holiday. The place was warm and made you feel welcome, The guided tour was fantastic. We had two guides for two people (Donald and Andrew) so we could both on our tour have very interesting conversations. That was very informative and nice conversations. The money pay for the tour would be returned to the community in different projects. After the tour we sat on the balcony reading and watching the "backside" of Table Mountain and people in Guguleto returning from work, school etc.. There was a lot of life on the streets and a lot of waving. We had our very nice dinner at the guesthouse too. The guesthouse also arrangeded transfer to and from the airport. the guesthouse is close to the airport, so it is very convinient to stay there before going home.

We can only recommend a stay at Lisiwes Guesthouse as a part of your stay i SA. Its a very warm and giving place.

And a few words in Danish: Gør et ophold hos Lisiwes guesthouse til en del af din SA rejseoplevelse, hvis du er i Cape Town området. Jeg tror ikke du vil fortryd det.
Lars Borch

July 2012


Review by Thabo Kubu (Pretoria South Africa)

for me it was like from home to home situation. the friendliness of the staff, you almost feel thta youre home. andrew what a funny and hospitable person the next time i am in cape Town, there will be no other guest house than Liziwes. I have alreday recommended the place to my friends in Johannesburg. I coming back during the December holidays with my two dauthers and my wife for one week stay. I would recommend thta they open up a cooking school for the guest. just go down there and taste their food absolutely delicious

thank you all at Liziwe's for making such a memorable stay at your house

thabo kubu
SOS Childrens villages south Africa National Coordinator

July 2012


Review by Vuyo (Mthatha)

I had a wonderful weekend stay with my wife and kids at the Guest House. The hosts made us feel at home as everything was well organised. I would recommend Liziwe's Guest House to anyone who visits Cape Town.The sons of the hostess even helped me wash my car and on a trip to the shopping mall.

Ukwanda kwaliwa ngumthakathi.

April 2012


Review by Kim (Cape Town, South Africa)

My husband and I stayed at Liziwe's this weekend and it was a great experience. Liziwe has created a comfortable & characterful home which is the perfect base to experience true township life. Andrew took us around the streets, introduced us to a few of his friends and we ate a stack of tasty meat and pap at Mzoli's - what an infectious vibe on a Saturday night! I highly recommend Liziwe's to anyone interested in learning more about township life and especially fellow South Africans.

March 2012

Very Good

Review by Sihle (Eastern Cape)

We are a church group of 13 people that stayed for 2nights coming from eastern cape in aliwal north. We had a great time, some of us didnt want to leave, they wanted to stay for good because of the hopitality that we received. We enjoyed being entertained by Malusi, Andrew and others. Thank you sis Lizzy, keep up the good work

February 2012


Review by Inge Graj (Saarbrücken, Germany)

Das absolute Highlight eines Südafrikabesuchs!
Liziwe ist sehr herzlich, bereitete uns auch ein afrikanisches Frühstück zu (ist Geschmacksache, sollte aber mal ausgetestet werden!).
Mit Donald, Andrew und Liziwes Bruder Duke hatten wir sehr gute Gespräche über die Geschichte und aktuelle Situation der Schwarzen in Südafrika.
Allein die Fahrten zum Guesthouse an den Wellblechhütten des Townships (das ja ganz verschiedene Viertel hat) vorbei, waren ein Erlebnis.

Wir waren mit 2 kleinen Kindern unterwegs und hatte schon Sorge, ob das alles sicher genug ist.
Bei Liziwe lebt man aber unter einem "Zauber". Die Nachbarn sind neugierig und wohlgesonnen. Wenn sie kommen und einen direkt berühren wollen, ist das kein Alarmzeichen, sondern wirklich nur nett und interessiert. Unser Sohn (6 Jahre) spielte abends mit den Kindern der Nachbarschaft im kleinen Vorhof Fußball und dank Keksen kamen immer mehr... Das war superschön, die Kinder sind sehr offen!

Donald führte uns dann auch noch durch das Wellblechhüttenviertel. Man ist erschüttert und beschämt, darf das aber nicht verpassen!!!
Wer mehr von Südafrika sehen will, als schöne Landschaft und Tiere, sollte diese Tour mitmachen. Donald schafft es, dass alle ihre Würde bewahren, auch die Frauen, deren Hütte wir besichtigen durften.

Übrigens kann man diese Touren oder auch sonstige Touren in und um Kapstadt (z.B. zum Kap der guten Hoffnung oder zu den Weingütern) auch über den Freund der Famiile Andrew Sauders buchen. Der weiß alles und ist absolut engagiert. Kontakt über Liziwes Guesthouse, sehr zu empfehlen!

Wir sind sehr froh, dass wir diese 4 Tage bei Liziwe waren!
Übrigens war unser Zimmer einfach, aber sehr dekorativ eingerichtet.
Einige Zimmer haben einen Balkon (allerdings wohl immer noch ohne Geländer, Donald baut ja noch) mit Blick auf die Tafelberge.
Ich wünsche jedem Südafrikareisenden, der nur ansatzweise verstehen will, wie die Menschen dort leben und denken, eine solche Erfahrung.
Thanks a lot to Liziwe, Donald and Andrew!

December 2011

Very Good

Review by Khanyisa Ngamlana (Johannesburg)

Liziwe's Guesthouse is such a wonderplace to spend a night. the serive is excelent and the breakfast is good. its realy a place you can call a home away from home. Big up Madam LIZZY

December 2011


Review by Brenda And Menzi (Johannesburg)

Me and my fiance really enjoyed our stay at Liziwe's, Lizzi is sweet, caring and respectful she really knows how to make her guest feel special. Donald is a special person he kept us entertained throughout our stay and Andrew is so caring I loved his gentle smile. Next time I'm in Cape Town I will definitely book with them.

Thanks Liziwe for great hospitality

December 2011


Review by Kai, Chris &David (Wuppertal, Germany)

Liziwes ist Klasse! Wir haben 5 Tage mit unserem 5-jährigem Sohn bei Liziwe's gewohnt. Unser Sohn fand das "Urlaubszuhause" das Beste des 4-wöchigen Urlaubes in Südafrika. Alle waren unglaublich freundlich und hilfsbereit. z.B. beim Buchen von Aktivitäten. Als unser Sohn Fieber bekam, fuhr Lizi's Bruder Andile mit mir zu einem ihm bekannten Apotheker, wir konnten ohne Probleme den Aufenthalt dort verlängern und wurden liebevoll versorgt. Bestimmt wurde er deshalb so schnell wieder gesund! Auch die Gespräche waren sehr interessant. Besonders empfehlenswert ist auch die Township-Tour.

Special greetings from David to little Ayanda! David told his friends here very proud, that he now has a new friend in south africa.

November 2011

Very Good

Review by Busisiwe (Cape Town)

i spent 1 night on liziwe's guest house because i had a visiter from east london and i google the affordable that we can spent time to so i was so lucky to find this place n i'm planning to spend another night there with thobile who is now myfiance u provide a good service i do recommend it.

November 2011


Review by Perifan (France)

Tres bon accueil de la part de la responsable et d Andrew qui ont tout fait pour que notre nuitée soit parfaite
Jolie chambre très bien décorée spacieuse et propre
Petit dîner à l improviste gracieusement servi (nous avons apprécié )
Proximité de l aéroport 11€de taxi
Nous reviendrons certainement pour visiter avec Andrew qui est une mine d anecdotes le townships
Allez y pour encourager le tourisme dans ces endroits

November 2011


Review by Tom (Moscow, Idaho, USA)

Our stay at Liziwe's Guest House was truely outstanding. Liziwe and her husband Donald, who built their house brick by brick with every spare hour over many years, have extended the warmth of their family to their guests. One is welcomed warmly upon arrival and made to feel at home throughout one's stay. The rooms are clean and well appointed with fridge, t.v. and tea pot. Our bed was very comfortable. Our room had a shared balcony over looking the street. We stayed two nights which is perfect for getting a feel for township life. On our last morning we sat out on the balcony prior to breakfast and greeted many passerby's with a wave, a smile and good morning and received the same in kind. We drove to Liziwe's in our rental car, got lost in the township and stopped to ask for directions twice. Both gentlemen we spoke with were very friendly and helpful in setting us on the right path. Upon arrival we were escorted to our room by Liziwe's son Lunga. We enjoyed two breakfasts and one dinner. All the food was outstanding, well prepared and well portioned. No one will go hungry at Liziwe's. One could use Liziwe's as a base to explore Cape Town from but more rewarding would be to arrive at Liziwe's with the interest and desire to experience the township and to enjoy the company and conversation of Donald and Liziwe and their family. Andrew organizes tours of the township catered to your interests. One is guided through township life on a walking tour where one can meet and greet people of the neighborhood. We visited a primary school, a shebeen, Mzoli's for lunch (an excellent braai place); moreover, we had umqomboti a traditional Xhosa beer and visited with a sangoma, a traditional healer. We walked with Donald through the informal settlement of shacks. He explained how the people live and what the government is doing to help alleviate the extreme poverty and provide better housing opportunities for the community. While progress is slow the people are extremely patient. Overall our stay at Liziwe's and tour of the township was an extremely enriching and rewarding experience. Liziwe's Guest House is wonderful. We recommend it highly to anyone interested in understanding how the majority of South Africans live, and to anyone interested in history and life in the townships. In addition to Donald and Liziwe and their children we had the pleasure of conversing with Liziwe's brother Andile, who speaks, in addition to many other languages, fluent German. Everyone was fantastic. Andrew is very organized and a great tour guide. If you are planning a visit to Cape Town, make a point of staying a night or two at Liziwe's. It will warm your heart.

September 2011


Review by Stephan Krebs (Schwäbisch Gmünd, Germany)

Wer Kapstadt ohne die Perspektive der Townships besucht, hat einen wesentlchen Teil dieser schönen Stadt verpasst. Der ideale Ort um Gugulethu kennenzulernen ist Liziwe's Guest House. Wir fühlten uns in den zwei Tagen im Haus von Liziwe und Donald unglaublich wohl und wir wurden aufgenommen wie Familienmitglieder. An die lange Gespräche bis spät in die Nacht, an die sehr emotionalen Schilderungen aus dem Leben von Donald und an den wärmenden Kamin, das gute Essen und die schönen Zimmer werden wir uns immer gerne erinnern. Auch der interessante Spaziergang durch Gugulethu mit Andrew und Duke hat uns sehr beeindruckt und sollte nicht verpasst werden. Viele unserer Vorstellungen von südafrikanischn Townships haben wir hier geändert. Wir waren oft positiv überrascht. Die vielen Eindrücke hier und die Begegnung mit den liebenswerten Menschen in Liziwe's Guesthouse haben unsere Reise sehr bereichert und wir sind nachträglich froh über unseren Schritt, auch im Township übernachtet zu haben.Thank you Liziwe, Donald, Andrew and Duke.

August 2011


Review by Family Wigboldus (Houten, The Netherlands)

We had a wondeful Gugulethu experience as a family of 5. Liziwe was a wonderful host with chef qualities, Donald the tireless entertainer and Andrew the dedicated super-assistant. Our children (17-23) have never been that much impressed than during the township walk.
If you really want to experience SA as it is today, don't miss the opportunity of staying at Liziwe's guest house.
A big thank you for Liziwe, Donald and Andrew!
Jan Ekke & family Wigboldus

June 2011

Very Good

Review by J.J. (Oakland, CA, U.S.A.)

We loved our 1 night stay at Liziwe's, especially our township tour with Andrew and Donald. If you're really curious about how the people here live day-to-day, then this tour is a must-see.

June 2011

Very Good

Review by Ntombie Ndlebe (Port Elizabeth)

My boyfriend and I have been going to CT for the third time (business trip) when we no longer wanted to sleep at a hotel we used to sleep at.I googled n found sisLizie , over the phone she was so nice.Everyone at her place is friendly, their hospitality is SUPER .Her place is home away frm home keep it up sisi.

May 2011


Review by Sharene And Lori (Boise, ID, USA)

We spent our last night in SA at Liziwe's guesthouse and would highly recommend it. Liziwe, Donald, and Andrew were so welcoming and had a lot of interesting perspective on life in the townships. We thoroughly enjoyed our conversation with Donald and Liziwe the afternoon we arrived. We continued our conversation over a lovely dinner prepared by their daughter. We also did a township tour with Andrew that was very eye-opening and informative. This was a great way to end our trip, one of the clear highlights of our whole trip, and an experience that we will always remember.

October 2010


Review by Terry And Suzanne (Seattle USA)

We loved everything about our visit to Lizawe's. Hospitality Superb!!!! Nice and close to the airport. They arranged airport pickup and Township tour including a great lunch at a local butchery. Andrew was GREAT

Meals were delicious and we really enjoyed sharing with Liziwe and her husbanc Donald over a glass of wine.

April 2010


Review by Ken & Mags Jones (LINCOLN Uk)

We spent the first two days of our stay in and around Cape Town and the Garden route at Liziwes. The guest house and all the staff were fantastic; Andrew the manager arranged some wonderful tours of the Township and Cape Town using local Taxies. It was so good that we decided to stay there on our return from the Garden route before flying home to the uk.

While staying at Liziwes before our flight home, the Ash Cloud struck!! Liziwe, Andrew and Donald said that we could stay there with them till our flight was rescheduled (not knowing how long that could be) the very best part of the holiday then started we felt so at home in the guest house and the surrounding township. Everyone was exceptionally kind to us arranging local taxis to take us around for the first day or two then rehiring a car (Kenning Car Hire) we drove around the township for the next week without the slightest problem, also seeing sights in and around the Cape Town peninsula.

We meet three people while visiting Kirstenbosh Botanical gardens who were also stuck because of the Ash Cloud. They were losing there accommodation so we fully recommended Liziwes to them. They booked and spent the last part of their holiday with us at Liziwes, going on a tour of the township during their stay.

Anyone looking for accommodation for the World Cup should first try Liziwes you will have a great time.

April 2010


Review by Su Jones (Penzance, Cornwall)

How fortunate for me, my sister and brother in law to meet Mags and Ken in Kirstenbosch Gardens where we exchanged our experiences of being standed in Cape Town. On the day before we were eventually flying home we arrived at Liziwe's Guest House on their recommendation. What a memorable and warm 30 hours. Liziwe is a joy to be with, her goodness and strength shine out of her. Her dream of opening her home to everyone is being fulfilled. Donald is a man who is loving building and creating the Guest House, what a character,full of stories. Andrew worked his socks off straightening out all the problems a volcanic ash erruption can reek on travellers and ensuring our stay was a positive time. The people of Gugulethu that we met and chatted with were friendly. Thank you all for a memorable end to our South African holiday.

January 2010

Very Good

Review by Tasmin Mulder (Cape Town)

To all fellow Travellers and especially Capetonians,

As you can read below there are only good things to say about staying at Liziwe's Guesthouse with Donald (her husband) and Andrew (neighbour). One is treated to the warmest obliging hospitality and immediately you are welcomed into a home and neighbourhood away from home. For example my Spanish friend and I went with Cleo- Liziwe's daughter- and friend to Mzoli's, a legendary eatery down the road only to come back to an unexpected and scrumptious fully cooked meal prepared by Liziwe despite the fact that we had insisted that we would not require a meal.

The best part of the experience was seeing the delight from the community and also Liziwe, Donald and Andrew's delight about recieving a local guest. Gugulethu is so closely situated to many parts of town and if you are having any doubts about safety, rest assured that I did not have one ounce of concern throughout the whole stay. Guys this is a way to bridge the separation gap and get to know township life, which can teach one so much. I strongly urge you to check it out. Indeed I am keen to hang out in Gugulethu more now after this experience. And now that you've seen a fellow Capetonian has gone too, so can you!

And when you do, enjoy it. It's so lekker.

Thank you Liziwe, Donald and Andrew, will be sure to meet you again soon.

January 2010


Review by Alejandro Sebastian (Madrid)

Hi everybody!
I'm the Spaniard mentioned below. I would like to recommend this experience to everybody. Because Liziwe's guest house at Gugulethu is not just a play to stay, is a unique experience that should take 2 or 3 days of every free traveler to Cape Town. And of course, that every Capetonian should have done.
It's about the flavour of the township, the human quality of everybody there, the magical hospitality in and out the house, the delicious meals in the house and around,... and for me the best were the long chats with Donald, Liziwe, and her daughter (I learnt so much) and walking around the neighbourhood and all the kids coming to play or just to give you a hug. I insist. Magical experience.
Now I'm in Spain, 2 months after my trip, and I still feel that wonderfull taste of Gugulethu. That's why I wanted Liziwe, Donald, and Andrew, if you are reading this, to say you all: THANK YOU.

October 2009

Very Good

Review by Chau Ngan Ching (Hong KOng)

It is a wonderful experience to stay in Liziw's. We just like staying in my own family that so easy and comfortable. The townshiop life let me feel how African lives are. It is cannot replace by ordinary guesthouse. Thanks to Liziwe, Donald and Andrew give me an unordinary holiday.

October 2009

Very Good

Review by Anne Kathrine Løge (Norway)

I had my first visit in South Africa and Cape Town and stayed together with some of my companions at Liziwe's guest house in Guguletu. And due to their hospitality and friendlyness I had a wonderful time at the place. They learned me a lot about life in a township, about pride, sharing and taking care. I'll remember our joyful evenings with laughter and storytelling. These memories will be a great treasure in my life. Thank you Liziwe, Andrew and Donald.

October 2009


Review by Vidar Andersen (Kristiansand)

I really had a wonderful time in october 2009 in Liziwe's guesthouse in Guguletho with Donald, Andrew and Liziwe. What a good athmosphere these trustful, hospital warm hearted people created. And they are service minded. Being in a township like this is something very special and I felt safe together with them. It is recomanded to everyone. Thank you so much and I am looking forward to next time.

Vidar Andersen/Norway

February 2009


Review by Lou Bergholz (Boston, MA)

I recently helped to run a major training program that Liziwe's Guest House hosted for us with Grassroot Soccer. I have been working as a training consultant around the world for over 10 years and I found their service to rival any hotel or conference center I have ever worked in.

The facilities were well cared for, the food was ample and ideal for our group, and the security was excellent.

The most distinguishing aspect of our stay was the level of customer service. The staff were attentive, responsive and willing to go the extra mile to make sure that everything we needed was available to us. I would say, without hesitation, that the service provided by the entire staff at Liziwe's was comparable to service I have received any major conference or retreat center I have worked at in the last 10 years!

it is my pleasure to recommend Liziwe's Guest House without reservation.

February 2009


Review by Chris Barkley (Cape Town)

6 long days of workshops with 40 people during the middle of a Cape Town summer. What were we thinking!
We would have never survived the week if Andrew, Liziwe, and their entire staff hadn't bent over backwards to meet every need we had.

The combination of a grassroots feel & professionalism make Liziwe's an amazing place to hold workshops & rest your head. Hey, you guys full for the World Cup yet??

January 2009


Review by ANNE AND BERTRAND'S FAMILY (Reunion Island)

We only have excellent memories from our stay at Liziwe's.It started with the arrival at the airport where Andrew was such a great help with the rented automatic car ( which was new to us) . Then when we met Donald and Liziwe their welcome was so warm that even our 3 children (12-12-6) felt immediately at home and relaxed despite the language barrier.
We all did the township tour with Donald and it was for all of us adults and children an experience never to be forgotten since Donald's first-hand stories were ever so moving and came straight to our hearts.
At home we were pampered and treated to Liziwe's incredible authentic African cuisine and wish we had stayed longer to enjoy some more...
We loved the house, the bedrooms tastefully decorated, the evenings in the garden talking to our hosts over a drink.
The neighbourhood was lively and children came visiting from time to time,there were songs and music but we slept really well and we felt safe at all times;

We will never forget these moments and for our children and us they remain one of the highlights of our holiday in South Africa.

November 2008


Review by David Becker (Dubai, UAE)

Dear All,

One day about a year ago I was travelling on a train abroad and came across a small article written about a couple who had built a B & B in the heart of a township/shanty town in Cape Town called Guguletu.

Since my wife has become accustomed to staying in five star hotels and I want to keep her on her toes, I decided as a surprise to book into the B & B for a night while we visited Cape Town in March of this year!

The stay turned out to be not just the highlight of our holiday but one of the most awe-inspiring experiences of my life.

Liziwe used to work as a tea lady and her husband Donald worked in the Sappi paper factory in Cape Town. One day he noticed that they were knocking down some of the surrounding walls to expand the factory and approached the owner of the business to see if he could use the bricks. The owner said he could have them if he could take them away. Donald found an old plot of land in Guguletu they were using as a rubbish dump. They bought the land and paid it off each month. They lived in a tin shack in the corner of the plot while he dreamed of building a house. Donald spent months carting the bricks back to the plot. Every night he would clean the bricks, brick by brick. There were 50,000 bricks and it took him two years to finish cleaning the bricks. By that time his hands were raw.

He taught himself how to build and began to build the house. After three years it was finally ready and Liziwe and Donald opened their small guesthouse. Liziwe taught herself how to use the internet and sought help on how to produce brochures. Soon they added on extra rooms and are now running a very successful business.

I have stayed in fancy hotels and B & B’s all over the world, but I can’t recall ever having experienced the warmth and hospitality anywhere that we experienced in our short stay at Liziwe’s. We were welcomed with big African hugs and lots of smiles as if we were long lost friends. We were treated to tasty African home-cooked food cooked by Liziwe herself in their restaurant (which has recently been reviewed by BBC Food, who came to film there). And we were moved and fascinated by their inspiring story.

I have met many inspiring people on my travels. Liziwe and Donald are right up there with any of them.

They had a dream and kept working towards it. They did not let anything get in the way of that dream. They were dedicated and determined to make it work. They are a wonderful symbol of the African spirit and what is possible if you put your mind to it.

More importantly, they inspire others in the community. Other people have now opened B & B’s in the townships and Liziwe has started an association for B and B operators in the area. She involves the surrounding community by employing local entertainers to perform at the restaurant. She ensures that everyone who opens their home on the walking ‘township’ tours they offer benefits financially. She has the support of all the surrounding community to ensure that guests have a safe and happy stay, as it is in their best interests.

What was meant to be an unusual excursion turned into an unforgettable life experience.

What was tragic is that in the three years the B & B has been open I was only the 2nd South African who had stayed there! This blew me away.

I would encourage all of you who are considering a trip to Cape Town, or even those living within Cape Town, to visit Liziwe’s guest house. It is fantastic value for money and great fun. Plus you may benefit from a powerful and inspiring message of hope, courage and ingenuity.

David Becker
Head of Legal
International Cricket Council

October 2008


Review by Gareth (Northants, UK)

Dear All,

Thank you for such a warm hospitality, great food and the memorable beer!!we all enjoyed our trip thouroghly and i would like to send you a few photos of our visit.

All the best in the future and may your business continue to prosper and may the community also benift from the increased tourism.

Fondest Regards
Gareth, Michele, Mark and Tracey.

August 2008


Review by Karel Duran (Ter Aar, The Netherlands)

When you visit Cape Town, besides a visit to the table mountain, a trip to Robben island, many travel agencies will offer you a tour through the townships, the black suburbs of Cape Town with their real african atmosphere.

If you are interested in this lively way of living, a tour in a bus is not enough, you should stay there at least a couple of days to get the vibes. I would certainly recommend the weekend!
Liziwes guesthouse was for us a perfect opportunity. The comfort meets western standards, and Liziwe and Donald do everything to make your feel at home. It is situated in Guguletu, close to the airport where you can be picked up by their van, and in spite of some that are afraid to enter the black townships, we soon find out that there is nothing to worry about in Guguletu. I would fear pickpockets more in the luxurious Waterfront, than in the township.

Liziwes is a good location from which you can plan different visits in and around Cape Town. We started using the guesthouse van, that is always at your disposal, soon to discover the minibuses that provide the fastest form of public transport in Cape Town. Later we rented a car that is more economical for outings further away.

Drawback: small garden and besides a beautiful view on table mountain, no beaches or seaside. But the experience to live together with an african family and to make easy contacts in the neighbourhood makes it more than worthwile.

April 2008


Review by Jill Rose (London, England)

My husband, 2 year old son and parents-in-law all had a wonderful time at Liziwe's. The warm hospitality, excellent food and community visits made the stay both comfortable and memorable and we would have liked to have stayed longer. For us adults, the walking and half day tours were humbling and unforgettable - for our son the highlight was playing football with the local kids and eating Liziwe's delicious fried bread balls!

We highly recommend a stay at Liziwe's to anyone - it is a lovely place to stay and an important insight to south africa. Best of all, it supports an excellent township business.
Thank you Liziwe, Donald and Andrew.... we hope to come back to see you again.

January 2008


Review by Noluvuyo Luvalo (South Africa)

Was a great one !

January 2008


Review by Robyn Worland (Sydney Australia)

Our family of 5 Peter and I and our 3 'young adult' children recently enjoyed the warm hospitality and comfort of Liziwe's guesthouse. Our charming hostess, together with husband Donald, and Andrew, made sure we had the best possible time in Guguletu.

We gained great insight into life in the township through the half day tour, and were made to feel part of their family as we dined in their home. Nothing was too much trouble. They provided me with an unforgettable 55th birthday, and we dearly hope to return one day.
Highly recommended!

December 2007


Review by Pieter And Fokalin (Netherlands)

We loved staying at Liziwe's. From the moment we got picked up from the airport we felt very welcome. The place looks very good and organised. The food Liziwe cooks is delicious and our room is fantastic. It is very special to stay in the middle of the township Guguletu; it's an experience we'll never forget! We did the township tour and the people are very open and friendly. We felt very safe. We had two great days at Liziwe's! We would strongly recommend this place to other people!

Liziwe, Donald and Andrew, we want to thank you for this great start of our holiday. In two days we had an experience other people will never have. Thanks a lot and we will never forget you guys!

Lots of love,
Pieter and Fokalin

November 2007


Review by Tarrah Beebe (Los Angeles, CA)

My stay at Liziwe's was short, but unparalleled. We went for the Thanksgiving holiday and were greeted with the utmost of hospitality. The guest hose is set up with multiple communal areas to meet the others who are staying there, but there is also an element of privacy in each of the rooms.

All of the staff there, including Liziwe and Donald's family, were wonderful and more than hospitable. It was a safe and very comfortale experience, but also an enlightening one, where Liziwe and Donald wanted to share their experiences with us, if we wanted to ask questions. To hear their story of developing this wonderful place from their own voices was an amazing experience.

Also, to hear the beautiful voices of New Hope, a musical group made up of young people that live in Gugulethu, was terrific. I look forward to the next chance I get to travel to Cape Town and visit this amazing family and the beautiful country of South Africa.

November 2007

Very Good

Review by Harry Perry (Leicester UK)

We all thought Liziwe's was a fantastic introduction to South Africa. Andrew and Liziwe gave us a lift from airport to car rental depot and Andrew helped negotiate our way through a technical difficulty - even going back the next day to pick up a document for us while we carried on with sight-seeing!

The food was great, comfortable quiet rooms, fascinating township walk and Donald's moving explanation of the struggle for freedom in Gugulethu. Before going we had anxieties about crime etc. but we felt 100% safe and wouldn't have missed it for the world. A really warm welcome to South Africa - thanks for the hospitality and care!
Harry, Jill & Rosie

November 2007


Review by Monique (Leeuwarden, The Netherlands)

Since I have met Liziwe, Donald and Andrew everytime I go to South Africa I will visit them and stay for a few nights. I have been to Liziwe's Guesthouse severval times now and for me it is a home away from home.
Especially the warm hospitality and family atmosphere is great. You really feel part of the family. Every person that wants to visit Cape Town should experience township life and visit Liziwe's. It will be an unforgettable experience! I have never felt unsafe at all.


November 2007


Review by Ernst Jonker (Leeuwarden, The Netherlands)

I stayed at Liziwe's twice: in Febraury and November/December 2007. I strongly recommend Liziwe's: it offers a wonderful mix of a home away from home and a high level of comfort and safety (which one maybe wouldn't expect in a township) with a real township/African experience. The best of both worlds!

Liziwe, Andrew, Donald and all others really make you feel welcome - after a few days you will feel part of the family. They truly make an effort to make your stay an unforgettable experience. You are not only staying in their fine home, enjoying the excellent food and live entertainment; they also share their lives with you. If you really want to know township life: take a township tour or walk with them! I will never forget this experience.
Liziwe, Donald and Andrew: thanks a million! No doubt: I will be back!!
Love, Ernst

May 2007

Very Good

Review by Jeannette (Leeuwarden, The Netherlands)

Staying for 3 weeks in the township at Liziwe's Guesthouse was an experience for lifetime. From the first moment I arrived I felt a very warm welcome by Liziwe and her family. With a lot of passion and drive this family fulfilled their dreams by starting a guesthouse in a township, where life is often very hard. Their friendlyness is endless and I never felt unsafe. Liziwe's guesthouse offers an unique hospitaliy and an African Township Experience.

Liziwe, Andrew and Donald are driving forces for their community as well. As Liziwe told me: "This business is not only about education, it is about passion and sharing".

I had a wonderful time in Guglethu, meeting a lot of neighbours from the community, went for a township walking tour and felt part of the family from the first day.

Thank you very much for everything you did for me.
Warmest regards,


Tonight From
per unit, per night

Contact: Liziwe or Donald

Tel: +27 (0)21 633-7406
Fax: +27 (0)21 633-7406
Mobile: +27 (0)73 385-2911

Or Contact:
+27 (0)72 035-9560

Physical Address:
Liziwe's Guest House, NY111, No 121, Gugulethu, 7750, Cape Town, South Africa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.976094
Longitude: 18.574834

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 25km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Listed on
October 2006 - 46 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap