African Tribes Guest Lodge is rated 4/5 by visitors (10 reviews)

African Tribes Guest Lodge

Bed & Breakfast at 35 Granaat Street, Edleen, Kempton Park, 1619, East Rand, Gauteng, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is

Very Good

from 10 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to African Tribes Guest Lodge in Kempton Park?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to East Rand.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 10 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2013

Very Good

Review by Godfrey Mboma (Iringa, Tanzania)

It was wonderful to be there!
Nice beds and breakfast, I appreciated the friendly staff.

I will be back.

October 2012

Very Good

Review by Patrick Gachanja (Nairobi, Knya)

I stayed at the guest house for a week. The staff were hardworking and very helpful. Also given the location and room condition, the rates are very reasonable.Travel arrangements were impeccable.

September 2012

Very Good

Review by Chanda Mulenga (Lusaka)

I stayed at African Tribes Guest Lodge for a week during the time i was attening an African Funds Summit at OR Tambo Hotel. Pieter and staff were great. Louise, Soweto and the rest of the crew were very helpful.

I particularly loved the home made food because it was never oily and the rooms were cosy. The shuttle service to the shopping malls and airport were great. The electric blanket in my room used to tempt me to not to wake up early.

You guys, i will definately come back when i take my vacation most likely during Xmas. African Tribes Guest Lodge will always be home away from home.

January 2011


Review by Mr. P. Swart (Canada)

My family and I stayed at African Tribes and I must admit this was a great stay. The staff was so freindly and the food was great. The welcome was warm and they made made yu feel at home. The bar is great and so was the heated pool. The romms were cleaned each day and they offered to do our washing. What a great place and we now have a South African family at African Tribes. Thank you guys it was great and hope to see you all soon.

November 2010


Review by Colleen Mac Dougall (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada)

The room, food and overall ambience was good - the chef was very gracious as he kept warm for an hour a meal that we were suposed to ready for an hour earlier! Some work was needed on the bathroom but the room setting was very pleasant. What was very unpleasant was the mix-up in the airport pick-up. I had booked with this B&B because of the free shuttle but when I arrived - no one was there! After 45 minutes and after having them called by an "Information" officer (I had no cell), I was told to meet the driver "behind a hotel that was over there". I was a female travelling alone so this did not feel safe. Eventually the driver came and was friendly, but even at the Guest House, there was no recognition of this mix-up, only a repeated response that it says on the website to call ahead when you are getting ready for Customs. First, I had no cell, and second, I still do not see that info on the website page one reads when making the booking. Nor was it noted when I confirmed the pick-up 2 weeks before arrival. I experienced this as poor service and very poor communication. I am the first one to be responsible, but felt they did not take responsibility for their own learning here. By the end, I had a lovely meal with my guests, but there was a professionalism that was missing.

October 2010


Review by Dawid & Noleen Hartshorne (Kempton Park)

We held our wedding at African Tribes and everything was absolutely amazing. The staff were a pleasure to deal with, very proffesional & effecient. The food was excellent and the room was perfect. Everything ran smoothly and was better than we imagined.
Thank you to all at African Tribes Guest Lodge for making our day so spectacular.

December 2009


Review by Family Bech (Nootdorp)

Superb stay at a beautiful guesthouse with a friendly staff (and neighbours)

More than the swimming pool the kids enjoyed helping the staff with cooking and the braai. The rooms were very clean and good looking.

We will be back!

June 2009


Review by Forde Family (Cambridge, New Zealand)

Thanks to the African Tribes team for everything - the airport pick-up, tour booking at short notice, wonderful food and our excellent family room. You have a great guest house. should we ever return to SA we wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

June 2008


Review by The Pillays (Durban, South Africa)

Peaceful, pleasant stay with friendly and effecient staff..

We enjoyed the accommodation greatly and will be back!

March 2008


Review by David & Bonnie Ward (Detroit, Michigan, USA)

Wonderful peaceful stay.

Food was good, close to a mall and the transport service was so helpful, and very reasonable. We appreciated the friendly staff.

We will be back.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -26.090422999666668
Longitude: 28.213413

Closest airport(s)
OR Tambo International - 10km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome, a cot is available on request.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on
March 2008 - 10 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap