Blouberg Beach Cottage is rated 5/5 by visitors (7 reviews)

Blouberg Beach Cottage

Self Catering at 53 Stadler Road, Bloubergstrand, 7441, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 7 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Blouberg Beach Cottage in Bloubergstrand?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Blaauwberg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 7 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

April 2012


Review by C Astruc (London)

We (a family of 4 with two children aged 9 and 10) stayed here for a week in April 2012. As others have described, the cottage is very comfortable with all mod cons and is warm and cosy (important as it was cold and raining heavily on our arrival and for a couple of days afterwards). It is just as described and is very clean.

Susan is very helpful in every way and helped us book tickets for various attractions over the internet, even though we did not have a computer with us. This was much appreciated.

It is very straightforward to get into Cape Town and to explore the Cape generally. We also loved walking along the beach in Bloubergerstrand and one of the small bays was great for the children to paddle and swim in on calm days. We paricularly enjoyed walking up to Pick and Pay and back along the beach.

There are also a lot of nice restaurants nearby, which we were not expecting and the area felt very safe both day and night.

We would strongly recommend the cottage to anyone thinking of staying in Cape Town.

March 2012


Review by Liz Brown (Worcester, UK)

This cottage is exceptional. It faces the beach diagonally so you don't get the full blast of the SW winds but you get the full on view of the sea and Table Mountain from the lounge windows. It is fresh, clean, and wonderfully equipped. A home from home. Susan has thought of everything and checks each day to see if there is anything you need. She is a wonderful hostess with the most special personality. Will definitely stay here again and for longer than a week. You cannot go wrong here. Close to restaurants, shops, beautiful scenery and out of the noisy hub-bub of Cape Town city, but close enough to get to all the attractions.

April 2011


Review by Katherine Warriner (Melbourne, Australia)

The cottage was exactly as it appeared on the website, the view was amazing and the cottage is fitted out with everything you need, and more. Susan has thought of everything you could need for your stay and will help out with anything additional that you might need. The cottage is right on the beach and therre are great restaurants within easy walking distance. Will definitely be back if we are in Cape Town again. Amazing value for money - would happily recommend to anyone.

February 2010


Review by Bronwyn Jackson (East London)

If I could give Blouberg Beach Cottage a 7 * rating like they do in Dubai I would!!! This tranquil haven is honestly one of the best holiday cottages I have ever visited and stayed in. There is a warm family feel about this cottage and yet one feels like you are staying in the most luxurious resort ever. From step one, being the website, everything is represented exactly how it is even down to the candelabra in the bathroom! It is spacious, clean, homely and certainly comfortable. Susan, the owner, welcomes you with only happiness and ensures that you are 100% settled before letting you enjoy your well deserved break. Located literally right on the sand, you have unspoilt views of the sea and table mountain, no traffic, no noise but if you want the hustle and bustle you only have to travel about 1km up the road or walk along the bay to the 'local'! Value for money - absolutely! I would recommend Beach Cottage to families, couples or even singles... Really was truly a week to remember.
I will certainly be visiting again!

December 2009


Review by Annatjie Botha (Pretoria)

Blouberg Beach Cottage het seker die mooiste uitsig van Tafelberg en die strand is net 'n paar meter van jou voordeur. Alles wat jy nodig het en nog meer is beskikbaar in die cottage. Ons was baie vriendelik ontvang met ons aankoms deur Carol. Susan het gereeld ingeloer. Baie dankie vir die vonkelwyn... Ester was ook 'n ster. Sy't gesorg dat dit altyd skoon is en het ook gehelp met stryk van wasgoed. BAIE dankie! Ons sal beslis weer gaan kuier. Die seuns het dit ook vreeslik geniet, veral die DSTV in die oggende..Dit het vir hulle gevoel of hul by die huis is. Baie dankie vir alles, dit is 'n absoluut wonderlike plekkie, met die mooiste 'views" en met 'n mooi geskiedenis. Groete van ons almal!

April 2008


Review by Ilse Viljoen (Bloemfontein)

Noudat ons weer terug by die huis en al weer aan die werk is wil ons net graag vir jou dankie s vir die vier dae wat ons in die Beach Cottage kon bly. Dit is die mooiste mooiste pophuisie in die hele wreld en die uitsig ...... to die for!

Verder was ons baie bendruk deur die dekor en die toerusting tot ons beskikking, al het ons die meeste glad nie gebruik nie met die dat ons besluit het kosmaak doen mens nie op 'n girly holiday nie.

'n Spesiale woord van dank vir die Amarula met ons aankoms, dit het dit nog meer spesiaal gemaak. Ons het almal baie spesiale herinneringe aan die vakansie.

Ons het die rustigheid en stilte baie geniet, al was daar nie veel tyd vir rus nie, die Kaap het ons ongelukkig te besig gehou en het ons agterna besef dat 4 dae in die Kaap hopeloos te min is.

Ons hoop om in die toekoms terug te keer soontoe, volgende keer met ons mans om vir hulle te gaan wys wat hulle gemis het!

In kort, Die Beach Cottage en alles wat hy bied was ongetwyfeld die hoogtepunt van 'n onvergeetlike vakansie!

February 2008


Review by Nancy Cooper (London England/Des Moines, Iowa)

Blouberg Beach Cottage is EXACTLY as presented at its website. It couldn't be more charming! Your hostess, Susan, is helpful, cheerful, and welcomes you into her glorious patch of SA literally with open arms. The cottage is gloriously situated. The cottage is off the street making for car free quiet. There's a locked garage foryour car adjacent to the cottage. Many pictures of Table Mountain in guide books are taken right outside the cottage. The cottage is well appointed, squeaky clean, quiet, and affords every comfort. I doubt there's better accommodation for the price in the entire Cape Town area.

Bloubergstrand, while not a sleepy place, certainly is quite laid back when compared to other CT areas we explored. The beach walking is divine on vast, pristine, uncrowded beaches. The cottage is also well situated for those much envied day trips to Cape Point, Kirstenbosch Gardens (a MUST see), Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, the wine country, and Cape Town City Centre or a trip up the Atlantic Coast.

This was our first visit to South Africa. Three weeks in Cape Town was certainly not enough to visit every interesting corner, taste every delicious wine, or walk every glorious beach. The cottage is so cozy and delightful that days spent reading, EATING, and staring at the sea for another glimpse of a Southern Right Whale or some frolicking dolphins with the crashing waves as our constant music's hard to think we leave in a couple of days but nice to think we can someday return.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Contact: Susan Starke

Tel: +27 (0)21 554-1003
Fax: +27 (0)21 554-1003
Mobile: +27 (0)72 299-2232

Physical Address:
Blouberg Beach Cottage, 53 Stadler Road, Bloubergstrand, 7441, Cape Town, South Africa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.80005555555555
Longitude: 18.458130555555556

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 25km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h30
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
February 2004 - 7 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap