Reviews & Comments

Showing 52 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We arrived at Cape Rose Cottage after the overnight flight from London and were met with a very warm welcome from Pam. We were staying in the Lavender Suite which was absolutely beautiful. Every little detail is included in the room, which is furnished to a very high standard. The bed was one of the most comfortable we stayed in during our trip to SA and the bathroom was immaculate. The shower and bath were both great. The view from the bedroom is just as you see it on their website, an amazing uninterrupted sea view. The garden was full of beautiful native flowers and native birds. In fact this cottage was one of the best we stayed in during our 2 weeks in SA and the welcome Steve and Pam provide is second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. They even recommended somewhere to eat in Hermanus where we could enjoy seeing the whales at very close quarters. Pam and Steve both go the extra mile to make your holiday perfect. They are perfect hosts and have an idyllic home.

November 2008

Lesley and Martin (Dorset, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just returned from our second visit to this stunning guesthouse in Camps Bay - private, quiet with beautiful views ...... On both occasions we stayed in the Aquamarine Suite which is modern, spacious and spotlessly clean. The room was well equipped and nicely furnished with a big bathroom and kitchenette with a well stocked fridge so you can prepare your own breakfast. Hosts Pam and Steve are very welcoming and friendly, always ready to help out with tips on restaurants, activities, maps, directions etc. Even before our holiday they provided advice on car hire and other places to visit whilst in South Africa. The attention to detail in the room was second to none and Pam and Steve have thought of everything you may need including gorgeous toiletries in the bathroom, a first aid kit, iron and ironing board to name just a few. This guesthouse is in the perfect location - close to the stunning beach at Camps Bay and conveniently placed for all the nearby attractions. If you are visiting Cape Town look no further! We will definitely be returning.

November 2008

Liz and Miles (Bristol, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

My wife and I have just returned from a fortnight's holiday at Cape Rose Cottage in Camps Bay. The accommodation in the Aquamarine Suite was magnificent with every conceivable comfort and luxury and with spectacular views over the ocean. As well as our own spacious bedroom with sea facing balcony, we had the use of a very comfortable adjoining sitting room supplied with reading material and tourist literature covering the surrounding areas. Steve and Pam are the owners of Cape Rose Cottage and a more helpful and friendly couple it would be impossible to find. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they have a fund of local knowledge, which they were very happy to share with us. At the end of our stay we felt that we were saying goodbye (or hopefully au revoir) to real friends. On our return to England we shared our experiences with others and suffice to say that two of our friends have already booked a fortnight's holiday at Cape Rose Cottage in March 2009. What better recommendation could there be?

November 2008

John and Karin King (Durham, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

At Rose Cottage we found real paradise. A perfect place full of beauty and harmony. You are both such a nice and wonderful couple. We thank you so much and wish you all the best for a happy future!

October 2008

Eberhard & Margit Otto (Heidelberg, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

This place is just so wonderful and beautiful. Thank you for all your kindness and for preparing such a special place like Rose Cottage. We really want to come again soon.

October 2008

Flavia and Jose (Japan)

Verified reviewexcellent

We leave Rose Cottage with a very heavy heart this morning but take with us so many happy memories of our stay here and our visit to "The Fairest Cape in all the World".

October 2008

Tony and Diana Walters (Vancouver, Canada)

Verified reviewexcellent

Rose Cottage is a real "home away from home". Thank you for such a warm and friendly welcome and such a beautiful room. It was awesome! We will be back soon.

October 2008

Lesley and Martin (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Arrived back to a rainy UK! Thank you for your tips and advice and welcoming us into your amazing home. It's a truly relaxing place - we loved every minute. Don't change a thing! We'll be back soon. Deb and Patrick

October 2008

Debbie Richardson (Winchester, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for everything. You couldn't have been more helpful and we have really enjoyed every minute of our wonderful stay here with you. Rose Cottage is just so beautiful ..... We hope to be back soon - until then take care!

September 2008

Lee and Helen Knox (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the beautiful space (Aquamarine Suite) in which we spent the first two nights of our honeymoon. It is a perfect, private, beautiful home away from home.

August 2008

Ulla & Graham (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for the wonderful start to our honeymoon in Cape Rose Cottage - we couldn't have wished for better!! An absolutely beautiful and amazing place.

August 2008

Becky and Adrian (Wales)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much we had a lovely stay in this beautiful cottage. We saw two fantastic sunsets with the magnificent views that you have. Attention to detail is just amazing.

June 2008

Emma and Irene (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. We thoroughly enjoyed staying in beautiful Rose Cottage. Thanks for everything once again.

April 2008

Kate and Julie (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have travelled a lot in the world and have stayed in a lot of accommodations. However, Rose Cottage was an exceptional one, furnished with love to the extent of all the details. We felt extremely comfortable also because of the personal attention of you both. If possible, on our next visit to SA we will try to have the same wonderful experience again. Thanks a lot for this wonderful place!

April 2008

Helena and Paul (Frankfurt)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful time here at Cape Rose Cottage. As you know I loved all the arty crafty bits and pieces in the Lavender Suite. I look forward to joining you at a craft fair if not teaching you to embroider! In the meantime, you have a beautiful home and thank you for sharing it with us. Take care.

March 2008

Stuart and Angela (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful time and we have seen so much thanks to all of your help and advice. The Lavender Suite was magnificent, top class and very clean. Your hospitality was very kind and reassuring and even though we missed a few days with Jodie's baby - it was well worth it - a magical place. Our best wishes and grateful thanks.

March 2008

Debbie Seckold & Dale Sherwin (Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for making us so welcome. Your home is fantastic especially all the little personal touches and attention to detail is amazing. Hope to come back soon.

March 2008

Annette and Steve (Bournmouth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve, We really enjoyed our time in your beautiful cottage. The first two days we stayed in the green room with a lovely garden and the other days in the Aquamarine Suite which was even better especially with the terrace and the great views of the bay! After one day Frans called it already home and that's true it feels like home here! Thanks a lot! Kind Regards, Frans & Martje

February 2008

Frans & Martje (Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

Pam and Steve you are perfectionists in the art of providing elegant comfort. And that view!! We had a great time. Bam and Rita Marks

February 2008

Bam & Rita Marks (Henley-on-Thames, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve Our stay in Camps Bay became due to your wonderful Guesthouse an outstanding experience! The Aquamarine room helped Frank to recover from his cold and we enjoyed the love and spirit your bring to it with all the details! Thank you and all the best to you! Christine and Frank

January 2008

Christine & Frank Astor (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve You've got the perfect place! Everything, every room seems just right the way it is. If you ever sell your jewel please give us a ring!! All the best, thanks for having us on such short notice. Kind Regards, Philipp & Carolin and Bobby and Veronika

January 2008

Philipp & Carolin & Bobby & Veronika (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve We had a wonderful time in your beautiful guesthouse. Great hospitality and attention to detail, unrivalled views - a wonderful experience!

January 2008

Laura & Will (London, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve Thank you for making us feel so welcome. The attention to EVERY detail is wonderful. Thanks for a fabulous time. Very best regards, Victor & Tors

January 2008

Victor & Tors (Germany)

Verified reviewvery good

Dear Pam and Steve Thank you once again for a great experience. It is simply a pleasure to stay in your beautiful guesthouse. I look forward to seeing the both of you again. The best always James

January 2008

James Mills (USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve It was a pleasure to stay at your wonderful cottage which is decorated beautifully and with lots of love. We were lucky to get the green room (Cape Rose) for our honeymoon with its beautiful garden and especially the "secret garden". All the beautiful details inspired us a lot and I'm sure that we will implement some ideas into our flat. You are both (and also Beckham) very warm and beautiful person and you made our stay something very special. We thank you for all the good recommendations you made and hope to meet you again sometime in the future. We wish you all the best for the future and like to thank you again for the beautiful surprise you made us for our honeymoon. Nadine and Maurizio

January 2008

Maurizio & Nadine (Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve What can we say .... absolutely beautiful .... everything. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality and thanks for an absolutely fantastic holiday. We will keep in touch and hopefully be back. Martin and Jakki

December 2007

Martin & Jakki (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve We are just back four days and do miss South Africa already so much. Birgit and I again would like to thank you for the great stay and the great hospitality you have shown. I guess this is the place we would like to come back next time (we immediately fell in love with the Lavender Suite). Thanks a lot again.

November 2007

Birgit & Georg Janssen (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Many thanks for a truly wonderful and 'special' stay at Rose Cottage. It's like a sanctuary - all your hard work and care taken into creating it has paid off. The little touches are very much appreciated. We enjoyed many trips out but in particular 'La Petite Ferme' in Franschhoek is well worth a trip. We hope to be back one day. With thanks and love, Julia and Mike

November 2007

Julia & Mike (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed staying at Rose Cottage, the house is stunning and we are very envious that you have that view to look at every day! Thank you for being so hospitable, it was great meeting you both. We hope to see you again soon for our next trip to South Africa. All the very best, Helen and Matthew

November 2007

Helen & Matthew Woodbridge (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Pam & Steve Ang and I are just back to work this morning so we will be busy for a couple of days trying to get back to some normality. We absolutely loved our stay with you guys and we must admit it was the most wonderful and perfect environment to be in for our honeymoon.

October 2007

Mairtin Kelly (Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Pam and Steve We had a good journey back although both sad to be leaving. We really did have a very special and memorable time at Rose Cottage. Thank you very much for making it possible. Mel and I certainly hope to be back again next year.

October 2007

Mel & Michelle (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve Thank you both ever so much for our stay at Cape Rose Cottage. You've done a fantastic job with the suites and the balcony is one of the best places in the world to watch the sunset! This is not our first visit to Cape Rose Cottage and hopefully won't be our last. Thanks again. Heather and Darren

October 2007

Heather & Darren Hamilton (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. The stay at Cape Rose Cottage was just fantastic. All your recommendations were spot on and a great help to us on our honeymoon. Thanks Graham and Angela

October 2007

Graham & Angela (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks for the email and a wonderful holiday. We really enjoyed your hospitality and staying in a "home away from home." Pam you have thought of everything when furnishing the suites - they are stunning, really comfortable and love the all the extra touches. We will definitely stay with you when we return to South Africa and recommend you to friends and colleagues. Lydia said it was one of the best holidays that she has been on!

September 2007

Giorgio, Rosemary & Lydia (London, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

At last I've found time to write and thank you for your wonderful hospitality during our recent stay in Rose Cottage. Despite the trauma of Gills lost case we really enjoyed our time with you and considered the location just about perfect. We were impressed with the facilities, the decor and I just loved the views from the lounge - especially the sunsets! I have attached some pictures of sunsets, rainbows and the local bird life in your garden. When the opportunity arises we will definitely stay with you again, until then ....

August 2007

Gerry Powell (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve, We want to thank you so much for the wonderful days we had with you in Camps Bay! Always dreaming from the beautiful view from the Lavender Suite ..... Hopefully we will come back to SA and visit you again soon!! Charly enjoyed everything so much.

February 2007

Helga & Charly (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for your hospitality - you have been very kind and made my stay at Cape Town very enjoyable. To sum up my South Africa trip this is what I have to say "I was enthralled and captivated", and I should visit sooner rather than later.

January 2007

Munim Choudrey (London, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve We enjoyed our stay with you and appreciated your company very much. We would very much like to return to SA some time in the near future and there is only one place we will stay in Cape Town and I BET YOU CAN GUESS WHERE THAT WILL BE. Take care and much love to you all. Eve and Bob

December 2006

Eve & Bob Selby (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a fantastic time in South Africa, its a beautiful country. We could not have thought of anywhere better to stay than your guesthouse. You made us feel very comfortable and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I hope you both have a wonderful christmas from both of us and hopefully see you soon once again.

December 2006

Chris Taylor (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have been meaning to email you to say how much I enjoyed my stay with you. It was absolutely perfect and it was so lovely to meet you both. I have been recommending Cape Rose Cottage to anybody I know visiting Cape Town. Take care and hopefully see you when I make it out there again!

December 2006

Sibyl Darrington (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve Your cottage is so charming, so cosy. The area and your accommodation made our holiday very special. Thank you for your kindness and the quality of service you provide to your guests. Guillaume joins me in wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

December 2006

Astrid (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanx so much for a tranquil and wonderful stay at your beautiful guest house this weekend! Next time we will stay longer. Etienne & Graham

September 2006

Etienne & Graham (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks again for your kind hospitality while we stayed in Camps Bay, it was fantastic to spend the last few days of our honeymoon in such a wonderful location and hopefully when we've cleared this credit card bill we may be able to return .... We may have family coming to the Cape in the new year and will certainly point them in your direction. Richard & Vicky

September 2006

Richard & Vicky (UK)

Verified reviewvery good

We just wanted to thank you for taking good care of us during our honeymoon stay at Cape Rose Cottage last December 2005. We really enjoyed the place and what we liked the most was the intimacy of the suite and of course the location. That was really beautiful, especially in December with the morning mist above in the mountains and the ocean's view. We had a wonderful honeymoon at Rose Cottage and we really appreciate your warm hospitality.

February 2006

Patrick & Jennifer Mulangu (New Jersey, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had such a wonderful stay at Rose Cottage, we couldn't praise it enough to Sharlene and Mark who are with you now. We do hope we get back to Camps Bay and Rose Cottage in the future. Thank you again for everything, the personal service, help with dinner reservations and the spa, directions and suggestions. We had such a wonderful time, the happy memories will surely help us through the New York winter! Happy New Year to you both and very best wishes for the hotel business next year!! Niamh and Don

January 2006

Niamh & Don (New York, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve Hi, we have been home a few days now and would like to thank you for the lovely few days we spent with you at Cape Rose Cottage. You made us so welcome, a true "home from home." We have recommended you to a couple of people who are coming to Cape Town next year and know they will have a great time with you. Best Wishes, Shiela and Geoff Lodge

November 2005

Shiela & Geoff Lodge (Aylesbury, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had the most wonderfully relaxing time at Rose Cottage. When Libby showed your site to me on the web I knew I would love it and I woke up every morning in my Aquamarine Room in disbelief at the beauty and peacefulness of Rose Cottage. We loved the walks at the base of the Apostles and we have some really good photos of the view. My favourite photo of all our trip is now my screensaver - its of the beach with footprints and the mountains behind. Jenny and Chris Duncan

September 2005

Jenny & Chris Duncan (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Steve and Pam, Henry, Rachel, Catherine and I would like to thank you for the time we stayed at Rose Cottage. Pam you did a great job decorating the cottage. It was both comfortable and very tasteful. The view of course was simply marvellous marvellous. What could be nicer than returning home to a relaxing, well designed accommodation. You were both such wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much to ask. We felt very comfortable and appreciative of all the help and advice you gave us from where to eat, where to go and how to get there. We could not have asked for more. We are more than happy to recommend your cottage to anyone who is fortunate enough to find themselves in Cape Town. Please do not hesitate to use us as a reference for any people thinking about renting the cottage. With fond and happy memories ..... Henry Liebman & Gail Katz

July 2005

Henry Liebman & Gail Katz (United States)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Pam and Steve, Just a little note to say thank you. We had a great stay with you and really enjoyed it, little things like the chocolates, the butterfly soap, lavender on top of the toilet roll and many other little things just made us feel really welcome. Not forgetting your hospitality, it was really nice meeting you. But all good things come to an end, we miss the sunsets from our balcony and the views, breathtaking to say the least. So back to reality here in good old blighty, wind swept, raining, dark and cold England!!! Not that bad really but once again to you both, thank you, good luck and take care. Regards, Helen & Peter Hetherington

March 2005

Helen & Peter Hetherington (Lake District, UK)

Verified reviewvery good

Hello Pam and Steve I just wanted to send a quick email to thank you for your wonderful hospitality during our stay at Rose Cottage. It was such a lovely place to stay before our return to London. We will definitely be recommending you to our friends and family and maybe we will have the chance to return again one day. Thanks again for making us feel so welcome. Best Regards, Samantha Wheeler

March 2005

Samantha Wheeler (London, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve We can't thank you enough for making our stay perfect in every way. Cape Rose Cottage is everything and more we were looking for in a place to stay. Your extra special touch made it into a memorable stay and we'll be sure to return and refer all our friends to you when they visit Cape Town. You are a wonderful couple and have taken such care of us. Stay forever the same. May we remain good friends for many happy years. Fondest Regards, Llewellyn and Belinda Victor

January 2005

Llewellyn & Belinda Victor (Oxford, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Pam and Steve, Lynn and I have just come off the golf course - the temperature is 3 degrees and it's snowing! Why did we come home! We just want you to know how much we enjoyed our stay with you in Rose Cottage - you made us so welcome and we loved the beautiful rooms and fantastic views - just perfect. We have passed your details on to a couple of friends so there could be another Yorkshire invasion next year! We all send our best wishes to you both and hope we might be seeing you again in the future. Mary and Dennis Welsh

January 2005

Mary & Dennis Welsh (Leeds, UK)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 2,695
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Cape Rose Cottage

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.