The Constantia Stables is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (11 reviews)

The Constantia Stables

Bed & Breakfast at The Stables, 8 Chantecler Lane, Constantia, 7806, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 11 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to The Constantia Stables in Constantia?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Constantia Valley.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

April 2017

Excellent

Review by Elvis (Birmingham)

Like most of the guests we have been returning again and again to this most hospitable of places. Lola and family have become genuine friends, and we know that they will always maintain the high standards which have made our holidays with them such a pleasure. The rooms are varied and attractive amid luxuriant gardens, while the breakfasts are undoubtedly the most satisfying that we have found in South Africa.

April 2017

Excellent

Review by HZ Mullin (Windsor, UK)

We stayed here for a week with our children over the Easter holidays. What a fab place, pretty cottages, fabulous hostess and central location so easy to visit lots of places around South Africa. Highly recommended!

March 2017

Excellent

Review by Anthea W (Stamford)

We are just back from a trip to Cape Town, which ended with a five night stay at Constantia Stables. We had been highly recommended staying there by friends and it didn't disappoint. From our initial contact with Lola to make the booking, we felt very welcome. The setting is gorgeous with wonderful views out to the mountains.The buildings are all surrounded by the most glorious gardens which were wonderful to be sit in. Lola was the most attentive, friendly hostess and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. She was most helpful with advice about restaurants and places to visit. A wonderful gem of a place.

March 2017

Excellent

Review by Andrea L (UK)

We have just completed our stay at Constantia Stables which was recommended to us by friends who have stayed many times. We discovered lots of the guests had also stayed multiple times and we can understand why!

Lola runs the most welcoming and lovely guest house we have ever stayed in. She is accommodating and very helpful. The breakfasts are amazing and the accommodation comfortable and homely. Plenty of lovely tea provided in the room and lovely homemade biscuits. It was really nice having breakfast with the other guests and then meeting them again in the evening at the bar to discuss your day, get recommendations for sight seeing and restaurants over complimentary drinks.

Everything about Constantia Stables makes you want to return again as we do. It's location to Capetown is ideal and Lola will willingly recommend other areas to visit. She was without a doubt the nicest and hospitable hostess we have met. The rest of the staff including Oscar and Sue were also delightful.

Can't say enough about this lovey guest house other than "you must go".
Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple

March 2017

Excellent

Review by Carole B (Jacksonville, USA)

I truly cannot imagine a better place to stay in Capetown! Lola was such a delightful host and was there for anything you needed. Her breakfast was Incredible with fresh fruit (huge bowls), meats, cheeses, cereal, yogurt and then ,of course, the hot breakfast...eggs, omelet, bacon, salmon...and this list goes on! The rooms were so quaint with wonderful linens, towels, coffee, tea and even some local magazines. Her gardens are amazing and if we had time it was so relaxing to sit on the porch with our coffee and just enjoy the flowers and large array of birds. I will definitely be going back to visit Lola on my next trip to Capetown!!!

March 2017

Excellent

Review by Stalex (Amsterdam, Nethertlands)

Lola, who is the host of this lovely B&B, has created -together with her late husband Rick- a piece of paradise in Cape town. It is located just off a main road in a wonderful green and lush garden. The drive is at the end of a cull de sac and is quite narrow, which adds to the experience. The buildings are just full of character, as these were actual stables a while ago. There are 8 rooms, of which two are located on an upper level. Do not worry about your luggage as there is help to take your bags. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bathrooms have good towels and all the amenities you could need. The bedlinnen is very comfortable. In the garden, there is a pool for you to cool off and some sun loungers. Your host Lola is such an interesting, kind and sweet lady who knows everything about the area and all the restaurants and things to do in Cape town. She will make your stay here unforgettable and she and the staff take excellent care of their guests. Every evening, she invites all the guests to come into the bar area to have an aperitif and chat with all the other guests.
The Lola breakfasts are huge: the selection of fruits is unequalled and make sure to bring your appetite for the scrambled eggs with salmon!
It is no wonder she has many return guests and we hope to be among them from now on.

February 2017

Excellent

Review by Gilly (Barnet)

Our charming and comfortable room was located by the plunge pool surrounded by mature tranquil gardens. Lola produced a splendid breakfast setting us up for the day. In the early evening guests gathered for sundown drinks and exchanged daily experiences in a very convivial atmosphere hosted by Lola. We feel part of her lovely family now after many years and we always look forward to our next visit to this very special place.

February 2017

Excellent

Review by Akay (Truro, UK)

We stayed for three nights in The Hayloft, a spacious well appointed room, It's up a steep flight of steps though so might not suit anyone with limited mobility. There are other rooms though from which you can choose if this is a problem. Lola really is such a wonderful hostess, nothing is too much trouble. Her breakfasts are wonderful, such a great selection. The garden is so pretty and the pool was wonderful to laze around after a long overnight flight. Lola had organised dinner at a local restaurant and very reliable taxis. It was my birthday while we were there and I found a lovely bouquet of flowers and card. Such a thoughtful gesture. Thank you Lola - you're great.

February 2017

Excellent

Review by Shirley W (Guilford, UK)

This was our first stay at The Stables and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It had been recommended to us by friends who have stayed there more than once and it was like home from home. The ensuite room we had was comfortable and large,air-conditioned, well furnished and had everything you could possibly need for a short or long stay. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped. There was a small kitchen area (fridge, oven, hob, sink, kettle and a range of dishes, cutlery, glassware and cooking utensils) so it was possible to self-cater in the evenings. There was also an outside private terrace with table and chairs overlooking some lovely private gardens. Great to have a relaxing glass of wine in the evenings before or after a dip in the pool.
The breakfast provided by Lola, the owner, was huge and absolutely delicious with lots of choice - cooked breakfasts made to order and/or continental-style food ( cold meats, local cheeses, fresh fruit, yoghurt, breads etc.) Lola also invites her guests to drinks in the main house the early evening and offers wines, spirits, nibbles and lively conversation. Many of her guests have been returning to her for years and so the house has a very welcoming and hospitable atmosphere.
Constantia is a beautiful part of Cape Town and there are plenty of places to visit, restaurants to try and local shops to browse in. It is easy to get into central Cape Town from there and Lola is able to arrange drivers/taxis/restaurant reservations/car hire options etc. She truly is a very hospitable host and made our stay a happy and memorable one.

January 2017

Excellent

Review by John & Jean (Guilford, UK)

The Stables is as beautiful as ever( we have stayed several times now) . The rooms are individually lovely, extremely comfortable , super linen , all set in glorious gardens. Lola's breakfasts are legendary, we all so enjoy the huge choice, individually cooked just for you, hot or cold , fantastic fresh fruits - they are superb. There is a barbecue available , should you wish in the evenings. The get togethers in the bar at night are a lovely way to unwind & meet your fellow guests. What a joy. We shall be back , and cannot recommend Lola & the Stables highly enough.

December 2008

Excellent

Review by Jos Scharrer (Johannesburg)

My family with son, daughter in law and three young teenage children stayed for 7 days over Xmas and New Year. Great hospitality from owners Rick & Lola Bartlett. Stunning shady garden with pool for children on return from the beaches. Elegant, eclectic style - charming rustic vibe. Cottages - lofts and guerst rooms all ensuite - well appointed. Sad to leave, but made special new friends.

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.036588055222225
Longitude: 18.434754999666666

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 30km

Children policy
All ages welcome. However, there is an unfenced pool on the property so children will need to be supervised if they can't swim.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
November 2007 - 11 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap