Reviews & Comments

Showing 13 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

This bnb was wonderful to stay at. Very comfortable in all aspects and the host friendly and helpful. The buildings are beautifully maintained and gives one the feeling of how it was in the olden days. I would certainly stay here again. The breakfast was beautifully presented.

August 2017

Len O connor (New zealand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent and lovely place. We really enjoyed our stay over there and karin our host is wonderful. She is very nice and we feel like at home. This place is to be remembered forever. We will definetely plan to go back there once again. Djeam and alain ( france)

July 2012

Lutz (rumilly)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were pleasantly surprised and Karin is a wonderful hostess. The lodge is an interesting mix of old, new, African artifacts all over... very different, but beautifully decorated. Karin also suggested 'La Sosta' restaurant, Italian couple cooking with love... you can taste the passion! Karin packed the fire-place... we had the whole lodge to ourselves and had a most relaxing warm winter evening. Karin spoiled us with a breakfast feast! We went for long walk in Marloth reserve. Go visit the Old Thatch Lodge!

August 2010

Robert and Jeanine (Somerset West)

Verified reviewexcellent

Trés trés bonne adresse sur le Route des vins et jardins pour son accueil, gentillesse, et sa cheminée surtout en juin.....Une atmosphère chaleureuse au point que l'on a du mal à partir. Des hôtes à la hauteur de leur prestation avec un petit déjeuner au champagne. Alors si vous vous rendez à Swellendam je vous dis sans hésitation ; Old Thatch Lodge is the best address you have to stay and enjoy !!!!!

June 2010

LARRUE/ARNAUTIN (REUNION)

Verified reviewexcellent

Carole and I are familiar with the Western Cape but it's at least 20 years since our last visit to Swellendam. Touring on this occassion we had one night at The Old Thatch lodge which was the highlight of our trip. Fantastic hospitality and a breakfast to die for! The accommodation was excedingly comfortable and Karin was the perfect hostess. We wished that we had booked for more than the one night. We'll definitely return very soon.

April 2010

Jon Charley (Wymeswold UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a marvellous stay we had at Old Thatch Lodge. Karin was very friendly to us : she did her best to give us the feeling of being at home and a lot of tips to visit Swellendam. Nice room ( we stayed at the Nectarine Suite - 3 adults ) in a beautiful garden in a quiet area. Karin is the only guest who had proposed us champagne at breakfast ! A wonderful place where we stayed unfortunately only one night. An excellent stop over on the Garden Route.

March 2010

Nicole Redoute (Saint Denis Reunion)

Verified reviewvery good

Une adresse fabuleuse sur la Garden Route dans cette jolie petite ville de Swellendam.. Karin est une personne chaleureuse qui fait tout pour vous procurer un accueil exceptionnel : champagne au petit déjeuner, coupe de fruits joliment préparé, plein de renseignements utiles sur ce qu'il y a à faire !. Avons dormi dans une chambre ( Nous avions la Suite Nectarine ) au décor raffiné , quartier tranquille, jardin luxuriant. Malheureusement, nous ne sommes restés qu'une nuit ! A recommander à tous les amateurs de bon goût.

March 2010

REDOUTE Nicole (Saint Denis Reunion)

Verified reviewexcellent

A perfect stay at Old Thatch Lodge for two nights. The charming atmosphere and excellent hospitality made this stop relaxing and wonderful. Very well suited for stopover when travelling from Garden Route to Cape Town or vice versa. Even perfect for longer stay as "home" base for visiting Bontebok, De Hoop... Karin - the owner, always very polite and helpful - served an excellent breakfast on the terrace.

March 2010

Ralf (Backnang, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Old Thatch Lodge was quite simply the best bed and breakfast we stayed at during the five weeks we spent in South Africa. Although Swellendam is somewhat off the beaten track, it's very peaceful and is worth a few days' visit just for the fantastic Old Thatch breakfasts. I have no reservations in wholeheartedly recommending it.

December 2009

Justin (Basel, Switzerland)

Verified reviewvery good

Excellent stay. We have enjoyed the atmosphere and the hospitality which was provided by the host Karin. The evening at the fire place and very nice breakfast which included Champagne was great. For a sleep over in African style is this the place to be.

April 2009

Tom & Ilse (Amsterdam)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a very very very warm welcome and It's a beautiful house and location to stay for some very relaxing days. We hat this special feeling to be at home :-) Karin - the owner - very friendly, always trying to help and answering all questions. Special thanks for the reservation at the Italian restaurant around the corner and the tip for the mystical garden. The rooms are very nice and have a personal note, which we loved very much. The breakfast was the best we had during our complete stay (very delicious) and we loved the fresh fruits. Very good value for money. We will definitely be back and recommend the house to our friends.

February 2009

Horst Gnadl (Germany)

Verified reviewvery good

As a party of 4 we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The setting is beautiful and the accommodation is very good with an interesting and traditional twist. Our host, Karin was very welcoming and helpful and her breakfasts are out of this world! We also enjoyed the "floor show " provided by Noodle, Flop, Trinity and the cats!!!!

February 2009

Andrew Vine (Limoges France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ein Muss für Romantiker und Freunde eines hervorragenden Frünstücks. Aber auch die herzliche und aufgeschlossene Art unserer Gastgeberin Karin, runden den Eindruck ab. Wir waren einfach begeistert.

February 2009

Lichte (Kiefersfelden)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 900
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Old Thatch Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.