Hands on Retreat is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (69 reviews)

Hands on Retreat

Guest House / Self Catering at 4 Argyle Avenue, Craighall, Sandton, Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 69 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Hands on Retreat in Craighall?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Sandton.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 69 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

November 2014

Excellent

Review by ZINZI (Vaal Triangle)

Excellent place for get away. Good environment and friendly staff. The treat was so refreshing. I can do it again and again.

October 2011

Very Good

Review by Nita Jamnadas (Newtown)

We had such a beautiful experience together. Simply loved the massages and spa. Very relaxing indeed.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Bruce Watts (Edenvale)

Excellent once again. See you in a few months’ time.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Mandy Ravenscraft (Centurion )

Thanks you so much. We had a pleasurable & meaningful time. The staff looked after us really well. We feel very blessed to have been here.
P.S The food & massages were excellent too. Thank you.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Lee-Ann Vertellotti (Boksburg )

This is what we needed. It was birthday surprise for my boyfriend and the best present I could have gotten for him. A special Thank You to Karen who made our stay very special. We would love to come back soon for longer.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Sharon Jacobs (Pretoria)

Thank you for an awesome night. Made my birthday very memorable. Beautiful room (nice bath), wonderful breakfast and relaxing treatments. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Just the relaxing weekend we needed. Would love to come back and will recommend to our family and friends in cape town. Thank you Karin and Natasha.

September 2011

Very Good

Review by Stijn Van Cauwenberge (Belgium )

We were so lucky to have found this wonderful place. The best place to relax before a long flight back home. Thank you so much.

September 2011

Very Good

Review by Nomfundo Engler (JHB)

What an absolute gem of a place. Thank you so much to Karin and team for the hospitality. Will recommend to friends and certaintly be back.

September 2011

Very Good

Review by Hennie Becker (Pretoria )

Baie, baie dankie vir julle gasvryheid. Julle het ons behoorlik bederf. Dit is net wat ons nodig gehad het!!! Sal definitief weer kom.

September 2011

Very Good

Review by Thabisile Mabuza (Pretoria)

Thank you for the great service. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our night.

September 2011

Very Good

Review by Gloria Ogunkye (Bronhof)

We had a great time. Very Friendly and warm. Perfectly served breakfast.

September 2011

Very Good

Review by Heidi Spence (Linehill )

Thank you very much, we had a great time, very relaxing. Thanks.

September 2011

Very Good

Review by Heidi Spence (Linehill )

Thank you very much, we had a great time, very relaxing. Thanks.

September 2011

Very Good

Review by Yassien Sallie (Johannesburg)

Awesome break, very relaxing, totally unexpected. The room was unexpected, total privacy. Would definitely return and recommend your establishment. Thank you very much.

September 2011

Very Good

Review by Lena Enslin (Johannesburg)

Thank you guys very much it was wonderful and will defiantly be back again and refer you to other people. Thanks a lot.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Getrude Kitongo (JHB)

Thank you for a very lovely weekend. We enjoyed every moment here and will certainly return. Our compliments to the staff’s kindness, generosity and friendly nature. God bless. See you soon.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Elize Abrahams (JHB)

The weekend was excellent. Lovely service, food and accommodation. Overall I would rate it an eleven out of ten. Would definitely come back and recommend to friends. Thanks to all.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Jacques Soine (Table View)

Thank you for the excellent service!!!

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Kelvin Zheng (Usa)

It is a very warm, quiet and beautiful place in Johannesburg which I enjoyed the most. The service is great. Thank you! I will definitely be back.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Siphokazi Gwamanda (Crosby)

The experience was unexpected, this really is a retreat. We never expected to find ourselves in a place like this in JHB. We had a lovely time here the staff is friendly and welcoming, we’ll definitely be back. Ps: the room is to die for, the décor is welcoming. You feel at home, away from home.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Allen Bobby (ELDORADOR PARK )

This is by far the most nicest place ever. Thank you so so much for your kindness, we have really appreciated it all. Double thumbs up Karin the manager, she really out done herself. Karin you have welcomed us with warmth and kindness when we came and left. You are truly a wonderful person and thank you for making our stay awesome. We will defiantly be returning again, and who wouldn’t.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Upasna Dayanand (Fourways )

My fiancé and I arrived on 23rd , Karin welcomed us with such warmth and hospitality. We thoroughly enjoyed our stayand the massages. Thank you Karin,Natasha,Nomsa and Meikie for a stunning stay. We definitely will be back.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Laetitia Bosch (Centurion)

What an enjoyable experience we had! Thank you to all the staff and especially Karin who made our evening on the 23rd September.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Ebrahim Mohamed (Kimberley)

Thanks you for a very enjoyable stay, Beautiful venue and excellent service. Pleasant Memories created. The Hand Soap, very cute touch. Great Shower & Jacuzzi.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Karin (Alberton)

I was completely blown away by the great experience i had at Hands on Retreat. I bought a spa package for myself and my sister, something we like to do often. This was our first visit to Hand on...and we absolutely had the best morning. Their service was friendly, punctual, organized and the quality of the spa was impeccable.
I highly recommend Hand on...especially when you compare the service with the nearby location of Johannesburg. Thank you Hand on for making our day unforgettable.

June 2011

Very Good

Review by Jeanni Henry (Cape Town )

I had such a lovely stay, thank you so much! You have such a lovely place, looking forward to coming back soon! It’s a home away from home, makes going away so much easier. The service was absolutely divine!

June 2011

Very Good

Review by Louis Fourie (WELTEVREDEN PARK )

Baie vriendelike verwelkoming. Geskenkies an my vrou vir haar verjaarsdag was baie oulik en ons het dit baie waardeer. Geriewe is tops, dekor heel kreatief en my vrou is a groot “fan” daarvan. Baie rustig en die spa help om jou daai ekstra rustigheid te bring. Die kos was heel lekker en daar is n groot verskeildenheid wat dit dieheeltyd interesant hou. Sal verseker weer hier kom ontspan en my vriende gaan vertel van die oulike wegbreek op hulle voorstoep.

June 2011

Very Good

Review by LERATO MODISE (ALBERTON)

Thank you to the staff at Hands On. It was a treat indeed. All the staff members are great with great hospitality.

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Mapudi Rakoma (Pretoria)

This has been the greatest experience we had for a weekend getaway and spa treatments. What a cold winter it has been and added with the service level that brought the satisfactory we were really anticipating. Thanks for being so worth for our rands, we will indeed spread the word about it. It brought the stress level to zero and I can’t explain it further. Thank you!!!

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Chantelle Van Der Walt (JHB)

Thank you to all the staff at Hands On, especially Karin really made our stay restful and relaxing. The experience was worth it and a must to do again. The rooms are well stocked and a real delight to stay in. Thank you all.

March 2011

Very Good

Review by BRONWEN ZANDE (Holand Port,Australia )


Thanks’ for a great stay. So tranquil and everyone was so friendly and helpful.

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Thierry Candito (Australia)

'A great and peaceful place to stay while attending our friend's wedding. The room is clean. Service - friendly and genuine. Our short stay in SA and overall experience so far, makes us want to come back and we shall remember your place!'
Isabelle & Thierry (Frogs in Oz)

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Lia & Johan Smit-Schoeman (South Africa)

'When we arrived I saw two people with slippers at the breakfast table and thought it was hysterical, but by the next morning I did the same! Your atmosphere is so tranquil and your rooms so beautiful and relaxing – you can't help but feel right at home'

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Tanya & Michael Joubert (Johannesburg)

'We really enjoyed the stay. It is peaceful and tranquil. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Rooms are well equipped. The massages are really good. The water features scattered around the premises give a nice, calming effect. Thanks'

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Tinashe Chimbidzikai (Harare (Zimbabwe))

'This is a lovely place. I liked the tranquil environment. Will definitely call again. Bless you'

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Carel & Lazya Greeff (South Africa)

'Excellent service, relaxing atmosphere and exceptional hospitality. Highly recommended. Will advise everybody to visit your hands on treatments'

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Heinrich & Lisinda Duvenhage (Pretoria)

'Baie dankie vir 'n onvergeetlike ondervinding. Die eters is heerlik, die spa behandelings is ongelooflik en die diens onverbeterlik. Vanaf ons eerste ontmoeting het personeel soos Natsha ons spesiaal laat voel. Ons sal beslis weer an weer terug kom na hierdie stukkie hemel in die stad'

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Paddy Hunter (Alberta (Canada))

'Many thanks for the hospitality shown to me over the last 27 days. The garden is a sea of tranquility in a busy, busy city. It really is an oasis of calm. Go well until we meet again. May all light surround you'

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Patricia Marquis (London)

'Lovely time, beautiful room, great breakfast and friendly service. Isaac loved hiding under the 'sheds' and exploring the garden'
Adrian, Patricia & Isaac (England)

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Ludwig & Anel Ehrke (UK)

'We had a very relaxing time. Good accomodation, good food and great treatments! We'll be back in summer to appreciate your garden. Thanks for a good time and friendly service'
Ludwig & Anel

July 2010

Very Good

Review by Liezel & Kenneth Maloney (JHB)

'Thank you for the lovely service and accomodation. Definitely a place to be revisited and also recommended to family and friends'

Many thanks! Liezel & Kenneth

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Őmer Ūlke (Turkey)

'Many thanks again for the lovely hospitality. It was a great pleasure to stay at your guesthouse. I am more than happy to meet you and look forward to the second stay. It was my first time in Johannesburg, I was so impressed and just want to thank you. I hope to come again'

With all the best, Őmer Ūlke

July 2010

Excellent

Review by J.A Steenkamp (Johannesburg)

'Thank you very much for an awesome time. We enjoyed it so much. Will most definitely come again! The room was so nice and breakfast was out of this world! All the best for you guys for the years to come!'

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Margaret & Peter Meibusch (Australia)

'Margaret and I have enjoyed our two days in this little paradise in a big city. The garden, with it's winter hues, reminded us both of Canberra Australia – but without the winter cold (we never have breakfast on our patio at home at this time of the year). We will recommend Hands On Retreat to all our friends'

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Felipe Randolfi (Venezuela)

'We are very happy to stay here, we feel like it's our house. Your service is special, congratulations. I want to write too much but my English is so bad. In one word !!! Espectaculor !!! If I will come back, return here, to South Africa, I hope you will receive me with the open arms like this time. Thank you so much for all of you ; you are the best of our holiday'
Sincerely, Giovanny, Daniele, Felipe & Josmar

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Milton Costa (Brazil)

'I'm so glad to been here. It's a pleasure place to stay and relax. Looks like to be at home.Thanks for everybody'
Milton Costa (Brasil)

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Eric Tan (Singapore)

'I like the furniture & the ambiance of a cottage. Very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for a wonderful stay'

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Andreas Bonelli (Argentina)

'From Argentina! Thanks for the warm service and made us feel like home'

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Yamato Yanai (Japan)

'Thank you for a relaxing stay. Hands On Retreat is very beautiful. Staff is friendly'
Yamato and friends

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Raymond Collins (Norway)

'Thanks a lot, we've had a wonderful stay!
Love from Norway and Scotland

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Candice Van Den Berg (Durban)

'Very friendly and helpful staff. I had an enjoyable stay'

June 2010

Excellent

Review by David Parratt (England)

'Relaxing, wonderful friendly staff. Would come back again' - David & Penny

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Paul Gilpin (London, UK)

'Thank you for a very relaxing stay. I wished I had made more use of the place and such excellent staff. Would love to come back again'

Paul

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Jamie McTavish (USA)

'A very nice oasis in the middle of Jo'burg. Will spread the word in the USA'
Jamie & Susanna

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Albert & Natasha (Johannesburg)

'The ladies are amazing and we had a very relaxing time. A very romantic getaway for myself and Natasha'
Many thanks, Albert & Natasha

May 2010

Excellent

Review by St. John Bangey (Cape Town)

' A lovely stay! A great concept and lovely atmosphere'
Many thanks, St John

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Johan & Chrisna Nel (South Africa)

'Wat 'n bederf?! Ongelooflik lekker en baie nice personeel! Ons kan dit aanbeveel!'
Baie dankie, Johan & Chrisna Nel

March 2010

Very Good

Review by Marco De Sousa (Johannesburg)

Thank you for a wonderful stay – was really a great experience. Will be coming again for the massage and the relaxation of all the surroundings. The place is stunning, worth every penny'

Sam & Marco

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Bongiwe Nkosi (S.A.)

'Thank you so much for your service, it was wonderful and I will recommend your place to
others. Your assistants were so friendly and loving in their patience with me. I wish I
could come back soon. I have never been to a nice place like this before'

Bongiwe

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Wolfgang & Angelika Ehrich (Pretoria)

'Baie dankie Louis and Martina! Ons het alles verskriklik geniet en 'n wonderlike tyd gehad! Julle het 'n lieflike gastehuis met dierbare mense wat hier werk! Dit was 'n groot bederf! Mag die Here julle en julle besigheid oneindig seën!'

Groete van Wolfgang & Angelika

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Sanett Uys (S.A.)

' Dankie vir die lekker kuier, gasvryheid – dis pragtig hier!' - Sanett

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Errol Mann (Cape Town)

'We had a lovely stay with Louis and Martina. They are brilliant hosts and the accomodation was great!! Loved the Wi-fi option, great help. Thanks for that Louis. We will definitely be back'

Errol & Karen

February 2010

Very Good

Review by Leonie & Andre (JHB)

'To Louis, Martina and Staff - Was absolutely wonderful. Service and experience was
great. May you grow from strength to strength'

Leonie

January 2010

Very Good

Review by Luthando Pulumo (East London)

'It was a wow! Hands On Retreat has a very nice, relaxing and calming environment. It is
the best place to go and run away from the busy city life. Who thought Jo'burg (the busy
city) could have such an environment. I must give compliments to the founder of the
place, this is a wow! Everyone deserves to be pampered every now and again. Compliments
to the chef and the waitresses. The therapists Tebogo and Meiki, their hands worked like
magic. We feel revived, calm and healed (the body & soul). This was the best weekend
ever, me and my hubby enjoyed it and will definitely recommend it to any couple'

Love Nwabiso & Lutanolo Pulumo

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Nico & Ronel (JHB)

'Louis, Martina and staff: Your collective determination to make a difference in S.A. is
evident in everything you do. You succeed spectacularly in 'giving' - a rare commodity
in our rushed world. You've discovered the self-fulfillment of giving and it shows'

Love, Nico & Ronel

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Lizette Parker (Johannesburg)

'Dankie vir 'n awesome tyd by Hands-On-Retreat. Wonderlike atmosfeer, heerlike kos,
vriendelike mense en die beste pedikuur! Baie dankie... Ek voel recharged'

Lizette Parker

November 2009

Very Good

Review by Patrick Sinz (Paris, France)

Delightful place and people.

November 2009

Very Good

Review by Jerome & Carol West (South Africa)

'Thank you Louis and Martina for inviting us to spend the weekend at Hands On Retreat. We have
really been blessed and Jerome and I have enjoyed the alone time together. The love-better 'homework' was a great idea. The spa treatments were an added touch of luxury - Thank you. We have enjoyed the meals, it is so good not to worry about catering for
ourselves'

Fond regards, Jerome and Carol

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Francois Le Roux (South Africa)

'So in die middel van die stad - fantasties! Ek was heel meegevoer, veral in die aand,
met die grootsheid van die bome.. Viva Jo'burg!'

Francois Le Roux

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -26.115590833333332
Longitude: 28.024940832666665

Closest airport(s)
Lanseria Airport - 20km
OR Tambo International - 40km

Children policy
Children 14 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
December 2010 - 69 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap