Barleywood Cottage is rated 5/5 by visitors (19 reviews)

Barleywood Cottage

Self Catering at 5 Surcingle Avenue, Hout Bay, 7806, Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 19 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Barleywood Cottage in Hout Bay?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Atlantic Seaboard.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 19 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

February 2016


Review by Barbara Warren (Norwich )

We have just spent another holiday in the delightful Barleywood Cottage. Brenda and Tony are super hosts so helpful with everything. The cottage is extremely well equipped and a welcome pack is provided
The garden and pool are very well kept and peaceful. We cannot wait to go back next year

November 2015


Review by Jan Oosthuizen (England)

Stayed in a lot of places in ZA, this is the best, trust me on this. Brenda and Tony are the best hosts we have ever had. Can not do enough for us. Very private and secluded location, we won't go anywhere else in Houtbay. Fantastic cottage and service. Brenda spent hours taking my wife to the doctors. Absolute safe parking for our rental car.

April 2015


Review by Sydney Hayes (Durban)

Fantastic location with great hosts and everything one could need or want. Thank you for your hospitality, much appreciated. Will definitely see you again in the future.

January 2015


Review by Tony And Christine Perrin (Crewkerne)

We stayed for 5 weeks and have booked the same 5 weeks next year. The property is well situated and equipped. Brenda and Tony are excellent hosts and are prepared to go the extra mile to ensure your needs are met.

December 2014


Review by Margaret Price (Brisbane, Australia)

Brenda is the most welcoming host, couldn't do enough for us. Loved the cottage, so private and peaceful. Would recommend the cottage to anyone and Hout Bay is a great area away from the hustle and bustle.
Added bonus was the resident squirrel. Thanks Brenda for a great stay.

October 2014

Very Good

Review by Family Mollee (AMSTERDAM)

We stayed with our two children(12 and 14) in this lovely cottage only for five nights, but it feld like home. After a warm welcome from Brenda and Tony, we relaxed in the beautiful garden with lots of butterflies and birds. The cottage is an exellent place to stay when you want to discover the western cape area.
Thank you Brend, Tony en Verena for this wonderful stay.

March 2013


Review by Lori And Ron Stringfellow (Cape Town)

Barleywood Cottage is a rare treat and our very long stay was a true test of quality and consistency to which very few places can lay claim. My husband and I were unusual guests in that we needed a nice place to stay for an extended period while waiting for our house to be built. Due to the time of year, (post-peak season) we were lucky enough to come across this holiday gem – not only did we find a place to stay but we experienced a few months of holiday-like bliss.

It is a wonderful cottage offering peace, comfort and refuge. Tony and Brenda are exceptional hosts and were unbelievably helpful during our long stay during which nothing was too much trouble. Even though we weren’t typical holiday guests they made us feel like we were. They often went way beyond the call of duty to cater for our needs. The cottage itself is set in an oasis-like garden which surrounds a beautiful swimming pool. Birds and squirrels abound in this magical haven. I miss it still - suffice it to say I could not recommend this holiday cottage more highly.

January 2013


Review by Kennedy (Dublin)

Just back from a six week stay at Barleywood cottage with Brenda & Tony who from the moment we arrived made us feel at home .Cottage was so spacious and comfortable . Location great for Hout Bay beach and golf clubs Thanks Brenda & Tony . We have booked for our return visit next Jan .Dermot & Helen Kennedy

December 2012


Review by Laura (Kampala)

We had a wonderful stay in Hout Bay for four days. Brenda and Tony were wonderful and the cottage was very quiet and relaxing.

July 2012


Review by Belinda Hiles (Port Elizabeth)

We were welcomed by Brenda and Tony on a very cold Friday evening. What was even more memorable was the warm and welcoming, spacious cottage. Brenda had put on the heaters in all the rooms and this made us feel at home immediately. On asking Brenda what I should bring, she replied “Only your clothing” and this was true -absolutely everything else was supplied, even filter coffee!!! The cottage is ideally situated in Hout Bay. We have already started planning our next holiday back to Cape Town. Thank you Brenda and Tony for a wonderful stay.

May 2011


Review by Stephan McGuire (Pacific Palisades)

This was my 4th stay in Cape Town, and what made this visit so wonderful was staying at Barleywood Cottage. Tony and Brenda are absolutely consummate hosts and just simply the most wonderful people one could ever come across. The cottage is modern, relaxing, clean, spacious and the Hout Bay neighborhood is gorgeous. I enjoyed my almost five months staying there this year, was very well looked after, and hope to come back soon and stay there soon. The only difficulty was in leaving; Barleywood Cottage is a VERY special place!

February 2011

Very Good

Review by Quin Warmerdam (The Netherlands)

What a lovely and delightful place to be.We felt so happy.Everything was alright.Brenda and Tony did everything to give us a good and welcome feelings.They are really friendly with great hospitality.
Indeed :home from home.
One thing is clear:we have to return.

February 2011


Review by Harriet And Matthew Eagle (Oxford, UK)

Thank you Brenda and Tony for a wonderful welcome and a very happy 4 day break. Your cottage was ideally situated for meeting up with family in Hout Bay, and provided us with a very comfortable, clean, and perfect retreat. Our girls especially enjoyed the pool which was a secluded and exotic little oasis. It was ideal and I am sure we will return.

January 2011


Review by Clair Boluski (London)

All previous reviews say it loud and clear. A first visit for me but I hope it won't be the last. Brenda and Tony are delightful, thoughtful people who go out of their way to try and make sure you have a lovely time - on top of the scenery, weather and marvellous accommodation, they succeeded. One of my best holidays - ever.

January 2011


Review by Helena Paterson (Truro, Cornwall, UK.)

Excellent facilities, wonderful hospitality, stunning location above Hout Bay. A dream holiday for people seeking a peaceful and relaxing holiday, but close to the local shops and the beautiful harbour of Hout Bay - an historic setting full of fascinating shops and restaurants. Already planning another visit.

February 2010


Review by Mike Denew And Wendy James (Leicester, UK)

Had a second, wonderful 7 week stay in this beautiful cottage. The perfect home from home holiday!! We will be back again! Mike and Wendy

December 2009


Review by Paul And Wendy Fincham (Suffolk, UK)

Had such a lovely, relaxing Christmas in the warm sunshine and beautiful cottage and pool.
Have already booked again for Christmas 2010!!

October 2009


Review by Alan And Marion Butcher (Suffolk England)

We have stayed at this delightful accommodation 9 times over a period of years. Surely this says it all!
The cottage is in a perfect spot and the friendly, hospitality of the owners is second to none. Hout Bay is beautiful and the general atmosphere is relaxing and friendly wherever you choose to visit in the Cape area.

December 2005


Review by Julia And Richard Clarke (Barton Mills, UK)

A lovely, peaceful, welcoming corner of the beautiful Cape - we've had several wonderful holidays at Barlywood Cottage over the last ten years or so...

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Contact: Brenda Gedrych

Tel: +27 (0)21 790-3069
Fax: +27 (0)21 790-3069
Mobile: +27 (0)82 337-4989

Physical Address:
Barleywood Cottage, 5 Surcingle Avenue, Hout Bay, 7806, Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town, South Africa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.018606999333336
Longitude: 18.360515

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 25km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome, parents to please note that the swimming pool is unfenced.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged should no other guests be checking-in/out, please enquire.

Listed on
November 2010 - 19 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap