Cape Rose Cottage is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (52 reviews)

Cape Rose Cottage

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 8 Hoopoe Avenue, Camps Bay, 8005, Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 52 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Cape Rose Cottage in Camps Bay?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Atlantic Seaboard.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 52 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

November 2008

Excellent

Review by Lesley And Martin (Dorset, UK)

We arrived at Cape Rose Cottage after the overnight flight from London and were met with a very warm welcome from Pam. We were staying in the Lavender Suite which was absolutely beautiful. Every little detail is included in the room, which is furnished to a very high standard. The bed was one of the most comfortable we stayed in during our trip to SA and the bathroom was immaculate. The shower and bath were both great. The view from the bedroom is just as you see it on their website, an amazing uninterrupted sea view. The garden was full of beautiful native flowers and native birds. In fact this cottage was one of the best we stayed in during our 2 weeks in SA and the welcome Steve and Pam provide is second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. They even recommended somewhere to eat in Hermanus where we could enjoy seeing the whales at very close quarters. Pam and Steve both go the extra mile to make your holiday perfect. They are perfect hosts and have an idyllic home.

November 2008

Excellent

Review by Liz And Miles (Bristol, UK)

Just returned from our second visit to this stunning guesthouse in Camps Bay - private, quiet with beautiful views ...... On both occasions we stayed in the Aquamarine Suite which is modern, spacious and spotlessly clean. The room was well equipped and nicely furnished with a big bathroom and kitchenette with a well stocked fridge so you can prepare your own breakfast.

Hosts Pam and Steve are very welcoming and friendly, always ready to help out with tips on restaurants, activities, maps, directions etc. Even before our holiday they provided advice on car hire and other places to visit whilst in South Africa.

The attention to detail in the room was second to none and Pam and Steve have thought of everything you may need including gorgeous toiletries in the bathroom, a first aid kit, iron and ironing board to name just a few.

This guesthouse is in the perfect location - close to the stunning beach at Camps Bay and conveniently placed for all the nearby attractions. If you are visiting Cape Town look no further! We will definitely be returning.

November 2008

Excellent

Review by John And Karin King (Durham, UK)

My wife and I have just returned from a fortnight's holiday at Cape Rose Cottage in Camps Bay. The accommodation in the Aquamarine Suite was magnificent with every conceivable comfort and luxury and with spectacular views over the ocean. As well as our own spacious bedroom with sea facing balcony, we had the use of a very comfortable adjoining sitting room supplied with reading material and tourist literature covering the surrounding areas.

Steve and Pam are the owners of Cape Rose Cottage and a more helpful and friendly couple it would be impossible to find. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they have a fund of local knowledge, which they were very happy to share with us. At the end of our stay we felt that we were saying goodbye (or hopefully au revoir) to real friends.

On our return to England we shared our experiences with others and suffice to say that two of our friends have already booked a fortnight's holiday at Cape Rose Cottage in March 2009. What better recommendation could there be?

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Eberhard & Margit Otto (Heidelberg, Germany)

At Rose Cottage we found real paradise. A perfect place full of beauty and harmony. You are both such a nice and wonderful couple. We thank you so much and wish you all the best for a happy future!

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Flavia And Jose (Japan)

This place is just so wonderful and beautiful. Thank you for all your kindness and for preparing such a special place like Rose Cottage. We really want to come again soon.

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Tony And Diana Walters (Vancouver, Canada)

We leave Rose Cottage with a very heavy heart this morning but take with us so many happy memories of our stay here and our visit to "The Fairest Cape in all the World".

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Lesley And Martin (UK)

Rose Cottage is a real "home away from home". Thank you for such a warm and friendly welcome and such a beautiful room. It was awesome! We will be back soon.

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Debbie Richardson (Winchester, UK)

Arrived back to a rainy UK! Thank you for your tips and advice and welcoming us into your amazing home. It's a truly relaxing place - we loved every minute. Don't change a thing! We'll be back soon. Deb and Patrick

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Lee And Helen Knox (Cape Town)

Thank you so much for everything. You couldn't have been more helpful and we have really enjoyed every minute of our wonderful stay here with you. Rose Cottage is just so beautiful .....

We hope to be back soon - until then take care!

August 2008

Excellent

Review by Ulla & Graham (UK)

Thank you for the beautiful space (Aquamarine Suite) in which we spent the first two nights of our honeymoon. It is a perfect, private, beautiful home away from home.

August 2008

Excellent

Review by Becky And Adrian (Wales)

Thank you so much for the wonderful start to our honeymoon in Cape Rose Cottage - we couldn't have wished for better!! An absolutely beautiful and amazing place.

June 2008

Excellent

Review by Emma And Irene (UK)

Thank you so much we had a lovely stay in this beautiful cottage. We saw two fantastic sunsets with the magnificent views that you have. Attention to detail is just amazing.

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Kate And Julie (UK)

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. We thoroughly enjoyed staying in beautiful Rose Cottage.
Thanks for everything once again.

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Helena And Paul (Frankfurt)

We have travelled a lot in the world and have stayed in a lot of accommodations. However, Rose Cottage was an exceptional one, furnished with love to the extent of all the details. We felt extremely comfortable also because of the personal attention of you both. If possible, on our next visit to SA we will try to have the same wonderful experience again. Thanks a lot for this wonderful place!

March 2008

Excellent

Review by Stuart And Angela (Cape Town)

Thank you for a wonderful time here at Cape Rose Cottage. As you know I loved all the arty crafty bits and pieces in the Lavender Suite. I look forward to joining you at a craft fair if not teaching you to embroider! In the meantime, you have a beautiful home and thank you for sharing it with us.
Take care.

March 2008

Excellent

Review by Debbie Seckold & Dale Sherwin (Australia)

Thank you for a wonderful time and we have seen so much thanks to all of your help and advice. The Lavender Suite was magnificent, top class and very clean. Your hospitality was very kind and reassuring and even though we missed a few days with Jodie's baby - it was well worth it - a magical place. Our best wishes and grateful thanks.

March 2008

Excellent

Review by Annette And Steve (Bournmouth)

Thank you for making us so welcome. Your home is fantastic especially all the little personal touches and attention to detail is amazing.
Hope to come back soon.

February 2008

Excellent

Review by Frans & Martje (Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Dear Pam and Steve,

We really enjoyed our time in your beautiful cottage. The first two days we stayed in the green room with a lovely garden and the other days in the Aquamarine Suite which was even better especially with the terrace and the great views of the bay! After one day Frans called it already home and that's true it feels like home here!

Thanks a lot! Kind Regards, Frans & Martje

February 2008

Excellent

Review by Bam & Rita Marks (Henley-on-Thames, UK)

Pam and Steve you are perfectionists in the art of providing elegant comfort. And that view!! We had a great time.

Bam and Rita Marks

January 2008

Very Good

Review by James Mills (USA)

Dear Pam and Steve

Thank you once again for a great experience. It is simply a pleasure to stay in your beautiful guesthouse. I look forward to seeing the both of you again.

The best always
James

January 2008

Excellent

Review by Christine & Frank Astor (Germany)

Dear Pam and Steve

Our stay in Camps Bay became due to your wonderful Guesthouse an outstanding experience! The Aquamarine room helped Frank to recover from his cold and we enjoyed the love and spirit your bring to it with all the details!

Thank you and all the best to you!
Christine and Frank

January 2008

Excellent

Review by Philipp & Carolin & Bobby & Veronika (Germany)

Dear Pam and Steve

You've got the perfect place! Everything, every room seems just right the way it is. If you ever sell your jewel please give us a ring!! All the best, thanks for having us on such short notice.

Kind Regards, Philipp & Carolin and Bobby and Veronika

January 2008

Excellent

Review by Laura & Will (London, UK)

Dear Pam and Steve

We had a wonderful time in your beautiful guesthouse. Great hospitality and attention to detail, unrivalled views - a wonderful experience!

January 2008

Excellent

Review by Victor & Tors (Germany)

Dear Pam and Steve

Thank you for making us feel so welcome. The attention to EVERY detail is wonderful.

Thanks for a fabulous time.
Very best regards, Victor & Tors

January 2008

Excellent

Review by Maurizio & Nadine (Switzerland)

Dear Pam and Steve

It was a pleasure to stay at your wonderful cottage which is decorated beautifully and with lots of love. We were lucky to get the green room (Cape Rose) for our honeymoon with its beautiful garden and especially the "secret garden". All the beautiful details inspired us a lot and I'm sure that we will implement some ideas into our flat.

You are both (and also Beckham) very warm and beautiful person and you made our stay something very special. We thank you for all the good recommendations you made and hope to meet you again sometime in the future. We wish you all the best for the future and like to thank you again for the beautiful surprise you made us for our honeymoon.

Nadine and Maurizio

December 2007

Excellent

Review by Martin & Jakki (UK)

Dear Pam and Steve

What can we say .... absolutely beautiful .... everything. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality and thanks for an absolutely fantastic holiday. We will keep in touch and hopefully be back.

Martin and Jakki

November 2007

Excellent

Review by Birgit & Georg Janssen (Germany)

Dear Pam and Steve

We are just back four days and do miss South Africa already so much. Birgit and I again would like to thank you for the great stay and the great hospitality you have shown. I guess this is the place we would like to come back next time (we immediately fell in love with the Lavender Suite).

Thanks a lot again.

November 2007

Excellent

Review by Julia & Mike (UK)

Many thanks for a truly wonderful and 'special' stay at Rose Cottage. It's like a sanctuary - all your hard work and care taken into creating it has paid off. The little touches are very much appreciated. We enjoyed many trips out but in particular 'La Petite Ferme' in Franschhoek is well worth a trip. We hope to be back one day.

With thanks and love, Julia and Mike

November 2007

Excellent

Review by Helen & Matthew Woodbridge (UK)

We really enjoyed staying at Rose Cottage, the house is stunning and we are very envious that you have that view to look at every day!

Thank you for being so hospitable, it was great meeting you both. We hope to see you again soon for our next trip to South Africa.

All the very best, Helen and Matthew

October 2007

Excellent

Review by Mairtin Kelly (Ireland)

Hi Pam & Steve

Ang and I are just back to work this morning so we will be busy for a couple of days trying to get back to some normality. We absolutely loved our stay with you guys and we must admit it was the most wonderful and perfect environment to be in for our honeymoon.

October 2007

Excellent

Review by Mel & Michelle (UK)

Hi Pam and Steve

We had a good journey back although both sad to be leaving. We really did have a very special and memorable time at Rose Cottage. Thank you very much for making it possible. Mel and I certainly hope to be back again next year.

October 2007

Excellent

Review by Heather & Darren Hamilton (UK)

Dear Pam and Steve

Thank you both ever so much for our stay at Cape Rose Cottage. You've done a fantastic job with the suites and the balcony is one of the best places in the world to watch the sunset!

This is not our first visit to Cape Rose Cottage and hopefully won't be our last.

Thanks again.
Heather and Darren

October 2007

Excellent

Review by Graham & Angela (UK)

Dear Pam and Steve

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. The stay at Cape Rose Cottage was just fantastic. All your recommendations were spot on and a great help to us on our honeymoon.

Thanks Graham and Angela

September 2007

Excellent

Review by Giorgio, Rosemary & Lydia (London, UK)

Thanks for the email and a wonderful holiday. We really enjoyed your hospitality and staying in a "home away from home." Pam you have thought of everything when furnishing the suites - they are stunning, really comfortable and love the all the extra touches.

We will definitely stay with you when we return to South Africa and recommend you to friends and colleagues. Lydia said it was one of the best holidays that she has been on!

August 2007

Excellent

Review by Gerry Powell (UK)

At last I've found time to write and thank you for your wonderful hospitality during our recent stay in Rose Cottage. Despite the trauma of Gills lost case we really enjoyed our time with you and considered the location just about perfect. We were impressed with the facilities, the decor and I just loved the views from the lounge - especially the sunsets! I have attached some pictures of sunsets, rainbows and the local bird life in your garden.

When the opportunity arises we will definitely stay with you again, until then ....

February 2007

Excellent

Review by Helga & Charly (Germany)

Dear Pam and Steve, We want to thank you so much for the wonderful days we had with you in Camps Bay! Always dreaming from the beautiful view from the Lavender Suite .....

Hopefully we will come back to SA and visit you again soon!! Charly enjoyed everything so much.

January 2007

Excellent

Review by Munim Choudrey (London, UK)

Thank you for your hospitality - you have been very kind and made my stay at Cape Town very enjoyable. To sum up my South Africa trip this is what I have to say "I was enthralled and captivated", and I should visit sooner rather than later.

December 2006

Excellent

Review by Eve & Bob Selby (UK)

Dear Pam and Steve

We enjoyed our stay with you and appreciated your company very much. We would very much like to return to SA some time in the near future and there is only one place we will stay in Cape Town and I BET YOU CAN GUESS WHERE THAT WILL BE.

Take care and much love to you all.
Eve and Bob

December 2006

Excellent

Review by Chris Taylor (UK)

We had a fantastic time in South Africa, its a beautiful country. We could not have thought of anywhere better to stay than your guesthouse. You made us feel very comfortable and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I hope you both have a wonderful christmas from both of us and hopefully see you soon once again.

December 2006

Excellent

Review by Sibyl Darrington (UK)

I have been meaning to email you to say how much I enjoyed my stay with you. It was absolutely perfect and it was so lovely to meet you both.

I have been recommending Cape Rose Cottage to anybody I know visiting Cape Town.
Take care and hopefully see you when I make it out there again!

December 2006

Excellent

Review by Astrid (Germany)

Dear Pam and Steve

Your cottage is so charming, so cosy. The area and your accommodation made our holiday very special. Thank you for your kindness and the quality of service you provide to your guests. Guillaume joins me in wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

September 2006

Excellent

Review by Etienne & Graham (South Africa)

Thanx so much for a tranquil and wonderful stay at your beautiful guest house this weekend! Next time we will stay longer.

Etienne & Graham

September 2006

Excellent

Review by Richard & Vicky (UK)

Thanks again for your kind hospitality while we stayed in Camps Bay, it was fantastic to spend the last few days of our honeymoon in such a wonderful location and hopefully when we've cleared this credit card bill we may be able to return .... We may have family coming to the Cape in the new year and will certainly point them in your direction.

Richard & Vicky

February 2006

Very Good

Review by Patrick & Jennifer Mulangu (New Jersey, USA)

We just wanted to thank you for taking good care of us during our honeymoon stay at Cape Rose Cottage last December 2005. We really enjoyed the place and what we liked the most was the intimacy of the suite and of course the location.

That was really beautiful, especially in December with the morning mist above in the mountains and the ocean's view. We had a wonderful honeymoon at Rose Cottage and we really appreciate your warm hospitality.

January 2006

Excellent

Review by Niamh & Don (New York, USA)

We had such a wonderful stay at Rose Cottage, we couldn't praise it enough to Sharlene and Mark who are with you now. We do hope we get back to Camps Bay and Rose Cottage in the future.

Thank you again for everything, the personal service, help with dinner reservations and the spa, directions and suggestions. We had such a wonderful time, the happy memories will surely help us through the New York winter! Happy New Year to you both and very best wishes for the hotel business next year!!

Niamh and Don

November 2005

Excellent

Review by Shiela & Geoff Lodge (Aylesbury, UK)

Dear Pam and Steve

Hi, we have been home a few days now and would like to thank you for the lovely few days we spent with you at Cape Rose Cottage. You made us so welcome, a true "home from home." We have recommended you to a couple of people who are coming to Cape Town next year and know they will have a great time with you.

Best Wishes, Shiela and Geoff Lodge

September 2005

Excellent

Review by Jenny & Chris Duncan (UK)

We had the most wonderfully relaxing time at Rose Cottage. When Libby showed your site to me on the web I knew I would love it and I woke up every morning in my Aquamarine Room in disbelief at the beauty and peacefulness of Rose Cottage.

We loved the walks at the base of the Apostles and we have some really good photos of the view. My favourite photo of all our trip is now my screensaver - its of the beach with footprints and the mountains behind.

Jenny and Chris Duncan

July 2005

Excellent

Review by Henry Liebman & Gail Katz (United States)

Dear Steve and Pam,

Henry, Rachel, Catherine and I would like to thank you for the time we stayed at Rose Cottage. Pam you did a great job decorating the cottage. It was both comfortable and very tasteful. The view of course was simply marvellous marvellous. What could be nicer than returning home to a relaxing, well designed accommodation.

You were both such wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much to ask. We felt very comfortable and appreciative of all the help and advice you gave us from where to eat, where to go and how to get there. We could not have asked for more. We are more than happy to recommend your cottage to anyone who is fortunate enough to find themselves in Cape Town. Please do not hesitate to use us as a reference for any people thinking about renting the cottage.

With fond and happy memories ..... Henry Liebman & Gail Katz

March 2005

Very Good

Review by Samantha Wheeler (London, UK)

Hello Pam and Steve

I just wanted to send a quick email to thank you for your wonderful hospitality during our stay at Rose Cottage. It was such a lovely place to stay before our return to London. We will definitely be recommending you to our friends and family and maybe we will have the chance to return again one day.

Thanks again for making us feel so welcome.
Best Regards, Samantha Wheeler

March 2005

Excellent

Review by Helen & Peter Hetherington (Lake District, UK)

Hi Pam and Steve, Just a little note to say thank you.

We had a great stay with you and really enjoyed it, little things like the chocolates, the butterfly soap, lavender on top of the toilet roll and many other little things just made us feel really welcome.

Not forgetting your hospitality, it was really nice meeting you. But all good things come to an end, we miss the sunsets from our balcony and the views, breathtaking to say the least. So back to reality here in good old blighty, wind swept, raining, dark and cold England!!! Not that bad really but once again to you both, thank you, good luck and take care.

Regards, Helen & Peter Hetherington

January 2005

Excellent

Review by Llewellyn & Belinda Victor (Oxford, UK)

Dear Pam and Steve

We can't thank you enough for making our stay perfect in every way. Cape Rose Cottage is everything and more we were looking for in a place to stay. Your extra special touch made it into a memorable stay and we'll be sure to return and refer all our friends to you when they visit Cape Town. You are a wonderful couple and have taken such care of us. Stay forever the same. May we remain good friends for many happy years.

Fondest Regards, Llewellyn and Belinda Victor

January 2005

Excellent

Review by Mary & Dennis Welsh (Leeds, UK)

Dear Pam and Steve, Lynn and I have just come off the golf course - the temperature is 3 degrees and it's snowing! Why did we come home! We just want you to know how much we enjoyed our stay with you in Rose Cottage - you made us so welcome and we loved the beautiful rooms and fantastic views - just perfect.

We have passed your details on to a couple of friends so there could be another Yorkshire invasion next year! We all send our best wishes to you both and hope we might be seeing you again in the future.
Mary and Dennis Welsh

Tonight From
ZAR2600.00
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.966516
Longitude: 18.381067999333332

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 28km

Children policy
Children 15 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times during Low Season may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
July 2004 - 52 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap