Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

Great hosts. Fantastic photography gallery and comfortable rooms. We enjoyed breakfasts and good recommendations.

September 2020

Carlo C. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

The rooms we booked were big and comfortable with a balcony. The breakfast is freshly prepared and Merle and Chris gave us plenty of tips to see the beautiful area around Sabie. After our days out we relaxed at the patio in front of the Guest House. We thank Merle and Chris for their hospitality and recommend their Guest House. Rudi ( Germany ) and Cor ( Taiwan )

February 2019

Cornelis Teunissen (Tanan in Taiwan)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our room was perfect for our needs as a family with a lovely balcony on which we could enjoy serene sunrise moments as a couple while our son was still peacefully asleep in our room between clean crisp sheets. We enjoyed a freshly prepared breakfast every morning with interesting conversations and warm hospitality from Chris and Merle. The location is ideal for waterfall hunting and for visiting wildlife sanctuaries and breathtaking scenery. We most definately recommend Wayferers Guest House.

December 2018

Jacques Burger (Pretoria east)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was a home from home stay for us. The room very comfortable, breakfasts delicious and Chris and Merle made us feel most welcome and offered many useful tips. We would definitely return if in the area in future, most likely as Gods Window was shrouded in mist again, as was the whole region.

January 2018

David Williamson (Brignoles, France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Home away from home. We arrived as strangers and departed as friends.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wayfarers Guesthouse .Our hosts,Chris and Merle, were very accommodating and we appreciate all the relevant tips and useful information on places worth visiting.Our room was spacious and spotless.The scrumptuous breakfasts and homely atmosphere contributed to our pleasant stay at Wayfarers Guesthouse with its artistic flair and passionate owners.Take time to admire the various Wildlife photographs -taken by Chris- and learn from an expert in this field..We got more than money could buy.

December 2015

Sandra Hanekom (Secunda)

Verified reviewexcellent

This guest house is really made special by hosts Chris and Merle - we had a wonderfully comfortable stay there and struggled to leave because it felt like leaving friends. Highly recommended!

June 2015

Joy Salvage (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

Best guesthouse we've visited during our 4 week holiday! Really big rooms with even so big a bathroom (with bath!). All was very cosy, clean and tidy. The owners have created a spacious livingroom with satelite tv (but there are tv's on the rooms as well) and comfortable seats, so guests are not 'trapped' in their rooms. It's a non smoking place, but for the smokers among us there's a nice place in the garden. Breakfast was good, with the choice between continental and english. And, oh yes!, real coffee! The owners are very friendly, interested and helpfull people. We'll be back for sure! Sabie and surroundings are definately worth visiting. Many activities to be undertaken there (hiking, fishing, waterfalls, culture)

October 2008

Liesbeth Lanser (Amsterdam)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you for a comfortable and unforgettable stay. You are so kind.

May 2008

Theo and Kim Veemaekt (ISRAEL)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is a quiet and peaceful place - will be back.

May 2008

Enoch and Mbali (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

LOVELY STAY. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED AND WILL CERTAINLY DO SO!

May 2008

Ed and Shelagh Cicuto (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wondeful rooms. Perfect breakfast, wonderful hosts!

May 2008

Willem van Mansen (NETHERLANDS)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hospitality excelent in every way. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will spread the word far.

May 2008

Jennie and Paul Bennet (U.K.)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    1,100
  • R
  • 1045
  • per room per night
    conditions apply
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.