Reviews & Comments

Showing 42 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

The place was great and my kids also loved it. The ocean view is amazing and the place is close to most of the kids activities.

October 2016

Sibongile Mofokeng (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

The place was great. The only issue was the couches, the one was not clean and the other was peeling. I would recommend that people go there as the ocean views are beautiful and the area is quiet and close to activities. The accommodation is safe and secure. We would definitely come back with the kids. Thank you

August 2016

Noni (Johannesburg )

Verified reviewexcellent

Reservations was done professionally, information given on website is exactly what was given. Welcome by security and Anne was very warm and they were very helpful. Exterior of building very neat well maintained and security is excellent. Interior of the apartment was stunning and comfortable, furniture was beautiful and of good quality. We had a very comfortable stay as my kids had their own room and bathroom, view was amazing I could sit for hours on end and just admire the view. It was very quiet and peaceful at quayside which we enjoyed. I would recommend it to people anytime. Sorry I forgot to mention that the linen was of superb quality,so were the dishes and all utensils in the apartment.Beach towels were so good to have and it made my luggage lighter.Defnitely it was value for money. My daughters were so happy you provided a hairdryer as other self catering appartments do not. A house keeper was sent to clean after the 3rd day which was good because the apartment required it . You have put in your best. Keep up the good service.

January 2013

Asma Ismail (Laudium)

Verified reviewexcellent

1. Reservations/Website The reservations and website were seamless and everything dealt with professionally 2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant..... 3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils The place was great and the decor very homely. More than what was expected 4. Comfort/Value for money; Beyond value for money, comfort was beyond expected 5. Suggestions; The 2nd bedroom should be a double bed

November 2012

Fetsi Mbele (Sandton)

Verified reviewexcellent

1. Reservations/Website Very good service and response time on queries, you won’t believe this but I am still waiting for a response on another unit. 2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby Beautiful building with quiet surroundings, very safe basement parking with security patrolling. Your Lobby staff was very helpful and friendly. 3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils Beautiful unit made us feel right at home, everything we needed was at hand, truly enjoyed our stay. 4. Comfort/Value for money Not badly priced, will definitely use your unit again and recommend it to friends and family.

October 2012

Jacques Pitout (Benoni)

Verified reviewvery good

Apartment is furnished adequately and to a high standard. All modern appliances are available, but we could not use the washing machine and the door handle was broken. Central air conditioner was a little noisy at times, but functions well and we found the pillows on the beds to be a little soft, but manageable. Above average value for money – central location, good security, quality finishes and spectacular views. We really enjoyed the stay and will make use of the accommodation again, if the opportunity presents itself.

September 2012

Leon Potgieter (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Pretty easy to navigate and easy to reserve. Your email in reduction of rate was also a nice touch. Finding it was a little complicating but we manage. Security on duty was very helpful and even arranged a parking disk for us. We found the unit very clean and beautiful. It was comfortable and the bathrooms very nice, modern and clean. We found the unit very comfortable and secure and we felt safe. The view was spectacular. Even the kids enjoyed the rooms and beds. Only suggestion I can think of is to make a mop or broom available in the unit. With the beach sand and no broom or mop to mop up spills. Other than that, we had a very good stay and would do so again soon. The 3 appliances would also wonderful!

June 2012

Tracy King (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed our stay at Quayside. We obviously considered staying with you again because of our past experience. The reservation, checking in with security and Anne all went very smoothly. The building & apartment met with our expectations. The apartment was well stocked with everything to make our stay comfortable. Really appreciated the response to the problem we had with the DSTV. (some guys promise a 24hr help service but get irritated or are unavailable when contacted) - didn't mean to be a pain though,but the kids were nagging to watch. It definitely was value for money. Also, the late checkout makes life much easier and less stressful when leaving.

June 2012

Junaid Ebrahim (Richards Bay)

Verified reviewexcellent

The beauty and the views are breath taking. The location is appropriate as it is outside the CBD and is a stone throw to the UShaka Marine where the kids entertainment is there. We proudly invite guests to entertain and see how lovely the place is. I am sure my friends will definitely stay there for the coming summer holidays. Count on me coming back again

December 2011

Nombasa Msebi (Mthatha)

Verified reviewexcellent

Enjoyed our stay

December 2011

Kgomotso Motau (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful place Amazing views Fantastic

December 2011

Nombasa Msebi (Gauteng)

Verified reviewvery good

1. Reservations/Website: • Making the reservations was fairly easy, took less than a day to get everything sorted 2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby: Exterior is exquisite, the view and scenery is to die for. 3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils The finishes are beautiful. Very intimate and very homely. It gives a home away from home feeling. Everything is there from cutlery to crockery, washing machine and dryer and to top it all dishwasher….very impressive I like the fact that all DSTV channels were available. 4. Comfort/Value for money Definitely value for money. Everything that was promised on the advertisement exceeded my expectations. 5. Suggestions Would have liked it if the other room also had a double bed, the next I would like to come with another couple, but the challenge will be who will be taking the single beds. Lol Someone should be there to welcome the guests upon arrival to give the guests orientation.

November 2011

Bonolo Madiba (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Reservations/Website: Was very helpful and easy, worked well for me in such a short notice period Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby: Convenient no problems Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils: Well equipped, lots of towels, beddings, very neat and spacious Comfort/Value for money : The pictures are the same as what you get, comfort, elegance and spectacular view, its worth my value for money and would recommend everyone to book this flat, very satisfied.

September 2011

Nadia Gaffoor (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Reservations/Website: User friendly Arrival: Welcoming Interior: The place was neat and presentable all was in order, looking forward to visit again. Comfort: Value for money absolutely worth it. Comfortable 100% beach view, and Quiet place

August 2011

Titus Mawasha (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had so much fun and you have a lovely apartment. Next time we are in Durban, we will definitely come back to your unit.

March 2011

Carolyn Kamau (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

On behalf of my wife and myself we would like to extend our appreciation for the rental of your apartment. Everything was great. I will definately recommend quayside to my colleagues and friends.

March 2011

Dr A Bulbulia (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Reservations easy to make. Very clean, wonderful decor Good value for money and very comfortable

February 2011

Genevieve Strydom (Sunninghill)

Verified reviewexcellent

My stay was fabulous. Will definitely be back.

February 2011

Shavir Singh (Pinetown)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an enjoyable stay, everything was to our satisfaction. We will definitely book this apartment again. Thank you.

January 2011

Aziz Moolla (Newcastle)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic apartment.

January 2011

Keith Poultney (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a lovely stay at Quayside 906. My family and I really enjoyed it. We will definitely be staying with you next time we are in Durban.

December 2010

Mokgadi (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was a home away from home. The views from the balcony are beautiful, the apartment is very comfortable and well furnished. We extended our stay by an extra day. I would definately choose Quayside 906 when i next visit Durban

December 2010

Egnah (Harare)

Verified reviewexcellent

Reservations on the website were quick, effective and very efficient. I choose to stick to this kind of communication device. Your mobile means of communication were excellent as well. Arrival/Security/Exterior/Lobby – If I followed the directions as stated on the email you sent, we were not going to waste time searching for the place. We only got lost when we arrived at signal road (last but one before the turn about at the bottom corner of Gandhi road. Security personnel were welcoming and willing to help. Seeing that the letting is still new, I believe that the reception and security CCTV cameras’ location will greatly improve. The entrance to the parking bay should have some form of controls, like a boom gate. The interior standard can not be compared with other same star rating lettings in the region. Your interior qualifies in the 5 star ratings. This was wonderful. The interior of the kitchen and the entire dining and lounge was very good. The quality of the leather, furniture, linen, bedding etc was a marvel. Keep up the great work you are doing. Your kitchen utensils, towels were clean, enough for all of us. Most hotels and lettings provide the old TV type of monitors, or at least the 32”, but you chose to provide a 42” LCD HD screen. Thank you, my daughters enjoyed all their lovely channels as if they were home. Comfort/Value for money – I have not paid that amount of money in a hotel or self catering per night like I did with you. My wife is very particular about quality and standard, but I did not regret why I chose Quayside 906 for our weekend stay in Durban. I think it was worth the comfort and value for the money.

September 2010

Lunga Mbuyisa (Swaziland)

Verified reviewexcellent

1. Reservations/Website It was easy to get inforamtion with the quick response time with regard to any questions. Documentation was sent immediately and feedback was always timely. 2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby Please include your GPS coordinates with all correspondance. It makes it easy to find. The address was also not very clear, "40 Signal Road" need to be prominent. I understand there are still many changes to the surrounding area, particularly the basement parking but for lower profile vehicles entering and exiting the basement is difficult. I would pay a premium to park on the locked-up ground floor parking. The security are friendly and helpful and entering wasnt a problem on arrival. 3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils Although a self catering unit, i found there was more than enough provision for bedding, utilities and crockery. It does meet with the 4-star quality standards expected. 4. Comfort/Value for money Theres are the two things that made our stay pleasurable. We got more from the experience and your rates were not an issue. I just want to extend a word of thanks for your part in a wonderful long week in Durban. The apartment and it's views made it that much more special. We hope to get all our friends and family to consider you on their trips but know that we will definately be coming back . Regards Atibo Onen

September 2010

Atibo Onen (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks Jose for a thoroughly enjoyable visit to Durban and stay in the wonderful Quayside 906. We particularly enjoyed the access to wireless internet that allowed us to keep touch with friends and family back home. Security was no problem and the facilities provided were of the highest standard. Could I suggest the inclusion of a maintenance register of some type in order to report any items that need rectification prior to the next guests check-in. This occurred with one of the hinges in a kitchen cupboard coming loose and a picture in the main bedroom coming off it's adhesive backing. Maybe the cleaner could report these to yourself as the owner to negate the occupants having to contact the owner direct. All in all a very enjoyable stay at the Quayside 906. I intend recommending the apartment to friends and family intending to visit Durban. Regards, Tony

June 2010

Tony Green (Sydney, Australia)

Verified reviewvery good

Dear Jose Thanks. We had a fabulous stay in the apartment and will definitely consider returning. 1. Reservations/Website Excellent and we really appreciated being able to check in earlier. 2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby Excelllent. The apartment was spotless and it was a pleasure to arrive. 3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils The decor was lovely and the flat was really well stocked. The only aspect that we were not totally satisfied with were the beds in the 2nd room (single beds). The matresses were not comfortable at all and we felt that the bedding was inadequte - duvets would have been appreciated. Also, since we were 2 adults utilising the room, extra length beds - even if single - would have been better suited. Once again, this was the only aspect that we found wanting but it didn't deter too much from a lovely stay. 4. Comfort/Value for money The comfort level was outstanding. 5. Suggestions See 3.

June 2010

Safiya Mangera (Lenasia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Firstly, we have no regrets in choosing the apartment as our choice for accomodation. From the first step, the website provides sufficient information and the reservation process was professional. When we arrived, the exterior of the building was to our expectations, the security guards were friendly, polite and helpful (even though when we checked in it was almost 1:00am). We definitely agreed to the 4 star rating that the apartment carries when we stepped in, its well furnished, good quality appliances, adequate cutlery and crockery, comfortable, spacious and has a stunning view. Access to the parking basement is convenient. I will give our stay a 10 out of 10 for value for money. The kids really enjoyed their stay. As a suggestion,I recommend that you add an extra blanket (double size), i know Durban is generally hot but just in case if there is a cold spell. The kitchen was short of a broom and a mop. Other than that everything is fine, in and out, the apartment is well positioned, the walk along the canal to the beach is lovely and i have been boasting to friends about the apartment. In fact, a friend has asked me for your contact details. Will pass your details to family and friends, Quayside 906 will be our first choice of accomodation the next time we visit Durban. On behalf of my family and i, we thank for providing us with the apartment.

April 2010

Haroon Hassan (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Website booking was quick adn efficient. Security was friendly, very neat place. Well managed apartment, everything was perfect. Cosy and good value for money.Will definitely come back and recommedn to others.

April 2010

Muhammed Ismail (Pinetown)

Verified reviewexcellent

Accommodation was easily found on website. We were given a very warm welcome bu the security guard at the building and he was very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. The apartment was beautiful and extremely clean, we had everything we needed. The apartment was very comfortable, absolute value for money.

March 2010

Zama Mkhize (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks we had a great stay. Place is fantastic! Excellent views.

March 2010

Yasmin Khan (Lenasia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for staying at your place. We will highly recommend your place to friends and family.

February 2010

Lelanie Basson (Lydenburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for letting us enjoy such a wonderful place.....

February 2010

Rookaya Mall (Port Shepstone)

Verified reviewexcellent

1.Website/Reservations Very welcoming. I like that the website is so detailed and that everything that is mentioned on the website can be found in and around the quarters. 2. Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby Well maintained, however more attention needs to be given by the cleaning service – even though she was punctual and cleaned – she was not thorough and over time this could lead to the quality deteriorating. But she was friendly and assisted when asked. 3. Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils Well maintained 4. Comfort/Value for money Exceptional value for money – we wanted a place close to central DBN but away from the hustle - and this was worth it. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting to stay in DBN

January 2010

Coleen Packery (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Jose I thank you for all your assistance. The Guests were very happy about the accommodation. I hope to do business with you again in the future. Regards Claudine

December 2009

Claudine (ZImbabwe)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just a quick note before we depart tomorrow to say thank you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will more than likely be back in the near future. All in order in the apartment. Just thought I should also let you know: Also to let you know for future tenants, Ushaka Zulu Safari’s Gondola’s prepared to collect people from apartment for gondola ride to Ushaka which was nice.

November 2009

Lana Roets (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

The reservations website is easily accesible and user friendly.The Arrival/Exterior/Security/Lobby is perfect. The Interior standard/Quality/Furniture/Beds/Linen/Towels/Crockery/Utensils was comfortably excellent. Regarding Comfort/Value for money it is GOOD. Only suggestions is maybe a BBQ stand, option to have daily house service.

September 2009

Akua Koranteng (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

I really enjoyed staying in your unit, keep it in that good standard, most appreciated, thanks.

July 2009

Peace (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

The reservation process could be simplified using online booking and credit card payment; still it was relatively easy to book. Did not realise there will be construction next door and the surrounding area, but it did not affect our stay at all. We really enjoyed the apartment. The quality of the furnishings is excellent and we had a really great view of the Durban beachfront. The water pressure in the two toilets needs attention. Graphical instructions for the alarm system and balcony doors in the apartment. (Maybe there was, but we could not find it) The angle of the ramp at the entrance to basement parking scraped bottom of the car on entering. Maybe suggest to your body corp to have a look at it.

July 2009

Grant Leonard (Secunda)

Verified reviewexcellent

I would like to thank you for the wonder stay at Quayside, The apartment really made us feel at home and the deco was comforting. I would definetly recommend this apartment to my business associates, and will be contacting you again for reservation for when we visit Durban in the near future.

May 2009

Fiema Khan (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic apartment, clean, neat and very homely. Great location, we could see the kids on the beach and very nice not having to drive. Walked to Ushaka adn beach every day, only 5 mins. The sea here iis fantastic for young children. Nice having the DSTV and the unlimited internet included in the price. Good quality utensils.

April 2009

Andrea (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewvery good

Hi Jose We had a great stay and enjoyed the convenient location of the apartment to the beach sailing club. The regatta we sailed was very successful with my son coming in fifth overall and myself getting silver medal. The stay was great, you might want to attend to The air-conditioning was working after the repair guys were there but did not get very cool, we still had to sleep with the doors open for cool air. Thank you for the reduction in rate, much appreciated. With regard to the card and tumbler, as far as I am aware the cards were handed to security on our departure, on arrival there were no access cards in the unit for our use so we got cards from the supervisor on duty. The Tumbler could have been broken but not sure, if there is a cost for that let me know. Once again thank you for a pleasant stay. Kind Regards

April 2009

Colin Whitehead (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you for such a nice apartment. We had a fantastic week, weather is great this time of the year, and we sat until late every evening on the balcony watching the awesome view of the city. Very well priced compared to where we stayed previously, didn't even have DSTV. Everything very new in the flat. Annatjie and Hannes

March 2009

Annatjie Viljoen (Bloemfontein)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,690
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Quayside 906

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.