Belvedere Cottage is rated 5/5 by visitors (15 reviews)

Belvedere Cottage

Self Catering at 15 Edward Street, Richmond Hill, Port Elizabeth, 6001, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 15 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Belvedere Cottage in Richmond Hill?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Port Elizabeth.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 15 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

August 2013


Review by Richard Murray (Stoke-on-Trent,UK)

Excellent accommodation. Arrived early in the morning (8am) on an overnight bus and went straight on a tour of Addo with Mosaic Tours, but left our bags with the owner (Roy) of Belvedere as the previous guests were still in the room. On our early evening return we checked in for our one night stay.

Entrance was through your own remote control door garage, in which a secure door led to the lounge/kitchen room. This leads to the very nice bedroom with access to a nice bathroom via what appears to be one pair of the doors of a fitted wardrobe. There was also a private terrace, that unfortunately we didn't get to use as there was quite a storm on the night we were there. Overall this was more like a very spacious one bedroom apartment.

Although there was no breakfast included, there was a small kitchen available with a microwave and toaster and there is a shop two minutes walk down the road. Wine could also be ordered to be waiting for you on your arrival.

This accommodation was in nice residential type area, five minute walk to a few nice restaurants.

We didn't get to see much of the owner as we were only in Port Elizabeth for one night, he was very friendly and even drove us to the nearby restaurants and gave us a run down each of them. free wifi, we struggled to get much joy with this, but I think this may have been due to the heavy storms on the evening we were there.

March 2013


Review by Sarah Archibald (London,UK)

We spent 2 nights at Belvedere Mews. Roy met us outside the cottage and settled us in - he could not have been more friendly and helpful. He was very knowledgeable about the area, he recommended a restaurant for dinner which was among the top food and wine we had on our 2 week South Africa trip, and he recommended a Game reserve where we had a fantastic day. He also spent time with us helping us to plan the rest of our trip after we left PE and gave us some brilliant tips! The cottage itself was well located for PE and was quiet and peaceful, clean and spacious. I would definitely recommend staying here.

February 2013


Review by Kyle & Nicky (Kensington Gardens, UK)

What a WINNER!!
Belvedere Cottages is a lovely place, it surpassed expectations. We had a very relaxed stay and Roy so helpful in making extra arrangements for our trip. The decor is fab with lots of quirky touches and the location excellent, just a short walk from excellent restaurants. Breakfast at nearby Vovo Telo was perfect and all the staff really helpful. Well tended garden. Want to go back already!

June 2011


Review by Lerato (East London)

Traveling with kids and finding suitable accommodation is always a daunting task. We were fortunate enough to find Roy's Belvedere establishment and it was what dreams are made of. The place is as child proof as they come! With a cold front that hit over the weekend, we were kept warm with heaters in both rooms and electric blankets on every bed. It was impeccably clean, inviting, has ability to host small business meetings undisturbed with the entire family in the house, wonderful garden and entertainment area-the works! We'll definitely be back.

April 2011


Review by Gary & Amanda Searle (Kensington, UK)

My partner and I selected Belvedere Cottagel as the perfect place to make our entry into So. Africa for a holiday. It was the perfect setting for us to unwind after a long journey, take in all of the great sourroundings as we were rejuvinated, and then begin to explore the Eastern Cape and then Garden Route onto Cape Town and eventually the winelands and then safari.

March 2011


Review by Karien Labuschagne (Onderstepoort Veterinere Instituut, Pretoria)

Baie lekker gebly, dankie!

March 2011


Review by Vuyani & Kwanele Njongwe (Umlazi, Durban)

Excellent service, home feeling, should be 5 star!

September 2010


Review by Benjamin Dadon (Cape Town)

Thank you Roy for sharing with us your little piece of paradise.
The Belvedere Cottages totally surpassed any and all expectations.

From the beautifully decorated cottage to the amazing garden in the back (with Koi pond), it felt like we were in a different place and time!

The cottage boasted all the most luxurious finishes and we felt spoilt our entire stay.

The rates were extremely affordable for what we received and by the end of our stay we were very upset to have to leave.

Thank you for making our stay so incredible and we hope we will have the pleasure of enjoying your accommodation and hospitality again soon.

September 2010


Review by Colleen & Clive Noble (Redford House, The Grags, Plettenberg Bay )

We certainly hit the jackpot finding Belvedere Cottages. Many thanks

June 2010


Review by Nick Orenstein, Andy Goldstein, Andy Bette (Texas)

Beautiful home. Thank you for your hospitality during the World Cup

May 2009


Review by Richard Geogardi (Berlin)

Dear Roy,

Allesandro and myself would like to thank you for your warm hospitality during out stay. We will definately see you on our next trip to SA.

Warm Regards,

April 2009


Review by Jean Du Rand (Knysna)

Roy & Staff,

A big thank you for your consistant hospitality and proffessional service. Jean du Rand & Associates will continue to support your establishment as we find it very centrally situated for our business activities.

Keep up the good work.
Kind Regards,

April 2009


Review by Lindi Van Tonder (Durban)

Dear Roy,

Thank you for your hospitality. What a clean and fresh and secure cottage. Great service and assistance with booking of restaurants and our trip to the Addo Elephant Park. Our thanks to Evelyn for looking after us so well. See you again soon. Kind Regards, Rob and Lindi Van Tonder

April 2008


Review by William Millar (Capetown)

Dear Roy,
Belvedere Cottage is the best kept secret in Port Elizabeth. We enjoyed every moment of our stay.
We highly recommend Belvedere Cottage.
William & Antoinette

April 2008


Review by Mary-Lew Lexington (Washington)

Dear Roy,
What a surprise to find such a beautifully decorated and tranquil cottage in a city. Well mainted and thoroughly clean cottage gave us a wonderfully relaxing stay. Thankyou for the very warm welcome and being on hand to advise us on what to see, restaurants etc.
Warm Regards,

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.95914777777778
Longitude: 25.613749722222224

Closest airport(s)
Port Elizabeth Airport - 7.5km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on
August 2009 - 15 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap