CampsBayGlen is rated 5/5 by visitors (14 reviews)


Self Catering at 40 Rottingdean Road, Camps Bay, Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 14 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to CampsBayGlen in Camps Bay?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Atlantic Seaboard.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 14 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2011


Review by Nontobeko Msomi (Pretoria)

WOW!!!! What a wonderful place to be Campsbayglen rocks. We went for vacation with my friend and my 2 kids they just cant stop extolling about the place. It is nice to stay in a safe, clean and pretty place where the team is so friendly and very humble. Nice river barbeque, swimming pool a beautiful little island of nature. Even when the units are full we have privacy, cuase there are separete entrances each couple/ family with their own kitchen and bathroom. Definitely a home away from home. Not far from table mountain, waterfront and all lovely place. KEEP IT UP CAMPSBAYGLEN TEAM U ARE ASTOUNDING. For my HONEYMOON will be there soon, Thanks.

November 2010


Review by Dee M (Frankfurt)

Amazing gem of a place. Centrally located, yet totally quiet & beyond beautiful.
I stayed there for 2 weeks & can honestly say they were amongst the best 2 weeks of my life. If you are looking for glam, marble, blah, blah, blah forget it...But if you are looking for natural beauty in an awesome setting, book this now before anyone else does.

I stayed in The Riverside apartment, did my yoga practice, meditated, read and then when I wanted to I went off to Cape Town or down to Camps Bay for beautiful meals & sight seeing.
In a word - WOW!
Also, it has blazing Wi-Fi and a very gracious & attentive host.

August 2010


Review by Art Bar (South Carolina USA)

A great place with great people...

First of all I would like to say that Mark was an excellent host, even before we arrived he went out his way to help accommodate our needs, and while we were there he made sure that we were comfortable and well.

For those of you that are looking for a down to earth, warm and cozy experience, this is a fantastic place to stay!
We stayed in the main house, which was very ample and comfortable.
Every room has a spectacular view of the coast, we loved watching the sunset everyday, even when it was cloudy and rainy, it was a sight to be seen!
Pretty much everything you need is close by, grocery store, pharmacy, etc and within walking distance. The beautiful beaches are also a short walk away.
The unit is provided with a book, I like to think of it as an "Owner's manual" with detailed maps of the area and things to do as well as useful information about the apartment, etc.
The unit also has mostly everything you would have doubts about clearly labled which made it very user friendly.

The outside grounds are nothing short of amazing.
He has tried to keep the place as rustic as possible, differentiating itself from the other "Resort Style" places that surround Camps Bay.
In general the entire place feels more like a home, warm and comforting unlike other places that have a sterile and artificial feeling to them.
If you are the kind of person that prefers a Sandals resort like environment, this is not the place for you. However, if you are a person that enjoys nature and a more simple life style, you will absolutely fall in love with Camps Bay Glen.

Regarding the Mark's staff, we had the pleasure to meet Bulelwa, who was our house keeper and Peter, who is a former employee of Marks.
Peter is retired but must work a little on the side as a driver to make ends meet. For a reasonable price, Peter will drive you around for the day, take you grocery shopping and in general anywhere you need to go. He will wait for you; pick you up as needed etc all for a flat daily rate. If you dont rent a car, he definitely the way to go! Bulelwa is a friendly and warm person who took great care of us and straightened up after us as needed, we hardly knew she was there. Also for a reasonable price she will do your laundry (a great job too, by the way).

The only regret that we have was not being able to go hiking and exploring when Mark invited us due to medical reasons. We would have loved to see the forest and explored some of the places he offered to take us, but we hope to make up for it the next time we visit Camps Bay Glen.

If you plan to have an extended stay, as we did, it is well worth your while to contact Mark directly, he will more than likely give you a terrific unadvertised rate!

Thanks Mark!!!

July 2010


Review by Syed Saad Abdullah (Dubai)

The last thing i told Mark before me and a group of friends left was 'Mate, you need to charge more for this coz this is an absolute steal'. Sucks for those reading it but explains why this is probably the best deal in South Africa (trust me, i checked). The house is quite rustic, but has all amenities (blazing wifi too!) and has a lot of character, like its handmade over a number of years. Lots of personal touches. Great view and a very good location.

Mark is a great host, bursting with ideas for excursions for the outdoor-inclined.
For anyone planning a trip, i cannot recommend 'The Glen' highly enough, it will make your time memorable (plan at least a week as cape town has lots of things to do). Cape town is the most beautiful place I've been to (i am counting europe in this comparison) and its definitely worth another visit, guess where I'll be staying?

May 2010


Review by Helen March (London)

We stayed at Camps Bay Glen for four nights, our only regret being that we hadn't stayed for longer!
We fell in love with our studio. Felt so at home.
We both agreed we could have lived there it was so comfortable and nicely decorated!
Really lovely rustic, feel with everything you need.
The bed was the most comfortable we'd slept in of our entire six week trip around Asia and Africa!
The decking and hammock made it feel really luxurious with views of the waterfall and ocean.

Cathleen was a great help, introducing us to the studio and some local activities.
Bulewa the house keeper came in everyday and kept the studio in perfect condition for us.
Mark the owner was very accommodating on our last day, and allowed us to leave our luggage in a spare room so we could go out for the day after check out time.
We felt very safe and happy here and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
We are definitely going to come back, and I have already recommended the Glen to some of my family and customers.
Thank you again Mark and everyone.

March 2010


Review by Rosalind (London)

We were very happy with our stay and loved Camps Bay Glen. We loved the atmosphere, the wonderful views and what Mark is trying to achieve by combining affordable costs in a rustic but comfortable setting.

Also the lovely, friendly and helpful staff contributed greatly to the holiday.”

Rosalind, London GB
March 15, 2010

March 2010


Review by Paul Brown (London)

My favorite part of the day in Cape Town was coming back to CampsBayGlen, having a cup of tea (before a few glasses of wind!) and a quick dip in the pool whilst Paul wrote up his diary! My idea of heaven!

September 2009


Review by Kelly Kennedy (New York)

The pool has hammocks and swings Campsbayglen is a house divided into 3 rentals that is right in the heart of camps bay. It's a 12 minute walk to several beaches, restaurants, grocery store, etc and 20 minute walk to table mountain. 
The house itself is really nice and divided up so that each rental is very private. 
There is an amazing pool with upper and lower deck - lounge chairs, cool grill, big outdoor tables, outdoor showers, an outdoor bath and tons of hammocks made by the owner himself. the pool area is beautifully landscaped and very lush. The rentals have all the normal stuff - we rented the one bedroom (with an extra bed in the kitchen/living room. the shower and bath was good, we had our own private deck in addition to the big ones, very secure, good kitchen stuff, good linens and room heaters.

In additional to all of this, the owner is amazing. He's a gregarious guy who will do anything for his guests - he can be involved (or uninvolved) as you want. He showed us all around camps bay in his car, gave tips for hiking lion's head, told us about nearby unknown beaches and we even ended up going camping with him and his friends on the whale trail. 
He's is a real crocodile hunter type and made our cape town adventure better.

Camps bay is a posh area of cape town - most rentals are very expensive and fancy. campsbayglen is more affordable and also more down to earth - very comfortable, but no marble floors or the like. it's an amazing spot and in our year long travels around the world, this was one of our favorite places to stay.

September 2009


Review by Josh Hudson (Atlanta USA )

We stayed at Camps Bay Glen for the best part of a month and absolutely loved it.
The place is situated in Camps Bay , an amazing area of Capetown where it is safe to walk around at all times. It is approximately a 10 minute walk to the beach and restaurants.

We stayed in Studio C, which has a bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and amazing balcony. We also spent part of our time in the main house which has an amazing deck with an outdoor shower and bath. Both places were really comfortable and great value for money.

My favorite part of Camps Bay Glen was the outdoor pool with hammocks, we spent lots of time relaxing by the pool and messing around in the hammocks.
The owner (Mark) was also a great guy, he was a fantastic source of information on the surrounding area and will try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

He actually invited us on a 5 day hike along the south coast to watch whales.
I'd love to be back there right now and will hopefully go again someday.

Thanks Mark

February 2009


Review by Jette Haugaard (Denmark)

Camps Bay Glen has a fine position with Atlantic-view, and 12 min. from the City-Bowl. A house with plenty of outdoor space, and a fine pool-area. Peaceful and quiet nature with a stream. You can choose between more sites for breakfast and sundowners. You can have a hot outdoor bath looking at the sunset. A place you want to return to. My family already have booked again for next year. A wireless Internet connection "secure a link to the civilisation", and make this nature-pearl something special. But, if you are looking for slippery marble floors, and golden taps - you had better find another place. My best regards Jørgen Haugaard Copenhagen - Denmark

January 2009


Review by David Mandy (South Africa)

Hi Mark

Thank you for your cozy place in Camps Bay. Our Studio C you provided us was the tranquil perfection we were looking for. We found it a relief to have the sound of the river and numerous bird calls juxtaposed with our energised zig zag holiday fun in Cape Town and surrounding areas.

We can see that you have put a lot of effort into creating this feeling with the relaxing hammock on our private deck and the wonderful forest atmosphere you have created on the premises. We really enjoyed snuggling in our little haven of happiness as your guest house ensured a relaxed, romantic stay for us in Cape Town.

Thanks again
Dave and Tash

December 2008


Review by Juliet Rix (UK London)

Mark... I truly had a wonderful time staying there, you have a very special place with a lovely positive energy. I have come back very energized and focused on where i need to be and what I need to be doing, that was the purpose of my time out in CT and I have achieved it and I think largely to do with my choice of where to stay! So thanks again.. 
Public Guestbook Details & Comments and grading: ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!! is how I would describe Camps Bay Glen. What a beautiful tranquil retreat. A perfect place for rejuvenating and yet just a stones throw from the lively buzz that Camps Bay has to offer. Restaurants, night life, amazing beaches all just around the corner. Yet you can come “home” to your little piece of paradise. I stayed in Studio A (main house) and the views and beauty that I experienced are just breathtaking. There is a huge pool to cool off in and a Braai (Barbeque) area by the pool for your use. There is also a beautiful river & waterfall at the end of the garden, very peaceful & relaxing. Sitting on the deck and just taking in the nature & beauty is a truly unique experience. Mark is a fantastic host and the house is very well equipped and spacious. I travel frequently to Cape Town and have stayed in many places in Camps Bay and other parts but this is one place that I will most definitely visit again and would highly recommend it. If you are looking for a rustic peaceful place with an amazing atmosphere and some of the most stunning scenery you can experience in Cape Town yet with in close proximity to all attractions then CampsBayGlen is most definitely the place for you.

November 2008


Review by Andrew Farquharson (England)

Fantastic; just knowing that a couple of weeks of pure tranquility will be coming at the end of the year will make work and the London weather a lot easier to handle. I'm glad we were good guests as I really felt a connection to the place; even if I now live in about as urban a place as it's possible to live, my roots are still in the wilds of rural Scotland so I love the physical structure of Campsbayglen with basic wood everywhere and views straight to the sea.

Staying in Campsbayglen was truly a magical, tranquil experience. It felt like living almost in the forest but an easy 10 minutes walk from all the restaurants and bars of Camps Bay. Even though the Campsbayglen house is at the end of a street of architecturally amazing modern houses; it's also right on the edge of a beautiful nature reserve and once you're inside the house, it's impossible to see anything but trees and wildlife and sea from any of the windows or many wooden decks or the beautiful pool.

We stayed in the two-bed roomed Studio A which was a huge amount of space for two people but worth it to have the amazing outside deck with views to the sea and outdoor shower and bath (which were used much more often than the two indoor versions)! It's not a luxury "designer" house but our host, Mark has created a fantastically quirky and comfortable space with real character and I hope to be relaxing in perfect bliss in one of the hammocks by the pool same time next year.

Best wishes

February 2008


Review by Mark Spider (George South Africa)

Firstly, Mark is a fantastic host. No request is too big. He's there to cater for your every request. Gamps Bay Glen is a large rustic house in Camps Bay, bordering the nature reserve. The wooden deck overlooks a river, the swimming pool, natural forest and ocean. The deck also receives direct light from the sun, perfect for sundowners.

The deck also has a secret, a big outside bath tub, perfect for romantic outdoor bubble baths. The downstairs pool features bamboo shading and hammocks. It is set next to a flowing natural river which has garden access. Being on the Camps Bay / Nature Reserve is an interesting experience.
On one hand, you're facing pristine natural beauty, set underneath the majestic Twelve Apostles section of Table Mountain and above the unspoilt Oudekraal coastline. On the other hand, you're a 12 minute walk from the Camps Bay "Palm Beach, Miami-Style" promenade, with it's myriad of white beaches, great restaurants and evening events - most noted a wicked ice-cream emporium called Sinful Ice-cream Emporium.

All in all, a great stay. It's well priced and I'll go there as often as I can.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.96438
Longitude: 18.375405999333335

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 20km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
October 2008 - 14 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap