Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

The Bend is a beautiful place in beautiful surroundings. If you need to relax this is the place for you as it is so peaceful. The rooms are very comfortable and Sheila and Alan are friendly and amicable as are the rest of the staff. As there were only 2 couples staying we ate in the bar, the food was absolutely delicious and the ambiance relaxing. As you can tell I am a fan and will be booking in again next time I go to Midlands Meander.

February 2015

Charlie Peet (Secunda, Mpumalanga)

Verified reviewexcellent

From the moment we stepped through the doors we were welcomed by Shiela. The atmosphere was homely, and relaxed. The house and rooms were tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques but with comfort in mind. The meals were deliciously prepared and Shiela went to the trouble of baking a special birthday cake for my husband s 60th birthday as a surprise. The staff were polite and very helpful. Our family were able to enjoy the fishing at the dams and beautiful walks along the banks of the river. In our party 6 adults we had our 10 month old grandson Shiela made sure that we had the use of kitchen to help with the warming storing and preparing if his food. She even arranged for a babysitter at night so that we could all enjoy dinner together. we really had a relaxing and restful weekend in a homely and happy environment. We definitely will be returning. We as a family recommend you visit this wonderful country house.

June 2014

Judith Galvin (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic accommodation, the beds were out of this world. The food provided by Sheila and her staff was excellent. Sheila and Allan made us very welcome The hotel is in a beautiful location and all the rooms were tastefully furnished and decorated. Near to the Midlands Meander area, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to any other travellers. A peaceful and scenic setting.

November 2010

Harry and Margaret Smith (Carlisle, United Kingdom)

Verified reviewexcellent

after travelling ''the long and winding road'' be prepared to be stunned be the beautiful thatched country house - set in idyllic surroundings -peace and serenity guaranteed. Sheila and Alan ,along with all the staff,were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast and evening meals which were excellent. we would highly recommend The Bend Country house >

November 2010

Les and Sandra DOCK (Carlisle U.K.)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutley fabulous accommodation and hospitality. Meals were exceptional. Highly recommended!!!

September 2010

Charmaine Date (Port Shepstone )

Verified reviewexcellent

Our school booked a meeting for 5 people from our Management Team. The receptionist Ashleigh did an excellent job with our booking. We stayed overnight and each person had their own room. The rooms are comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. You only have to bring your clothes, towels, refreshments is provided in your room. . The Bend has a relaxed atmosphere. The food was delicious and staff were friendly and welcoming. Sheila is a great chef. We have already made a booking for January 2011. Thank you SS

September 2010

Sharon Swartz (Pietermaritzburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our wedding was a The Bend and we took over the venue for a couple of days before until the day after. The Bend were fantastic. I can't recommend this venue enough, a beautiful place. All of the staff from the kitchen to the office were excellent and looked after our every need. The food was fantastic and any extras that we asked for for were sorted out quickly and without any problem. The atmosphere was extremely relaxed and you by the end of our stay everyeone was incredibly sad to leave. I can't remommend this beautiful house enough. We fully intend to revisit sometime in the future. CB

November 2009

Charlotte Barnardo (Godalming)

Verified reviewexcellent

We went to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and had the most perfect time, accomadation, food and hospitality. We highly recommend the Bend

April 2008

Allan and Robyn Parkinson (Durban)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,250
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • The Bend Country House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.