La Bougain Villa is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (19 reviews)

La Bougain Villa

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 6 Smits Road, Dunkeld West, Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 19 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to La Bougain Villa in Dunkeld West?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Johannesburg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 19 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

June 2013

Excellent

Review by Robert And Rosa Bertinelli (Greenville, South Carolina)

This was great introduction to South African hospitality. We had a great time.

June 2013

Excellent

Review by Pat And Sandy Bordeni (Rome, Italy)

Thank you for the lovely stay and rest. A home from home.

May 2013

Excellent

Review by Juhn Sekoere (Lesotho)

The hospitality has just been fantastic. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The cleanliness is exceptional. We surely will be back some day. Keep up the good work.

May 2013

Excellent

Review by Peter And Christina Addison (Fort Lauderdale, Florida)

My husband and I went to Jo'burg for 3 days to visit friends and we were looking for a place that was close to where they lived so they could meet us at restaurants and we could visit. La Bougain Villa is in a nice and quiet street, yet very conveniently located in Dunkeld, close to restaurants, shops and Sandton/Rosebank area. The rooms are well appointed, very private and quiet surrounded by the beautiful garden and pool. Chris is a super host, very helpful and welcoming. Georgina spoiled us with delicious and breakfasts and Joe was always available to assist with whatever needed. Excellent value for money. Will certainly return, would not think of staying anywhere else.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Pauline And Keith Mullender (Much Hadham, UK)

We stayed here in April 2013 for ten nights. Our self contained rooms were well equipped and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and elegantly presented. Our visit coincided with a difficult time for the Richard's family but the welcome from them, from Georgina, the housekeeper and Joe the gardener could not have been warmer. The location in Dunkeld was convenient for Rosebank / Sandton and if we return in the future we would definitely re- book.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Markus Shurter And Hans Sigrit (Zurich Switzerland)

La Bougain Villa is a little Paradise in Sandton, Jo.burg. We stayed 10 days here and enjoyed great hospitality and excellent service. We can recommend La Bougain Villa to everybody and will return at the next occasion. Markus and Hans.

March 2012

Excellent

Review by Wendy Brassey (Durban, Natal)

I stay at La Bougain Villa every time I visit Johannesburg... usually twice a year... and can thoroughly recommend it. Beautiful setting, centrally located, secure parking and friendly, helpful, welcoming staff and hosts... excellent value for money! A most private and peaceful haven.... just completed my 5th visit and i am already looking forward to the next!

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Gary (Sydney)

This was my first visit to Johannesburg. Upon my first contact with the Fay the owner - she was extremely helpful, informative and very warm. Provided me with lots of information prior arriving. I decided to go ahead and book. From the moment of my arrival, I felt at home. La Bougain Villa is well landscaped, very clean and well maintained. Highly recommended.

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Brigitte (France)

Thank you for everything - perfect as previously. We will be back again.

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Abhisher (Johannesburg)

Lovely place and tastefully done. Great and adorable hosts - loved it.

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Karen (Michigan, USA)

Beauty - Inside and Out" - Fay was our 'hostess with the mostess' - arriving to lovely gardens, a pool and a beautiful porch/patio, where we had delicious breakfasts each morning. It only got better in the inside with lovely addommodation for our party of 5, in three beautifully different rooms. The location is very private, quiet and relaxing, and we wanted for nothing! Fay was most helpful, offering dining suggestions, directions, and anything else we might need. It was a wonderful visit there and we recommend it highly. Five star location .

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Sandra (Sydney)

Fay, who manages this beautiful B&B is great. We had fantastic conversations with her and she went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable at home and having a memorable stay. The area of Dunkeld is safe and we walked to the shopping centres a couple of kms away and it was fine. The street is well patrolled. We were given local recommendations from Fay, booked a Soweto tour and even drove us to the tour meeting spot a few blocks away at 6am with a packed fruit bag! We truly felt at home and loved staying at La Bougain Villa. We had a large suite upstairs with a large bedroom, large lounge and bathroom all to ourselves. With snacks, tea and coffee and a fridge, we were very comfortable.
I would definitely recommend staying here and this is where we will stay the next time we are in Jhb.

Thanks Fay!

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Susie W (Cullompton, UK)

I stayed at La Bougain villa attending a conference at a nearby hotel and I'm really glad I did! My flat, with big lounge/kitchen, double bedroom, bathroom and balcony, had everything I needed and I felt very sorry for the other conference delegates who had just a room in the hotel, at twice the price! The kitchen and bathroom were very well appointed with all the daily necessities.
Fay was a charming host, and was always willing to offer whatever extra help she could to make my stay even more comfortable. I highly recommend La Bougain Villa.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Kluge Family (Berlin)

Fantastic stay! Felt like home - everything is provided for a perfect stay.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Lynette Rousseau (Margate - KZN)

Our VERY grateful thanks to our "Fay"ry godmother! We revelled in the tranquility, beauty, hospitality and our meals were gastronomic for our tastebuds. Your help in untangling the French Consulate "red tape" is unforgettable! Vive "La Bougain Villa"!!

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Muddy Walk (Robertsbridge, UK)

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was a great find. Fay gave me a nice welcome and the suite I had (on the ground floor) was spacious and comfortable, with a nice view out on to the lovely garden with hadeda ibises working over the lawn for insects. The breakfast was great, and the daily fruit in the room a nice extra.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Dereck Hunidzarira (Harare, Zimbabwe)

3 days and two nights...awesome, relaxing experience...
Fay gave us a good welcome, and we really felt welcome. We wanted to visit Sandton Mall, she took us there herself. On our last day, going back, one of her employees drove us. Our room was kept crispy clean. Had a chance also to meet Richard..
It was a relaxing stay..

April 2011

Excellent

Review by William (Swansea, Wales)

What an amazing place - I've now been back 3 times with superb experiences. Hyde Park is a safe place, virtually next door to the British Consulate with a Fournos Bakery down the road. Bougain Villa has a relaxed garden with pool, tennis court and patio to have breakfast or afternoon tea. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Sandton and Rosebank are close by and there's cricket at Wanderers Ground within walking distance.

July 2009

Excellent

Review by Lee Gammon (Cardiff)

We stayed during the Lions tour and Fay was an amazing and very knowledable host. She organised everything that we could have asked for and more! The accomodation was great, very clean and very convenient. Thank you so much for playing your part in our great time on JoBurg!

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -26.135944999666666
Longitude: 28.032600999333333

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times are available with prior arrangement, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
January 2005 - 19 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap