Avon Road Guest House is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (42 reviews)

Avon Road Guest House

Guest House at 53 Avon Road, Witkoppie Ridge, Impala Park, Boksburg, 1459, Gauteng, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 42 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Avon Road Guest House in Boksburg?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to East Rand.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 42 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

March 2015

Excellent

Review by Roy And Kathleen (Utah, America)

If you are looking for friendly hospitality, this is the place. One feels like they are staying in their own home with excellent personally prepared meals. WE were especially appreciative to be picked up at the airport and delivered back the next morning. Very timely and very helpful. Good people to know with delightful conversation. Definitely would stay there again!

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Dr. J. (Annandale VA USA)

Avon Road Guest House is one in a million. You can find well-appointed rooms, scrupulous clean, and wonderful food, but only Avon Road Guest House has Clive and Christine--two of the nicest people you would ever hope to meet. Between the pub, pool, and garden there are enough places to socialize or get lost if you want. After 188 countries, I can say without a doubt that this is one of the greatest guesthouse experiences you can have. Don't miss it!

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Jackie Tan (London UK)

Can't rate this highly enough. Spotlessly clean throughout, beautiful garden to relax in and lovely hosts who go out of heir way to make their guests feel welcome.
Thank you Christine and Clive for a wonderful week.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Reinhild Haimbl (St. Julien, FRANCE)

Avon Guesthouse, very well located near O.R Tambo International Airport, is a small and intimate place in elegant surroundings for a short stopover between two flights or a longer stay. The rooms are welcoming with cozy decorations and spotlessly clean! The warm hospitality of the owners and the “epitomizing” service excellence is the Guesthouses Trademark! Guests are also invited to relax and unwind at the swimming pool, or enjoy the welcoming atmosphere of the bar, savoring a cool drink and play with the two “sporty” dogs!

I truly enjoyed the personal service and genuine warmth from the hosts!
My heartfelt thanks to both of you, I'm looking forward to stay again with you !

July 2012

Excellent

Review by Betsie Stander (Empangeni)

Avon Road Guest house - Clive and Christine don't just run a guest house, they welcome you into their home! It is like home away from home!! Where in South Africa do you still get a "honesty" bar? I enjoyed my stay with them so very much. We even got an invitation to have a drink on the house to celebrate Christmas in July!! Irish Christmas!! What a feast that was! The young guests refer to them as "mom" and "dad" that is the perfect description for them. Well done Clive and Christine.

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Sara (Montreal)

We had a wonderful stay at Avon Road Guest House. Christine and Clive's hospitality was the perfect touch to end our trip in South Africa. They will make you feel welcomed and at home. Whether in the garden or by the fire, this little haven is perfect to relax and enjoy your trip.

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Staff Of Grantleigh College (Kwambonambi)

A quiet oasis in Johannesburg. A very comfortable guesthouse set in beautiful gardens with very hospitable hosts. Thank you for a very happy stay and delicious suppers.

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Andrew (Bristol, UK)

I have been a regular visitor to the Avon Road guesthouse over the last few years whilst making numerous business visits to Johannesburg from the UK. Chris and Clive provide a extremely good service and are always flexible to meet visitors needs. The rooms are of a very good standard and the breakfast always set me up for my day's work. I would definitely recommend the guesthouse for anyone looking for accommodation near the airport. Thank you Chris and Clive.

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Shaun & Sally Madgwick, Zambia (Zambia)

Christine and Clive - thank you so much for looking after us and all your advice on where to find what. Avon Road is definately the place to stay in Joburg, so convenient for shopping, farm shopping, restaurants and the airport. We will definately be back.

January 2012

Excellent

Review by NOLEEN/VIRGIL (Johannesburg)

Was greeted with a warm and inviting welcome of smiles both from Christine and Clive.I was really touched by their service cos i myself am also in the service industry and i felt their presence as a genuine hospital one and i would recommend anyone to use Avon Road guesthouse as a place to stay,doesnt matter if you local or international,just try it out.Thanks guys and im looking forward on my next visit...and you make us South Africans proud!

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Kathleen & Pat (Galway Ireland)

Clive & Christine welcomed us into their wondeful home with fantastic attention to detail. They collected and transported us everywhere we wanted to go, they provided 5Star meals and hospitality late into the night in their wonderful pool side bar. We laughted and taled about everything so that our holiday there was all the more meaningful. We were sad to leave but did return on our was back where they stored our luggage and made us a welcome meal. Nobody I know of has made us feel so athome on our travels ever. You know we come from the country of 'Welcomes' and I hope one day Clive and Christine may visit us and we will return the warm welcome, hospitality, generosity of spirit and wonderful individually styled comfortable rooms.

November 2011

Excellent

Review by Delight (Kumasi)

Not for once did I feel like a visitor in Avonroad guest house as it was my first time visiting South Africa all because of the hospitality Christine and Clive gave me through out my one week stay. I really felt like I was part of the family not even missing home not forgetting their meals mmmmmmm....... yammy!!!!!! I actually gained 2 more KG within a week so you can imagine how nutritious and delicious the meals were. I will love to be there again and again and again. Thank you Christine and Clive and expert me soon.

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Melinda Grant (Arusha, Tanzania)

Clive and Christine don't just run a guest house, they welcome you into their home! Avon Road is without doubt THE place to stay in Joburg. Thanks so much and see you again soon!

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Lauren Boy (Port Elizabeth)

My stay with Clive and Christine made me feel like I was at a home away from home! The accommodation was lovely and I really felt welcome. The breakfasts were great and I felt very safe - especially for someone who hadn't stayed much in Joburg before.

There are great restaurants close by and the airport is quick to get to even in traffic. I spent two weeks at the guesthouse and enjoyed my entire stay! Thanks for the genuine hospitality!

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Cathryn Gunn (PE)

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Avon Road Guest House. Clive and Christine made me feel truly welcome and at home!

The Guest house is close to the airport, many lovely restaurants and shopping centres.

Thanks again for a the great hospitality!!!

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Halkeno Tura (Mozambique, Beira)

Kristine and Clive,
Thank you so much for your wonderful service to us!

Reviewers,
It was in the middle of looking for good place to stay that my two fellow friends and I found Avon road guesthouse. I could say many good things about this guest house but one thing I cannot wait to mention is that we all have been fascinated by the servant-hood spirit of Kristine and Clive-wanting to serve us in any thing we needed and more. Along with great hospitality, the landscaped garden with sparkling pool refreshed our mind. One thing we liked most is that the neatness and quality of the rooms, the neatness of the compound and of course great food with mother-touch and amazing service. We all felt at home! The nearby big shopping mall has all what we needed and that this amazing! Using the shuttle service, we felt just like using our own cars. I encourage anyone who wanted to stay nearby airport to make Avon guesthouse your first choice

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Eckardt Steib (GERMANY)

Hello Christine and Cliffe
I am well arrived at home in Germany, sorry that I did not find the time to inform you sooner, as you know I am only 4 weeks at home and have lots of things to arrange before my next project in Namibia, now I would like to say a big big thank you again for your most excellent clean comfortable Guest House and thank you again for the always excellent service and friendliness you gave me and everything you did for me in the 8 months I stayed with you, I will never forget the time with both of you. I have now been busy for some hours on the Namibian project which I am sure will give me a lot of stress during my time there. I will ensure to sometimes to send you an email to keep in touch until next in Joburg.
Kindest regards Eckardt

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Julio Bobadilla (Amherst, Canada)

Just returned from South Africa. A group of 8 stayed for 2 days at Christine and Clive. Were picked up at the Airport on time. Rooms were very clean. But what really made the difference was the hosts. Christine and Clive made sure we felt like we were home. Will come back to stay there with no hesitation.

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Geert And Leny Tent (Woubrugge)

We stayed in Avon Road guesthouse for a few days in februari as well in march. The rooms were wondefull and Clive and Christine make us feel at home. We also enjoyed our trip with Clive to Pretoria. We will be recomended this gueshouse to you all. There service is outstanding. Thank you Christine and Clive. We hope we will see you again in future.

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Ian & Ava Hancock (Sydney, Australia)

My brother and I stayed only one night at Avon Rd and we cannot recommend this guest house enough. We stayed in Joberg waiting for an airport transfer and Christine and Clive made it seem like we were right at home with delicious meals and lovely rooms. We felt completely safe during our stay and will recommend Avon Rd to all our friends travelling in South Africa!

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Trevor & Margaret Coventry (Durban)

Hello Christine and Clive
Just a quick note to say a very big thank you for our lovely stay at your Guest House and thank you for making us feel so welcome and going that extra mile. the room was fantastic as were the breakfasts, they kept us going for the day, we will definately be staying with you on our next trip to Joburg. The GAUTRAIN was fantasitic, it took us 11 minutes, we walked our feet off at Sandton City and Mandela Square then got the GAUTRAIN back to OR Tambo International Airport. Regards Trevor & Margaret

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Peter U. Evelin Cramer (Deutschland)

Liebe Christine, lieber Clive,

unser Aufenthalt in eurem Gästehaus war wunderschön. Vom Frühstück (auch Clive´s Bemühungen waren guuuut!!!) über Zimmer bis zu den vielen tollen Ausflugstips, sowie abendlichen Sundowner war alles wirklich bestens. Viele Grüsse auch an die treuen Hundeseelen Shorty und Sparky auch ganz besonders von unseren Kids Anni und Benni. Wir kommen sehr gerne als Freunde wieder zurück.

Evi & Peter

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Debra Henderson (Lubbock, Tx, USA)

The Guest house and ammenities are marvelous but the thing that makes Avon Road and our stay in Joburge so nice were the Host and Hostest! They were truly hospitable and welcoming. The went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We highly recommend staying with them!!! Blessings deb and rich Henderson from Texas

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Kenneth Hannah (Workington, England)

Lovely place, great attention to detail. Chris & Clive are fantastic hosts. Would wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation. I look forward to staying again on my next trip to South Africa. Many thanks and regards. Ken

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Steven Bratton (Hertfordshire, UK)

This is my 9th stay at the Avon Road Guest House and the welcome is always very friendly. The accommodation is clean, tidy, comfortable and relaxed, with direct access to the individual rooms.
A great place to relax by the pool after a hard day at work. Christine's cooked breakfasts are very tasty and set me up well for the day.
The guest house is situated in a quiet neighbourhood with convenient access to the airport and other areas around Jo'burg.

By far the best guest house I've stayed in. Steven

July 2010

Excellent

Review by WA (Montreal )

My daughter and I stayed at the Avon Guest House during the FIFA World Cup. The house was indeed a home away from home. We had a large room, with two beds, a washroom, and a shower. The breakfast was plenty and healthy. Christine was an excellent host. She picked us at the airport, drove us to the Soccer City stadium, and advised us on places to visit and places to avoid.

Staying at Avon was one of our nicest experiences of our visit to South Africa. I strongly recommend it.

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Gianni (Melbourne)

we would like to say thankyou to Christine and Clive for a magnificent stay, great accomodation , new, clean and most of all very much like being home and the breakfast is awesome. We stayed during the world cup and most accomodation increased their rates by upto 50%, but Christine and Clive kept their rates the same , and very well worth it.....I will be recomending this guesthouse to anyone who is going to JNB and will definately return very soon. Again thx Christine and Clive.
PS. Clive your eggs are awesome.

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Peter Gable (Leeds, UK)

Forget 4 star hotels and all that impersonal service! Christine and Clive run an excellent guest house with far superior service. The rooms are spotlessly maintained, the gardens are lovely and the pub is the perfect spot for relaxing after a long day working/touring etc. Christine is an excellent cook and nothing is too much trouble. I can't recommend Avon Road Guest House enough!

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Tersia Brink (Volksrust, South Africa)

I have stayed in many Hotels, Holiday Accommodation and Guest Houses in the past. This was the best home away from home experience that I have ever enountered. Christine and Clive is wonderful hosts, the food is lovely home cooking, rooms perfectly spacious and spotless. Enjoyed relaxing in the lapa every evening after a hard days concentrating. Imediately when I arrived I felt safe and welcome. I am generally afraid of being on my own, never did I feel unsafe at Avon Road Guest house. Thanks Christine and Clive for all you did for me during my stay. I will recommend you to any person looking for a place to stay.

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Karin (Rustenburg)

"Excellent" is not even a fair enough word to describe the hospitality of Christine & Clive. Avond road Guest House is a very special place managed by two very special people who not only share their hospitality but make you part of their family.
Christine & Clive I want to thank you for opening your doors of your 10 star home and loving/caring hearts during my stay.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Gunther Missner (Germany And Cape Town)

Dear Christine and Clive,
Time has passed since I left your Guest House and I wish to thank you for your warmest hospitality during my stay of three weeks on bisiness, home away from home, I really enjoyed my stay with you.
I am currently home and well rested and enjoying the best that the Cape has to offer, until we meet again, good night. Best regards Gunther Missner

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Liza Zagt (Pietermaritzburg)

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Avon Road. The room was gorgeous, the food was yummy and the hosts were super-friendly! I would definitely recommend this guest house. And another advantage-really close to the airport!

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Sally Howell (Dorchester Dorset U.k.)

I spent a month on holiday touring around South Africa and used Avon Road Guesthouse as a base.The accomodation was excellent,very clean spacious room and really good food.Christine is a great cook. I enjoyed many an evening in the pub sitting by the pool and meeting other guests staying there at the time especially when Clive lit the Braai. Christine and Clive booked everything for me including a fantastic five days in Cape Town. Clive was a great tour guide taking me to lots of different places including Glen Afric which included me having my photo taken with an elephant and her two babies, unforgettable experience. We even went on a guided tour of Soccer City where the world cup is being held in June.

Nothing was too much trouble for either of them.I fell in love with Shorty and Sparky the dogs and didn't want to leave them.

I will certainly be going back in two years time to stay at the guesthouse as it was without doubt the best holiday ever.
Thankyou once again to you both.
Kind regards Sally.

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Steven Pye (Accrington UK)

Dear Chris and Clive
Many thanks for a lovely stay in your immaculate and spacious guest house. We loved our stay and felt just like being at home. Your hospitality and friendly manner will not be forgotten and we will certainly recommend you to all our friends.We will return so until then we say goodbye.
Best Wishes Steven and Joan Pye

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Peter And Carole (Boksburg SA)

Chris and Clive we would just like to say a very big thank you for your hospitality and your fantastic accommodation. Best place we have ever stayed, immaculately clean, good home food. Stayed for a week and Chris was very helpful in helping us find a school for our son as we were coming back from Zambia and only had a few days to find a home and school. Thank you Chris for all your help and still helping me to this day. Would recommend anyone to stay at Avon Guest House, it is really excellent and very friendly, helpful owners. Wish you all the very best for years to come. Take Care x

January 2010

Very Good

Review by Antondu Plessis (Cape Town)

Great hospitality. Felt like home away from home.

January 2010

Excellent

Review by GAVIN EVANS (LONDON)

I would like to say a special thank you to both Christine and Clive for giving us a super stay at Avon Road Guest House & Tour's, the rooms were very spacious and luxurious and Christine's cooking was wow! we really did not expect what we received, each evening dinner was different finishing up with a prawn braai the evening before we left to go back to the snow in London, we were so spoilt on our holiday, our one week stay there was great with Clive taking us on a mini Safari to Glen Afric and two days in Sun City, the weather was really bad for the whole week and we thought that we were back in the UK a few times, we came to what we thought was going to be sunny South Africa and guess what! it rained every single day but our hosts really made up for it, will we return, most definately we are looking forward to next January for our return visit with hopefully some sunshine, Christine and Clive once again for everything you did for us.
Kind regards Gavin

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Oldemeyer,Wilhelm (Goettingen,Germany)

I stayed more than a year in Avon Road Guesthouse after trying several other places. It is the best place in that area, clean,good food, friendly people and very important for foreignors: ALL guests and the owners were one interesting team. Christine and Clive were also extremely helpfull in organizing weekend and other activities. This is the place to be!

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Bobby Guy (Clarksville, Tn USA)

While on a work assignment in Jet park I spent nine weeks at the Avon Road House with Christine and Clive and felt like I was at home with the exception I never had to lift a finger to do anything. The rooms were sparkling clean and at the end of each day I would put my laundry in the hamper and the next day my clothes had been washed, dried, pressed and hung in my closet. (That doesn't even happen at home) The guesthouse has a very friendly family type atmosphere and at the end of each work day when I would return to the guesthouse Clive and or Christine would invite me to the pub behind the house for my favorite beverage. The food they prepared each night was excellent or you could dine out at many wonderful restaurants within a ten minute drive. On my next trip to South Africa I am definitly looking forward to spending more time with the Cliffords at their guesthouse. They are also excellent tour guides and are more than willing to make your forays pleasurable and very memorable.
Until next time kind regards Bobby.

July 2009

Excellent

Review by Jerry Ferrell (Clarksville, TN USA)

My business trip of two weeks was greatly enhanced by the clean and spacious facilites as well as the support offered by the owners and primary caretakers. Christine prepared outstanding meals and Clive was the consumate guide for my city adventures in addition to more distant destinations. Easy access to the airport and my place of work made each day easier to manage. I have travelled extensively in Europe and not found a guest house with better accomodations and staff. i will gladly return given the opportunity. Best regards Christine & Clive & the "boys". Jerry

June 2009

Excellent

Review by David Goder (Clarksville, TN USA)

I had never stayed in a guest house before and didn't know what to exect. I stayed with Christine and Clive for about 10 days and felt like I was coming home each night. My room was very nicely decorated and I loved the stone work in the bathroom. The pub out back next to the pool was a nice place to unwind and warm up by the fire that Clive prepared each evening. When and if I go back to Johannesburg I'll go here. Thanks for the memories Christine and Clive.

May 2009

Excellent

Review by Bonnie Proctor (Clarksville, Tennessee USA)

I had the pleasure of a very extended stay at Avon Road Guest House. I was completely spoiled. Chris and Clive make you feel as if you are home with family. You have as much or as little privacy as you like, every detail of your stay receives attention from your clothes pressed and ready for you when you arrive that evening to special attention to your favourite meals or dietary needs. They give the best tour or information regarding the beautiful South African site seeing places. What a joy to get to know them and to stay in such a lovely and safe guesthouse. Thank you for your loving and generous hospitality.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -26.15955
Longitude: 28.258

Closest airport(s)
OR Tambo International - 6km

Children policy
Children 6 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 13h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
March 2010 - 42 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap