Lavender Cottage is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (55 reviews)

Lavender Cottage

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 3 Waterford Street, Morningside, Somerset West, 7130, Cape Helderberg, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 55 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Lavender Cottage in Somerset West?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Helderberg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 55 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

April 2016

Excellent

Review by Louis & Talitha Mes (Lafayette, USA)

We had an extremely pleasant stay at Lavender Cottage.
Trevor met us personally on arrival, and each subsequent day (we spent three nights), and he could not have been more attentive. Our large vehicle notwithstanding, there was secure parking provided. The room was airy and well accommodated.
The situation of Lavender Cottage is convenient for travel to all surrounding areas - Stellenbosch, Cape Town etc.
We highly recommend this B&B!!

October 2015

Excellent

Review by Evellyn Camacho (Durban)

Dear Celia & Trevor
We had a great stay - it was comfortable and exactly what we needed. Thanks to for the plants. Hoping to see you again on our next trip to the Cape.
Kind regards Evelyn a& louis

April 2015

Excellent

Review by Jaco De Jager (Pretoria)

Thank you very much and thank you for your hospitality.
I really enjoyed my stay.

April 2015

Excellent

Review by Antionette Chamberlain (Pretoria)

Sorry we havenít come back to you as yet, life has been absolutely hectic.

We really must tell you what a pleasure it was to have met and stayed with you, we could live there if you let us. Was fantastic, the rooms were so spacious and clean.

The bottle of wine we had on the first night was absolutely lovely, could have some right now!! The dogs Emma & Jack were so adorable. We are not allowed to have animals were we stay

Celia, would have like to sit and chat to you for hours, pity we didnít have time, next time!

Love to both of you

Antionette X George

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Louis Stemmett (Worcester)

Thank you for a great weekend. We loved your place and hope that we can stay there again soon! Everything was beautiful and just right.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Michael Goosen (Pretoria)

Thank you for the friendly stay and that you looked after my wife while I was working - I really did appreciate.

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Suzanne Hattingh (Pretoria)

We want to thank you for a lovely stay. You have a great B&B and we will certainly stay there again and will recommend you to our friends.

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Adele Botha (Bultfontein)

The wedding well. Once again - thank you for your hospitality, it was lovely staying with you.

June 2013

Excellent

Review by Adele Botha (Bultfontein)

We really enjoyed our stay, felt very at home and comfy.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Joanna Moore (UK)

We had a lovely time with you at your beautiful cottage. We really enjoyed our walks with Emma and Fudge.
Thankyou again.
Best Wishes
Jo, Andy and Aylish

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Kota INO (Japan)

Dear Celia & Trevor
I safely backed home.
Thank you so much for your kindly service!
I couldn't enjoy this trip without your help.
And thank you for assist when I get lost.
After that, I reflected that I shouldn't drink all wine of a glass per tasting.
And then, I changed my tasting style to just take a sip of the wine to avoid getting lost again.
Finally, I tasted 120 wines and 19 wineries during this trip!
I've got a lot of experience of SA wine.
Baie Dankie!
Kota INO

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Karen Newcastle (Four Ways - Joburg)

I had a wonderful 3 night stay at Lavender Cottage with Trevor and Celia, who made me feel most welcome and cared for. It felt like home away from home and I thoroughly enjoyed my evening walks with Trevor and Emma, the labrador. I will definitely be back.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Sarah Fernandes (Westville)

Lavender Cottage was lovely and provided us with everything we needed.
Thankyou for your warm hospitality. We will definitely be back.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Casper Pieterse (ERmelo)

I'd like to thank you once again for your hospitality and friendly service.
I had a most enjoyable stay and will be using you again in future.

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Henrik Johansen (Denmark)

Thankyou very much for your kind hospitaliy during my stay with you, dinners together as well as interesting hikes in your area together with Trevor. I enjoyed my stay with you, it was the best !

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Brian & SHerryn Arthur (East London)

Many thanks for the hospitality and frienship you showed towards us while staying at Lavender Cottage. It was much appreciated and we will definitely try and stay there again when we come down.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Dimakatso Mashigo (Johannesburg)

Thank you very much for your hospitality during my stay.
I did indeed have a wonderful time during my stay there.
Take care and God bless.
Regards,
Dee

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Stephanie Schauff (Germany)

Thankyou for a lovely time at your house. We enjoyed having so much space and talking to you.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Beth Hackland (Johannesburg)

Thanks - You certainly have a little piece of Heaven.
Kind Regard
Beth

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Linda Van Rensburg (Johannesburg)

I wish to thank you from the bottom of my heart for the lovely calm stay at Lavender Cottage. I enjoyed my stay tremendously and will recommend your place to all my friends.
Kind regards
Linda

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Sandy Blore (Hill Crest)

I sincerely want to thank you both for all that you did for me, especially the first few days.
Thank you also for being so friendly to my family, we will all recommend OUR cottage to friends and family and for inviting Jasmine and I to walk with you and your dogs - we both enjoyed that.
Wishing you and your family a safe and happy 2013.
Missing you both already.
Sandy.

November 2012

Excellent

Review by Dianne Bruce (Namibia)

We all enjoyed our stay with you and the cottage was ideal in every way, thank you.
The guys had a good race and enjoyed it so much that they are considering doing it again next year!
They are still taking a break from the bikes for now.
Thanks for the wine - we'll save it for after the little one has arrived and we'll think of our lovely time in Somerset West when we open it!
Thanks again for your hospitality and we hope to see you again..
Keep well and Best regards
Dianne (& Hugh & Stoney)

November 2012

Excellent

Review by John Dalton (Johannesburgh)

Thankyou for my pleasant stay and for making me feel at home. When I next come down I will definitely stay with you.
Please give the two dogs a couple of extra pats for me.
Best wishes.
John.

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Aninda Van Der Spuy (Cape Town)

Thankyou for a great week working at ' Kamersvol Geskenke'.
We had a great time staying in your cottage!
It was perfect, Thankyou.
Anida,Bernice and Mari

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Linda From MMS Developments (East London)

You are really excellent hosts and it is really appreciated by our company.
Your accommodation will be used by us again and also recommended to others.

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Neil Collocott (Australia)

Dear Celia and Trevor
Thanks for a fantastic stay.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Karien Ingenkamp (Johannesburg)

Thankyou. We enjoyed our stay very much.We will recommend you to friends and family.
Kind regards
Karien.

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Cedric MOUROUX (Paris - France)

Thanks once again for everything while staying at your place. I really enjoyed my stay there and it was a great ending to a 2 weeks adventure. Trevor, thanks for showing me the mountains, it was enjojable with you. Celia, thank you for the excellent dinner and the overall experience at your place. I will definitely stay at your place again whenever I come to Cape Town and will recommend it to friends.
Take care of yourselves and I wish you all the best.
Cedric.

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Dave Pratten (Durban)

Hi Celia and Trevor
Brenda and I have never had a better holiday - the accommodation you provided was exactly what suited our needs, thank you for the attention you devoted to ensure the success of our stay.
Although we were in CT for one week; we packed in enough memories to last a life time. We occasionally get reminded of what we did when we feel sudden twinges of hidden muscles!
Regards
Brenda and Dave

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Dr Dimitri Savides (Port Elizabeth)

Dear Celia & Trevor
Thankyou from me and my family. As always it was wonderful by you my second home.
God bless and may you have a wonderful festive season.
Sincerely
Dimitri.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Lisa Fenenge (Sandton)

Dear Celia & Trevor
We had a lovely stay in your cottage and we really appreciated your hospitality.
We definitely hope to return in the not to distant future.
Keep well.
Kind regards
Lisa Fenenga.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Inge Dobihal (Johanessburg)

Dear Celia and Trevor
We enjoyed our short overnight stay at your place very much and have this morning recommended your place to some travel agents in Somerset West who did not know of your place.
We do this trip every year and hope to see you again next year.
Kind regards - Inge & Peter. (Austria Connection - Destination Experts)

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Liz Bancroft (Camberley UK)

You can be sure of a warm welcome from Celia and Trevor at Lavender Cottage. The accommodation comprises a spacious self contained cottage plus a double room off the house - all clustered around a pool. Celia is a keen gardener. Her pots of succulents are tucked into every corner. She is also a talented artist, her colourful paintings and screen prints are displayed throughout the property.

Trevor, Labrador Emma and Jack Russell, Fudge will be delighted to have your company on their walks down to the nearby Lourens River or just on their evening stroll around the block.

Situated in a quiet road, this homely B&B is within easy reach of many attractions .Vergelegen, one of South Africa's premier vineyards, is within walking distance -surrounded by beautiful gardens and with two restaurants, you can also enjoy a tour of the state of the art winery and taste a selection of its award winning wines.

A short scenic drive takes in a penguin colony and an opportunity to spot whales while eating fish and chips at Hermanusís Cave Restaurant. The historic villages of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek are a comfortable drive away and the stunning views from Cape Point where the Atlantic meets the Indian Ocean are not to be missed. There is a funicular railway to the top for the fainthearted.

Trevor will be only to pleased to help you plan your itinerary and to act as your guide and companion on the many walks on the Helderberg Mountain. Thank you once again Celia & Trevor for a wonderful stay and for making our trip to South Africa a wonderful, most enjoyable and memorable experience.

Dr Doug & Liz Bancroft.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Kobie Coetzee (Pretoria)

Dear Celia and Trevor
Thank you for your kindness and a most enjoyable stay.
Celia, thanks again for our beautiful prints. Looking at it will always remind us of our visit to your beautiful Cape.
Lots of good wishes
Regards
Kobie Coetzee

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Mandy May (Grahamstown)

Had a most comfortable stay and will certainly come again.
Have a great weekend.
Kep well

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Clare McGregor (Hilland)

Thankyou we look back on a great holiday. We very much enjoyed staying in your cottage, which was very comfortable, well-equipped and a lovely base from which to end our tour. Thankyou for looking after us so well.
We hope to be back some day!
Best wishes. Clare.

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Jon Hardiman (USA)

"If you want a great B&B, look no further than Lavender Cottage !
Thank you for the great hospitality and treating us better than family".

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Sanmari Snyman (Port Elizabeth)

Dear Celia and Trevor
Thankyou so much fo a wonderful weekend at you lovely home.
Take care and thankyou sooooo much again
Kind regards
Sanmari & Barry.

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Linda Williams (Dubai)

Dear Celia and Trevor
Just a quick note to say thank you for all your help and kindness.
I really enjoyed staying with you and look forward to my trip back again in May.
Keep well.
Regards
Linda Williams

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Alida UNGER (Belgie)

Dear Celia, Dear Trevor.
We want to thank you for the lovely stay in your cottage in January, February and March.
We enjoyed it very much, also your beautriful garden and your swimming pool.
And once more, thankyou very much for the lovely tablecloth, Celia. Everyone is admiring it very much.
Love.
Alida.

March 2011

Excellent

Review by John Hardiman (Florida - USA)

If you want a great B&B, look no further than Lavender Cottage!
Thankyou for the great hospitality & treating us better than Family

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Jan & Alida Unger (Poppel - Belgium)

Thankyou for the lovely stay in your cottage in January,February and March. We enjoyed it very much, also your beautiful garden and your swimming pool.
And one more, thankyou Celia for the lovely tablecloth. Everyone is admiring it ver much.
We look forward to see you again next year.
Love, Alida.

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Yang Xin (Bejing - China)

Dear Celia and Trevor
I really enjoyed the days at your lovely place. And yes, I got many discoveries and new experience in your Cape Town.
And I am looking forward to go there once more, no work, just vacation.
If I go there in the future, I am sure I will pay a visit to your place.
And I hope you can enjoy your life just like the way you do right now.
Best regards to you
Yang xin.

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Ntombikayise Mayekiso (East London)

Dear Celia and Trevor
Thank you for having us at Lavender Cottage we had a splendid time and you made us feel at home.
Kindest regards.
Ntombikayise
Senior Claims Registration, Road Accident Fund, East London.

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Monika Mauchie (Switzerland)

It was really a great day in Lavender cottage and we enjoyed it very much to be with you. We were talking very much about your cosy home and the warm welcome.
We were really glad, if we hat the possibility to come back in the future and stay any longer.
We still rember the tasty Cheninn Blanc which we unfortunately could not finf in the store.
Best regards from sunny but windy Switzerland.

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Albert Koeper (Holland)

Dear Celia and Trevor
We loved spending time with you.
Great hospitality and service.
Thanks: we loved Robertson and the wines!
Kindest regards
Albert and Maria.

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Mary Ramey (Utah - USA)

Dear Ceilia and Trevor,
Greetings from the USA. We arrived safely home, weary but ready to get back in the harness here.
We cannot thank you enough for your many kindnesses to us--we had a wonderful stay at Lavender Cottage. Perhaps we will see you again in God's own time. You'll always have a place in our hearts.
Gratefully,
Glenn & Louise Ramey

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Harry Owens (N.Wales - U.K.)

We had a wonderful Christmas Holiday and will all have forever wonderful memories of our time at Lavender Cottage. Fond Wishes to you both. - Harry, Elspeth, Suzie and Chrissie.

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Karen Van Staden (Pretoria)

Just to say many thanks for your hospitality - we enjoyed staying at your "Lavender cottage". We really felt privileged to share Emma's and Fudge's walkies too!!
Best regards
Lourens, Karin & Karlou van Staden

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Mr&MrsJ R Hadley (Birmingham UK)

This was our final destination in South Africa,and what a little gem it turned out to be,many thanks Celia &Trevor for your hearty welcome,with your boundless knowledge of the area and the route around the Winelands that you told us about made our stay really refreshing.Excellent accomodation and great breakfast,highly recommended

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Henry Scheepeers (Jeffries Bay)

Hi there. I just want to thank you for a wonderful stay at Lavender cottage we had such a good time hope to see you again some time. We arrived in JBay friday evening but we have a wind blowing like mad today.
KInd regards from Henry Ada Louisa and Maryann. [Scheepers]

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Reinette Gouws (Pretoria)

Dear Celia and Trevor,
Thank you very much for the wonderful way in which you hosted my stay, I really enjoyed every second.
Looking forward to seeing you again
Warm Regards
Reinette

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Ros & Howard Jones (Bedford, England)

Beautifully positioned at the foot of the Helderberg Mountains and walking distance from the Vergelegen Wine Estate. We had very comfortable and spacious accommodation in the guest cottage. Trevor and Celia are the perfect hosts, as well as being extremely knowledgeable about the local wlildlife, nature trails, etc. They couldn't have been more helpful in making our holdiay a success. Also very convenient for the Cape Town airport.

June 2008

Excellent

Review by Judy & Les Stillwell (U.K.)

Thankyou for your very friendly welcome, hospitality and comfortable accommodation.
See you again.

March 2008

Excellent

Review by David & Emma Bancroft (Camberley. UK)

The highlight of our whole trip through the Western Cape - RSA, Australia, New Zealand, and N.America was our stay with you. Thank you for looking after us so well, telling us where to go, what to do. You were Magnificient !!!!
A great big thankyou.
Emma and david

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 750
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.07558333266667
Longitude: 18.879783332666666

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 38km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.
Cots can be provided on request.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 13h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
November 2008 - 55 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap