Reviews & Comments

Showing 19 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

This was great introduction to South African hospitality. We had a great time.

June 2013

Robert and Rosa Bertinelli (Greenville, South Carolina)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the lovely stay and rest. A home from home.

June 2013

Pat and Sandy Bordeni (Rome, Italy)

Verified reviewexcellent

The hospitality has just been fantastic. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The cleanliness is exceptional. We surely will be back some day. Keep up the good work.

May 2013

Juhn Sekoere (Lesotho)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I went to Jo'burg for 3 days to visit friends and we were looking for a place that was close to where they lived so they could meet us at restaurants and we could visit. La Bougain Villa is in a nice and quiet street, yet very conveniently located in Dunkeld, close to restaurants, shops and Sandton/Rosebank area. The rooms are well appointed, very private and quiet surrounded by the beautiful garden and pool. Chris is a super host, very helpful and welcoming. Georgina spoiled us with delicious and breakfasts and Joe was always available to assist with whatever needed. Excellent value for money. Will certainly return, would not think of staying anywhere else.

May 2013

Peter and Christina Addison (Fort Lauderdale, Florida)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed here in April 2013 for ten nights. Our self contained rooms were well equipped and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and elegantly presented. Our visit coincided with a difficult time for the Richard's family but the welcome from them, from Georgina, the housekeeper and Joe the gardener could not have been warmer. The location in Dunkeld was convenient for Rosebank / Sandton and if we return in the future we would definitely re- book.

April 2013

Pauline and Keith Mullender (Much Hadham, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

La Bougain Villa is a little Paradise in Sandton, Jo.burg. We stayed 10 days here and enjoyed great hospitality and excellent service. We can recommend La Bougain Villa to everybody and will return at the next occasion. Markus and Hans.

March 2013

Markus Shurter and Hans Sigrit (Zurich Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

I stay at La Bougain Villa every time I visit Johannesburg... usually twice a year... and can thoroughly recommend it. Beautiful setting, centrally located, secure parking and friendly, helpful, welcoming staff and hosts... excellent value for money! A most private and peaceful haven.... just completed my 5th visit and i am already looking forward to the next!

March 2012

Wendy Brassey (Durban, Natal)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was my first visit to Johannesburg. Upon my first contact with the Fay the owner - she was extremely helpful, informative and very warm. Provided me with lots of information prior arriving. I decided to go ahead and book. From the moment of my arrival, I felt at home. La Bougain Villa is well landscaped, very clean and well maintained. Highly recommended.

February 2012

Gary (Sydney)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for everything - perfect as previously. We will be back again.

February 2012

Brigitte (France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely place and tastefully done. Great and adorable hosts - loved it.

February 2012

Abhisher (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beauty - Inside and Out" - Fay was our 'hostess with the mostess' - arriving to lovely gardens, a pool and a beautiful porch/patio, where we had delicious breakfasts each morning. It only got better in the inside with lovely addommodation for our party of 5, in three beautifully different rooms. The location is very private, quiet and relaxing, and we wanted for nothing! Fay was most helpful, offering dining suggestions, directions, and anything else we might need. It was a wonderful visit there and we recommend it highly. Five star location .

January 2012

Karen (Michigan, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fay, who manages this beautiful B&B is great. We had fantastic conversations with her and she went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable at home and having a memorable stay. The area of Dunkeld is safe and we walked to the shopping centres a couple of kms away and it was fine. The street is well patrolled. We were given local recommendations from Fay, booked a Soweto tour and even drove us to the tour meeting spot a few blocks away at 6am with a packed fruit bag! We truly felt at home and loved staying at La Bougain Villa. We had a large suite upstairs with a large bedroom, large lounge and bathroom all to ourselves. With snacks, tea and coffee and a fridge, we were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend staying here and this is where we will stay the next time we are in Jhb. Thanks Fay!

October 2011

Sandra (Sydney)

Verified reviewexcellent

I stayed at La Bougain villa attending a conference at a nearby hotel and I'm really glad I did! My flat, with big lounge/kitchen, double bedroom, bathroom and balcony, had everything I needed and I felt very sorry for the other conference delegates who had just a room in the hotel, at twice the price! The kitchen and bathroom were very well appointed with all the daily necessities. Fay was a charming host, and was always willing to offer whatever extra help she could to make my stay even more comfortable. I highly recommend La Bougain Villa.

October 2011

Susie W (Cullompton, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic stay! Felt like home - everything is provided for a perfect stay.

October 2011

Kluge family (Berlin)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our VERY grateful thanks to our "Fay"ry godmother! We revelled in the tranquility, beauty, hospitality and our meals were gastronomic for our tastebuds. Your help in untangling the French Consulate "red tape" is unforgettable! Vive "La Bougain Villa"!!

October 2011

Lynette Rousseau (Margate - KZN)

Verified reviewexcellent

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was a great find. Fay gave me a nice welcome and the suite I had (on the ground floor) was spacious and comfortable, with a nice view out on to the lovely garden with hadeda ibises working over the lawn for insects. The breakfast was great, and the daily fruit in the room a nice extra.

September 2011

Muddy Walk (Robertsbridge, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

3 days and two nights...awesome, relaxing experience... Fay gave us a good welcome, and we really felt welcome. We wanted to visit Sandton Mall, she took us there herself. On our last day, going back, one of her employees drove us. Our room was kept crispy clean. Had a chance also to meet Richard.. It was a relaxing stay..

September 2011

Dereck Hunidzarira (Harare, Zimbabwe)

Verified reviewexcellent

What an amazing place - I've now been back 3 times with superb experiences. Hyde Park is a safe place, virtually next door to the British Consulate with a Fournos Bakery down the road. Bougain Villa has a relaxed garden with pool, tennis court and patio to have breakfast or afternoon tea. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Sandton and Rosebank are close by and there's cricket at Wanderers Ground within walking distance.

April 2011

William (Swansea, Wales)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed during the Lions tour and Fay was an amazing and very knowledable host. She organised everything that we could have asked for and more! The accomodation was great, very clean and very convenient. Thank you so much for playing your part in our great time on JoBurg!

July 2009

Lee Gammon (Cardiff)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 830
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • La Bougain Villa

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.