Reviews & Comments

Showing 37 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

Had a pleasant stay and will certainly recommend it. Until next time!

January 2017

Kevin Adams (Walvis Bay)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ideally located... Peaceful and tranquil setting... A sense of home away from home. The hospitality of the hostess is exemplary, and we had an awesome stay... Thank you!

October 2016

Cobus Oosthuizen (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful stay, beautiful location, friendly hostess. Thank you for making us and my fury kids feel so welcome.

September 2016

Stacey (george)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very pleasant host. Excellent comfortable/tidy accommodation situated very near Stellenbosch center. All at a very reasonable price. I will definitely visit again!

August 2016

Matthew (Port elizabeth )

Verified reviewexcellent

This lodge was recommended. The staff is very friendly and was able to accommodate us last minute. We found the room neat and clean. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous.

June 2016

KT (St. Paul)

Verified reviewgood

Easy access from the car to the room. Everything you need. Loved the walk from the Stables up the Jonkershoek road before breakfast. The scenery is too beautiful!

May 2016

Nikki (Pietermaritzburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great! Thank you

March 2016

Wayne (Johannesburg )

Verified reviewvery good

Wonderful, quiet place. Good service and a great help with our laundry.

March 2016

Tom Heinemann (Copenhagen)

Verified reviewvery good

We enjoyed our stay. The reception was very good and our accommodation just what we required for the weekend.

March 2016

Robin Clark (George)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a really pleasant stay. The rooms are comfortable and has a quiet and peaceful atmosphere.

December 2015

MC Boonzaier (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent atmosphere, very clean and neat rooms, friendly staff and close to all activities in stellenbosch

December 2015

Abraham pramod (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

We absolutely loved our stay at The stables Lodge! Besides the cleanliness,extreme comfort and beauty of the mountain chalet - We had the most wonderful service from all staff and the management. It was one of the most helpful,friendly and most accommodating management I have ever experienced and such a value for money. The location is so convenient and tranquil,yet close to all the places you would want to go in Stellenbosch and the Cape Winelands. Thank you so much Ilaria for your special rates,hospitality and for making our 3 week stay one to remember. Will definitely come again!

September 2015

Dané (Howick,KZN)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our stay at The Stables Lodge was extremely pleasant. The chalet is very comfortable and quiet. The staff was soooo friendly and welcoming. It is a great location to explore Stellenbosch, the Winelands and Cape Town. Just excellent!!!

August 2015

AP (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

Really clean and comfortable establishment and was perfect for my business trip. Close to Lanzerac and peaceful and quiet. Very reasonable rates and good value for your money.

June 2015

Nicky Mears (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved our stay at The Stables Lodge in Stellenbosch. Our son was playing in a rugby tournament and we just needed a place to stay for the night with our 2 boys - and needed a B&B with inter-leading rooms. Stables was a great option, a gorgeous room with everything we needed, separate (but inter-leading) room for our boys. Ilaria was BRILLIANT and looked after us so well. Even adding an extra mattress when a friend of my son decided to stay as well. We were made very welcome and had a great stay. Lovely breakfast in the morning too, really set us up for a morning of rugby. Thanks Ilaria, we will definitely stay again.

May 2015

Linsey Schluter (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

A comfortable weekend stay very close to Lanzerac where we attended a wedding.We stayed in a well appointed self catering flatlet with a sparate entrance.There is secure off road parking.Thanks to Ilaria for her friendly hospitality.

April 2015

Rob Finlay (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

Very friendly and helpful hostess who attends to special requests.

April 2015

Ria Nel (Potchefstroom)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent about two weeks in the Stables Lodge. First of all I would like to thank Ilaria (the owner) for her hospitality. She speaks to every guest and shows sincere interst, gives advices, directions, provides maps, etc. This is very helpful. The location of the guest house is excellent: very close to the town center and in a quiet area at the same time, with stunning view of the mountains. In a walking distance is a famous wine-farm "Lanzerac". Further down along the same street is another wine farm "Stark Conde" with a very good (and not expensive) restaurant, with excellent selection of wines, and with the most beautiful view I ever seen in my life. The Stables Lodge offers (free of charge) a stable and sufficiently fast Wi-Fi connection. Despite the fact that it is just a three-star accommodation, the service is of high quality. The airconditioner helps a lot.

February 2015

Sergei Rakitianski (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

I had great stay at The Stables! Ilaria was so kind and I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast.

February 2015

Lethabo Kekana (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

We had been in Stables Lodge for about 1 week (end of Jan. / beginning of Feb. 2015). We had the self catering unit (Standard Chalet). The rooms are neat and very comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped. Outside the Chalet is a small garden with a big tree – a lovely place to have supper in the dusk. The staff is friendly and welcoming. So a place to feel at home. We really enjoyed our stay in the 'Stables Lodge'.

January 2015

Markus Schneider (Hamburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

I spent 2 weeks in the Chalet at the Stables Lodge, it was a wonderful stay. Ilaria and the staff were excellent. I enjoyed the nice home-cooked breakfast. Hi-speed Wi-Fi. There is a Spar just 2 minutes walk. Next time im in Stellenbosch, Ill drop in at the Stables Lodge

January 2015

Richard (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent stay

December 2014

Sharlie Opperman (Witbank)

Verified reviewgood

Warm welcome from Ilaria. A peaceful environment. Thermostated regulated heater should be installed inside the rooms prior to winter for visitor from West Africa

September 2014

AKINOLA EMMANUEL ADEGOKE (Ile-Ife)

Verified reviewvery good

My husband and I decided to spend the weekend in Stellenbosch and chose The Stables Lodge for its location (near to Jonkershoek, excellent for cycling). The owner, Ilaria was very welcoming and insured that our stay was comfortable. Our room was very lovely and clean, albeit we would have preferred a double bed, which I will mention in my request for our future stay(s). Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. I will recommend the Stables Lodge and will be coming back for sure

September 2014

A. Mocke (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for making it a special day

July 2014

Wayne Scheltema (Cape Town )

Verified reviewexcellent

Great staff great accommodation. A little jewel.

July 2014

Wayne (Cape Town )

Verified reviewexcellent

Impecable service! Our stay was memorable. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Anja for the awesome hospitality!!!

July 2014

Wayne and Olivia (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a great stay, beds very comfortable and the rooms very clean.

April 2014

Paul Jandrell (Windhoek)

Verified reviewexcellent

This guesthouse is a treasure in Stellenbosch. Everything is tought of. And al the small things that make life easy are there. The owners (especialy Ilaria) run this guesthouse with heart and soul. When you have a change to stay there you will be surprised and enjoy hospitality as it should be! The bed is better as our own! And the bedlinnen is perfect clean and comfortable.

April 2014

Henk Tieben (Rotterdam)

Verified reviewexcellent

Se volete assaporare la tipica atmosfera familiare italiana immersa in un angolo di paradiso non potete non fermarvi a The Stables! Qui le parole ospitalità, cordialità, gentilezza, accoglienza e disponibilità sono di casa. Bella dislocazione, ambienti ben curati sia internamente che esternamente e una buona colazione...la nostra vacanza nella family room "Comfort Italy" si è rivelata una sistemazione ottima, ideale per famiglie avendo una camera comunicante! Un immenso grazie e...arrivederci a Ilaria, Federico, Giacomo e Matteo.

April 2014

LInda (Ferrara, Italy)

Verified reviewvery good

Very comfortable, clean and perfect for our needs. Ilaria is a wonderful attentive host.

March 2014

Mark Hume (Piertermaritzburg)

Verified reviewvery good

We had a very comfortable and affordable stay in the chalet and were once again very impressed the same before - we had previous stays in all their other rooms as well. Very clean and beautiful bed- and bathrooms.

March 2014

Karen Fouché (Uitenhage)

Verified reviewgood

We were welcomed with open arms. Our stay was comfortable, clean linen and towels. Unfortunately no swimming pool on the premises.

January 2014

Yvette Van Rooyen (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Very pleasant and relaxed two nights in very peaceful surroundings. Made to feel most welcome.

December 2013

Bruce Macdonald (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

Wonderful place clean and cosy. We felt very welcome.

November 2013

Marja Pennewaard (Netherlands)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you for a comfortable stay. The facilities were clean and above all...affordable.

October 2013

lanice holloway (cape town)

Verified reviewvery good

I took my husband to The Stables Lodge in Stellenbosch as a surprise for his birthday. He was very impressed with our clean room, spacious bathroom and luxurious bed-linen.

October 2013

C. Turner (Durbanville)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 670
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • The Stables Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.