Reviews & Comments

Showing 14 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We have stayed at many places and can honestly say that our experience at Porcupine Pie was one of the best. The beauty and tranquility of its setting is perfect and the bird life is abundant. The hospitality offered by John and Judy was both warm, kind and unobtrusive and John’s cooking is superb. The chalets are tastefully decorated and beautifully situated. We will definitely be going back for a longer stay.

October 2018

Brenda Cornfield (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

John & Judy – we have discovered paradise in the Wilderness. Great hosts, wonderful food & wine. The scenery is fantastic. Many, many thanks.

January 2018

Tony & Gill (Coventry, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

You’ve ruined our holiday! How can we find anything to compare to the warmth & hospitality you have shown us?

December 2017

Melanie (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had our honeymoon here, it was the most wonderful place. Wonderful views, romantic and absolutely perfect... WE WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK!

September 2017

Heather (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had our honeymoon here, and EXCELLENT is an understatement!!!!!!!!!!!! From the word go, John and Judy made sure we had the time of our lifes here!!! John, your cooking is DIVINE!!!! and Judy, your pudding is the best!!!! please remember im waiting for my recipes!!!!! (chocolate Brownies) The resort is beautifull, it was like staying in a little peace of heaven! The food was fantastic and the service was Excellent! I was very dissapointed when I found out that Pie is no longer with you, but storm and majoor made up for it! they are the most adorable dogs ever!!!! Wayne and myself would like to thank the two of you for making our honeymoon so special. Thank you everything!!! All our love The Bosch family! xxx

March 2011

Wayne and Lourè Bosch (Mandini)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic! From the service to the food to the accommodation to the staff, everything was fantastic. We will definitely be visiting again in the future. Thank you, John and Judy, for your hospitality and for making us feel so welcome! We already miss you guys and the rest of the troop - Coal, Saffron and of course, Pie! Thank you so much - it was a relaxing and perfect getaway! We look forward to seeing you again! Take care, Claire, Ryan and Ethan

September 2008

Claire Minnaar (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Porcupine Pie Lodge is a little paradise; everything about it is delightful - the setting, the cabins, the hosts, the delicious food... I could go on and on. You feel you're staying with friends and enjoying a wonderful dinner party every evening. We were sorry to leave after three days, but will definitely be back!

February 2008

John & Emma Miller (Glasgow, Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our first holiday in South Africa and this was surely a highlight of the holiday. Accommodation was tasteful, food was fantastic, and our hosts John & Judy were faultless. Brendon & Paul

January 2008

Brendon & Paul (Wicklow, Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our second visit and we were not disappointed to re-experience the marvelous food, hospitality and friendship we had found last year. Many thanks. David & Trish

January 2008

David & Trish (Colchester, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for making our stay at Porcupine Pie so lovely. We have met wonderful people, great food, lovely pets & a lot of fun. We will definitely be back! Thanks for being such wonderful hosts. Rowena & Aaron

December 2007

Rowena & Aaron (Belfast, N Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow! Thank you for welcoming us into such a homely atmosphere. The chalets are gorgeous – stylish and plenty of cozy comforts. You have an excellent sense of hospitality. We’ll be back for sure. Nicola & Darren

December 2007

Nicola & Darren (Stellenbosch)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a place! Never imagined anywhere could be as amazing as here. An ideal place to relax and enjoy signs & sounds of Africa. Food & Wine top class too. Brian & Sandra

December 2007

Brian & Sandra (Dundee, Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Weerens verskriklik dankie vir alles! Soes die vorige keer was alles onverbeterlik!! Sien julle gou weer. Mariette & Gert.

December 2007

Mariette & Gert (Durbanville, Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Pure delight: warm hospitality, delicious dining, lovely rooms, and the artists hand visible everywhere. Definitely a place to come back to. Many thanks, Albrecht & Martine

December 2007

Albrecht & Martine (Hamburg, Germany)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 2,000
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.