Reviews & Comments

Showing 34 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Wish we had more time to spend at this location just to experience all there is to do, or not do and just relax. Perfect location for a group or extended family. Main house has big kitchen/dining/family room area with table set for more than a dozen. Two rooms in main house, and two rooms in each of the other two houses. Love to sleep with the sound of the waves. Ed and Sally serve up a great meal, and coffee on Ed's deck is not to be missed.

November 2014

Gordon Marchal (Penryn, California)

Verified reviewexcellent

An amazing time in an epic location.

July 2013

Ian Fleming Photographic Company (Knysna)

Verified reviewvery good

This must be God’s window over the sea.

April 2013

Piet and Marie v d Spuy (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stunning location, beautiful house. Truly home away from home. We will definitely come again and spread the word about this magical place.

April 2013

Terschan family (Austria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderlike plek. Skoon en netjies, vars water en skoon lug. “Kyk na die see, So groots en klaar. Staan God’s temple daar. Wyd in sy majesteit”

March 2013

Kruger family (Marble Hall)

Verified reviewexcellent

Magical place, words cannot describe the serene beauty of the views. Thanks to Ed and Sally for advice and hospitality – will certainly be back.

February 2013

Kathy and Dick Poultney (Sandton)

Verified reviewexcellent

Two days in paradise! The best lodge we stayed in so far in SA and certainly with the best view and the best hiking guide, Joe, the dog.

January 2013

Ine Bruijns (Amsterdam Nederlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

When we arrived, we were in awe of the beauty of Bishops Cove. On 27th we went for a short hike and Max proposed! Ed and Sally spoiled us with a bottle of champagne and a home cooked dinner to celebrate. Sally also bought and arranged proteas on Max's request and it was beautiful and very special. Thanks to Ed and Sally for truly being the best hostss, all the chats, help and the very special gift we received! Joe was alwasy on "duty" and so much fun to be around. Thank you for an unforgettable holiday! Love M & R.

November 2012

Max Berg & Renda Gerber (GAUTENG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie dankie vir die wonderlike gasvryheid. 1ste keer hier, maar julle gaan ons weer sien! Baie lekker gerus en gekuier! Gaan Joe die hond baie mis.

April 2012

Francois and Liezl Hugo (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

If Heaven is as good as this, I had better start behaving better.

February 2012

Dave and Lauraine Lardner (Colesberg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A beautiful place. Feel privileged to have stayed here. Views amazing. Rocks incredible. Hosts warm and kind. Thank you.

July 2010

Joy and Kent Short (U.S.A.)

Verified reviewexcellent

We all had a swinging weekend - your hospitality is high class. Your spot exquisite - great fun had by all.

July 2010

Dave Emslie and extended family (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewvery good

What a wonderful stretch of coast. Wild, unspoiled and beautiful. The house is well situated and well equipped. The paths and surrounds beautifully kept / maintained, and what wonderful hosts / guides Ed and Sally are! We enjoyed watching the dolphins frolic in the waves as well as a pod of whales making their way along the coast. There are some birds just waiting to still be seen and identified!

June 2010

Alec and Janet Celliers (Langebaan, C P)

Verified reviewexcellent

"The hills look over to the South, and Southward dreams the sea, and with the sea breeze, hand in hand came innocence and she. We shall find no life but in the sea." Accommodation, the coastline, friendly dog and people. Fantastic time, many thanx.

June 2010

Gustav & Emma Oosthuysen (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

Far too short a stay in such a great location. Great guided walk and hospitality from Ed and Sally, for the guided walk Ed and for the company of Joe (cocker spaniel) and Ditto (cat).

April 2010

Phil & Margaret Harvey (Knysna)

Verified reviewexcellent

This place is absolutely wonderful. It has everything we could have dreamed of for our holiday and more: - breathtaking views - wonderful walks / rides / runs - lovely house - a new best friend in Joe, the dog - fantastic hosts. Ed and Sally, you are such kind and friendly people and made our stay that much more special. Will definitely be back (in numbers).

April 2010

Nick and Kath York (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Definitely one of the best spots we will remember amongst all the others - thanks for sharing it with us!

January 2010

Alan Parker (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Heaven on earth! What a spot! We arrived by bike and if our plane wasn't booked on the next day, we would have stayed here much longer. We had here the best South African meal ever! The work "far" doesn't exist if you go to heaven.

January 2010

Reinoud Cartuyvels, Guy and Hans (Belgium)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stayed 2 nights at Bishop's cove and a really nice and relaxing time. Although it's quite remote (so don't forget to bring enough food ;)) we were never bored. The (ocean) views are stunning and the hiking was awsome. Also thanks to Joe (the dog) who was a great hiking buddy! Ed and Sally are really nice and helped us with some food, which we forgot to bring. The house was nice and the bed slept very well! This location is really something you must experience.

November 2009

Malene Berends (Veldhoven, Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stunningly beautiful, peaceful and very confortable.

June 2009

Doreen holmes (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderlike wegkom plek. Die stilte en natuur is asemrowend en dankie dat Ed an Sally ons so tuis laat voel het. Sal beslis weer kom.

June 2009

Frikkie & Jeanette van As (Swellendam)

Verified reviewexcellent

Pragtige omgewins, gasvry ontvang in die beste toegeruste vakansie huis wat ek ooit tegekom het!

June 2009

Torrance family (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Southern Right whales jumping clear of the water right under our noses! Two days of fantastic walks. Will be back.

June 2009

Karlson family (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

A beautiful piece of paradise, with great hospitality! We will be back and will spread the word.

May 2009

Linda & Roy Reynolds (Port Alfred)

Verified reviewexcellent

Uitstekende plek - net wat mense nodig het met stilte en asemrowende mooi uitsigte. Hou dit so!

May 2009

Karen & Stephen Smit (Despatch)

Verified reviewexcellent

A real stunning place! A perfect place to come and relax. We will recommend it to everyone we know.

April 2009

Lourens &Cynthia Streicher (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Pragtige plek! Lekker vir alleenwees en weer jou siel vind.

April 2009

Myburgh family (Kathu (N Cape))

Verified reviewexcellent

We can't put into words what an absolute blessing our honeymoon stay at Bishops was! Far beyond our greatest expectations. Manager Ed and Sally were great hosts.

March 2009

Daniel & Marieska Neethling (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dit was vir ons 'n voorreg on hier te kon wees! Dis hoe mense die Oos-Kaap moet ervaar.

February 2009

Havenga Family (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

A view like this is only seen in the movies. A paradise on Earth!

January 2009

Annemiek Steenbakkers (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

A piece of heaven on our doorstep. Sally and Ed are great hosts.

October 2008

Sandra Anderson (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dolphins, whales, birds, genet, monkeys - we had them all! What a place!! Great hospitality from Ed and Sally.

October 2008

Frank and Jean de Villiers (Napier)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful time we had..... we sat on the veranda and could not believe it - three whales playing in the bay. Lovely walks and the most spectacular scenes of waves crashing on the rocks below. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece of paradise with us. We will most definitely be back with family and friends.

September 2008

Edelweiss (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have no words to explain how I enjoyed myself there. Actually we regretted the fact that we didn't stay two nights. We will definitely be back. The view is wonderful and the place is peaceful. One needs much more time to explore the place. It is well situated, well decorated and very welcoming. You feel like you are at home away from home.

September 2008

Portia (Cape Town)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,060
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Bishops Cove Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.