Tonquani Lodge & Spa is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (23 reviews)

Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Guest House at Knysna Tonquani Lodge, 1 Cherry Lane, Welbedacht, Knysna, 6570, Garden Route, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 23 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 23 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

September 2016

Excellent

Review by Natasha Pike (Gauteng)

We had an absolutely stunning two night stay. The log cabin was stunning and the staff are fabulous and accommodating. I would most certainly recommend Tonquani, a very beautiful place.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Nicola B (Durban)

We stayed for a night in December 2012 and had a truly amazing experience. The lodge & gardens are beautiful. The spa & massages we had were excellent. The thing that set this place high up was the customer service. Brilliant, helpful & every staff member was so friendly. Wow, you don't often get that in SA! We will definitely be back sometime in the future & will make sure we stay longer than one night next time. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Ameer & Nadirah (London)

Spent my honeymoon at Yonquani. the service was excellent everything was perfect! My wife couldn't be more happier. Would definately refer this place to anyone interested in a relaxing enjoyable holiday. AMAZING!

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Magda L (Namibia)

Thank you to the staff and owners for always making us welcome - nothing is too much. Thank you also that kids are welcome and that our daughter had a lovely time at Tonquani. The excellent upkeep of the grounds and surrounding areas are great! You can be really proud and the SPA is heavenly - thank you for the treat!

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Ed & Vanessa (Haslemere, UK)

my wife and I stayed for 4 nights over christmas 2012. We had suite 12 which has its own little private garden. The staf as others have said are all very lovely (as are the owners) and nothing is too much trouble. They evenprovided us food and a braai pack for Christmas day - the best jumbo prawns and ostritch steak I have ever tasted!

Spa treatment was also nice

November 2012

Excellent

Review by Melody B (Cape Town)

We chose Tonquani from their website and it looked stunning but I have to say it totally outdid my expectations. The attention to detail, the exquisite surroundings and the attentive staff were such a delight. Tonquani is a 5-star *posh* getaway but with a homely feel and wonderful,friendly and very hands-on owners. Nothing is too much trouble - I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Carlton (Stellenbosch)

Thanks for a very special Honeymoon experience! Me and my Wife spent 3 nights at this great lodge and would recommend it to anyone looking for a awesum getaway... Nice to finally relax after all the wedding arrangements... We will definitly see you again (soon)!!!

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Marielize (Balito, KZN)

We would like to thank all the staff from Tonquani, especially Brandon and Geraldine for really going the extra mile for us. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel special and relxed. The rooms are amazing and the breakfast was delicious. We would definatly come and stay with you guys again!!!!!!!

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Dirk & Telana Volschenk (Kraaifontein)

We would just like to thank Tonquani and their amazing staff for a truly memorable experience.

Going the extra mile for guests seems to be standard procedure during our stay. As an example, while we were staying there we had guests over one night. We simply went to reception to ask for extra cutlery and when we returned with our guests the entire table was set for four people, chairs brought up etc.

We would truly recommend Tonquani for anyone and we will defenitely be back.
Dirk & Telana Volschenk

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Mbali (Johannesburg)

We had incredible 5 day stay at Tonquani. We would like to just thank all the staff for such a warm welcome by making us fell at home!!! Additionally, We couldn't express in words how comfortable the chalets are. We set up Tonquani as a hub by enabling us to relish different outdoors activities around the heart of Garden Route such as Bloukrans Bridge Bungy Jump, Tsitsikamma National Park, Canopy Tour, Ostrich Farm, Cango Caves, a romantic dinner on board at the Paddle Cruise - Waterfront, Knysna (obviously children stayed at the Lodge enjoying pop corn and DVD's provided by Tonquani) and much more. Taking into consideration all of this, We will certainly recommend Tonquani as best-in-class accommodation to stay. We can't wait next trip to Kysna !!!

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Elcio L (Italy)

We had incredible 5 day stay at Tonquani. We would like to just thank all the staff for such a warm welcome by making us fell at home!!! Additionally, We couldn't express in words how comfortable the chalets are. We set up Tonquani as a hub by enabling us to relish different outdoors activities around the heart of Garden Route such as Bloukrans Bridge Bungy Jump, Tsitsikamma National Park, Canopy Tour, Ostrich Farm, Cango Caves, a romantic dinner on board at the Paddle Cruise - Waterfront, Knysna (obviously children stayed at the Lodge enjoying pop corn and DVD's provided by Tonquani) and much more. Taking into consideration all of this, We will certainly recommend Tonquani as best-in-class accommodation to stay. We can't wait next trip to Kysna !!!

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Mendresen (Seattle, Washington)

We stayed in a very well maintained, roomy cabin for two days during our recent visit to South Africa. The cabin was very clean and comfortabel, the staff was more than helpful and the morning breakfast was delightful. We recommend this lodge without exception.

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Amy (Leeds, UK)

We stayed here during our honeymoon - in the Cherry Cape Chalet (lovely!) - and had a fabulous time! We were made to feel very welcome and had the most relaxing few days in the sunshine. The staff were great, as were the breakfasts, the nearby waterfront was great for evening meals, and the BBQ in the garden was fab!...

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Admire (Johannesburg)

we had an excellent stay at Tonquani Lodge & Spa, from the first day of arrival, The chalets are beautiful and so luxurious, they have everything you can think of in the rooms.we felt like royaltyThe staff is amazing. they help with booking some of our activities. The breakfast was awesome. what an amazing experience. Definitely coming back

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Illana (Cape Town )

This was our third trip to Tonquani in 2 years and as usual the staff and our chalet did not disappoint. We stayed at in the Milkwood chalet and it was totally luxurious. On arrival we were greeted like old friends and it felt as if we had never left. We had a large welcome basket filled with goodies and our bathroom and bedroom was decorated with flowers. What we enjoyed most was the tv in the bathroom. Nothing like spending a busy day sightseeing and then relaxing in the bath watching your favourite soaps!!The breakfasts did not fail to disappoint either. Unfortunately the spa was fully booked but will definetly try it when we return to Tonquani!

Tip: Choose a room with the TV in the bathroom

July 2012

Excellent

Review by Pallachio (Rome, Italy)

Unluckly we stayed in Tonquani for just on day and one night but we were really enchanted by this place.
It's warm, comfortable, very well managed, the cottages are spectacular, an explosion of colors. The rooms inside are wide, clean and studied in every details. There is also a very comfortable spa (they use gorgeous products there!) and it's completely dipped in lush vegetation, close to the waterfront but far from crowd and noise of every kind.

The breakfast is very good and abundant, the staff is very kind and helpful and the price is absolutely right for such a place! in one word the Tonquani is perfect.
Knysna is the pearl of the garden Route and we will certainly go back there and to Tonquani!

July 2012

Excellent

Review by Tracey Bryant (Johannesburg)

Having stayed at this lodge every time I went to Knysna, I can only say that I have never stayed at a better place.

The staff are really friendly and exceptionally guest orientated, and no matter what it is you may need or want, it is there in a heartbeat, and never too much trouble, infact it feels like they take real pleasure in making your stay wonderful.

The owners are incredible people, who are totally hands on, and definately make you feel important and very pampered, even part of the family.

This is an amazing paradise in a world where everything is a rush, you cannot help but feel special, happy and rejuvenated when visiting there.

I often joke and tell them that breakfast is one of the reasons I go back there all the time, and believe me, you would go a long way to enjoy a breakfast so delicious, everything freshly prepared, and the service really impressive.

All that is left to say, is that, "like a white rose in the middle of a red rose boquet" the lodge, it's staff, and owners stand out in the crowd. Another absolute delight to me, is the animals that are at home there, they make it even more welcoming and warm

I will not hesitate in recommending this to anyone, Thank you for always making my stay so special.

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Mark B (Oviedo, Florida, USA)

All the glowing reviews on this site are accurate. The chalets are very private, birds singing in the trees, attentive staff...uncrowded and peaceful. We felt like were royalty. I wish we were still there.

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Mr And Mrs Williams (RSA)

The service was exceptional. We are very impressed with the chalet we stayed in and the secluded / private atmosphere. We are so happy with this place, that we will be returning for a longer stay next time. We are young professionals with hectic schedules and Tonquani lodge was just what we needed.

Well done to the owners for being able to provide this kind of quality accommodation in South Africa. We travel once a month to different locations for a break, and this is by far the best this year and in fact, the only one that we'll be returning to.

Once again, the service is outstanding!

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Donovan & Liezl Savage (Cape Town)

Amazing, stunning, tranquil, beautiful lodge. We had a great time! Lodges were above expectations and the pictures on the web and brochure do not do it justice. Truly a blessed destination and we will definitely be returning. Thank you for an amazing setting and lodge for our honeymoon

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Kama (United Kingdom)

We stayed at Tonquani in September 2009 and we were bowled over by the romanticism of this place. We stayed in the luxury villa - and it was worth every penny. The log villa was huge and oozing with rustic charm and gave you the feeling that you were hiding away in your own personal tree house.
The bedroom had a four-poster bed which was sooo comfortable. The lounge was som comfortable with two squishy sofas, large TV, DVD player, CD stereo system - and DVD's you could rent out if wanted. The bathroom was massive and gorgeous. It had a large open shower (big enough for two), a whirlpool bath and a deep ordinary bath for relaxing after a long day. Outside, you have your own personal dipping pool, together with lounge chairs and beds, and a BBQ (which they will even light and provide you with the meat for it).
There is a nice pool for all guests to use, as well as several lounging areas for people to enjoy. The breakfast is delicious - and you are often welcomed into the breakfast area by a large squawking parrot! We also made use of the spa when we were there and had a relaxing massage which we would recommend.
The spa / hotel is located within Knysna but at the top of a hill - which may make it just outside of walking distance to town for most guests. However, if you don't want to drive, taxis can be arranged by the staff - and will cost you about 4 ($7) to get into the centre of Knysna,

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Jacques & Luan (Cape Town)

Hi, We stayed at this lodge for three nights and were truly impressed with the high level of service and attentiveness throughout our stay. We informed our hosts beforehand that we are vegetarian and were delighted to be offered vegetarian sausages and other options on the breakfast buffet. The log chalet was decorated elegantly and was in a nice quiet / private position. We loved the silkie hen and chicks walking past our cottage in the morning. There were other couples with children, but the lodge was very peaceful. Thank you, we had a fantastic time.

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Amanda Morrison (Preston/ Chorley)

This was our first and definitely not our last visit to South Africa and there could have been no more perfect way to start the holiday than at the Tonquani. My husband, daughter, and I stayed at Tonquani Lodge & Spa for 6 nights in April of this year and it was definitely one of the highlight of our holiday. We were very well looked after in a friendly, yet professional and informal way, in fact the Tonquani offers something that is generally difficult to find, in that they manage to combine a quality relaxed environment that is equally suited to both adults and children. You feel as thought you are being pampered and spoilt yet relaxed enough to let the children enjoy themselves.

We stayed in the garden lodge chalet which was perfect for us. The rooms were beautifully presented and complimented with quality linen, towels and robes. We thoroughly enjoyed our BBQ in the garden which was made so easy. The BBQ was prepared and light by the staff we just had to cook the food.

The breakfasts were scrumptious, everything was freshly prepared and the service was excellent. I am sure that no request would have been too much to ask.

I enjoyed a relaxing massage in the Spa, which is beautifully presented and professionally ran. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

The Tonquani is set in beautiful gardens equally luxurious and as well cared for as the accommodation. It is peaceful and tranquil yet within easy distance of Knysna that has an excellent array of restaurant, bars and cafes.

The biggest impression the Tonquani left on us was their attention to detail and the Managers and Staffs commitment to please and take care of their guests, which they certainly achieved with us.

I was quite worried when we left the Tonquani that the rest of the holiday would be a disappointment, after such a perfect start.

I would not hesitate in recommending the Tonquani to you and would definitely visit again.

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 1190
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.032291666
Longitude: 23.01461388888889

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 500km
George Airport - 72km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome. Children under the age of 3 years can be accommodated in a baby cot (extra charge). Family units are available.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
July 1999 - 23 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap