Reviews & Comments

Showing 18 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

What a great stay indeed. On The Vermont had all that we required for our stay. The hosts are lovely and pleasant people who made sure their guests were welcomed and comfortable. We would definitely recommend staying over at On The Vermont.

December 2017

Ronelle Affinand (SA)

Verified reviewexcellent

I would highly recommend OTV Guest House. Jan and Pauli are a lovely and friendly couple that ensured we enjoyed our stay to the fullest.

September 2017

Qhawe Maxongo (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Unvergesslich bleiben für uns die Erinnerungen in Hermanus: An unserem Abreisetag von Ihnen haben wir unzählige Wale sehen können, die sich in der Bucht getummelt haben. Atemberaubend schön! Beeindruckend waren auch unsere Naturerlebnisse im Addo Elephant Park, wo wir Elefanten, Löwen, Zebras und unzählige weitere Tiere in der freien Wildbahn beobachten konnten. Herzlichen Dank noch einmal für das schöne und gastfreundliche Domizil bei Ihnen!

August 2013

Sylvia Schulze (Eschingen, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for your support and hospitality and flexibility. Your extra care and consideration gratefully helped my return to good health after leaving hospital. The elevator, food, newspapers, advice, too many things to mention. We will recommend you to others.

September 2012

Hopkins Family (London, UK )

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful place we have been, lovely people. Food is very marvellous and wonderful. Thank you very much.

May 2012

Ntombi Somhlaba (Khayelitsha, Cape Town, South Africa )

Verified reviewexcellent

'n Wonderlike ervaring, fantastiese gasvryheid en baie rolstoelvriendelik. Die kamer is baie geskik vir gestremdes en 'n wonderlike uitsig oor die see.

May 2012

Johan Lubbe (Cape Town, South Africa )

Verified reviewexcellent

The owners, Jan & Pauli, are two of the sweetest people in South Africa and they take excellent care of their guests, especially at breakfast. They serve up a massive homemade feast with so many choices, you couldn’t possibly try every dish in one sitting! They’re also enthusiastic concierges, too, so I didn’t need to crack a guidebook – Jan & Pauli filled me on on everything I needed to know about the area, from history to great restaurants in town to the best value whale watching cruises.

October 2011

Angie Orth (Manhattan)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dag beste familie Roodbol, Zeer bedankt voor de onverwachte kerstgroet van jullie, we hebben een goede herinnering aan het verblijf in jullie guesthouse. Nog bedankt voor jullie goede tip om de Fernkloof te bezoeken, we hebben er een schitterende wandeling gemaakt en wat een mooie uitzichten op Hermanus, we hadden dit bezoek niet willen missen. Onze gehele reis door Zuid Afrika en Swaziland is trouwens een groot succes geweest, we hebben enorm genoten van de prachtige natuur en de vriendelijkheid van de mensen, we hebben ons geen moment onveilig gevoeld in die 30 dagen. We hebben Zuid Afrika in ons hart gesloten en willen er spoedig weer terug komen. Nogmaals dank en vanuit Nederland ook de beste wensen voor u voor een gezond en gelukkig 2011 Hartelijke groet Rinus Manders en reisgenoten

September 2010

Rinus Manders (Herpen, Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for providing most enjoyable wheelchair accessible accommodation to us this weekend. The room was perfect, the food was wonderful, and your hospitality was great! We would have loved to have stayed longer, maybe next time. It is always a pleasure to meet people who understand the importance of providing wheelchair accessible accommodation. Even though this is the 21st century it is still rare to find, and therefore appreciated by travellers such as ourselves. Please keep up the good work! P.S. . . . Please say “Hi” to Roxy!

August 2010

Hilton & Loretta (Cape Town, South Africa )

Verified reviewexcellent

Dad and I would like to say thank you so much for a superb stay at your special guesthouse, On The Vermont. We both agreed we could not have done better WRT our accommodation. Your whole guesthouse exudes such style, not to mention comfort. I slept so well at On The Vermont – cosy, light duvet and cooling ceiling fan! Your breakfast is unsurpassed – just a pity we could not eat in one meal the great variety on offer. You were both the perfect hosts – there when we needed you but giving us our privacy when we needed that. We will be back! And certainly look forward to it.

December 2009

Annabel Eaton (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you both so much for a wonderful stay in Hermanus. You were very hospitable and we enjoyed every moment. It was particularly kind of you to provide us with sandwiches for breakfast on our last morning. We were very hungry by the time we reached the airport, so we found them especially delicious! We look forward to seeing you again one day. In the meantime, we will pass on your details to others in the High Commission in case they get the chance to visit you. - Philip, Kasia, Lily and Jack Parham, British High Commissioner in Tanzania

August 2008

Philip Parham (Dar Es Salaam)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful hospitality, wonderful breakfast. Would love to stay longer if we had the time.

December 2007

Slade Family (Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent facilities for wheelchair, beautiful breakfast and hospitality. Wonderful hosts, thank you!

November 2007

Jackie Walevska (London, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Grazie! E stato un po come essere a casa!

November 2007

Diana Chiara & Cornelia Otto (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt - gerne kommen wir wieder.

November 2007

Thomas Wyschkon (East London/Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

SERVICE with capital letters! Very comfortable guest house with a lot of service provided by the owners; the most elaborate breakfast we had during our trip in South Africa.

September 2007

Maarten en Henny van der Zwan (Helmond, Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent 2 wonderful nights in On the Vermont Guesthouse in Hermanus. It was clean, comfortable and well looked after. The breakfast was something else - it has to be experienced. Both mornings we found ourselves sitting for more than 2 hours, enjoying the excellent food and company. On the Vermont is a guesthouse which we would recomend to all our friends, and certainly return there ourselves if we are in Hermanus again.

October 2006

John Tallo (Aberdeen)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent B+B in Hermanus. Wonderful hosts, really excellent breakfasts, will definately stay there again when we return to Hermanus.

October 2005

Nick van der Walt (Rosebank, South Africa)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 760
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • On The Vermont Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.