The Beach House Britannia Bay is rated 5/5 by visitors (27 reviews)

The Beach House Britannia Bay

Self Catering at 11 Steenbrasbaai Street, Britannia Bay, Cape West Coast, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 27 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to The Beach House Britannia Bay in Britannia Bay?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape West Coast.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 27 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

May 2016

Very Good

Review by Jenny Wright (Johannesburg)

Beautiful positon, well appointed. condusive to large family gatherings and fun

March 2016


Review by Vanessa (Cape Town)

We spent a fantastic long weekend at the Beach House - amazing beach access and beautiful house with all the creature comforts we could wish for. The houseman Chris was also a great help and made us feel very welcome and well looked after. We hope to be back soon!

March 2016


Review by Gabrielle Weinstein (Cape Town)

Fantastic house, perfect location and exceptional service. Would go back in a heartbeat!

January 2016


Review by Lisa S (Cape Town )

What an awesome house with direct access to the beach. Beautifully decorated with lots
of extras to make it easy to self cater. We enjoyed perfect mornings on the beach, canoed next to dolphins, body boarded with seals, relaxed by the pool in afternoons when wind picked up and saw many gorgeous sunsets. Left feeling so relaxed. Also big thanks to friendly Chris for the help.

December 2015


Review by Gemma Barnett (London)

We had a wonderful trip to The Beach House and cannot wait to find a reason to return. The house was so beautifully considered and comfortable - the little touches of hand made soaps, high quality linens and the very well stocked kitchen that made self catering fun!

Coming from winter in London the most memorable thing was the huge sky and wonderful view from the terrace. Although there were other houses nearby we hardly saw anyone and felt as if we were on a desert island with the whole beach to ourselves. We are still recovering from seeing so many dolphins and the chance to swim with seals. We didn't even feel the cold water it was so exciting.

April 2015


Review by Pam Howie (Cape Town)

Our family had a memorable weekend at The Beach House. The house is ideally designed, comfortable and so well equipped, in a magnificent setting. Every detail has been thought of for relaxed, holiday living. Chris added real luxury to the experience as he washed dishes and cleaned up - he is such an asset to the house.

March 2015


Review by Maryna Strachan (Cape Town)

The Beach House is a stunning seaside retreat. Beautiful bedrooms that are comfortable, plenty of space to relax, both indoors and outdoors and all of the mod cons one could wish for. If relaxing by the seaside is your requirement, then The Beach House ticks every single box.

February 2015


Review by Susan (United Kingdom)

Wonderfull stay, excellent location, beautiful home, incredible time. Thank you so much.

February 2015


Review by Christina Randell (Somerset West)

We had such a great time at your fabulous Beach House. It is the perfect getaway. The openness of the well designed light-filled house immediately put us at ease and enabled us to relax and enjoy the ambience of the amazing and ever changing beach and sea-scapes. You have here the perfect combination for a truly memorable holiday: house designed for comfort and relaxation + magnificent setting + friendly, helpful Chris who provides the right balance of support and distance. Thank you for making available this truly amazing place.

February 2015


Review by Gina Forssman (Johannesburg)

My entire family recently rented the Beach House for the weekend and we had the most incredible time. The décor and layout are beyond gorgeous and the mood and vibe is one of complete and utter relaxation.

The house is designed is such a way that you can always escape the wind (not that we had any) and still have incredible views. There are wonderful places to lie and read books, play games etc and still be part of the main house and kitchen.

Truly a unique experience enhanced by the setting sun every night over the sea and Chris the houseman who is such a gem.

Thank you for an unforgettable experience.

May 2014


Review by Sandy Geffen (Cape Town)

Here is my feedback to Caroline Maritz to thank you for my magnificent stay at the Beach House. It was just perfect and we loved every single minute. Nice and clean, fresh and in a perfect position on the beach. I will be back.
All my love Sandy Geffen

April 2014


Review by Dave (Cape Town)

We brought some visitors from the US to The Beach House for the last leg on their SA trip and had the most amazing few days this April! It was definitely one of the highlights! The house is stunning and extremely comfortable in every way, and the setting and view are magnificent! We were very spoilt by Chris, the house manager, and had a really wonderful, relaxed and fun time! Big thanks to you all for creating and sharing such a beautiful experience!

March 2014


Review by Elena (Cape Town)

Despite the chilly weather, we had a lovely weekend at the beach house. The house is gorgeous and we enjoyed our time there thoroughly. Dolphins swam by every morning as we drank our home-brewed cappuccinos. And dinners were long and relaxed, with no dishes to clean up afterward!

March 2014


Review by Rian (Cape Town Via Seattle)

Book in advance because the word is out! This is one of the top homes to rent in South Africa. Not only is the beauty of the ocean at your door step and the interior decor beyond your expectation you will also have Chris the house manager making your stay comfortable and relaxing. I would highly recommend this sought-after vacation home to any international traveler to complete their Cape Town experience.

February 2014


Review by DeWet Family (Durbanville)

A week's holiday in Britannia Bay? West Coast, freezing water, with 3 students-boys and a teenage daughter? Not a good idea

How wrong I was! It turned out to be a fabulous holiday. The ideal setting of Manie and Caroline's house on the beachfront at Britannia Bay was perfect. The energetic four youngsters enthusiastically indulged in a variety of activities. They braved the cold water in wet suits, rowed out to sea in the kayak, cajoled on the long stretch of sandy beach and were even thrilled when the wind came up so that they could go kite surfing.

Afternoons were enjoyably spent in and around the 'indoors' swimming pool or reading and relaxing on the many comfortable couches in the living areas, the T.V. room or on the deck, or just enjoying the panoramic view and glorious sunsets.

Together quality family time was spent around the long wooden table in the kitchen/living area enjoying scrumptious meals, endless cups of coffee brewed by Chris and playing challenging games till late at night.

Chris was a winner! He is a well-trained, polite Butler/House Manager.

The week passed far too quickly leaving us with very happy memories of a most enjoyable holiday spent at "the Beach House" in Britannia Bay.

December 2013


Review by Denise (Johannesburg)

The beach house stay was incredible, the most amazing views, sunsets and beaches you could find in SA right at the end of your own boardwalk directly onto the beach. Chris the house manager is so polite and makes the most wonderful coffee, best way to start each day was with a coffee on the deck! Thank you to the Maritz family for making this little corner of heaven available to us, your home is beautiful!

August 2013


Review by Beth (London)

We cannot come to South Africa without spending time at this amazing house every year. To walk out of your bedroom straight onto the most incredible beach is beyond anyone's wildest dreams, what a way to wake up every day. Even in winter the days are warm and sunny, and we watched perfect sunsets every evening from the deck. Surfing right on the doorstep, life really does not get better than this.

May 2013


Review by Judd Francis (Cape Town)

We arrived in the middle of the night after work from Cape Town and were welcomed to a blazing fire place in the most amazing space. We woke up in the morning to find ourselves right on the beach, basically in Heaven!! I can recommend The Beach House to absolutely anyone and everyone, Caroline and Marnie have built something special and we definitely be back...and the coffee is just as good!!!

April 2013


Review by Ivan (Stellenbosch)

A beautiful, well appointed beach house - simultaneously luxurious and casual. Miles of pristine beach at your doorstep. Absolutely enchanting.

April 2013


Review by Robin Brown (Cape Town)

A large group of my family visited from the UK and we spent 4 days in The Beach House.
For everyone, it was the best part of the holiday.
The Beach House has every mod-con you would need, and whilst there we saw dolphins every morning, a couple of seals on the beach, and the sunsets are incredible.
We found the best part of staying at the Beach House was Chris - who was always available, made great cappuccinos and put lanterns leading out to the beach at night; a great touch.
My favourite place in the Western Cape. Just Awesome.

April 2013


Review by S Van Heeren (Franschhoek)

The Beach House has become one of our favourite weekend beach 'getaways'! Everything one could wish for is available. From the pristine beach to the fantastic coffee, it's the perfect luxury beach escape, and we're looking forward to coming back!

February 2013


Review by Denise (London)

A stay at the Beach House is an unforgettable experience. Whether to explore the magnificent surrounds or simply relax by the pool or on the beach, there is never a dull moment. You couldn't be closer to the beach and the sound of gently crashing waves is so calming. It has the perfect balance of luxury and rustic. One of my favourite spots in the world, it has a special aura and is very good for the soul. I can't wait to go back each time I visit SA. Well done to the owners for getting it spot on and Chris is a gem - hard working so house is always pristine, yet invisible when he needs to be.

December 2012


Review by Kim (Johannesburg)

This is THE House!!!!. A comfortable home with every comfort taken care of and every modern amenity at your fingertips, inspired by a family for families. Perfect location, exquisite views, Chris the houseman aims to please. We will most definitely go back!

August 2012


Review by Janet Vogelpoel (Cape Town)

What can i say! We love this house! we have been back on 4 occasions.
Chris is a gem, the house is well appointed and who wouldn't love going to sleep to the sound of waves.
Waking up to coffee on the verandah overlooking the beach or lounging around the pool with a good mag and a glass of something cold and pink! oh yes and walkies on the beach and surfing for the more active!.

March 2012


Review by Jadee Fernandes (Seapoint, Cape Town, Western Cape)

Firstly we must say a very big thank you to all involved at The Beach House to make it a stay we will never forget, unbelievable memories were made that we will forever cherish.

We travel up the West Coast every few months and always rent homes along the beachfront, but this time we were looking for not only a home bigger enough for all of us but also an extra special getaway to celebrate our grans 80th birthday.

We were a family of 10 adults and 3 children and we were all so happy we chose the most perfect location, with more than enough space and hot water for everyone:)

On arrival Chris is so welcoming and really goes out of his way to make your holiday all that more pleasant, we are quite used to washing dishes & cleaning up but this magically got done after every meal, which was something we rather enjoyed and which you don't often get when renting a self catering home on the west coast.

The home is perfectly built for all types of weather, on the first day we all sat together in the relaxation lounge area and this is were we spent our days happily reading and looking out for the dolphins.
The indoor pool, snooker table and trampoline were all a hit with the young at heart.
And when it was time for the rugby all the men filed into the TV room while the ladies lazed out on the deck and beach only a few meters from the house.
When the sun began to set, Chris appeared with lanterns in hand and got the fireplace ready for our evenings dinner. At night we lay watching the stars from our bed and listening to the waves crashing.

The Beach house really epitomises the word luxury and yet somehow encompasses all the elements of a beach house which you would expect and more.

We really can't wait to return.

Thank you again to the best Beach House we have ever stayed in.

August 2011


Review by Georgia Letschert (Cape Town)

It's hard to find a rental house that ticks all the boxes, and this one does... close to Cape Town, right on the beach, with a swimming pool sheltered from the West Coast afternoon wind, beautifully styled, and big enough for a gang. We loved the Beach House and would definitely recommend a stay.

February 2010


Review by Zoe Nieuwstadt (Cape Town)

The best weekend away!

We treated our family to a weekend at The Beach House and the memories we had there we can cherish forever! This beautifully designed and decorated modern beach house has everything to make your stay unforgettable. The views from the house are amazing as its right on the beach!

The beach is great for leisurely long walks, kite surfing and surfing!

Chris who makes the stay even more relaxing, whips up the best cappuccinos and there is no need to tidy up or worry about the dishes as its all taken care of.

We had a fantastic time away and we will definitely be returning in the near future!

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -32.71201388888889
Longitude: 17.964533333333332

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 169km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
May 2013 - 27 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap